+ +

Implant KAMRA™ (KAMRA inlay, Acufocus)

KAMRA inlay: definition

The KAMRA is an intra corneal (corneal inlay) implant designed to correct the presbyopia.  It induces an increase in the depth of field of the eye through the formation of a new pupil.

Center excellence acufocus kamraThe technique for correction of presbyopia by the KAMRA inlay was initially made in France exclusively to the Rothschild Foundation, share the choice of American society Acufocus, which wanted its technology to be initially conducted in a centre of excellence, before spreading to other centers selected later. Tens of thousands of implants have been placed in the world over the past 7 years. This technology has been approved by the Food Drug Administration (FDA) in April 2015 @.

The kamra (Acufocus) in short:

-PURPOSE: giving back to the presbyope can perform tasks in near without glasses vision and reading.

-Unilateral procedure: the implant is placed in an eye (eye dominant, generally intended for near vision), under local anesthesia (drop), on an outpatient basis.

-Intervention accessible to presbyopes who have glasses by far)KAMRA at the presby normalsighted) And carriers of an optical defect presbyopes (KAMRA in ametropia presby, who have a default associated with distance vision: myopia, farsighted, astigmatism).

-Minimally invasive procedure (the implant is not placed "in" the eye but in the cornea, which is the transparent outer tunic), adjustable and reversible (the implant can be easily removed at any time).

-Procedure for restoring a good visual acuity of near not corrected without major reduction of Visual acuity by far (joint of far and near Visual acuity improvement is possible in some case).

-Simple and proven optical principle: the principle of this technique is simple and is based on that of the "pinhole" (principle it even taken from the 'camera obscura', designed to the Renaissance and probable ancestor of artificial imaging systems!).

-The placement of the implant is done under local anesthesia, and ambulatory (home) the same day.

-It can be accomplished in presbyopic patients normalsighted (no glasses by far), hypermetropia, or short-sighted.

Presbyopia surgery is a very active field, making the object of (too much?) communications in the media, and sometimes too hasty fads for certain technical novelties. This is mainly related to the fact that the market is very important (all adults from the forties), and a technique even of 'niche' is likely to encounter an absolute number of candidates high. It should be borne in mind that as for other corrections in refractive surgery, the results depend on the careful selection of candidates and the careful execution of the surgical technique. On the technique described below (KAMRA), a detailed preoperative ophthalmologic assessment and respect the guidance is essential for obtaining a good functional result.

Principles of the kamra

The implant KAMRA™ (Acufocus) allows an increase in the depth of field by reduction of the diameter of the pupil of entry of the eye.  It is designed to be inserted into the cornea (in the) stroma), under local anesthesia (drops) and the loss of the vision of some presbyopic patients. It is definitely the device for the correction of presbyopia which the mechanism of action is the simplest (pinhole), and the best known (many imaging instruments were built according to this principle since the 16th century).

Pupillary opening and depth of field

In photography, the beneficial effect of the reduction of the diameter of the diaphragm ("close the diaphragm") on the depth of field is well known and used for objects at different distances are released to the net on the final shot.  In technical language, we play on the increase of the "f-number," which is the ratio between the focal length used (the focal length determines the width of the field of shooting) and the diameter selected for the diaphragm. For a focal length of 50 mm and an aperture of 10 mm, the aperture number is equal to 50/10 = 5 - noted f: 5).

By 'closing' much the diaphragm (ex: f 20), the range of sharpness increases regardless of the focal length, IE objects or characters located at different distances (close and distant plans) will be 'net' on the completed picture.

depth of field kamra

Effect of the closure of the diaphramge on the depth of field. In two shots, the update is performed on the same terminal of Vélib (framed in red). Downstairs, a magnification reveals that the cliché with a closed diaphragm has a superior sharpness for frequent targets. This is the same mechanism that explains the beneficial effect of the kamra on the near vision. It should be noted that this increase in the sharpness of almost does not come at the expense of sharpness by far.

In patients who have a light refractive defect (low myopia, low astigmatism), is often seen as an important myosis improves visual acuity for distance vision uncorrected (the myosis is the reduction of the diameter of the pupil, which gets close to 2mm). The explanation of this phenomenon lies in the reduction of the retinal illuminance task for the same degree of defocus myopic: this reduction is caused by the reduction of the diameter of the entrance pupil that thins the defocalisee light beam.

Thus, pupillary con-necking phenomenon allows the light short-sighted (ex:-0.50 D) to achieve a Visual acuity close to 10/10 in case of intense brightness. When the pupil of these patients has a nearby diameter of 4 mm (lighting 'standard'), the task illumination retinal is "enlarged" because of nearsightedness (light rays converge in front of the retina). This reduces the theoretical resolution of the eye and explains the loss of 5/10 area. In case of intense illumination (ex: outside on a nice summer day), the diameter of the pupil is reduced; This allows to reduce the task of retinal illumination, and to increase the resolving power of the eye that can reach a value close to 10/10.

When the accommodation, pupillary reflex of con-necking occurs: this constriction promotes the vision by the increase in depth of field, but this con-necking is not sufficient, alone, to allow a long-sighted topic to read.

Implant Kamra and retinal blur reduction

The insertion of a device to "Astrophoto" the pupil of less than 2 mm entry could make eye surgery a reduction in retinal blur induced by the lack of accommodation. This idea to presided over the development of an intracorneen implant (also called "inlay") to achieve this goal and intended to be implanted in the eye dominated subjects normalsighted and presbyopic (only one eye is operated). The KAMRA procedure is unilateral.

implant Kamra on depth of field effect

After insertion of the KAMRA inlay retinal blur reduction

 

The kamra allows to reduce the width of the beam of incident rays that penetrate the eye: This allows to reduce the "retinal blur" related to the lack of accommodation.

Photo KAMRA Acufocus

Profile picture of an eye where a KAMRA implant was placed, with schematic representation of the "selection effect" on the incident rays of the implant.

Description of the kamra

The KAMRA inlay is made of a biocompatible synthetic fabric (also used for the realization of vascular prostheses endo). It can be described as a kind of "confetti" very fine (5 micron) whose external diameter is close to 3.5 mm and the internal diameter of 1.6 mm. In addition the center hole (with optical sight), the inlay has of many micro perforations designed to facilitate the passage of the metabolites (nutrients) corneal. The kamra has been the successive improvements, including on its thickness reduction and increase the breakdown of the number of micro perforations.

Implant Kamra (corneal inlay)

Implant Kamra (intra corneal inlay)

Remember that in a subject not far-sighted, accommodation results in increase of the power of the lens, which allows to form a sharp image of the book or read text on the retina. To the presbyter, the accommodation is reduced, and no longer allows to focus the image on the retina (the plan of sharpness is located behind it). On the retina, the image of a point extends which induces a retinal image blur. After insertion of the KAMRA inlay in the cornea)see surgical video of the laying of the kamra), the beam of rays of light défocalisé is finer; the retinal image blur is reduced. Books to read distance vision becomes possible. Distance vision, when the brightness decreases, the pupil dilates beyond the projection of the edges of the inlay which allows the eye to collect more light.

Kamra implant inserted

Clinical experience with the kamra

Our pioneering experience in France (since June 2010) with the KAMRA device is positive, the increase in beach of clear vision for presbyopes find a NET Visual acuity closely while preserving Visual acuity by far, which is the most interesting aspect of this technique, in addition to its reversible appearance (possibility of implant removal). Unlike other techniques like the presby LASIK, the mechanism of action is precise and predictable, and there is no withdrawal of corneal tissue (except in combination with LASIK case). Unlike the IntraCOR, this technique is adjustable and reversible, especially imperfect initial centering case. She also has the advantage of being able to be combined with a correction LASIK (the implant is placed in the interface, the flap, after related to excimer laser vision correction)

OQAS implant KAMRA

The depth of field of the eye with the intra corneal implant increased towards the eye not implemented. The measurement was made with the instrument OQAS (accommodation module)

 

It is easy to perform the inspection and monitoring of the kamra in the biomicroscope.

Implant Kamra (Biomicroscope)

Implant Kamra biomicropscopie (D Gatinel)

Implant KAMRA: cosmetic

If the implant is visible on photographs macro or close-up, on the cosmetic plan, it is impossible to discern the presence of firsthand, and neither look nor its brilliance are changed, because implant color is dark, and located next to the pupil, and even on the iris blue or clear.

cosmetic KAMRA

Cosmetic appearance of a patient whose one eye received an implantation of the KAMRA inlay. Top: photography from the front of the eye who received the implant. It's left eye, whose appearance remains simillaire to that of the right eye (bottom).

KAMRA and associated correction

As reported earlier, in case of the existence of a Visual defect by far associated with presbyopia (ex: myopia, hyperopia, astigmatism) a correction by laser excimer (LASIK) can be performed at the same time (pour corriger le défaut réfractif en vision de loin): the technique is referred to as ' Combined LASIK KAMRA "(CLK).  The kamra is then placed in the interface, and focused on the Visual axis, then the repositioned flap. The other eye may be operated only LASIK in the same sitting, in order to be corrected for the vision by far if necessary.

KAMRA and side effects

Reduction of retinal illuminance can induce a slight reduction in sensitivity to contrast, and as photoablatives surgery (LASIK, eximer laser), the existence of dry eyes post surgery is frequently observed. It involves the prescription of artificial tears in a systematic way in post operative. The drought affects the Visual recovery. "" The instillation of artificial tears helps the patient to relieve symptoms (tingling, foreign body sensation) and also ' clarify ' vision. This treatment should be continued for several months, and may be completed by the placement of tear plugs (devices to increase the contact time of tears with the ocular surface).

Complications

Rare late inflammations have been reported, most were able to be processed by local treatment combining diverse classes of anti inflammatory (eye drops). In the case where the inflammation persists and is accompanied by a change of refraction (hypermetropique ' shift'), the explantation (implant removal) is indicated, and is accompanied by a gradual return to pre-operative vision, pointing out the reversibility of this technique. In some case (absence of inflammation) reprocessing excimer laser may be performed, resoulevant initial flap of LASIK to correct hyperopia induced.

The feeling of a decrease of Visual acuity by far is usual to the immediate course of the surgery: she is multifactorial and is explained by the combination of a dry syndrome, and an irregularity of the epithelial surface. If the Visual discomfort continues, the possibility of an indadapte centering must be mentioned; case of proven shift, refocusing is indicated and can be performed secondarily.

Centering of the kamra

As with all refractive aiming techniques, the the centering quality is an important element for the functional result. The possibility of using the aiming and guidance of the excimer laser system (ex: beam centering for the eye tracker) and adjust the position of the implant necessary are all beneficial aspects in terms of security. There is no common method to identify the Visual axis for an eye given; However, it crosses the corneal plan between the vertex and the projection of the pupillary Center. Adjustment of the focus of the eye tracker on this area allows to check the right positioning of the implant in operating per.

KAMRA technique acufocus

Insertion of the kamra in a patient after correcting the vision of far (sim LASIK technique). flap of LASIK is recline: the eye-tracker of the excimer laser sighting system allows to facilitate good centering of the implant intra corneal (D Gatinel)

In the postoperative period, the image captured by the corneal topographer to compare the position of the kamra with respect to the pupil entrance and the central corneal reflection (vertex).

KAMRA centering

The position of the corneal reflection (vertex) allows to objectify the slightly nasal positioning of the inlay, whose balance was conducted at mid distance between the center of the pupil and corneal reflection (D Gatinel)

 

Balance is an important element towards the functional success: the advantage of additive techniques (such as inlays) is to allow the realization of a re positioning in case of shift (or imperfect centering). The following image to compare the position of the kamra before and after the refocusing on the pupil. Before the re centrement, the patient complained of intermittent perception of a "sail" and vision split in some light environments.

site of the manufacturer: www.kamrainlay.fr

 

KAMRA inlay self-contemplation

The images were obtained with the "Acutarget" system, which allows to measure the position of the kamra the corneal reflection (vertex) and the pupillary circumference (in green). It is recommended to focus the KAMRA inlay on the corneal reflection, or between this reflection and the center of the pupil. The initial position of the implant is too nasal (left image). After the uprising of the flap, the implant is repositioned in more temporal direction. In the postoperative period (right), the position of the inlay is considered satisfactory. The Visual acuity of the patient was improved, and greatly reduced Visual annoyance.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Implant KAMRA™ (KAMRA inlay, Acufocus)

KAMRA inlay : définition

Le KAMRA est un implant intra cornéen (corneal inlay) destiné à corriger la presbytie.  Il induit une augmentation de la profondeur de champ de l’œil grâce à la formation d’une néo pupille.

centre excellence acufocus kamraLa technique de correction de la presbytie par l’inlay KAMRA a initialement été effectuée en France en exclusivité à la Fondation Rothschild, de part le choix de la société américaine Acufocus, qui souhaitait que sa technologie soit dans un premier temps réalisée dans un centre d’excellence, avant diffusion vers d’autres centres sélectionnés ultérieurement. Des dizaines de milliers d’implants ont été posés dans le monde au cours des 7 dernières années. Cette technologie a été approuvée par la Food @ Drug Administration (FDA) américaine en Avril 2015.

L’implant KAMRA (Acufocus) en bref:

– BUT : redonner au presbyte la possibilité de lire et d’accomplir des tâches en vision rapprochée sans lunettes.

– Procédure UNIlatérale : l’implant n’est placé que dans un oeil (oeil non dominant, généralement destiné à la vision de près), sous anesthésie locale (goutte), en ambulatoire.

– Intervention accessible aux presbytes qui n’ont pas de lunettes de loin (KAMRA chez les presby emmétropes) ET aux presbytes porteurs d’un défaut optique ( KAMRA chez les presby amétropes, qui ont un défaut associé en vision de loin: myopie, hypermétrope, astigmatisme).

– Procédure peu invasive (l’implant n’est pas posé « dans » l’oeil mais dans la cornée, qui en est la tunique externe transparente), ajustable et réversible (l’implant peut être facilement retiré à tout moment).

– Procédure permettant la restauration d’une bonne acuité visuelle de près non corrigée sans réduction majeure de l’acuité visuelle de loin (une amélioration conjointe de l’acuité visuelle de loin et de près est possible dans certains cas).

-Principe optique simple et éprouvé: le principe de cette technique est simple et repose sur celui du « sténopé » (principe lui même repris de la « camera obscura », conçu vers la Renaissance et probable ancêtre des systèmes d’imagerie artificielle !).

-La pose de l’implant se fait sous anesthésie locale, et en ambulatoire (retour au domicile le jour même).

-Elle peut s’accomplir chez les patients presbytes emmétropes (pas de lunettes de loin), hypermétropes, ou myopes.

La chirurgie de la presbytie est un domaine très actif et qui fait l’objet de beaucoup (trop?) de communications dans les médias, et d’engouements parfois trop hâtifs pour certaines nouveautés techniques . Ceci est principalement lié au fait que le marché est très important (tous les adultes à partir de la quarantaine), et qu’une technique même de « niche » est susceptible de rencontrer un nombre absolu de candidats élevés. Il convient de garder à l’esprit que comme pour les autres corrections en chirurgie réfractive, les résultats dépendent de la sélection rigoureuse des candidats et de l’exécution minutieuse de la technique chirurgicale. Concernant la technique décrite ci-après (KAMRA), un bilan ophtalmologique préopératoire détaillé et le respect des contre indications est essentiel pour l’obtention d’un bon résultat fonctionnel.

Principes de l’implant KAMRA

L’implant KAMRA™ (Acufocus)  permet une augmentation de la profondeur de champ par réduction du diamètre de la pupille d’entrée de l’oeil.  Il est conçu pour être inséré dans la cornée (au sein du stroma), sous anesthésie locale (gouttes) et compenser la perte de la vision de près des patients presbytes. C’est certainement le dispositif destiné à la correction de la presbytie dont le mécanisme d’action est le plus simple (sténopé), et le mieux connu (de nombreux instruments d’ imagerie ont été construits selon ce principe depuis le 16e siècle).

Ouverture pupillaire et profondeur de champ

En photographie, l’effet bénéfique de la réduction du diamètre du diaphragme (« fermer le diaphragme ») sur la profondeur de champ est bien connu et utilisé pour que des objets situés à des distances différentes soient rendus nets sur le cliché final.  En langage technique, on joue sur l’augmentation du « f-number », qui est le rapport entre la focale utilisée (la focale détermine la largeur du champ de la prise de vue) et le diamètre choisi pour le diaphragme. Pour une focale de 50 mm et une ouverture du diaphragme de 10 mm, le nombre d’ouverture est égal à 50/10 = 5  – il est noté f:5).

En « fermant » beaucoup  le diaphragme (ex : f 20), la plage de netteté augmente quelle que soit la focale, c’est à dire que des objets ou personnages  situés à des distances différentes (plans rapprochés et lointains)  seront « nets » sur la photo effectuée.

profondeur de champ kamra

Effet de la fermeture du diaphramge sur la profondeur de champ. Dans les deux clichés, la mise au point est effectuée sur la même borne de Vélib (encadrée en rouge). En bas, un aggrandissement révèle que le cliché effectué avec un diaphragme fermé possède une netteté supérieure pour les cibles rapprochées. C’est le même mécanisme qui explique l’effet bénéfique de l’implant KAMRA sur la vision de près. Il est à noter que cette augmentation de la netteté de près ne se fait pas au détriment de la netteté de loin.

Chez les patients qui présentent un léger défaut réfractif (faible myopie, faible astigmatisme) , on observe souvent qu’un myosis important entraîne une amélioration de l’acuité visuelle non corrigée pour la vision de loin (le myosis est la réduction du diamètre de la pupille, qui devient proche de 2mm). L’explication de ce phénomène réside dans la réduction de la tâche d’éclairement rétinienne pour le même degré de défocus myopique: cette réduction est engendrée par la réduction du diamètre de la pupille d’entrée qui amincit le faisceau de lumière défocalisée.

Ainsi, ce phénomène de con-striction pupillaire permet au myopes légers (ex : -0.50 D) d’atteindre une acuité visuelle proche de 10/10 en cas de luminosité intense. Quand la pupille de ces patients possède un diamètre voisin de 4 mm (ambiance lumineuse « standard »), la tâche d’éclairement rétinien est « agrandie » à cause de la myopie (les rayons lumineux convergent en avant de la rétine). Ceci réduit la résolution théorique de l’oeil et explique la perte de 5/10 environs. En cas d’éclairement intense (ex : extérieur par une belle journée d’été), le diamètre de la pupille se réduit ; cela permet de réduire la tâche d’éclairement rétinien, et d’augmenter le pouvoir de résolution de l’oeil qui peut alors atteindre une valeur proche de 10/10.

Lors de l’accommodation, un réflexe de con-striction pupillaire survient : cette constriction favorise la vision de près par l’augmentation de la profondeur de champ, mais cette con-striction n’est pas suffisante, seule, pour permettre à un sujet presbyte de lire.

Implant Kamra et réduction du flou rétinien

L’insertion d’un dispositif permettant de « diaphragmer » la pupille d’entrée à une valeur moindre que 2 mm pourrait rendre à l’œil opéré une réduction du flou rétinien induit par l’insuffisance d’accommodation. Cette idée à présidée au développement d’un implant intracornéen (également appelé « inlay ») permettant d’atteindre ce but et destiné à être implanté dans l’œil dominé de sujets emmétropes et presbytes (seul un œil est opéré). La procédure KAMRA est unilatérale.

effet implant Kamra sur profondeur de champ

Réduction du flou rétinien après insertion de l’inlay KAMRA

 

L’implant KAMRA permet de réduire la largeur du faisceau de rayons incidents qui pénètrent l’oeil: ceci permet de réduire le « flou rétinien  » lié à l’insuffisance d’accommodation.

photo KAMRA Acufocus

Photographie de profil d’un oeil où un implant KAMRA a été posé, avec représentation schématique de l’effet de « sélection » sur les rayons incidents de l’implant.

Description de l’implant KAMRA

L’inlay KAMRA est fait d’un tissu synthétique biocompatible (utilisé également pour la réalisation de prothèses endo vasculaires). Il peut être décrit comme une sorte de  « confetti » très fin (5 microns) dont le diamètre externe est proche de 3.5 mm et le diamètre interne de 1.6 mm. Outre l’orifice central (à visée optique), l’inlay possède de nombreuses micro perforations destinées à faciliter le passage des métabolites (nutriments) cornéens. L’implant KAMRA a fait l’objet d’améliorations successives, portant notamment sur la réduction de son épaisseur, l’augmentation  et la répartition du nombre de micro perforations.

Implant Kamra (corneal inlay)

Implant Kamra (inlay intra cornéen)

Rappelons que chez un sujet non presbyte, l’accommodation aboutit à l’augmentation de la puissance du cristallin, qui permet de former sur la rétine une image nette de l’ouvrage ou du texte lu. Chez le presbyte, l’accommodation est réduite, et ne permet plus de focaliser l’image sur la rétine (le plan de netteté se situe en arrière de celle-ci). Sur la rétine, l’image d’un point s’élargit ce qui induit un flou de l’image rétinienne. Après insertion de l’inlay KAMRA dans la cornée (voir vidéo chirurgicale de la pose de l’implant KAMRA), le faisceau de rayons lumineux défocalisé est plus fin; le flou de l’image rétinienne diminue. La vision d’ouvrages à distance de lecture devient possible. En vision de loin, quand la luminosité diminue, la pupille se dilate au delà de la projection des bords de l’inlay ce qui permet à l’œil de collecter plus de lumière.

Implant Kamra inséré

Expérience clinique avec l’implant KAMRA

Notre expérience pionnière en France (depuis Juin 2010) avec le dispositif KAMRA est positive, l’augmentation de la plage de vision nette permettant aux presbytes de retrouver une acuité visuelle nette de près tout en préservant l’acuité visuelle de loin, ce qui est l’aspect le plus intéressant de cette technique, outre son aspect réversible (possibilité de retrait de l’implant). Contrairement à d’autres techniques comme le presby LASIK, le mécanisme d’action est précis et prévisible, et il n’y a pas de retrait de tissu cornéen (sauf en cas de combinaison au LASIK). Contrairement à l’IntraCOR, cette technique est ajustable et réversible, notamment en cas de centrage initial imparfait. Elle présente également l’avantage de pouvoir être combinée à une correction LASIK (l’implant est placé dans l’interface, sous le capot, après correction de la vision de loin au laser excimer)

OQAS implant KAMRA

La profondeur de champ de l’oeil avec l’implant intra cornéen est accrue vis à vis de l’oeil non implanté. La mesure a été effectuée avec l’instrument OQAS (module d’accommodation)

 

Il est facile d’effectuer l’inspection et la surveillance de l’implant KAMRA au biomicroscope.

Implant Kamra (Biomicroscope)

Implant Kamra en biomicropscopie (D Gatinel)

Implant KAMRA: cosmétique

Si l’implant est visible sur des photographies macro et/ou en gros plan, sur le plan cosmétique, il est impossible d’en discerner la présence de visu, et ni le regard ni son éclat ne sont modifiés, car l’implant est de couleur sombre, et situé en regard de la pupille, et ce même sur les iris bleus ou clairs.

cosmétique KAMRA

Aspect cosmétique d’un patient dont un oeil a bénéficié d’une implantation de l’inlay KAMRA. En haut : photographie de face de l’oeil ayant reçu l’implant. Il s’agit de l’oeil gauche, dont l’aspect demeure simillaire à celui de l’oeil droit (en bas).

KAMRA et correction associée

Comme signalé plus haut, en cas d’existence d’un défaut visuel de loin associé à la presbytie (ex : myopie, hypermétropie, astigmatisme) une correction par laser excimer (LASIK) peut être effectuée dans le même temps opératoire (pour corriger le défaut réfractif en vision de loin) : la technique est dénommée ‘Combined LASIK KAMRA » (CLK).  L’implant KAMRA est ensuite placé dans l’interface, et centré sur l’axe visuel, puis le capot repositionné. L’autre oeil peut être opéré de LASIK seul dans la même séance, afin d’être corrigé pour la vision de loin si besoin.

KAMRA et effets indésirables

La réduction de l’éclairement rétinien peut induire une légère réduction de la sensibilité au contraste, et comme les chirurgies photoablatives (laser eximer, LASIK), l’existence d’une sécheresse oculaire post opératoire est fréquemment observée. Elle implique la prescription de larmes artificielles de manière systématique en post opératoire. Cette sécheresse influe sur la récupération visuelle. L’instillation de larmes artificielles permet au patient de soulager certains symptômes (picotement, sensation de corps étranger) et aussi d' »éclaircir » la vision. Ce traitement doit être poursuivi plusieurs mois, et peut être complété par la pose de bouchons lacrymaux (dispositifs permettant d’augmenter le temps de contact des larmes avec la surface oculaire).

Complications

De rares inflammations tardives ont été rapportées, dont la plupart ont pu être traitées par un traitement local associant diverse classes d’anti inflammatoires (collyres). Dans les cas où l’inflammation persiste et s’accompagne d’un changement de la réfraction ( « shift » hypermétropique), l’explantation (retrait de l’implant) est alors indiquée, et s’accompagne d’un retour progressif  à la vision préopératoire, soulignant la réversibilité de cette technique. Dans certains cas (absence d’inflammation) un retraitement au laser excimer peut être effectué, en resoulevant le capot de LASIK initial, afin de corriger l’hypermétropie induite.

La sensation d’une baisse de l’acuité visuelle de loin est habituelle au décours immédiat de la chirurgie: elle est multifactorielle et s’explique par la conjonction d’un syndrome sec, et d’une irrégularité de la surface épithéliale. Si la gêne visuelle persiste,  la possibilité d’un centrage indadapté doit être évoqué; en cas de décentrement avéré, un recentrage est indiqué, et peut être accompli secondairement.

Centrage de l’implant KAMRA

Comme pour toutes les techniques à visée réfractive, la qualité du centrage est un élément important pour le résultat fonctionnel. La possibilité de recourir au système de visée et de guidage du laser excimer (ex : faisceau de centrage pour l’eye tracker) et de réajuster la position de l’implant au besoin sont autant d’aspects bénéfiques sur le plan sécuritaire. Il n’existe pas de méthode courante pour identifier l’axe visuel pour un oeil donné; toutefois, celui-ci traverse le plan cornéen entre le vertex et la projection du centre pupillaire. Un réglage de la mire de l’eye tracker sur cette zone permet de vérifier en per opératoire le positionnement adéquat de l’implant.

KAMRA technique acufocus

Insertion de l’implant KAMRA chez un patient après correction de la vision de loin (technique sim LASIK). Le capot de LASIK est récliné : le système de visée de l’eye tracker du laser excimer permet de faciliter le bon centrage de l’implant intra cornéen (D Gatinel)

En postopératoire, l’image capturée par le topographe cornéen permet de comparer la position de l’implant KAMRA vis à vis de la pupille d’entrée et du reflet cornéen central (vertex).

KAMRA centrage

La position du reflet cornéen (vertex) permet d’objectiver le positionnement légèrement nasal de l’inlay, dont le centrage a été effectué à mi distance entre le centre de la pupille et le reflet cornéen (D Gatinel)

 

Le centrage est un élément important vis à vis du succès fonctionnel : l’avantage des techniques additives (comme les inlays) est d’autoriser la réalisation d’un re positionnement en cas de décentrement (ou centrage imparfait). L’image suivante permet de comparer la position de l’implant KAMRA avant et après le recentrement sur la pupille. Avant le re centrement, le patient se plaignait de la perception intermittente d’un « voile » et d’une vision dédoublée dans certains ambiances lumineuses.

site du fabricant : www.kamrainlay.fr

 

KAMRA inlay recentrement

Les images ont été obtenues grâce au système « Acutarget », qui permet de mesurer la position de l’implant KAMRA vis à vis du reflet cornéen (vertex) et du pourtour pupillaire (en vert). Il est recommandé de centrer l’inlay KAMRA sur ce reflet cornéen, ou entre ce reflet et le centre de la pupille. La position initiale de l’implant est trop nasale (image de gauche). Après soulèvement du capot, l’implant est repositionné en direction plus temporale. En postopératoire (à droite), la position de l’inlay est jugée satisfaisante. L’acuité visuelle du patient était améliorée, et la gêne visuelle fortement réduite.

 

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *