+ +

Regular and irregular astigmatism

THEastigmatism is a common eye defect. When we talk aboutastigmatism and its correction, we under generally the 'regular' character of astigmatism; regular astigmatism is often defined as the component of astigmatism is it possible to fix by a glass of bezel, in contrast to astigmatism said irregular.

 

Origin of irregular astigmatism

Irregular astigmatism is observed in some eye conditions, which may involve the cornea or the lens: irregular deformation of the cornea (ex: Keratoconus, corneal SCAR), asymmetry (ex: decentering after) LASIK), generates of irregular astigmatism of corneal origin.

Internal irregular astigmatism can be caused by an ectopy of the lens (Marfan disease), cataracts (inhomogeneity of the cristallinien kernel), a displacement or a toggle of the implant (tilt) after cataract surgery.

Irregular astigmatism brings together the optical aberrations that it was not possible to study in detail before the widespread use of the eye OPD. Thanks to the OPD, irregular astigmatism study corresponds to the collection and analysis of so-called aberrations of "high level". The type and rate of these aberrations are specified by the study of ocular wave-front, that allows to split the aberrations that make it up in terms of different degrees. The coupling of the aberrometric to the corneal topographer (ex: topo aberromere OPD - Nidek, or iTrace - SCAN Tracey) allows to study specifically the aberrations induced by the front of the cornea (from the measurement of topography of the cornea). By subtracting the aberrations of the cornea to the entire eye, we can estimate the rate of aberration of internal origin.

 

Regular astigmatism

Regular astigmatism is a regular change in the defocus with azimuth. The defocus is quantified through the terms of degree 2 in the classification of Zernike. The decomposition into polynomials of Zernike phase shifts of the Wavefront attributes to regular astigmatism two components: Z(2,-2) and Z (2.2). These components are 'independent' (mathematically, it is said that they are orthogonal: they allow to break down all regular astigmatism in a combination of these two terms).

Zernike terms for regular astigmatism

The terms of degree 2 correspond to 'regular' says astigmatism and defocus (myopia or hyperopia)

 

The value of the coefficients C(2,-2) and C (2.2) which weigh these terms depends on the direction (in degrees) and the magnitude (in power) of regular astigmatism:

In case of astigmatism direct or inverted (oriented exactly 90 ° vs 0 °), only the C (2,2) component has a value non-zero (negative if direct astigmatism, positive if astigmatism reverses). The value of C (2, -2) = 0

In case of astigmatism oblique (oriented to exactly 45 ° vs 135 °), only the C (2, -2) component has a value not zero, and the component C (2,2) = 0.

The astigmatismes focused on other areas (ex: 25 ° vs 115 °) result in a combination of values non-null for C(2,-2) and C (2, 2).

The magnitude of the regular astigmatism is equal to the square root of the sum of the squares of the components C(2,-2) and C (2, 2).

Regular astigmatism is corrected in glasses, refractive surgery (LASIK, PKR) and cataract (toric implant) surgery.

Astigmatism correction is based on the use of a device that generates an astigmatism of same magnitude but oriented at 90 ° of astigmatism to be corrected.

Zernike astigmatism correction

Regular astigmatism correction is based on the induction of an astigmatism equivalent in magnitude, but oriented at 90 °. Here the phase shift induced by regular astigmatism is represented by a polynomial of Zenike Z(2, +/-2) (bottom). A corrector device induces an equivalent phasing in magnitude, but it must be oriented so that this phase shift is oriented at 90 ° to that of the eye. In this way, the sum of these phase shifts results in a phase shift zero. In the case of a toric implant in cataract surgery, should be to align the implant in an optimal way, depending on the orientation of corneal astigmatism. The toric implant fixes that the regular component from astigmatism.

 

Irregular astigmatism

It corresponds to the phase shifts caused by aberrations of degree greater than or equal to 3. A moderate rate of irregular astigmatism is measured for human eyes, and this rate increases with the dilation of the pupil. The most frequently recovered aberrations are of type coma: Z (3, -1) and Z (3,1), trefoil: Z (3, -3) and Z (3.3), Z (4.0) and Z (6,0) spherical aberration.

Irregular astigmatism is not correctable by glasses. It can be reduced by wearing rigid contact lenses, a laser photoablation custom, or the treatment of the cause (ex: biased implant).

Keratoconus, corneal () deformationcaused by the eye rubbing According to the author of this site) causes of the type coma aberration because corneal asymmetry causes an asymmetric phase shift. The optical path from the fovea is short in region where the cornea is less arched (in superior) and longer in the region where the cornea is more arched.

keratoconus coma aberration

Keratoconus is usually a significant degree of corneal asymmetry; the lower camber results in a phase delay (lengthening of the optical path), while the portion less arched (in top) trained a phase advance. The phase shift is represented by the type of coma aberration, whose rating in the classification of the Zernike polynomials is Z(3,+/-1).

The schema below below represents schematically the emerging wave front of an affected eye of Keratoconus, which is a variation of optical path from the fovea:

Keratoconus generates a phase shift of type coma

Phase shift induced by Keratoconus: the optical path is more "long" in the direction of the top of Keratoconus in the upper part of the cornea. The created dephasing is an aberration of type vertical coma, with a delay to phase in lower, and an advance in superior. Deformation induced by Keratoconus also generates regular, often directed to an oblique way astigmatism.

Keratoconus: regular and irregular astigmatism

Some clinical examples illustrating these differences.

 

It is a patient with Keratoconus stable, cataract surgery and received a toric implant insertion to correct the regular component from astigmatism. In post operative, Visual acuity is 10/10 without correction by far, and Parinaud 3 without correction closely. The aberrometrique study allows to split the consequences of regular astigmatism corneal (and its compensation by the implant), as well as the persistence of the effects associated with irregular astigmatism (see also:) example review aberrometrique and Keratoconus)

keratoconus OPD SCAN III Nidek topography

Rendering of the anterior corneal curvature. This map is from the "Cornea summary" mode and reveals a toricite and a significant corneal asymmetry with sharper lower camber (curvature instant). Interpreting automated this cornea is "clinical keratoconus" (i.e. "Keratoconus clinical").

 

The topo-aberrometrique with OPDSCAN III study to explore the relative contributions of the cornea with implant (internal):

Overview Keratoconus and toric implant

Representation in mode (overview) overview of the measure topo aberrometrique in this patient with Keratoconus and surgery of cataract with o-ring implant. Left, map OPD (variations of the refraction in the pupillary area), Center map, axial curvature, and right map OPD internal (variations of the refraction in the pupillary area related to the internal diopters: posterior face of the cornea interface / acqeuse, and o-ring implant mood). We note that the corneal astigmatism is low, while internal and corneal astigmatism are high (close to 7 d) but oriented at 90 °. This mutual neutralization explains the low residual total astigmatism.

 

This almost total regular astigmatism correction is borne out by the study of the position of the implant (toricite) astigmatism corneal.

 

Toric IOL display Nidek OPD SCAN III

The image collected in "Toric IOL display" mode has a photo taken in retro illumination, with visualization of the implant. The marks on the implant can identify the orientation of it towards the orientation of corneal astigmatism (right). Here, the implant is perfectly aligned: his astigmatism compensates so that of the cornea.

The map of corneal phase shift induced by the toricite corneal (regular component) is represented here, in microns.

dephasing corneal astigmatism OPD

Representation of the phase shift related to the regular component of corneal astigmatism. (representation of the corneal Wavefront restricted to aberrations Z(2,-2) and Z (2.2))

The representation of the regular component of the toric implant-induced astigmatism reveals a similar magnitude, and direction at 90 °.

dephasing implant o-ring corneal Wavefront

Representation of the regular component of the toric implant-induced astigmatism. Note the orientation at 90 ° from it to the regular component of corneal astigmatism.

The orientation of the implant (its the most powerful Meridian is aligned with the corneal Meridian the least powerful) can be quantified by the study of the components of astigmatism (Zernike polynomials: Z(2,-2) and Z (2,2).)

zernike astigmatism compensation ring implant component

The representation of the ocular Wavefront is restricted to the only aberrations of degree 2 (regular astigmatism). Total regular astigmatism is very fable: corneal and internal components cancel out. The absolute values of the coefficients corresponding to the corneal astigmatism and internal (C2,-2) and C (2,2) are identical, but their sign is opposite, which explains their mutual "neutralization".

map OPD, which shows the refractive fluctuations within the pupillary area, reveals however the presence of an increase in the negative power in lower. This refractive asymmetry is the consequence of the corneal asymmetry (Keratoconus).

OPD toric implant irregular astigmatism

map OPD shows variations in local diopter power (vergence), expressed in diopters, for the entire eye. These variations are related to regular astigmatism and aberrations of high degree. If the eye was affected to an optical defect of type "defocus" (pure myopia: negative defocus in diopters, pure hymermetropie: defocus positive diopters) then the map would be monochrome. In other words, there is no local fluctuations of Dioptric power. The OPD map includes the effect of all aberrations (defocus, but also regular and irregular - astigmatism aberrations of high degree). On this example, there is a gradient of power overall vertical: refraction is rather slightly hypermetropique in the half top of the pupil, and myopic in half less of the pupil. A variation of this type is usually induced by the type coma aberration. She brings a potentially useful for near, vision multifocalite explaining the unusual achievements in near vision not corrected for a patient pseudophake (o-ring monofocal impant)

The OPD map restricted to only optical aberrations of high level confirms the responsibility of the aberrations of high degree in the genesis of the lower power increase.

map OPD HO o-ring implant irregular astigmatism

It is possible to represent the only effect of the aberrations of high degree: map OPD HO or HO means "High Order" (high level). We note the persistence of the curvature gradient vertical: this one is so induced by the "irregular," said asgtigmatisme, who is represented by the aberration type coma (see below), whose origin is essentially corneal (Keratoconus with lower bulge, that increases local refractive power).

The aberrations of high degree study confirms the presence of a high rate of type coma aberration: this aberration represents the essence of responsible "irregular" astigmatism aberrations

 

aberrations high degree astigmatism irregular HOA

Topo aberrometrique review allows to separate the phase shifts induced by the cornea (to downtown) earlier on the Wavefront eye total (left). By subtraction, we obtain the cumulative effect of the posterior side of the cornea and the toric implant. We note that type coma aberrations dominate the total and corneal wave front. There is a significant rate of coma "internal." This is due in part to the posterior corneal asymmetry, and the refractive index gradient opposed between posterior and aqueous which is opposite in sign (and less) than that which separates air from the front of the cornea. The posterior face of the cornea, which deformation is often more pronounced than that of the anterior face of the cornea, neutralizes a significant proportion of previous coma. Another explanation for this internal compensation is "mechanical." the phase shift of type coma translated first asymmetric refraction, which generates an asymmetric route rays refracted towards the toric implant; This asymmetry causes a second refraction that compensates for this first asymmetry (Artal and al.) The human eye us year example of robust optical desing. J live, 2006; 10 (6): 1-7

The effect of ocular components and their contributions to the regular and irregular astigmatism can be studied using the maps "Optical quality" (optical quality):

PSF MTF convolution

Wave-front measurement to calculate PSF (distribution of the light intensity of a point source on the retina), the MTF (contrast of the retinal image) and a simulation of the projection of a retinal image of an optotype plance. Upstairs, the effect of the regular component from astigmatism is represented: note spread large and diffuse the light intensity: overall circular and not elliptical appearance corresponds to the circle of lesser (mixed astigmatism of spherical equivalent almost zero). The addition of the irregular compoisante induced an asyemtrie in this light distribution. Lander, the simulated effect of the irregular component of single astigmatism (aberrations of high degree) shows a higher vertical light distribution: effect of the type coma aberration). The PSF has a characteristic orientation, with light streaming in the form of 'Comet', whose Summit is less (orientation of the coma aberration).

Ultimately the toric implant helped neutralize the regular component of corneal astigmatism. After implantation and orientation of it, the optical quality of the eye remains tainted by the component "irregular" astigmatism, represented mainly by the coma aberration, consequence of the corneal asymmetry (Keratoconus).

PSF MTF convolution entire eye

The total ocular Wavefront measurement to calculate PSF (distribution of the light intensity of a point source on the retina), the MTF (contrast of the retinal image) and a simulation of the projection of a retinal image of a Board of optotypes. Regular corneal astigmatism is offset by the astigmatism of the implant, which however does not compensate for the irregular component of corneal astigmatism (coma). Note the appearance of the PSF in Comet with a peak of maximum light intensity down.

 Internal irregular astigmatism: ectopy of the lens

The topo - aberrometrique (OPD SCAN) map obtained at a patient presenting a total eye astigmatism at the same time of corneal and internal origin;

corneal astigmatism and internal conjgues

Box highlights the magnitude and orientation of three components of the astigmatism. The map representing the internal vergence (Internal OPD) reveals a vertical the vergence, greater emphasis at the level of the lower Meridian hemi. The axial topographic map (in the Center) shows a regular corneal toricite (regular corneal astigmatism). The irregularity (RMS) is maximum internal (0.742 microns for a pupil of 5.72 mm)

After dilation slit lamp examination reveals the origin of internal regular and irregular astigmatism: there is a sub luxation of the lens induced by rupture of the zonule in lower - in a context of Marfan syndrome. The zonule is an elastic ligament, which keeps the lens in a State of tension at rest. The partial breakdown of the (elastic tissue affected by Marfan disease) zonular fibers causes local relaxation of the lens with localized bulge. This bulge causes an overall increase in the vergence in the vertical axis, more marked next to the disinsertion rupture.

ectopy of the lens with the vergence increase lower release disinsertion

Left, the map 'Internal OPD' which represents the distribution of optical power (vergence) within the pupil who is not induced by the cornea. The right cliché biomicroscopique of the anterior segment of the eye after expansion, which allows to diagnose the subluxation of the lens.

The following image shows the overlap between the map OPD and the photographic image of the review to the slit lamp:

subluxation of the lens and vergence map

The inferior dislocation of the lens causes an increase in localized internal vergence. Right, schematic representation of the geometric change induced by the disinsertion relaxation: the crystalline bomb asymmetrically (arrows)

 

See also: rotation of toric implant in a patient suffering from Keratoconus and cataract surgery

 Astigmatism - explanations

Corneal astigmatism

2 Responses to "Regular and irregular astigmatism"

  1. Jessie says:

    Hello
    I have an irregular astigmatism diagnosed by Dr. Saad. I will have rigid lenses but in the meantime it only gets worse. How to slow his progression? For three days, I see the ground distorted and it seems to me far. It's even worse without glasses. Can the irregular astigmastisme be the cause?
    Thank you
    Kind regards

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Astigmatisme régulier et irrégulier

L’astigmatisme est un défaut oculaire fréquent; quand on parle d’astigmatisme et de sa correction, on sous entend généralement le caractère « régulier » de l’astigmatisme; l’astigmatisme régulier est souvent défini comme la composante de l’astigmatisme qu’il est possible de corriger par un verre de lunette, à l’inverse de l’astigmatisme dit irrégulier.

 

Origine de l’astigmatisme irrégulier

L’astigmatisme irrégulier s’observe dans certaines affections oculaires, qui peuvent impliquer la cornée et/ou le cristallin: toute déformation irrégulière de la cornée (ex: kératocône, cicatrice cornéenne), asymétrie (ex: décentrement après LASIK), génère de l’astigmatisme irrégulier d’origine cornéenne.

L’astigmatisme irrégulier interne peut être provoqué par une ectopie du cristallin (maladie de Marfan), une cataracte (inhomogénéité du noyau cristallinien), un déplacement ou une bascule de l’implant (tilt) après chirurgie de la cataracte.

L’astigmatisme irrégulier  regroupe les aberrations optiques qu’il n’était pas possible d’étudier de manière précise avant la généralisation de l’aberrométrie oculaire. Grâce à l’aberrométrie, l’étude de l’astigmatisme irrégulier correspond au recueil et à l’analyse des aberrations dites de « haut degré ». Le type et le taux de ces aberrations sont précisés par l’étude du front d’onde oculaire, qui permet de scinder les aberrations qui le composent en des termes de différents degrés. Le couplage de l’aberromètre au topographe cornéen (ex: topo aberromère OPD SCAN – Nidek, ou iTrace – Tracey) permet d’étudier de manière spécifique les aberrations induites par la face avant de la cornée (à partir de la mesure de la topographie de la cornée). En soustrayant les aberrations de la cornée à celle de l’oeil entier, on peut estimer le taux d’aberration d’origine interne.

 

Astigmatisme régulier

L’astigmatisme régulier correspond à une variation régulière du défocus avec l’azimuth. Le défocus est quantifié grâce aux termes de degré 2 dans la classification de Zernike. La décomposition en polynômes de Zernike des déphasages du front d’onde attribue à l’astigmatisme régulier deux composantes : Z(2,-2) et Z(2,2). Ces composantes sont « indépendantes » (mathématiquement, on dit qu’elles sont  orthogonales: elles permettent de décomposer tout astigmatisme régulier en une combinaison de ces deux termes).

termes de Zernike pour astigmatisme régulier

Les termes de degré 2 correspondent à l’astigmatisme dit « régulier » et au defocus (myopie ou hypermétropie)

 

La valeur des coefficients C(2,-2) et C(2,2) qui pondèrent ces termes dépend de l’orientation (en degré) et de la magnitude (en dioptrie) de l’astigmatisme régulier:

En cas d’astigmatisme direct ou inverse (orienté exactement à 90° vs 0°), seule la composante C(2,2) a une valeur non nulle (négative si astigmatisme direct, positive si astigmatisme inverse). La valeur de C(2,-2)=0

En cas d’astigmatisme oblique  (orienté à exactement 45° vs 135°), seule la composante C(2,-2) a une valeur non nulle, et la composante C(2,2) = 0.

Les astigmatismes orientés sur d’autres axes (ex : 25° vs 115°) résultent en une combinaison de valeurs non nulles pour C(2,-2) et C (2;2).

La magnitude de l’astigmatisme régulier est égale à la racine carrée de la somme des carrés des composantes C(2,-2) et C (2;2).

L’astigmatisme régulier est corrigé en lunettes, en chirurgie réfractive (LASIK, PKR) et en chirurgie de la cataracte (implant torique).

La correction de l’astigmatisme repose sur l’utilisation d’un dispositif qui génère un astigmatisme de même magnitude mais orienté à 90° de l’astigmatisme à corriger.

Zernike astigmatisme correction

La correction de l’astigmatisme régulier repose sur l’induction d’un astigmatisme équivalent en magnitude, mais orienté à 90°. Ici, le déphasage induit par l’astigmatisme régulier est représenté par un polynôme de Zenike Z(2, +/-2) (en bas). Un dispostif correcteur induit un déphasage équivalent en magnitude, mais il doit être orienté de manière à ce que ce déphasage soit orienté à 90° de celui de l’œil. De cette manière, la somme de ces déphasages résulte en un déphasage nul. Dans le cas d’un implant torique en chirurgie de la cataracte, il convient d’aligner l’implant de manière optimale, en fonction de l’orientation de l’astigmatisme cornéen. L’implant torique ne corrige que la composante régulière de l’astigmatisme.

 

L’astigmatisme irrégulier

Il correspond aux déphasages infligés par des aberrations de degré supérieur ou égal à 3. Un taux modéré d’astigmatisme irrégulier est mesuré pour les yeux humains, et ce taux augmente avec la dilatation de la pupille. Les aberrations les plus fréquemment retrouvées sont de type coma : Z(3,-1) et Z(3,1), trefoil : Z(3,-3) et Z (3,3), aberration sphérique Z(4,0) et Z(6,0).

L’astigmatisme irrégulier n’est pas corrigeable en lunettes. Il peut être réduit par le port de lentilles de contact rigides, une photoablation laser personnalisée, ou le traitement de la cause (ex : implant décentré).

Le kératocône, déformation cornéenne (provoquée par les frottements oculaires selon l’auteur de ce site) provoque de l’aberration de type coma car l’asymétrie cornéenne provoque un déphasage asymétrique. Le chemin optique depuis la fovéa est plus court dans région où la cornée est moins cambrée (en supérieur) et plus long dans la région où la cornée est plus cambrée.

aberration coma keratocone

Le kératocône comporte généralement un degré important d’asymétrie cornéenne; la cambrure inférieure entraîne un retard de phase (allongement du chemin optique), alors que la portion moins cambrée (en supérieur) entraine une avance de phase. Le déphasage est représenté par l’aberration de type de coma, dont la notation dans la classification des polynômes de Zernike est Z(3,+/-1).

Le schéma ci dessous représente de manière schématique le front d’onde émergent d’un oeil affecté de kératocône, qui subit une variation de chemin optique depuis la fovéa:

le kératocone génère un déphasage de type coma

Déphasage induit par le kératocône : le chemin optique est plus « long » dans la direction du sommet du kératocône que dans la partie supérieure de la cornée. Le déphasage créé est une aberration de type coma verticale, avec un retard de phase en inférieur, et une avance en supérieur. La déformation induite par le kératocône génère également de l’astigmatisme régulier, souvent orienté de manière oblique.

Kératocône : astigmatisme régulier et irrégulier

Voici un exemple clinique illustrant ces différences.

 

Il s’agit d’un patient atteint de kératocône stable, opéré de cataracte et ayant bénéficié d’une insertion d’implant torique pour corriger la composante régulière de l’astigmatisme. En post opératoire, l’acuité visuelle est de 10/10 sans correction de loin, et Parinaud 3 sans correction de près. L’étude aberrométrique permet de scinder les conséquences de l’astigmatisme régulier cornéen (et de sa compensation par l’implant), ainsi que la persistance des effets liés à l’astigmatisme irrégulier (voir aussi : exemple examen aberrométrique  et kératocône)

keratocone topographie OPD SCAN III Nidek

Rendu de la courbure cornéenne antérieure. Cette carte est issue du mode « Cornea summary » et révèle une toricité et une asymétrie cornéenne importante avec cambrure inférieure plus marquée (courbure instantanée). L’interprétation automatisée de cette cornée est « clinical keratoconus » (soit « kératocône clinique »).

 

L’étude topo-aberrométrique avec l’OPDSCAN III permet d’explorer les contributions relatives de la cornée et de l’implant (interne):

overview Keratocone et implant torique

Représentation en mode overview (vue d’ensemble) de la mesure topo aberrométrique chez ce patient présentant un kératocône et opéré de cataracte avec implant torique. A gauche, carte OPD (variations de la réfraction au sein de l’aire pupillaire), au centre carte de courbure axiale, et à droite, carte OPD interne (variations de la réfraction au sein de l’aire pupillaire liées au dioptres internes: interface face postérieure de la cornée/ humeur acqeuse, et implant torique). On note que l’astigmatisme cornéen est faible, alors que l’astigmatisme cornéen et interne sont élevées (proche de 7D) mais orientés à 90°. Cette neutralisation mutuelle explique le faible astigmatisme total résiduel.

 

Cette correction quasi totale de l’astigmatisme régulier est corroborée par l’étude de la position de l’implant vis à vis de l’astigmatisme (toricité) cornéenne.

 

Toric IOL display Nidek OPD SCAN III

L’image recueillie en mode « Toric IOL display » comporte une photo prise en rétro illumination, avec visualisation de l’implant. Les marques sur l’implant permettent de repérer l’orientation de celui-ci vis-à-vis de l’orientation de l’astigmatisme cornéen (à droite). Ici, l’implant est parfaitement aligné: son astigmatisme compense alors celui de la cornée.

La carte du déphasage cornéen induit par la toricité cornéenne (composante régulière) est représentée ici, en microns.

déphasage astigmatisme cornéen OPD

Représentation du déphasage lié à la composante régulière de l’astigmatisme cornéen. (représentation du front d’onde cornéen restreinte aux aberrations Z(2,-2) et Z(2,2) )

La représentation de la composante régulière de l’astigmatisme induit par l’implant torique révèle une magnitude similaire, et une orientation à 90°.

déphasage implant torique front d'onde cornéen

Représentation de la composante régulière de l’astigmatisme induit par l’implant torique. Noter l’orientation à 90° de celui-ci vis-à-vis de la composante régulière de l’astigmatisme cornéen.

L’orientation adéquate de l’implant (son méridien le plus puissant est aligné avec le méridien cornéen le moins puissant) peut être quantifiée par l’étude des composantes de l’astigmatisme (polynômes de Zernike : Z(2,-2) et Z (2,2).

composant zernike astigmatisme compensation implant torique

La représentation du front d’onde oculaire est restreinte au seules aberrations de degré 2 (astigmatisme régulier). L’astigmatisme régulier total est très fable: les composantes cornéennes et internes s’annulent. Les valeurs absolues des coefficients correspondant à l’astigmatisme cornéen et interne (C2,-2) et C(2,2) sont identiques, mais leur signe est opposé, ce qui explique leur « neutralisation » mutuelle.

L’examen de la carte OPD, qui montre les fluctuations réfractives au sein de l’aire pupillaire, révèle cependant la présence d’une augmentation de la puissance négative en inférieur. Cette asymétrie réfractive est la conséquence de l’asymétrie cornéenne (kératocône).

OPD implant torique astigmatisme irrégulier

La carte OPD montre les variations de puissance dioptrique locale (vergence), exprimées en dioptries, pour l’œil entier. Ces variations sont liées à l’astigmatisme régulier et aux aberrations de haut degré. Si l’œil n’était atteint que d’un défaut optique de type « défocus » (myopie pure : défocus négatif en dioptries, hymermétropie pure : défocus positif en dioptries) alors la carte serait monochrome. Autrement dit, il n’y aurait pas de fluctuations locales de puissance dioptrique. La carte OPD inclut l’effet de toutes les aberrations (défocus, mais aussi astigmatisme régulier et irrégulier – aberrations de haut degré). Sur cet exemple, on observe un gradient de puissance globalement vertical: la réfraction est plutôt légèrement hypermétropique dans la moitié supérieure de la pupille, et myopique dans la moitié inférieure de la pupille. Une variation de ce type est généralement induite par l’aberration de type coma. Elle apporte une multifocalité potentiellement utile pour la vision de près, expliquant les performances inhabituelles en vision de près non corrigée pour un patient pseudophake (impant monofocal torique)

La carte OPD restreinte aux seules aberrations optiques de haut degré confirme la responsabilité des aberrations de haut degré dans la génèse de l’augmentation de puissance inférieure.

carte OPD HO implant torique astigmatisme irrégulier

Il est possible de représenter le seul effet des aberrations de haut degré : carte OPD HO ou HO signifie « High Order » (haut degré). On note la persistance du gradient de courbure vertical: celui-ci est donc induit par l’asgtigmatisme dit « irrégulier », qui est représenté par l’aberration de type coma (voir plus loin), dont l’origine est essentiellement cornéenne (kératocône avec bombement inférieur, qui entraîne une augmentation locale de la puissance réfractive).

L’étude des aberrations de haut degré confirme la présence d’un taux élevé d’aberration de type coma: cette aberration représente l’essentiel des aberrations responsables de l’astigmatisme « irrégulier ».

 

aberrations haut degré astigmatisme irrégulier HOA

L’examen topo aberrométrique permet de séparer les déphasages induits par la cornée (au centre) antérieure sur le front d’onde oculaire total (à gauche). Par soustraction, on obtient l’effet cumulé de la face postérieure de la cornée et de l’implant torique. On note que les aberrations de type coma dominent le front d’onde total et cornéen. Il existe un taux non négligeable de coma « interne ». Celle-ci est attribuable en partie à l’asymétrie cornéenne postérieure, et au gradient d’indice de réfraction opposé entre face postérieure et humeur aqueuse qui est opposé en signe (et moindre) à celui qui sépare l’air de la face antérieure de la cornée. La face postérieur de la cornée, dont la déformation est souvent plus prononcée que celle de la face antérieure de la cornée, neutralise une partie non négligeable du coma antérieur. Une autre explication à cette compensation interne est « mécanique »; le déphasage de type coma traduit une première réfraction asymétrique, qui engendre un trajet asymétrique des rayons réfractés vers l’implant torique; cette asymétrie provoque une deuxième réfraction qui compense cette première asymétrie (Artal et al. The human eye us an example of robust optical desing. J Vis, 2006;10(6):1-7

L’effet des composants oculaires et de leur contribution à l’astigmatisme régulier et irrégulier peut être étudié au moyen des cartes « Optical quality » (Qualité optique):

PSF MTF convolution

La mesure du front d’onde permet de calculer la PSF (répartition de l’intensité lumineuse d’un point source sur la rétine), la MTF (contraste de l’image rétinienne) et une simulation de la projection d’une image rétinienne d’une plance d’optotypes. En haut, l’effet de la composante régulière de l’astigmatisme est représenté: noter l’étalement important et diffus de l’intensité lumineuse: l’aspect globalement circulaire et non elliptique correspond au cercle de moindre diffusion (astigmatisme mixte d’équivalent sphérique quasi nul). L’ajout de la compoisante irrégulière induit une asyémtrie dans cette répartition lumineuse. En bas, l’effet simulé du composant irrégulier de l’astigmatisme seul (aberrations de haut degré) montre une diffusion lumineuse verticale supérieure: effet de l’aberration de type coma). La PSF a une orientation caractéristique, avec une diffusion lumineuse en forme de « comète », dont le sommet est inférieur (orientation de l’aberration coma).

Au final, l’implant torique a permit de neutraliser la composante régulière de l’astigmatisme cornéen. Après implantation et orientation adéquate de celui-ci, la qualité optique de l’oeil demeure entachée par la composante « irrégulière » de l’astigmatisme, représentée principalement par de l’aberration de coma, conséquence de l’asymétrie cornéenne (kératocône).

PSF MTF convolution oeil entier

La mesure du front d’onde oculaire total permet de calculer la PSF (répartition de l’intensité lumineuse d’un point source sur la rétine), la MTF (contraste de l’image rétinienne) et une simulation de la projection d’une image rétinienne d’une planche d’optotypes. L’astigmatisme cornéen régulier est compenser par l’astigmatisme de l’implant, qui en revanche ne compense pas la composante irrégulière de l’astigmatisme cornéen (coma). Noter l’aspect de la PSF, en comète avec un pic d’intensité lumineuse maximale vers le bas.

 Astigmatisme irrégulier interne : ectopie du cristallin

La carte topo – aberrométrique (OPD SCAN) obtenue chez un patient présent un astigmatisme oculaire total à la fois d’origine cornéenne et interne;

astigmatisme cornéen et interne conjgués

L’encadré souligne les magnitudes et orientation de trois composantes de l’astigmatisme. La carte représentant la vergence interne (Internal OPD) révèle une accentuation verticale de la vergence, plus marquée au niveau des hémi méridiens inférieurs. La carte topographique axiale (au centre) montre une toricité cornéenne régulière (astigmatisme cornéen régulier). L’irrégularité (RMS) est maximale en interne (0.742 microns pour une pupille de 5.72 mm)

L’examen à la lampe à fente après dilatation révèle l’origine de l’astigmatisme interne régulier et irrégulier: il existe une sub luxation du cristallin, induite par une rupture de la zonule en inférieure – dans un contexte de syndrome de Marfan. La zonule est un ligament élastique, qui maintient le cristallin dans un état de tension au repos. La rupture partielle des fibres zonulaires (tissu élastique affecté par la maladie de Marfan) provoque un relâchement local du cristallin avec bombement localisé. Ce bombement provoque une augmentation globale de la vergence dans l’axe vertical, plus marquée en regard de la rupture zonulaire.

ectopie du cristallin avec augmentation de la vergence inférieure relachement zonulaire

A gauche, la carte « Internal OPD » qui représente la distribution de puissance optique (vergence) au sein de la pupille qui n’est PAS induite par la cornée. A droite, cliché biomicroscopique du segment antérieur de l’oeil après dilatation, qui permet de diagnostiquer la subluxation du cristallin.

L’image suivante montre la superposition entre la carte OPD et l’image photographique de l’examen à la lampe à fente:

subluxation du cristallin et carte de vergence

La luxation inférieure du cristallin provoque une augmentation localisée de la vergence interne. A droite, représentation schématique de la modification géométrique induite par le relâchement zonulaire: le cristallin bombe de manière asymétrique (flèches)

 

Voir aussi : rotation d’implant torique chez un patient atteint de kératocône et opéré de cataracte

 Astigmatisme – explications

Astigmatisme cornéen

2 réponses à “Astigmatisme régulier et irrégulier”

  1. jessie dit :

    Bonjour,
    J’ai un astigmatisme irrégulier diagnostiqué par le docteur saad. Je vais avoir des lentilles rigides mais en attendant cela ne fait que empirer. Comment ralentir sa progression ? depuis 3 jours, je vois le sol déformé et il me parait loin . Celà est encore pire sans lunettes. L’astigmastisme irrégulier peut en être la cause ?
    Merci
    Cordialement

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *