+ +

Pupillary axis

Eye angles are usually defined by specific branches. The pupillary axis is an axis of useful reference, which corresponds to a line perpendicular to the surface of the cornea and goes through the center of the pupil.

To identify the pupillary axis, guide the eye in a way that the corneal reflection of a source of light)image from Purnkinje) appear confused with the center of the entrance pupil (Pe). Indeed, the reflection is then aligned with the local radius of curvature of the corneal surface, which is by definition perpendicular to the tangent to the corneal surface to the point under consideration, confused with the center of the pupil.

 

Pupillary axis joined the center of the entrance pupil (Pe) with a point at the top of the cornea, where it is locally perpendicular to the surface of the cornea. If the eye was a manufactured oprique instrument, the cornea and the lens would be symmetry of revolution, and centered on this axis.

The pupillary axis to set certain angles, whose most important clinical is the Kappa angle. This axis is used for reference in a centered optical system (ex: standard camera lens), refractive lenses are aligned on a common centerline. In fact, this axis is confused with the axis which connects him between the diaphragm (pupil) and the top of the front lens, while being perpendicular to the surface of this lens at this point. The eye is considered an optical system with two main lenses (cornea/lens) and one diaphragm separating them (IRIS pupil) not aligned on a common axis, the line joining the center of the pupil with a point located on the front of the cornea and such as pupillary axis passing through is locally perpendicular to the top of the cornea is used as the axis of reference.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Axe pupillaire

Les angles oculaires sont généralement définis par des directions particulières. L’axe pupillaire est un axe de référence utile, qui correspond à une ligne perpendiculaire à la surface de la cornée et qui passe par le centre de la pupille.

Pour identifier l’axe pupillaire, il faut orienter l’oeil de manière à ce que le reflet cornéen d’une source lumineuse (image de Purnkinje I) apparaisse confondu avec le centre de la pupille d’entrée (Pe). En effet, le reflet est alors aligné avec le rayon de courbure local de la surface cornéenne, qui est par définition perpendiculaire à tangente à la surface cornéenne au point considéré, confondu avec le centre de la pupille.

 

L’axe pupillaire joint le centre de la pupille d’entrée (Pe) avec un point situé au sommet de la cornée, où il est localement perpendiculaire à la surface de la cornée. Si l’oeil était un instrument d’oprique manufacturé, la cornée et le cristallin seraient à symétrie de révolution, et centrées sur cet axe.

L’axe pupillaire permet de définir certains angles, dont le plus important en clinique est l’angle Kappa. Cet axe sert de référence, car dans un système optique centré (ex: objectif d’appareil photographique standard), les lentilles réfractives sont alignées sur un axe commun médian. De fait, cet axe est confondu avec l’axe qui relie le entre du diaphragme (pupille) et le sommet de la lentille frontale, tout en étant perpendiculaire à la surface de cette lentille en ce point. L’oeil étant assimilable à un système optique muni de deux lentilles principales (cornée/cristallin) et un diaphragme les séparant (pupille irienne) non alignées sur un axe commun, on utilise comme axe de référence la ligne joignant le centre de la pupille avec un point situé sur la face antérieure de la cornée et tel que l’axe pupillaire qui le traverse est localement perpendiculaire au sommet de la cornée.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *