+ +

The 10 most frequently asked questions prior to refractive surgery

Refractive surgery gives rise to many questions on the part of patients. Here are the 10 most frequent questions before the operation.

What are the precautions to be taken before surgery?

Whether in LASIK or PKR, the precautions to be observed before surgery are relatively simple:

-Do not wear lenses at least 48 hours before the procedure, to allow the surface of the eye not being sore the day of surgery

-Do not wear makeup the day of surgery. It will be possible to be admitted after 48 hours after LASIK, and after removal of the bandage lenses (5th or 6th day) after PKR

What is the duration of the surgery and is painful?

It takes about 10 to 15 minutes per eye, knowing that the time of deliverance laser are relatively short with recent platforms: less than 20 seconds for the realization of a flap of LASIK in the femtosecond laser, and about 1.5 to 2 seconds per treatment with excimer laser diopters. The rest of the time is devoted to the installation of the operative field, in the phases of control and alignment of the eye with the laser, etc. The surgery is not painful because performed under local anesthesia with drops that are instilled before surgery. Some tingling may be felt, and the instrument that prevents blink (the retractor eyelids or blepharostat) is sometimes a little discomfort in the case of "tension" including.

How much does the surgery cost?

Depends on the technique used (PKR or LASIK), the type of options, and the place (ex Paris where rates are higher in the province). With recent material, in pressure hands, an indicative price range (for Paris) is from 2200 to 3500 euros for both eyes. Learn more about the price of refractive surgery. The operation is not covered by social security. 

Can I drive home or will I get home?

He shouldn't try to drive after the surgery, accompanied by return or by taxi is needed. It is also possible to take the public transport to be accompanied by conditions. Tinted filter glasses are usually given to surgery patient, as well as a pair of covers eye to wear during the first nights (to avoid involuntary eye rubbing).

When should I start treatment after surgery?

The same day, it is advisable to instill prescribed eye drops, starting at least an hour after surgery. The different drops can be instilled at 5 minute intervals, or distributed at regular intervals.  Do not rub the eyes; If an irritation or discomfort is felt (this is very common in the hours following surgery), they should rinse or moisturize the eyes with saline.

Can I go in the Sun after the procedure?

It is possible to attend places sunny at the waning of the surgery, but good lenses filter the UV (sunglasses of good quality and sufficient coverage) is strongly recommended.

When can I bathe after surgery?

It is possible to swim or bathe about 10 to 15 days after surgery: swimming glasses is highly recommended for meetings of sports swimming in the pool or in the sea. This Council is also valid even for patients not! Note that the port of contacts during sessions of swimming exposes at risk of severe infection (amoebic keratitis).

When can I wash my hair?

Wash your hair is possible in the next day or two days of intervention: just close your eyes, and rinse them with saline after a shower, or in the case of projection of droplets.

When can I fly?

In theory, air travel is possible at the immediate course of the surgery. It is however to wait 24 to 48 hours, especially after PKR.

When can I do sport?

Outside of swimming, the resumption of a gym or jogging activity may be considered a week after PKR, and a few days after LASIK. However, sports that expose the projection of dust or eye stains, from eye injuries are deprecated. The lenses filter UV is mandatory for Alpine skiing, water-skiing and activities in sunny or highly light reflective environnement.

View other frequently asked questions about refractive surgery.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to "The 10 most common questions before refractive surgery"

  1. Garnier says:

    Hello
    I'm going to have surgery on May 14th in your department, by PKR.
    I leave 5 weeks later in the Verdon to climb for 2 week.
    I intend to use a pair of category 4 glasses and a cap nonetheless is that sufficient or is there a risk of regression than to expose itself so intensely?
    Thank you for your very complete site.

  2. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    A pair of index 4 filter glasses is perfectly adatpée to your future activity, after refractive surgery by PKR.

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Les 10 questions les plus fréquentes avant chirurgie réfractive

La chirurgie réfractive suscite de nombreuses interrogations de la part des patients; voici les 10 questions les plus fréquentes avant l’opération.

Quelles sont les précautions à prendre avant l’intervention ?

Que ce soit en LASIK ou PKR, les précautions à observer avant la chirurgie sont relativement simples :

–          Ne pas porter les lentilles au moins 48 h avant l’intervention, pour permettre à la surface oculaire de ne pas être irritée le jour de la chirurgie

–          Ne pas se maquiller le jour de l’intervention. Il sera possible de se remaquiller au bout de 48 heures après LASIK, et après le retrait des lentilles pansement (5e ou 6e jour) après PKR

Quelle est la durée de la chirurgie et est-elle douloureuse?

Il faut compter environ 10 à 15 mn par œil, sachant que les temps de délivrance laser sont relativement brefs avec les plateformes récentes : moins de 20 secondes pour la réalisation d’un capot de LASIK au laser femtoseconde, et environ 1.5 à 2 secondes par dioptries de traitement avec le laser excimer. Le reste du temps est consacré à l’installation du champ opératoire, au phases de contrôle et d’alignement de l’oeil avec le laser, etc. La chirurgie n’est pas douloureuse car effectuée sous anesthésie locale avec des gouttes qui sont instillées avant l’intervention. Quelque picotements peuvent être ressentis, et l’instrument qui empêche de cligner (l’écarteur à paupières ou blépharostat) est parfois source d’un peu d’inconfort en cas de « crispation » notamment.

Combien coûte la chirurgie ?

Cela dépend de la technique utilisée (PKR ou LASIK), du type d’options envisagées, et du lieu (ex Paris où les tarifs sont plus élevés qu’en province). Avec du matériel récent, dans des mains exercées, une fourchette de prix indicative (pour Paris) est de 2200 à 3500 euros pour les deux yeux. En savoir plus sur le prix des opérations de chirurgie réfractive. L’opération n’est pas remboursée par la sécurité sociale. 

Pourrai-je conduire pour rentrer chez moi ou devrai-je me faire raccompagner ?

Il ne faut pas essayer de conduire après l’intervention, un retour accompagné ou en taxi est nécessaire. Il est également possible de prendre les transports en communs à conditions d’être accompagné. Des lunettes filtrantes teintées sont généralement remises au patient opéré, ainsi qu’une paire de coques oculaires de protection à porter au cours de la ou les premières nuits (afin d’éviter les frottements oculaires involontaires).

Quand dois-je commencer le traitement après l’intervention ?

Le jour même, il est conseillé d’instiller les collyres prescrits, en commençant au moins une heure après chirurgie. Les différentes gouttes peuvent être instillés à 5 minutes d’intervalle, ou réparties à intervalles réguliers.  Il ne faut pas se frotter les yeux; si une irritation ou gêne est ressentie (ceci est très fréquent au cours des heures qui suivent la chirurgie), il convient de rincer ou hydrater les yeux avec le sérum physiologique.

Pourrai-je aller au soleil après l’intervention ?

Il est possible de fréquenter des endroits ensoleillés au décours de la chirurgie, mais le port de bon verres filtrants les UV (lunettes de soleil de bonne qualité et suffisamment couvrantes) est fortement recommandé.

Quand pourrai-je me baigner après l’intervention ?

Il est possible de nager ou se baigner environ 10 à 15 jours après l’intervention : le port de lunettes de natation est vivement recommandé pour les séances de nage sportive en piscine ou en mer. Ce conseil est d’ailleurs valable même pour les patients non opérés! Signalons que le port de lentilles de contact au cours de séances de baignades expose à un risque d’infection sévère (kératite amibienne).

Quand pourrai-je me laver les cheveux ?

Se laver les cheveux est possible dès le lendemain ou surlendemain de l’intervention : il suffit de fermer les yeux, et de les rincer au sérum physiologique après la douche ou en cas de projection de gouttelettes.

Quand pourrai-je prendre l’avion ?

En théorie, un voyage en avion est possible au décours immédiat de la chirurgie. Il est cependant d’attendre 24 à 48 heures, notamment après PKR.

Quand pourrai-je refaire du sport ?

En dehors de la natation, la reprise d’une activité de type fitness ou jogging peut être envisagée une semaine après PKR, et quelques jours après LASIK. Les sports qui exposent à la projection de poussières ou souillures oculaires, à des traumatismes oculaires sont toutefois déconseillés. Le port des verres filtrant les UV est obligatoire pour le ski alpin, le ski nautique et les activités en milieu très ensoleillé ou réfléchissant.

Consulter d’autres questions fréquentes concernant la chirurgie réfractive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *