+ +

Keratoconus: Histology

Histology of Keratoconus

The histology of the cornea (from the Greek "histos", tissue) is the microscopic study of corneal tissue. In the absence of an animal model (Keratoconus appears to be a purely human condition), the histological study of Keratoconus is largely based on obtaining corneas (removed) for the production of a corneal graft. Histological changes caused by keratoconus affect all tissue layers of the cornea, but are not specific and distributed preferentially in the center of the cornea. The epithelial layer is often thinned in the center of the cornea (see below), and there are localized ruptures or irregularities in the basal membrane. The lack of specificity of these elements, that a chronic regular trauma such as friction could alone cause, invalidate a priori the presence of a dystrophy.

 

Layer of Bowman

The Bowman layer is the most superficial part of the stroma. It is located under the epithelial layer, its thickness is limited to about ten microns. The Bowman layer presents irregularities or even localized ruptures during the evolution of the keratoconus (recall that these observations concern the advanced stages of the disease, since they are performed on pimples of horns prélévés during of graft operation). There is sometimes a direct contact of the corneal stroma and the epithelial layer ("disappearance" of the Bowman layer). This layer being the most superficial area of the corneal stroma, it is particularly exposed to the trauma of the repeated eye rubbing.

Stroma and Collagen lamellae

At the level of the stromal layer there is a decrease in the number of collagen lamellae and a spatial disorganization, without reducing the thickness of the lamellae itself. A decrease in the substance located along the collagen fibrils (Proteoglycans) has been reported. The density of kératocytaires cells decreases in particular in the anterior stroma in relation to the Bowman membrane as well as in the posterior 2/3 of the stroma. The composition of corneal collagen appears to be little altered during the evolution of Keratoconus (Zimmerman et al. Comparative stydues of Collagens in normal and keratoconus corneas. Exp Eye Res, 1988; 46 (3): 431-42).

The corneal nerves have an increase in diameter with some keratocytes associated with their outskirts.

It is interesting to note that this histological aspect is quite compatible with what would produce sustained mechanical stress such as that caused by the repeated eye rubbing. In addition, it concerns only part of the cornea tissue, located in the central region. This focal distribution (the periphery is spared) points to an external "local" actuator.

 

Descemet Membrane

In the most advanced forms, with major thinning, the Descemet membrane (at the posterior side of the cornea) exhibits localized fracture lines and folds without any real difference in the composition of the different protein constituents compared to normal corneas. The endothelial cell layer exhibits anomalies of form and density that may be related to localized ruptures of the Descemet membrane. This type of impairment is always observed in patients who rub their eyes in a particularly vigorous and prolonged manner.

Enzymatic changes

The cells within the different layers of the corneal tissue secrete different enzymes that affect the rate of cell growth or death. These enzymatic changes are usually attributed to a dysfunction of the cells that regulate the maintenance and renewal of the contact cells. In the stroma of the corneas with Keratoconus, there is an increase in enzymes and mediators that degrade the tissue (collagenases, metalloproteinases). Apoptosis is the death of genetically programmed cells, and favored by some mediators. It has been shown that for normal eyes, 60 seconds of eye rubbing are sufficient to induce the local secretion of these molecules (MMP-13, TNF-alpha, interleukin-6) (Balasubramanian SA1, Pye DC, Willcox MD. Effects of eye rubbing on the levels of protease, protease activity and cytokines in tears: relevance in keratoconus. Optom Exp Clin. 2013; 96 (2): 214-8.)

 Therefore, the eye rubbing, in addition to contributing to the spatial disorganization of the collagen lamellae, results in the expression of biological mediators that cause tissue loss and thinning of the cornea. During the keratoconus, this thinning is focal, and located in the central (and Paracentral) region of the cornea.

 

See also:

No rub, no Cone, the Keratoconus Conjecture

Rebuttal of classical theory: Marfan syndrome 

Keratoconus and corneal topography

Suspicious forms of Keratoconus

Keratoconus subclinical

Consulter des case documentés avec suivi de kératocône (en anglais)

Comments are closed.

+ +

Kératocône: histologie

Histologie du kératocône

L’histologie de la cornée (du Grec « histos », tissu) est l’étude microscopique du tissu cornéen. En l’absence de modèle animal (le kératocône semble une affection purement humaine), l’étude histologique du kératocône repose grandement sur l’obtention de cornées prélevées (enlevées) pour la réalisation d’une greffe de cornée. Les modifications histologiques provoquée par le kératocône concernent toutes les couches tissulaires de la cornée, mais elles sont non spécifiques et distribuées préférentiellement au centre de la cornée. La couche épithéliale est souvent amincie au centre de la cornée (voir plus bas), et il existe des ruptures localisées ou des irrégularités de la membrane basale. L’absence de spécificité de ces éléments, qu’un traumatisme régulier chronique comme les frottements pourrait à lui seul causer, invalident a priori la présence d’une dystrophie.

 

Couche de Bowman

La couche de Bowman est la partie la plus superficielle du stroma. Elle se situe sous la couche épithéliale, son épaisseur est limitée à une dizaine de microns. La couche de Bowman présente des irrégularités, voire des ruptures localisées au cours de l’évolution du kératocône (rappelons que ces observations concernent les stades avancés de la maladie, puisque elles sont effectuées sur des boutons de cornées prélévés lors d’opération de greffe). Il existe parfois un contact direct du stroma cornéen et de la couche épithéliale (« disparition » de la couche de Bowman). Cette couche étant la région la plus superficielle du stroma cornéen, elle est particulièrement exposée au traumatisme que constituent les frottements oculaires répétés.

Stroma et lamelles de collagène

Au niveau de la couche stromale on retrouve une diminution du nombre de lamelles de collagène et une désorganisation spatiale, sans diminution d’épaisseur des lamelles elles-même. Une diminution de la substance située le long des fibrilles de collagènes (protéoglycans) a été rapportée. La densité des cellules kératocytaires diminue en particulier dans le stroma antérieur en regard de la membrane de Bowman ainsi que dans les 2/3 postérieurs du stroma. La composition du collagène cornéen semble peu modifiée au cours de l’évolution du kératocône  (Zimmerman et al. Comparative stydues of collagens in normal and keratoconus corneas. Exp Eye Res, 1988;46(3):431-42).

Les nerfs cornéens présentent une augmentation de diamètre avec des kératocytes associés à leur périphérie.

Il est intéressant de noter que cet aspect histologique est tout à fait compatible avec ce que produirait un stress mécanique soutenu comme celui que provoquent les frottements oculaires répétés. De plus, il ne concerne qu’une partie du tissu cornée, situé dans la région centrale. Cette distribution focale (la périphérie est épargnée) pointe vers un mécansime externe « local ».

 

Membrane de Descemet

Dans les formes les plus avancées, avec amincissement majeur, la membrane de Descemet (à la face postérieure de la cornée) présente des lignes de rupture localisée et des plis sans réelle différence de composition des différents constituants protéiques par rapport à des cornées normales. La couche de cellules endothéliale présente des anomalies de forme et de densité qui pourrait être liées aux ruptures localisées de la membrane de Descemet. Ce type d’atteinte est toujours observée chez les patients qui se frottent les yeux de manière particulièrement vigoureuse et prolongée.

Modifications enzymatiques

Les cellules situées au sein des différente couches du tissu cornéen sécrètent différentes enzymes qui influent sur le taux de croissance ou de mort cellulaire. Ces changements enzymatiques sont généralement attribués à un dysfonctionnement des cellules qui règlent le maintien et le renouvellement des cellules cornéennes. Dans le stroma des cornées atteintes de kératocône, on retrouve une augmentation des enzymes  et médiateurs qui dégradent le tissu (collagénases, métalloprotéinases). L’apoptose est la mort des cellules génétiquement programmée, et favorisée par certains médiateurs. Il a été montré que pour des yeux normaux, 60 secondes de frottements oculaires suffisent à induire la sécrétion locale de ces molécules (MMP-13, TNF-alpha, Interleukine 6) (Balasubramanian SA1, Pye DC, Willcox MD. Effects of eye rubbing on the levels of protease, protease activity and cytokines in tears: relevance in keratoconus. Clin Exp Optom. 2013;96(2):214-8.)

 Par conséquent, les frottements oculaires, en plus de contribuer à la désorganisation spatiale des lamelles de collagènes, résultent en l’expression de médiateurs biologiques qui provoquent une perte de tissu et un amincissement de la cornée. Au cours du kératocône, cet amincissement est focal, et situé dans la région centrale (et paracentrale) de la cornée.

 

Voir également:

No rub, No Cone, the Keratoconus Conjecture

Réfutation de la théorie classique: le syndrome de Marfan 

Kératocône et topographie cornéenne

Formes suspectes de kératocône

Kératocône infraclinique

Consulter des cas documentés avec suivi de kératocône (en anglais)

Les commentaires sont fermés.


Fatal error: Uncaught wfWAFStorageFileException: Unable to save temporary file for atomic writing. in /home/clients/0e98f30bad73cbe357ff222deca9aba0/web/gatinel/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php:30 Stack trace: #0 /home/clients/0e98f30bad73cbe357ff222deca9aba0/web/gatinel/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php(650): wfWAFStorageFile::atomicFilePutContents('/home/clients/0...', '<?php exit('Acc...') #1 [internal function]: wfWAFStorageFile->saveConfig('livewaf') #2 {main} thrown in /home/clients/0e98f30bad73cbe357ff222deca9aba0/web/gatinel/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php on line 30