+ +

Review of refraction

Review of refraction is intended to characterize and measure the importance of the optical defect of the eye. Refractive surgery can correct the myopia, theastigmatism and hyperopia. These optical eye defects and are grouped under the term of "defective vision" or "anomalies of refraction. Review of refraction makes it possible to determine and quantify the importance of the ametropia. The unit of measure of the importance of a defective vision is the diopter (D).

The ametropic subject is blurred vision from a distance (measured loss of tenths of Visual acuity in the absence of lens correction). Presbyopia is a reduction in the ability of the eye to do the update in near vision, between 40 and 45 years old. It leads to the need to carry a specific correction for reading or near vision.

Principles of ocular refraction measurement

The extent of the anomalies of refraction begins with a measure automated by a machine called Auto-refractometre which allows to estimate the degree of myopia; hyperopia and astigmatism. The patient fixes a focus in an eyepiece (usually a road or a distant landscape) the doctor moves successively on each eye. An infrared beam is emitted and then collected by the instrument after reflection on the retina. Results provided serve as initial benchmark providing an often quite accurate estimate of the power of the optical defect to correct.

However, only the examination ofVisual acuity directed by a professional measurement of refraction to determine with precision the degree of optical correction that allows to obtain the best visual acuity. This correction will be performed by the surgeon using a suitable refractive surgery technique.

Review of refraction

Measure for refraction

This review is carried out through a mount automated on which variable power correction lenses may be present, and with a projection of letters on a screen located to 5 meters. The reviewer uses special techniques tell of "interference" to get reliable measures and undisturbed by unconscious accommodation efforts. The measurements are performed one eye, and then in binocular vision. They are carried out at the beginning of the consultation, and repeated later after instillation of two or three drops of eye drops said «» cycloplegic ».

This cycloplegic eye drops has the effect of temporarily paralyze accommodation (effort by certain muscles intraocular to allow the development in vision closely). Indeed, some (often intermittent but sometimes permanent) accommodation efforts exist in far vision patients and may reduce the accuracy of the measurement of refraction performed initially. Moreover, these eye drops to induce a expansion of the pupil later, which will be useful to the surgeon to examine certain eye structures such as the lens and the retina (examination of the fundus). Their effect generally lasts two or three hours and eventually disappears completely. In that time, they can however make it difficult to read and reduce Visual acuity by far.
In the review of refraction, the determination of the eye is done by observing a distant point of light through a circle held at arms length. The eye is the one who will be favored for the vision by far in procedures for the compensation of presbyopia.

Review of refraction data will be used to establish treatment issued by the refractive surgery laser.

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Examen de la réfraction

L’examen de la réfraction a pour but de caractériser et mesurer l’importance du défaut optique de l’oeil. La chirurgie réfractive permet de corriger la myopie, l’astigmatisme et l’hypermétropie. Ces défauts oculaires optiques et sont regroupés sous le terme d’ « amétropie » ou « anomalies de la réfraction ». L’examen de la réfraction permet donc de déterminer et quantifier l’importance de l’amétropie. L’unité de mesure de l’importance d’une amétropie est la dioptrie (D).

Le sujet amétrope présente une vision floue de loin (on mesure une perte de dixièmes d’acuité visuelle en l’absence de correction optique). La presbytie est une réduction de la capacité de l’œil à effectuer la mise au point en vision de près, qui apparaît entre 40 et 45 ans. Elle entraîne le besoin de porter une correction spécifique pour la lecture ou la vision de près.

Principes de la mesure de la réfraction oculaire

La mesure des anomalies de la réfraction débute par une mesure automatisée par une machine appelée auto-réfractomètre qui permet d’estimer le degré de myopie ; d’hypermétropie et d’astigmatisme. Le patient fixe une mire dans un oculaire (en général une route ou un paysage lointain) que le médecin déplace successivement sur chaque œil. Un faisceau infrarouge est émis puis recueilli par l’instrument après réflexion sur la rétine. Les résultats fournis servent de repère initial en fournissant une estimation souvent assez précise de la puissance du défaut optique à corriger.

Toutefois, seul l’ examen d’acuité visuelle réalisé par un professionnel de la mesure de la réfraction permet de déterminer avec précision le degré de correction optique qui permet d’obtenir la meilleure acuité visuelle. Cette correction sera à effectuer par le chirurgien au moyen d’une technique de chirurgie réfractive adaptée.

Examen de la réfraction

Mesure de la réfraction

Cet examen s’effectue au travers d’une monture automatisée sur laquelle des verres de correction de puissance variable peuvent être présentés, et avec une projection de lettres sur un écran situé à 5 mètres. L’examinateur utilise des techniques particulières dites de « brouillage » pour obtenir des mesures fiables et non perturbées par des efforts d’accommodation inconscients. Les mesures sont effectuées oeil par oeil, puis en vision binoculaire. Elles sont effectuées au début de la consultation, et répétées ultérieurement après instillation de deux ou trois gouttes de collyre dit « cycloplégique ».

Ce collyre cycloplégique a pour effet de paralyser temporairement l’accommodation (effort accompli par certains muscles intraoculaires pour permettre la mise au point en vision de près). En effet, certains efforts d’accommodation (souvent intermittents mais parfois permanents) existent chez des patients en vision de loin et peuvent réduire la précision de la mesure de la réfraction effectuée initialement. Par ailleurs, ces collyres induisent une dilatation de la pupille qui sera par la suite utile au chirurgien pour examiner certaines structures oculaires comme le cristallin et la rétine (examen du fond d’œil). Leur effet dure en général deux ou trois heures et disparaît par la suite complètement. Dans ce laps de temps, ils peuvent cependant rendre difficile la lecture et réduire l’acuité visuelle de loin.
Lors de l’examen de la réfraction, la détermination de l’œil directeur est effectuée en faisant observer un point lumineux distant à travers un cercle tenu à bout de bras. L’œil directeur est celui qui sera favorisé pour la vision de loin lors des procédures destinées à la compensation de la presbytie.

Les données fournies par l’examen de la réfraction seront utilisées pour établir le traitement laser délivré par la chirurgie réfractive.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *