+ +

The blurred vision of the myopic

The myopic sees blurred by far (see page: "") Why see the myopic blur? "): the blurred vision of the myopic concerns light sources 'remote', located beyond a distance where the vision is still clear. Indeed, the blurred vision of the myopic degree depends on the distance of the light source observed.

It is conventional to represent the mechanism at the origin of the myopic "blur" by a beam of rays intersecting "in front" of the retina. These incident rays are parallel, as emitted by a distant source (to infinity optical, which for the eye is a distance located beyond 5 metres about). These light rays are initially divergent, emitted in all directions by the source. With distance, they arrive nearly parallel to the level of the eye. So that the eye can have a good visual acuity, it is necessary that the image of a point source is also 'thin' as possible; This will allow to 'split' two point sources close. In the case of an affected eye of myopia, this condition is not met: as the rays intersect in front of the plan of the retina, a divergent beam brush comes "impress" this. the source image is "expanded" in a task seen as "fuzzy".

myopia image fuzzy

Schematic representation of the path of the light rays emitted by a distant point source. A part of the rays emitted by the source is captured by the myopic eye. These rays are almost parallel, and are focused ("intersect") in a plan too ahead of the retinal tissue. They continue their spread in divergence, and the image formed on the retina is more spread out than it would be if the retina was in the plan where the rays intersect.

 

Close to the myopic vision

If the myopic sees blurred by far, he sees however net without effort (no accommodation) to a 'close', (less than 2-3 meters) distance. It's another way to understand nearsightedness; the eye is "set" to see at a distance over. The myopic eye is like a camera that the update would be fixed and settled on a finite distance (d in the figure). In these conditions, the rays emitted by the source arrive in "divergence", and thereby to converge and focus on the retina. The point at this distance where the nearsighted eye sees net effortlessly accommodation is called punctum point.

myopia and a close source image

A myopic eye sees net at a finite distance, without accommodation. This property allows a myopic become presbyopic to read without effort, as long as d is located at a distance "to read" (30 to 40 cm).

If the nearsighted eye sees net at the distance of the point punctum and blur in the past, he can also see net below the point punctum, in accommodating. For example, a myopic correction is 1 diopter sees net around 1 meter distance. If it accommodates 2 diopters, he sees net at 1/(1+2)=1/3=0.33 meters or 33 cm. A completely presbyopic myopes can no longer fit, and if near-sightedness is less than 2D, it will still need glasses to read comfortably to 35 cm around the age of 60 years. Conversely, a myopic of 8 d has a point punctum located 1/8 = 12.5 cm. To read effortlessly, it must approach his work at this distance. Such myopia is too strong to be useful in case associated with presbyopia.

 

Away from the myopic vision

The uncorrected myopic therefore unclear by far, IE beyond its point punctum. To correct this vagueness, optical equipment or refractive surgery are necessary. A glass of bezel to concave shape (thicker towards the edge) is indicated; This glass has intended to diverge the incident light rays, as if they came from the punctum point. Rays arriving at the level of the cornea are different, and this difference compensates for convergence excess rays refracted by the myopic eye.

myopia corrected schema

Correction of myopia by a concave glass. By convention, this glass has a power equal to the inverse of the distance of the point punctum, negative. It to diverge the rays, which compensates for excess of convergence in the myopic eye. Optically, everything goes 'as if' the observed image came from the point punctum (concave glass forms a virtual image of the remote objects in his home, which is confused with the point of the myopic eye punctum).

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

La vision floue du myope

Le myope voit flou de loin (voir la page: « pourquoi le myope voit-il flou? ») : la vision floue du myope concerne les sources lumineuses « éloignées », situées au delà d’une distance où la vision est encore nette. En effet, le degré de vision floue du myope dépend de la distance de la source lumineuse observée.

Il est classique de représenter le mécanisme à l’origine du « flou » myopique par un faisceau de rayons qui se coupent « en avant » de la rétine. Ces rayons incidents sont parallèles, car émis par une source lointaine (à l’infini optique, ce qui pour l’oeil est une distance située au delà de 5 mètres environ). Ces rayons lumineux sont initialement divergents, émis dans toutes les directions par la source. Avec la distance, ils arrivent pratiquement parallèles au niveau de l’œil. Pour que l’œil puisse avoir une bonne acuité visuelle, il est nécéssaire que l’image d’une source ponctuelle soit aussi « fine » que possible; ceci permettra de « séparer » deux sources ponctuelles rapprochées. Dans le cas d’un oeil atteint de myopie, cette condition n’est pas remplie : comme les rayons se coupent en avant du plan de la rétine, un pinceau de rayon divergents vient « impressionner » celle-ci. l’image de la source est « élargie » en une tache perçue comme « floue ».

myopie image floue

Représentation schématique du trajet de rayons lumineux émis par une source lointaine ponctuelle. Une partie des rayons émise par la source est captée par l'oeil myope. Ces rayons arrivent quasiment parallèles, et sont focalisés ("se coupent") dans un plan trop en avant du tissu rétinien. Ils continuent leur propagation en divergence, et l'image formée sur la rétine est plus étalée qu'elle ne le serait si la rétine était dans le plan où les rayons se coupent.

 

La vision de près du myope

Si le myope voit flou de loin, il voit en revanche net sans efforts (pas d’accommodation) à une distance « rapprochée », (inférieure à 2 ou 3 mètres). C’est une autre manière de comprendre la myopie; l’oeil est « réglé » pour voir net à une distance finie. L’oeil myope est un comme un appareil photo dont la mise au point serait fixe et réglée sur une distance finie (d sur le schéma). Dans ces conditions, les rayons émis par la source arrivent en « divergence », et de ce fait convergent et focalisent sur la rétine. Le point situé à cette distance où l’oeil myope voit net sans effort d’accommodation est appelé punctum remotum.

myopie  et image d'une source rapprochée

Un oeil myope voit net à une distance finie, sans accommodation. Cette propriété permet à un myope devenu presbyte de lire sans efforts, à condition que d soit située à une distance "de lecture" (30 à 40 cm).

Si l’oeil myope voit net à la distance du punctum remotum et flou au delà, il peut également voir net en deçà du punctum remotum, en accommodant. Par exemple, un myope dont la correction est de 1 Dioptrie voit net autour de 1 mètre de distance. S’il accommode de 2 Dioptries, il verra net à 1/(1+2)=1/3=0.33 mètres soit 33 cm environ. Un myope complètement presbyte ne peut plus accommoder, et si sa myopie est inférieure à 2D, il aura tout de même besoin de lunettes pour lire confortablement à 35 cm vers l’âge de 60 ans. A l’inverse, un myope de 8D a un punctum remotum situé à 1/8= 12.5 cm. Pour lire sans effort, il doit approcher son ouvrage à cette distance. Une telle myopie est trop prononcée pour être utile en cas de presbytie associée.

 

La vision de loin du myope

Le myope non corrigé voit donc flou de loin, c’est à dire au delà de son punctum remotum. Pour corriger ce flou, un équipement optique ou une chirurgie réfractive sont nécessaires. Un verre de lunette de forme concave (plus épais vers son bord) est indiqué; ce verre a pour but de faire diverger les rayons lumineux incidents, comme s’ils venaient du punctum remotum. Les rayons qui arrivent au niveau de la cornée sont divergents, et cette divergence compense l’excès de convergence des rayons réfractés par l’oeil myope.

myopie corrigée schéma

Correction de la myopie par un verre concave. Par convention, ce verre a une puissance négative, égale à l'inverse de la distance du punctum remotum. Il fait diverger les rayons, ce qui compense d'excès de convergence de ceux-ci dans l'oeil myope. Optiquement, tout se passe "comme si" l'image observée provenait du punctum remotum (le verre concave forme une image virtuelle des objets distants à son foyer, qui est confondu avec le punctum remotum de l'oeil myope).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *