+ +

Myopia: refraction and axial length

Myopia is an ametropia which is characterized by excessive ocular axial length towards the refractive power of the optics of the eye (horny and crystalline).

Can you quantify the effect of the elongation of the eye on the ocular refraction? What is the effect on the length of the eye the increase in myopia of a diopter? How many diopters of myopia is a millimeter of eye elongation responsible?

To answer these questions, we can make the following schema and perform some simplifications: the myopic eye is by definition such that the retina is combined with the punctum point which is at a finite distance (L) of the master plan previous P.  The image of the object located at the point punctum (noted PR) is formed on the retina, located at a distance the rear main plan P' (the main plans are combined and such that their growth is equal to 1). The source object (located in the punctum point) is in the air (n = 1), and its image form in a medium whose refractive index is that of the glass (no = 1336).

relationship between axile myopia and increase in axial length

Relationship between axial length and myopisation. The diagram represents a myopic eye (top), which increases the axial length (bottom), without changing the other biometric parameters (same cornea, same lens). The increase in the axial length of a dL element' causes a change of the position of the point punctum: the inverse of the distance dL is equal to V0, which is the change from caused vergence (myopisation).

Using the relations of vergences (and being careful to respect the conventions of signs for the expression of distances), we can write the vergence of the eye (V) is equal to: no/l ' + (n/-L).

Let V = no/l '-n/L (1)

The second term in this expression is the vergence of the object, located in the air (n = 1) one can write V0 = 1/L. The expression (1) becomes:

V = no/l '-V0,

Where one gets:

V0 = No/l '-V (2)

Note that for an object at infinity, an Emmetropic eye has an equal to no/l vergence' (V0 equal 0 because L is infinite)

What's happening - you it if we increase the axial length of a dL amount '? This causes a slight variation of the distance of the Punctum point that there is dL, and so the vergence of the dV object0 (= 1/dL).

We're trying to estimate how much varies V0  (which is the change of vergence in the reconciliation of the PR) with dL' (increase the axial length of the eye)?

We have: V = no/l '-V0 where V is a constant related to the characteristics of the concerned eye (the vergence of the entire eye is sum of the respective vergences the cornea and the crystalline lens in practice equal to l). We consider this expression as a function that connects the (variable) and V0

To assess the effect of a small change of the (designated by dL') we can derive V0

compared to dL' in the expression (2) established previously (V0 = No/l '-V)

What gives: dV0 dL'= no /-L' 2

so: dV0 = No dL'/-L' 2

For an Emmetropic eye, the = no /V (because L is at infinity) and we get to the final, by replacing the by don't /V:

dV0 dL =' V2  / No                 (3)

 

So the change in vergence is equal to the product of the increase of axial length multiplied by the square of the initial eye power divided by no.

Numerical example : If one eye has a vergence of 60 D stretches of 1 mm, what is the induced variation of the vergence of the object (the induced refractive error?):

dV0 = 0.001 x 602 / 1336 = 2.70 D.

So, we can estimate that an increase in the axial length of 1 mm causes a myopia of about-2.75 D, and this is fairly well corroborated what is observed in clinical practice, where it is difficult to establish a strong correlation between axial length and myopic for low myopia (lower to-4 d). These day are related to a "disharmony" between axial length and vergence.

In the light of these data, we can imagine that Nature has chosen another mechanism to allow the eyes to look at net, consisting of a reversible elongation of the eyeball: a lengthening of 1 mm of the eye in effect sufficient to induce a change of vergence of 2.75 D an Emmetropic eye to see net 1/2.75 allowing is 36 cm which is a comfortable reading distance.

You can also apply as a surgical reduction of myopia to "shorten" the eye could use as a rule that myopia is reduced by approximately 2.70 for each mm of reduction of the axial length, D.

 

In this example, there is a difference of refraction (Anisometropia) between the right eye and the left eye of the same short-sighted patient:

Anisometropia myopia

Patient aberrometriques (OPD Scan III, Nidek) same topo maps. The right eye (R) presents a high myopia (-15.75 D = spherical equivalent). On the left (L), myopia is much less pronounced (equivalent spherical = - 7 D) corneal topography reveals corneas whose k profile is remarkably similar. The difference in refraction comes almost exclusively from the difference in axial length.

 

Anisometropia myopia axial length

The measure of the axial length by interferometric biometry (IOL Master 700, Zeiss) reveals a difference in axial length of 3.71 mm between the eye must (axial length = 29.34 mm) and the left eye (axial length = 25.63 mm).

 

 

The following example is borrowed from a different case of Anisometropia (difference in refraction between the two eyes of the same subject). The right eye is Emmetropic (no), and the left eye long-sighted (about + 2.50 D). As predicted by theory, the difference between the respective axial length of the right eye and the left eye is almost equal to 1 mm.

hyperopia and axial length

The difference in axial length between the right eye and the left eye is close to a millimeter: the difference in refraction (in spherical equivalent) is + 2.50 D. The left eye is farsighted because its axial length is insufficient, and the image formed on the retina is blurred.

In this new example, Central corneal power (vergence), estimated by the keratometry is identical between two eyes that differ significantly in terms of axial length (3 mm).

The first, the longest eye is nearsighted (approximately 6.50 D), and the second, shorter, hypermetropic (about + 3 D). A difference in axial length of 3 mm is as predicted by theory to a difference of close vergence of 10 d.

Length axial eye myopic and farsighted

The myopic eye, above, shows excessive axial length towards the vergence of the couple "horny + crystalline". In contrast, the hyperopic eye has an insufficient axial length. The eyes have a similar corneal vergence. The effect of the lens (which does not occupy the same position with respect to the cornea in the two case) is probably negligible in view of the significant difference in refraction between the two eyes.

 

Operations of myopia are classically a corneal reshaping (intended to reduce the corneal vergence of a value equal to that of the magnitude of the myopia). By sculpting the cornea)LASIK or PKR), the laser reduces the thickness; This induces an effective reduction in the length of the eye! However, this reduction is of the order of a few tens of microns (Munnerlyn formula indicates a couple of microns per diopter of myopia treated on an optical zone of 6 mm). For each treated diopter, eye is "shorter" 15 microns;

Using the formula (3), we can estimate the change induced by this shortening of 15 micron to 0.04 D, which is negligible in practice.

 

The length of the outer segment containing the photosensitive pigment of photoreceptors of the fovea (cones) is approximately 50 microns or 0.000005 meters: that light is focused at the front or at the back of these segments does not in theory their activation.   Using the previous formula (3), you can convert this "spatial tolerance" in 'tolerance of vergence' which is worth...: 0.13 D (either a half quarter diopter). This value is of the same order as the minimum value of vergence changes to which the eye is sensitive!

In clinical practice, there is sometimes a reduction of myopia (or a hypermetropisation) about 1 diopter in case of acute macular edema: the "bulge" of the retinal tissue results in a breakthrough of the plan of the photoreceptors of approximately 200 to 400 microns (therefore a shortening of the length of the eye), which is in line with the refractive change.
Estimate of the diameter of the task of defocus

What is the diameter the task of retinal defocus-induced myopia? This depends on the magnitude of the refractive error and pupillary diameter.

You can rearrange the equation (3) to express the elongation axial (in mm) based on the myopic error (in power)

No dV0 / V2=

V2 / No

dL' =. dV0 No / V2

Either dL' = 0.371 dV0 : 1 diopter of myopia induced 0.371 mm of axial elongation for an eye which the vergence average is 60 d. For such an eye, the effective focal length (LFE) is close to 22 mm, before elongation of a dL value '.

Using the method of identical triangles (see following diagram), you can ask that the diameter of the task of defocus (dB) is equal to:

estimate of the diameter of the task of defocus

The diameter dB of the task of defocus can be estimated from the ratio between the diameter of the entrance pupil, focal length (EFL) effective and dL', the retinal elongation induced by the refractive error

dB = 0,371 x dP x dL'/ 22 or 17 microns for a pupil diameter of 1 mm and 1 diopter error (myopia).



 

 

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Myopie: réfraction et longueur axiale

La myopie est une amétropie qui est caractérisée par une longueur axiale oculaire excessive vis-à-vis de la puissance réfractive des éléments optiques de l’œil (cornée et cristallin).

Peut-on quantifier l’effet de l’allongement de l’œil sur la réfraction oculaire ? De quel ordre est l’effet sur la longueur de l’oeil l’augmentation de la myopie d’une dioptrie? De combien de dioptries de myopie un millimètre d’élongation oculaire est-il responsable?

Pour répondre à ces questions, on peut réaliser le schéma suivant et accomplir quelques simplifications : l’œil myope est par définition tel que la rétine est conjuguée avec le punctum remotum qui est à une distance finie (L) du plan principal antérieur P.  L’image de l’objet situé au punctum remotum (noté PR) est formée sur la rétine, située à une distance L’ du plan principal postérieur P’ (les plans principaux sont conjugués et tels que leur grandissement est égal à 1). L’objet source (situé au punctum remotum) est dans l’air (n=1), et son image se forme dans un milieu dont l’indice de réfraction est celui du vitré (n’ = 1.336).

relation entre myopie axile et augmentation de la longueur axiale

Relation entre longueur axiale et myopisation. Le schéma représente un œil myope (en haut), dont on augmente la longueur axiale (en bas), sans en modifier les autres paramètres biométriques (même cornée, même cristallin). L’accroissement de la longueur axiale d’un élément dL’ provoque une modification de la position du punctum remotum: l’inverse de la distance dL est égal à V0, qui est le changement de vergence provoqué (myopisation).

En utilisant les relations de vergences (et en prenant garde au respect des conventions de signes pour l’expression des distances), on peut écrire que la vergence de l’œil (V) est égale à : n’/L’ + (n/-L),

soit V =  n’/L’ – n/L     (1)

Le second terme de cette expression est la vergence de l’objet, situé dans l’air (n=1) que l’on peut écrire V0 = 1/L. L’expression (1) devient :

V =  n’/L’ – V0,

D’où l’on obtient :

V0 =  n’/L’ – V    (2)

Signalons que pour un objet situé à l’infini, un œil emmétrope a une vergence égale à n’/L’ (V0 égal 0 car L est infini)

Que se passe-t’il si on augmente la longueur axiale d’une quantité dL’ ? Ceci provoque une petite variation de la distance du Punctum Remotum que l’on note dL, et donc de la vergence de l’objet dV0 (= 1/dL).

On cherche à estimer de combien varie V0  (qui est le changement de vergence lié au rapprochement du PR) avec dL’ (augmentation de la longueur axiale de l’œil)?

Nous avons établi : V =  n’/L’ – V0 où V est une constante liée aux caractéristiques de l’œil concerné (la vergence de l’œil entier est en pratique égale à l somme des vergences respectives de la cornée et du cristallin). On considère cette expression comme une fonction qui relie L’ (la variable) et V0

Pour évaluer l’effet d’une petite variation de L’ (désignée par dL’) on peut dériver V0

par rapport à dL’  dans l’expression (2) établie précédemment (V0 =  n’/L’ – V)

ce qui donne : dV0 /dL’=  n’/-L’ 2

donc: dV0 =  n’ dL’/-L’ 2

Pour un œil emmétrope, L’=n’/V (car L est à l’infini) et on obtient au final en remplaçant L’ par n’/V :

dV0 =  dL’ V2  /n’                 (3)

 

Le changement de vergence est donc égal au produit de l’accroissement de longueur axiale multiplié par le carré de la puissance oculaire initiale, divisé par n’.

Exemple numérique : si un œil possède une vergence de 60 D s’allonge de 1mm, quelle est la variation induite de la vergence de l’objet (soit l’erreur réfractive induite ?) :

dV0 = 0.001 x 602 / 1.336 = 2.70 D.

On peut donc estimer qu’une augmentation de la longueur axiale de 1 mm provoque donc une myopie d’environ -2.75 D, et ceci est assez bien corroboré à ce qui est observé en pratique clinique, où il est toutefois difficile d’établir une corrélation forte entre longueur axiale et myopie pour les myopies faibles (inférieures à -4D). Ces myopies sont en effet liées à une « dysharmonie » entre longueur axiale et vergence.

A la lumière de ces données, on peut imaginer que la Nature ait choisit un autre mécanisme pour permettre aux yeux de voir net de près, consistant en une élongation réversible du globe oculaire : un allongement de 1 mm de l’œil suffit en effet pour induire un changement de vergence de 2.75 D, permettant à un œil emmétrope de voir net à 1/2.75 soit 36 cm, qui est une distance confortable de lecture.

On peut aussi postuler qu’une réduction chirurgicale de la myopie consistant à « raccourcir » l’œil pourrait utiliser comme règle que pour chaque mm de réduction de la longueur axiale, la myopie est réduite d’environ 2.70 D.

 

Dans cet exemple, il existe une différence importante de réfraction (anisométropie) entre l’oeil droit et l’oeil gauche d’un même patient myope :

anisométropie myopie

Cartes topo aberrométriques (OPD Scan III, Nidek) d’un même patient. L’oeil droit (R) présente une myopie forte (-15.75 D =équivalent sphérique). Du côté gauche (L), la myopie est beaucoup moins prononcée (équivalent sphérique = -7 D) La topographie cornéenne révèle des cornées dont le profil kératométrique est remarquablement similaire. La différence de réfraction provient quasi exclusivement de la différence de longueur axiale.

 

anisométropie myopie longueur axiale

La mesure de la longueur axiale par biométrie interférométrique (IOL Master 700, Zeiss) révèle une différence de longueur axiale de 3.71 mm entre l’oeil doit (longueur axiale = 29.34 mm) et l’oeil gauche (longueur axiale = 25.63 mm).

 

 

L’exemple suivant est emprunté à un autre cas d’anisométropie (différence de réfraction entre les deux yeux d’un même sujet). L’œil droit est emmétrope (pas de correction pour une vision nette de loin), et l’œil gauche hypermétrope (environ +2.50 D). Comme prédit par la théorie, la différence entre les longueur axiales respectives de l’œil droit et de l’œil gauche est pratiquement égale à 1 mm.

hypermétropie et longueur axiale

La différence de longueur axiale entre l’œil droit et l’œil gauche est proche d’un millimètre: la différence de réfraction (en équivalent sphérique) est de +2.50 D. L’œil gauche est hypermétrope car sa longueur axiale est insuffisante, et l’image formée sur la rétine est floue.

Dans ce nouvel exemple, la puissance cornéenne centrale (vergence), estimée par la kératométrie, est identique entre deux yeux qui diffèrent notablement en terme de longueur axiale (3 mm).

Le premier oeil, le plus long, est myope (environ 6.50 D), et le second, le plus court, hypermétrope (environ +3 D). Une différence de longueur axiale de 3 mm correspond comme le prédit la théorie à une différence de vergence proche de 10D.

Longueur axiale oeil myope et hypermétrope

L’œil myope, en haut, présente une longueur axiale excessive vis à vis de la vergence du couple « cornée + cristallin ». En revanche, l’œil hypermétrope présente une longueur axiale insuffisante. Les deux yeux présentent une vergence cornéenne similaire. L’effet du cristallin (qui n’occupe pas la même position vis à vis de la cornée dans les deux cas) est probablement négligeable au regard de l’importante différence de réfraction entre les deux yeux.

 

Les opérations de la myopie consistent classiquement en un remodelage cornéen (destiné à réduire la vergence cornéenne d’une valeur égale à celle de la magnitude de la myopie). En sculptant la cornée (LASIK ou PKR), le laser en réduit l’épaisseur; ceci induit une réduction effective de la longueur de l’œil! Toutefois, cette réduction est de l’ordre de quelques dizaines de microns (la formule de Munnerlyn indique une quinzaine de microns par dioptrie de myopie traitée sur une zone optique de 6 mm). Pour chaque dioptrie traitée, l’oeil est donc plus « court » de 15 microns;

En utilisant la formule (3), on peut estimer le changement induit par ce raccourcissement de 15 microns à 0.04 D, ce qui est négligeable en pratique.

 

La longueur du segment externe contenant le pigment photosensible des photorécepteurs de la fovéa (cônes) est d’environ 50 microns soit 0.000005 mètres : que la lumière soit focalisée à l’avant ou à l’arrière de ces segments ne modifie pas en théorie leur activation.   En utilisant la formule précédente (3), on peut convertir cette « tolérance spatiale » en « tolérance de vergence » qui vaut…. : 0.13 D (soit un demi quart de dioptrie). Cette valeur est justement du même ordre que la valeur minimale de modification de vergence à laquelle l’œil est sensible !

En pratique clinique, on observe parfois une réduction de la myopie (ou une hypermétropisation) d’environ 1 Dioptrie en cas d’œdème maculaire aigü : le « gonflement » du tissu rétinien résulte en une avancée du plan des photorécepteurs d’environ 200 à 400 microns (donc un raccourcissement de la longueur de l’œil), ce qui est conforme au changement réfractif observé.
Estimation du diamètre la tache de défocalisation

Quel est le diamètre la tache de défocalisation rétinienne induite par la myopie? Celui-ci dépend de la magnitude de l’erreur réfractive et du diamètre pupillaire.

On peut réarranger l’équation (3) de manière à exprimer l’élongation axiale (en mm) en fonction de l’erreur myopique (en dioptrie)

n’ dV0 / V2=

V2 /n’

dL’ = dV0 n’ / V2

Soit dL’ = 0.371 dV0 : 1 Dioptrie de myopie induit 0.371 mm d’élongation axiale pour un oeil dont la vergence moyenne est de 60 D. Pour un tel oeil, la longueur focale effective (LFE) est proche de 22 mm, avant élongation d’une valeur de dL’.

En utilisant la méthode des triangles identiques (cf schéma suivant), on peut poser que le diamètre de la tache de défocalisation (dB) est égal à :

estimation du diamètre de la tache de défocalisation

Le diamètre dB de la tache de défocalisation peut être estimé à partir du rapport entre le diamètre de la pupille d’entrée, la longueur focale effective (EFL) et dL’, l’allongement rétinien induit par l’erreur réfractive

dB = 0,371 x dP x dL’/22 soit 17 microns pour un diamètre pupillaire de 1mm et une erreur (myopie) d’1 dioptrie.



 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *