+ +

Profiles of ablation (excimer laser)

The profile of ablation determines the volume removed from the cornea by the excimer laser for the correction of the optical defect of vision in LASIK or PKR. Corrections of myopia, hyperopia excimer laser and theastigmatism differ mainly by issued on the cornea ablation profile. We will mainly address profiles of ablation to correct optical defects of vision (myopia, hyperopia, astigmatism). Ondes custom ablation profiles on the collection of the Wavefront (OPD) and/or corneal topography are addressed in a specific section.

Pages are devoted to specific profiles of ablation of some possible: profile of myopic ablation, profile of ablation for simple myopic astigmatism correctionetc.

Even if the issuance of a profile of laser ablation is an act that is automated, it is interesting to analyze its characteristics. Beyond the intellectual satisfaction, this allows to optimize the realization of refractive surgery (choice of the position of the hinge and the dimensions of the flap of LASIK, optimization of the dimensions of the optical zone, a strategy to reduce the amount of photoablate tissue,...). Moreover, understanding the characteristics of ablation profiles allows to better understand the constraints and practical difficulties associated with the different treatments.

Here are a few design elements that it is useful to have in the field of the photoablative excimer laser surgery.

The zone of ablation

The ablation zone is equivalent to the corneal surface that is exposed to the fire of the excimer laser. A conventional ablation profile allows you to change the optical power of the cornea in by changing the curvature. There is a direct relationship between curvature and optical power; corneal power is inversely proportional to the value of the central corneal curvature RADIUS (RADIUS apical). The profile of ablation can be broken down into two parts: a central treatment refractive aiming (optical area) and peripheral treatment for connecting with the untreated peripheral cornea (transition zone). The ablation zone is equivalent to the addition of the optical zone and the transition area.

Area = optical Zone ablation + Transition area

Area of PKR LASIK excimer laser ablation

"" Schematic representation of the zone of ablation (pure spherical myopia treatment): a transition zone on the outskirts of the optical box (in yellow) allows to "soften" the connection between the area treated with optical aiming (optical Zone) and the corneal periphery not treated, by "spreading" the change in curvature.

Munnerlyn et al. have enacted in 1988 the General principles of the correction of the sphero-cylindrical ametropia by excimer laser photoablation (1). The cornea is similar to a single spherical refractive surface (models paraxial, where the corneal profile section is circular). The photoablation allow the resection of a corneal (a lenticule of corneal) volume of equal power but of opposite sign to the ametropia to correct (1-3).

Profiles of ablation for a given refractive error correction realize different combinations of three profile types basic to the level of the different meridians corneal depending on whether they will have to fix a pure spherical ametropia, cylindrical pure, or sphero-cylindrical (Figures 3-5 and table 1)

Spherical ametropia: nearsightedness and farsightedness (without astigmatism)

The profile of ablation is the same for each of the meridians of the cornea (regardless of orientation).

Myopia: must décambrer the corneal surface.

profile of ablation myopia operation

The decrease of the curve at the level of the considered Meridian implies the realization of ' a profile ' removal where the maximum energy is delivered to the center of the area d ' ablation. Depth d ' ablation is maximum at the Center. The connection with the periphery untreated is harmonious (absence of abrupt fitting), and does not involve the realization of a zone of transition.

Hyperopia: to arch the corneal surface:

More the camber at the level of the considered Meridian means the realization of ' a profile ' ablation where maximum power is delivered on the outskirts of the area d ' removal. Depth d ' is at its maximum on the outskirts of the optical zone ablation. The connection with the periphery untreated is abrupt and the realization of a zone of transition is imperative.

Simple astigmatism (not made up):

The profile of ablation is different for each of the meridians of the cornea. It theoretically leads to arch (hypermetropique astigmatism) or décambrer (myopic astigmatism) but in a VARIABLE way all meridians except one.

Compound astigmatism (astigmatism myopic composed, composed hypermetropique astigmatism, mixed astigmatism):

There are mainly two types of issue for these treatments:

-Sequential treatment:

The spherical and cylindrical of the ametropia components are processed successively according to the above principles with for each of these components a transition zone and a defined optical area. This type of treatment is the preserve of some lasers excimers full beam or slot balayante.

-Simultaneous treatment:

With the flying spot lasers, the distribution of impacts is performed continuously after calculation of the total profile of ablation. In general, the processing of compound myopic astigmatism involves a removal area whose perimeter is circular. The spherical and cylindrical components are then processed simultaneously, realizing an optical area whose circumference is circular or elliptical (short axis along the meridian of the arched, long axis along the less arched Meridian). Treatment elliptical stricto sensu, as defined by the company, VISX, was an ablation strategy to optimize the dimensions of the treatment according to the difference of correction between the arched corneal Meridian and the less arched corneal Meridian.

Limits of physico-mathematiques models used for the profiling of ablation:

In theory, the ablation profiles are calculated from accurate mathematical models. In practice, the result of using a given profile of removal depends on not only the net difference between the change of curvature intentional printed to the corneal surface, but also the action of biological factors (healing) or biomechanical.

Schematically, regression is more important in view of the maximum depth of ablation area (which is in the Center for myopia, on the outskirts to the hyperopia), and this all the more that there is a steep fitting with a no area dealt with at this level (case to the hyperopia, and astigmatism myopic or hypermetropique for some meridians).

Ablation of type parallel (or plano) is used in procedures with a therapeutic purpose (PKT) mode. It provides an example of a mismatch between the refractive effect expected (no since removal is of constant depth) and that obtained (effect him more often démyopisant). This effect reflects an unexpected decrease of corneal camber who based his prediction on purely physicomathematiques features, including two of the causes are biological (hyperplasia epithelial compensating more important on the edges of the optical zone due to the abrupt fitting) and Biomechanics (voltage of the contact strips by the section of the surface lamellas implementation) (4-6). The realization of a broad transition zone on the outskirts of ablation plano allows to limit the induced flattening.

The schematic representation of the lenses photoablatés CG in these pages has been conducted with the model simple dimensional sort (sphere, ellipsoid) on which the operations of addition, subtraction or intersection (Boolean operations) have been applied (7,8). The scale representation is possible, but the proportions of these lenses have however been exaggerated for didactic purposes.

The study of the characteristics of ablation profiles allows to understand the higher difficulty represented by hypermetropiques and cylindrical, treatments due to geometric constraints that are unique. In these pages, the study of ablation profiles was limited to treatment of sphero-cylindrical anomalies. Profiles based on corneal topography and the OPD change the look of these profiles in detail, without changing the overall characteristics as long as the sphero-cylindrical ametropia correction remains predominant. Knowledge of the overall dimensions of the profile of ablation should allow to optimize the surgery, at best by adjusting the dimensions of the flap and the position of the hinge and minimizing the amount of corneal tissue photoablate, which is in fact one of the aspectss of the concept of personalized treatment.

Some references:

(1) Munnerlyn CR, Koons SJ, Marshall J.  Also keratectomy: a technical for laser refractive surgery.  J Cataract Refract Surg.  1988; 14:46-52.

(2) McDonnell PJ, H, Clapham TN Moreira, D'Arcy J, Munnerlyn CR. Also keratectomy for astigmatism. Initial clinical results. Arch invest, 1991; 109: 1370-73.

(3) W, Hersh PS Blaker. Theoretical and clinical effect of preoperative corneal curvature we excimer laser also keratectomy for myopia. J Refract Corneal Surg, 1994; 10: 571 - 74.

(4) P, Hamberg-Nyström Fagerholm H, Tengroth B.  Wound healing and myopic regression following also keratectomy.  ACTA invest.  1994; 72:229 - 34.

(5) Gauthier CA, D, Holden BA Epstein, et al.  Epithelial changes following also keratectomy for myopia.  J Refract Surg.  1995; 11:113 - 18.

(6) Talamo JH, Helena MC. PTK complications. In: Azar DT, Steinert RF, WJ Starck, editors. Excimer laser phototherapeutic keratectomy. Baltimore: Williams and Wilkins; 1997.p.143 - 56.

(7) Gatinel D, Hoang Xuan T. three-dimensional modelling and descriptive geometry of the profiles of photoablation spherical and cylindrical pure excimer laser. J Fr Ophtalmol, 2002; 25 (3): 247-56

(8) Gatinel D. profiles and volumes of ablation in different types of ametropia. In 'Refractive surgery', Saragoussi JJ, Arne JL, Colin J, Montard M. Masson, 2001; pp245-249

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Profils d’ablation (laser excimer)

Le profil d’ablation détermine le volume soustrait à la cornée par le laser excimer pour la correction du défaut optique de vision en LASIK ou PKR. Les corrections au laser excimer de la myopie, de l’hypermétropie et de l’astigmatisme diffèrent principalement par le  profil d’ablation délivré sur la cornée. Nous aborderons essentiellement les profils d’ablation destinés à corriger les défauts optiques de la vision  (myopie, hypermétropie, astigmatisme). Les profils d’ablation personnalisés ondés sur le recueil du front d’onde (aberrométrie) et/ou sur la topographie cornéenne sont abordés dans une section spécifique.

Des pages sont consacrées aux profils d’ablation spécifiques de certaines amétropies: profil d’ablation myopique, profil d’ablation pour la correction de l’astigmatisme myopique simple, etc.

Même si la délivrance d’un profil d’ablation laser est un acte automatisé, il est intéressant d’analyser ses caractéristiques. Au-delà de la satisfaction intellectuelle, cela permet d’optimiser la réalisation de la chirurgie réfractive (choix de la position de la charnière et des dimensions du capot de LASIK, optimisation des dimensions de la zone optique, adoption d’une stratégie permettant de réduire la quantité de tissu photoablaté,…). Par ailleurs, comprendre les caractéristiques des profils d’ablation permet de mieux appréhender les contraintes et difficultés pratiques soulevées par les différents traitements.

Voici quelques éléments conceptuels qu’il est utile de posséder dans le domaine de la chirurgie photoablative au laser excimer.

La zone d’ablation

La zone d’ablation correspond à la surface cornéenne qui est exposée au tirs du laser excimer. Un profil d’ablation conventionnel permet de modifier le pouvoir optique de la cornée en en changeant la courbure. Il existe une relation directe entre courbure et pouvoir optique ; la puissance cornéenne est inversement proportionnelle à la valeur du rayon de courbure cornéen central (rayon apical). Le profil d’ablation peut être décomposé en deux parties : un traitement central à visée réfractive (zone optique) et un traitement périphérique destiné au raccordement avec la cornée périphérique non traitée (zone de transition). La zone d’ablation correspond à l’addition de la zone optique et de la zone de transition.

Zone d’ablation = Zone optique + Zone de Transition

Zone d'ablation laser excimer PKR LASIK

Représentation schématique de la zone d’ablation (traitement de la myopie sphérique pure) : La présence d’une zone de transition à la périphérie de la zone optique (en jaune) permet d’ »adoucir » le raccord entre la zone traitée à visée optique (Zone optique) et la périphérie cornéenne non traitée, en « étalant » la variation de courbure.

Munnerlyn et coll. ont édicté en 1988 les principes généraux de la correction des amétropies sphéro-cylindriques par photoablation au laser excimer (1). La cornée est assimilée à une surface réfractive sphérique unique (modèles paraxiaux, où le profil cornéen en coupe est circulaire). La photoablation permet l’exérèse d’un volume cornéen (un lenticule cornéen) de puissance égale mais de signe opposé à celui de l’amétropie à corriger (1-3).

Les profils d’ablation pour la correction d’une erreur réfractive donnée réalisent différentes combinaisons de trois types de profils élémentaires au niveau des différents méridiens cornéens selon qu’ils devront corriger une amétropie sphérique pure, cylindrique pure, ou sphéro-cylindrique (Figures 3-5 et Tableau 1)

Amétropies sphériques : myopie et hypermétropie (sans astigmatisme)

Le profil d’ablation est identique pour chacun des méridiens de la cornée (quelle que soit son orientation).

Myopie : il faut décambrer la surface cornéenne.

profil d'ablation myopie opération

La diminution de la cambrure au niveau du méridien considéré implique la réalisation d ’un profil d ’ablation où le maximum d énergie est délivré au centre de la zone d ’ablation. La profondeur d ’ablation est maximale au centre. Le raccordement avec la périphérie non traitée est harmonieux (absence de raccord abrupt), et n’implique pas la réalisation d’une zone de transition.

Hypermétropie : il faut cambrer la surface cornéenne:

L’augmentation de la cambrure au niveau du méridien considéré implique la réalisation d ’un profil d ’ablation où le maximum d énergie est délivré en périphérie de la zone d ’ablation. La profondeur d ’ablation est maximale à la périphérie de la zone optique. Le raccordement avec la périphérie non traitée est abrupt et la réalisation d’une zone de transition est impérative.

Astigmatisme simple  (non composé):

Le profil d’ablation est différent pour chacun des méridiens de la cornée. Il conduit théoriquement à cambrer (astigmatisme hypermétropique) ou décambrer (astigmatisme myopique) mais de façon VARIABLE tous les méridiens SAUF UN.

Astigmatisme composé (astigmatisme myopique composé, astigmatisme hypermétropique composé, astigmatisme mixte):

Il existe principalement deux types de délivrance pour ces traitements :

– Le traitement séquentiel :

Les composantes sphériques et cylindriques de l’amétropie sont traitées successivement selon les principes énumérés plus haut avec pour chacune de ces composantes une zone de transition et une zone optique définie.Ce type de traitement est l’apanage de certains lasers excimers à faisceau plein ou fente balayante.

–  Le traitement simultané :

Avec les lasers à flying spots, la distribution des impacts est effectuée de manière continue après calcul du profil d’ablation total. En général, le traitement de l’astigmatisme myopique composé implique une zone d’ablation dont le pourtour est ovalaire. Les composantes sphériques et cylindriques sont alors traitées simultanément, en réalisant une zone optique dont la circonférence est ovalaire ou elliptique (axe court le long du méridien le plus cambré, axe long le long du méridien le moins cambré). Le traitement elliptique stricto sensu, tel que défini par la société VISX, était une stratégie d’ablation visant à optimiser les dimensions du traitement en fonction de la différence de correction entre le méridien cornéen le plus cambré et le méridien cornéen le moins cambré.

Limites des modèles physico-mathématiques utilisés pour l’établissement des profils d’ablation :

En théorie, les profils d’ablations sont calculés à partir de modèles mathématiques précis. En pratique, le résultat de l’utilisation d’un profil d’ablation donné dépend non seulement de la différence nette entre le changement de courbure intentionnel imprimé à la surface cornéenne, mais aussi de l’action de facteurs biologiques (cicatrisation) et/ou biomécaniques.

Schématiquement, la régression est plus importante en regard de la zone de profondeur maximale d’ablation (qui est au centre pour la myopie, en périphérie pour l’hypermétropie), et ce d’autant plus qu’il existe un raccord abrupt avec une zone non traitée à ce niveau (cas de l’hypermétropie, et de l’astigmatisme myopique ou hypermétropique pour certains méridiens).

L’ablation de type parallèle (ou plano) est utilisée en mode photokératectomie à visée thérapeutique (PKT). Elle fournit un exemple de discordance entre l’effet réfractif attendu (nul puisque l’ablation est de profondeur constante) et celui obtenu (effet le plus souvent démyopisant). Cet effet traduit une diminution inattendue de la cambrure cornéenne pour qui baserait sa prédiction sur des caractéristiques purement physicomathématiques, dont deux des causes sont biologique (hyperplasie épithéliale compensatrice plus importante sur les bords de la zone optique en raison du raccord abrupt) et biomécanique (mise en tension des lamelles cornéennes par la section des lamelles superficielles) (4-6). La réalisation d’une large zone de transition à la périphérie de l’ablation plano permet de limiter l’aplatissement induit.

La représentation schématique des lenticules photoablatés en images de synthèse dans ces pages a été effectuée grâce à des  modèle tri dimensionnels simples (sphère, ellipsoïdes) sur lesquels des opérations d’addition, de soustraction ou d’intersection (opérations booléennes) ont été appliquées(7,8). La représentation à l’échelle est possible, mais les proportions de ces lenticules ont été toutefois exagérées à des fins didactiques.

L’étude des caractéristiques des profils d’ablation permet de comprendre la difficulté supérieure représentée par les traitements hypermétropiques et cylindriques, en raison des contraintes géométriques qui leur sont propres. Dans ces pages, l’étude des profils d’ablation a été restreinte au traitement des anomalies sphéro-cylindriques. Les profils basés sur la topographie cornéenne et l’aberrométrie modifient l’aspect de ces profils dans le détail, sans en changer les caractéristiques globales tant que la correction de l’amétropie sphéro-cylindrique y demeure prédominante. La connaissance des dimensions globales du profil d’ablation doit permettre d’optimiser la chirurgie, en ajustant au mieux les dimensions du capot et la position de la charnière et en minimisant le volume de tissu cornéen photoablaté, ce qui représente en fait un des aspectss du concept de traitement personnalisé.

Quelques références :

1) Munnerlyn CR, Koons SJ, Marshall J.  Photorefractive keratectomy: a technique for laser refractive surgery.  J Cataract Refract Surg.  1988;14:46-52.

2) McDonnell PJ, Moreira H, Clapham TN, D’Arcy J, Munnerlyn CR. Photorefractive keratectomy for astigmatism. Initial clinical results. Arch Ophthalmol, 1991 ;109 :1370-73.

3) Blaker W, Hersh PS. Theoretical and clinical effect of preoperative corneal curvature on excimer laser photorefractive keratectomy for myopia. J Refract Corneal Surg,1994 ;10 :571-74.

4) Fagerholm P, Hamberg-Nyström H, Tengroth B.  Wound healing and myopic regression following photorefractive keratectomy.  Acta Ophthalmol.  1994;72:229-34.

5) Gauthier CA, Epstein D, Holden BA, et al.  Epithelial alterations following photorefractive keratectomy for myopia.  J Refract Surg.  1995;11:113-18.

6) Talamo JH, Helena MC. PTK complications. In :   Azar DT, Steinert RF, Starck WJ, editors. Excimer laser phototherapeutic keratectomy. Baltimore :  Williams and Wilkins ; 1997.p.143-56.

7) Gatinel D, Hoang-Xuan T. Modélisation tridimensionnelle et géométrie descriptive des profils de photoablation sphériques et cylindriques pures au laser excimer. J Fr Ophtalmol,2002;25(3):247-56

8) Gatinel D. Profils et volumes d’ablation dans les différents types d’amétropie. In « Chirurgie réfractive », Saragoussi JJ, Arné JL, Colin J, Montard M. Masson,2001;pp245-249

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *