+ +

Actual position of the implant

The actual position of the implant is the position the implant in the eye after cataract surgery.  It affects the value of the final refraction, because more implant is "far" from the cornea, and less effective the couple horny + crystalline power is important. From this position,. that must be anticipated (and is then based on an "assumption") when calculatingdepends on the power calculated for the implant (biometrics). Modern biometric calculation formulas differ mainly in the way in which she "predict" the actual position of the implant.

actual position of the implant biometrics

Representation of the actual position of the implant, which is the distance between the top of the cornea and the optical center of the implant (optically speaking, this distance corresponds to the space between the main image of the cornea and the plan main purpose of the implant). This distance is different (larger) anatomic anterior chamber depth. In addition, the depth of the anterior Chamber if measured in pre operative is amended by the cataract surgery: the implant being less bulky than the lens, the (anatomical) anterior chamber increases after cataract surgery.

This implant power, expressed in diopters (unit of the vergence: 22D for example) is intended to give the eye the desired refraction. For a same eye (axial length and keratometry fixed) and a same target refraction, more the implant in a close position of the cornea, and less power is high. Conversely, if the position of the implant is later (further), then its power must be higher. A difference of one to two diopters in the plan of the implant (0.5 to 1 5 D in the plan of a bezel correction) can be obtained depending on the position of the implant.

The following illustration were achieved through the biometer IOL Master 700 (Zeiss):

IOL master 700 implant position

The actual position of the implant before the procedure is not predictable. This image was obtained after implementation of an implant of posterior Chamber in the course of an uncomplicated cataract surgery.

 

If an eye is Emmetropic perfectly (no glasses for distance vision) after the cataract surgery, is that the calculation of implant was made by predicting a position of the implant very close to that obtained in fine, after the intervention. If the implant has a different position, a myopia (implant located a bit further than expected) or a farsightedness (implant located a bit further back) will be observed.

Changes in the position of the Maser 700 IOL implant

Schematic representation of the effects produced by the displacement of the implant with respect to its position "awaited" (predicted by the biometric calculation at the top for a 'emmetropia").

Here is a list of the reasons that explain the inability to predict with certainty the position of the implant in the eye after the surgery:

-the lens has a large volume: when it is removed, the volume of the casepulaire bag is by definition reduced:

-the volume and the implant geometry differs from that of the lens: the implant consists of an optical (6 mm diameter), supported by the 'legs' (haptic), which may be of the same material as Optics (one-piece said implant) or different composition (implant "3 pieces": a perspective and two haptic).

-implants differ from share their geometry and their final position in the capsular bag (size of the implant, angulation of the optics live in the haptics of the implant screw, etc.). The focal power of the implant should be measured from the master plan image of it: the position of this master plan differs depending on the refractive index, the thickness and the curvature of the surfaces of the implant.

-Preoperative anatomic depth of the anterior Chamber is of course correlated with depth anatomical post operative: but this correlation is weak: for example, in case cataract evolved, the previous 'protrusion' of the reduced lens depth of the anterior Chamber: it greatly deepens after withdrawal of the cristallinien material. Pre operative of the lens thickness also plays a role in the final position of the implant.

Here is an illustration of two cuts of the House prior to the eye, made by Scheimpflug camera, before and after cataract surgery. There is a deepening of the room earlier of the eye, related in part to the withdrawal of the volume of the lens which tends to protrude "" in front of the pupil (the volume of the lens increases with time).

The anterior Chamber is deeper after the removal of the lens. The volume of the implant is much lower than that of the lens.

The anterior Chamber is deeper after the removal of the lens. The volume of the implant is much lower than that of the lens. The geometry of the implant is also different from that of the lens: its anterior curvature is always less, because its refractive index is higher (Images before and after operation of cataract, obtained with the biometer AL-Scan, Nidek)

 

The following figures also show these data.

The first is an image cut OCT of the anterior segment of the eye of a patient with bilateral cataracts. The eye is a hymermetropie, the lens is large and slightly push the iris plan. The preoperative anterior chamber depth is reduced.

anterior chamber depth and posi

Before the intervention, the lens protrudes slightly into the anterior chamber (590 microns at the Center in front of the iris plan), which reduces the depth of it (distance Lair front face of the cornea and anterior surface of the crystalline lens: 2.63 mm)

After removing the lens (cataract surgery by phaco emulsification) and asked for the implant, the OCT shows a deepening of the anterior Chamber.

After the cataract surgery, which consists of the removal of the lens, and the insertion of an artificial lens implant, the anterior Chamber is thorough. This change is related to the withdrawal of the volume occupied by the lens which was "projecting" forward, pushing the iris, and also the positioning of the implant in the capsular bag: the implant (anterior) is located at about 570 microns at the back of the iris. It is not possible to predict with certainty the positioning of the implant screws of the cornea, once injected into the capsular bag, after removal of the lens.

After the cataract surgery, which consists of the removal of the lens, and the insertion of an artificial lens implant, the anterior Chamber is thorough. This change is related to the withdrawal of the volume occupied by the lens which was "projecting" forward, pushing the iris, and also the positioning of the implant in the capsular bag: the implant (anterior) is located at about 570 microns at the back of the iris. It is not possible to predict with certainty the positioning of the implant screws of the cornea, once injected into the capsular bag, after removal of the lens.

 

 

Therefore, it is important to understand this point: ocular biometry with calculation of implant contains a bit of extrapolation: the final (or actual) position of the implant in the eye.

To address this uncertainty, manufacturers have initially proposed to use biometric calculation 'average' value, called "A constant", which allows to perform the biometric calculation based on a position 'average' of the implant in the eye. This value was proposed after completing studies on eyes operated on cataract and who received the implant concerned. Based on the gap between desired and obtained refractions (biometric error) it is possible statistically to find for what average value of position of the implant the error is minimal. This method requires that the other sources of error (measure of the axial length, corneal power rating) are the lowest possible.

Average effective location of the implant

The average position of the implant is provided by the manufacturer, not directly, but in the form of a constant expressed in diopters: this "convention" is related to the first generation formulas, including the so-called "empirical formula" or "regression" called SRK (from the initials of its authors). This formula is abandoned, but the SRK - T (T for theoretical) formula is still used for most of the eyes (as long as they are not too 'short' - the axial length must be greater than 22 mm). SRK - T form part of the "theoretical" formulas, because it relies on a physical-mathematical model of the eye. This constant is related to the distance between the corneal vertex and the plan view (master plans) of the implant: should not be confused with the anterior chamber depth, which is a pre-operative anatomical data (distance between the top of the cornea and the front part of the lens). After the intervention, the depth of the anterior Chamber may be estimated based on the distance between the top of the cornea and the iris plan. The optics of the implant position is different from the plan of the iris. It depends on various factors, such as the geometry of the implant, the thickness of his view, the geometry of the capsular bag (and its insertion on the ciliary trial of the eye), etc. In addition, the surgical technique used is also able to influence this average position slightly. Thus, the variable "average position of the implant" saw substitute that of 'Sucker factor (SF)' or 'Factor related to the surgeon' (formula of Holladay).

The constant A is expressed in diopters: it is possible to connect it to the value of the average actual position (PEM) of the implant through the following formula:

EMP = ((A x 0.5663 constant) - 65.6 + 3.595) / 0.9704)

The constant A is also convertible into "Sucker Factor" (SF):

SF = (constant a. x 0.5663) - 65.6

The value of the constant A is usually close to 120 D. In the first formula, aimed to convert to "average position" (mm), observed that the introduction of such value (120) module about the value of the PEM around 5 mm.

In the second formula, the resulting value is lower: this value is a 'fix' to apply to a constant representing the average position of the implant.

Actual position individualized implant

The individualization of the actual position predicted the implant using biometric data for a given eye is at the heart of the challenges of modern biometric calculation formulas. The first author to have intentionally changed the value of the constant was Binkhorst; He proposed to increase the value of the actual position of the implant in proportion to axial length measured. The accuracy of the prediction of the actual position for a particular eye determines the quality of the refractive result. In my eyes 'atypical', or operated in the past of refractive surgery, the assumptions of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd generation formulas (formulas of implant) proved wrong. 4th and 5th generation formulas are more able to make a more accurate calculation.

The influence of the actual position of the implant is illustrated in the calculation of the power of the implant after surgery (refractive)LASIK for myopia), in a cataract patient once it had been LASIK surgery for myopia ten years previously.

cataract after LASIK for myopia

Bilateral cataract occurred several years after completion of a LASIK to correct nearsightedness (not available correction file). The OQAS instrument / HD ANALYZER shows an elevation of light diffusion index (optical scatter OSI index), which the threshold is usually set at 1.5. The front of the cornea has an oblate geometry.

The biometric calculation, designed to provide the power of the iplant, can be accomplished using two different formulas. These calculations are based on the same elements (keratometry, axial length, and depth of the anterior Chamber to Haigis formula). However, they provide slightly different results, because formulas are predicting a different effective position of the implant.

SRK T vs Hagis implant calculation formulas

For a same target, the SRK T formula refraction predicted slightly less power than the formula of HAIGIS. This difference is specifically induced by a prediction of the actual position of the implant which is not the same between the two formulas. The SRK T formula does not take into account the depth of the anterior Chamber, and relies on the keratometry and axial length to predict the position of the implant. Surgery through LASIK has modified the keratometry, using it to predict the actual position of the implant should be obsolete. A keratometry reduced (such as after myopic LASIK) predicts a distance between cornea and lower than a higher keratometry implant. Haigis formula does not use the keratometry for prediction of the position of the implant.
Legend: AL axial length (myopia), ACD: preoperative anatomic anterior chamber depth, LT: thickness of the lens (lens thickness), SE: spherical equivalent of corneal power, K1: K2: meridians keratometry least the arched vs.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Position effective de l’implant

La position effective de l’implant est la position occupée par l’implant dans l’oeil après chirurgie de la cataracte.  Elle affecte la valeur de la réfraction finale, car plus l’implant est « loin » de la cornée, et moins la puissance effective du couple cornée + cristallin est importante. De cette position, qui doit être anticipée (et repose alors sur une « assomption ») lors du calcul, dépend la puissance calculée pour l’implant (biométrie). Les formules modernes de calcul biométrique diffèrent principalement dans la manière dont elle « prédisent » la position effective de l’implant.

position effective de l'implant biométrie

Représentation de la position effective de l’implant, qui est la distance entre le sommet de la cornée et le centre optique de l’implant (optiquement parlant, cette distance correspond à l’espace situé entre le plan principal image de la cornée et le plan principal objet de l’implant). Cette distance est différente (plus grande) de la profondeur anatomique de chambre antérieure. De plus, la profondeur de la chambre antérieure si mesurée en pré opératoire est modifiée par l’opération de la cataracte:  l’implant étant moins volumineux que le cristallin, la chambre antérieure (anatomique) augmente après chirurgie de la cataracte.

Cette puissance d’implant, exprimée en dioptries (unité de la vergence :  22D par exemple) est destinée à donner à l’œil la réfraction souhaitée. Pour un même oeil (longueur axiale et kératométrie fixe) et une même réfraction visée, plus l’implant occupe une position proche de la cornée, et moins sa puissance est élevée. A l’inverse, si la position de l’implant est postérieure (plus loin du sommet de la cornée), alors sa puissance doit être plus élevée. Une différence de une à deux dioptries dans le plan de l’implant (soit 0.5 à 1. 5 D dans le plan d’une correction lunette) peut être obtenue en fonction de la position de l’implant.

Les illustration suivantes ont été réalisées grâce au biomètre IOL Master 700 (Zeiss):

IOL master 700 position implant

La position effective de l’implant n’est pas prévisible avant l’intervention. Cette image a été obtenue après implantation d’un implant de chambre postérieure au décours d’une chirurgie de la cataracte non compliquée.

 

Si un oeil est parfaitement emmétrope (pas de lunettes pour la vision de loin) après la chirurgie de la cataracte, c’est que le calcul d’implant a été effectué en prédisant une position de l’implant très proche de celle obtenue in fine, après l’intervention. Si l’implant occupe une position différente, une myopie (implant situé un peu plus en avant que prévu) ou une hypermétropie (implant situé un peu plus en arrière) seront observées.

Variations de la position de l'implant IOL Maser 700

Représentation schématique des effets produits par le déplacement de l’implant vis à vis de sa position « attendue » (prédite par le calcul biométrique, en haut, pour une « emmétropie »).

Voici une liste non exhaustive des raisons qui expliquent l’impossibilité de prédire avec certitude la position de l’implant dans l’oeil après la chirurgie:

-le cristallin occupe un volume important: quand celui-ci est retiré, le volume du sac caspulaire est par définition réduit:

– le volume et la géométrie de l’implant diffère de celui du cristallin: l’implant est constitué d’une optique (6 mm de diamètre), supportée par des « pattes » (haptiques), qui peuvent être du même matériau que l’optique (implant dit monobloc) ou de composition différente (implant « 3 pièces » : une optique et deux haptiques).

– les implants diffèrent de part leur géométrie et leur position finale dans le sac capsulaire (dimensions de l’implant, angulation de l’optique vis à vis des haptiques de l’implant, etc.). La puissance focale de l’implant doit être mesurée depuis le plan principal image de celui-ci: la position de ce plan principal diffère selon l’indice de réfraction, l’épaisseur et la courbure des surfaces de l’implant.

– la profondeur anatomique préopératoire de la chambre antérieure est certes corrélée avec la profondeur anatomique post opératoire : mais cette corrélation est faible: par exemple, en cas de cataracte évoluée, la « protrusion » antérieure du cristallin réduit la profondeur de la chambre antérieure: celle-ci s’approfondit grandement après retrait du matériel cristallinien. L’épaisseur pré opératoire du cristallin joue également un rôle supposé dans la position finale de l’implant.

Voici une illustration de deux coupes de la chambre antérieure de l’oeil, effectuée par caméra Scheimpflug, avant et après chirurgie de la cataracte. On observe un approfondissement de la chambre antérieur de l’œil, lié en partie au retrait du volume du cristallin qui tend à faire « saillie » en avant de la pupille (le volume du cristallin augmente avec le temps).

La chambre antérieure est plus profonde après le retrait du cristallin. Le volume de l'implant est nettement inférieur à celui du cristallin.

La chambre antérieure est plus profonde après le retrait du cristallin. Le volume de l’implant est nettement inférieur à celui du cristallin. La géométrie de l’implant diffère également de celle du cristallin : sa courbure antérieure est toujours moindre, car son indice de réfraction est plus élevé (Images avant et après intervention de cataracte, obtenues avec le biomètre AL-Scan, Nidek)

 

Les figures suivantes illustrent également ces données.

La première est une image acquise en coupe OCT du segment antérieur de l’oeil d’un patient atteint de cataracte bilatérale. L’oeil présente une hymermétropie, le cristallin est volumineux et repousse légèrement le plan de l’iris. La profondeur de la chambre antérieure préopératoire est réduite.

profondeur chambre antérieure et posi

Avant l’intervention, le cristallin fait légèrement saillie dans la chambre antérieure (590 microns au centre en avant du plan de l’iris), ce qui réduit la profondeur de celle-ci (distance antre face avant de la cornée et face antérieure du cristallin : 2.63 mm)

Après retrait du cristallin (chirurgie de la cataracte par phaco émulsification) et pose de l’implant, l’OCT montre un approfondissement important de la chambre antérieure.

Après la chirurgie de la cataracte, qui consiste en le retrait du cristallin, et l’insertion d’un implant de cristallin artificiel, la chambre antérieure est approfondie. Cette modification est liée au retrait du volume occupé par le cristallin qui faisait « saillie » vers l’avant, en repoussant l’iris, et également au positionnement de l’implant dans le sac capsulaire: l’implant (face antérieure) est situé à environ 570 microns en arrière de l’iris. Il n’est pas possible de prédire avec certitude le positionnement de l’implant vis vis de la cornée, une fois injecté dans le sac capsulaire, après retrait du cristallin.

Après la chirurgie de la cataracte, qui consiste en le retrait du cristallin, et l’insertion d’un implant de cristallin artificiel, la chambre antérieure est approfondie. Cette modification est liée au retrait du volume occupé par le cristallin qui faisait « saillie » vers l’avant, en repoussant l’iris, et également au positionnement de l’implant dans le sac capsulaire: l’implant (face antérieure) est situé à environ 570 microns en arrière de l’iris. Il n’est pas possible de prédire avec certitude le positionnement de l’implant vis vis de la cornée, une fois injecté dans le sac capsulaire, après retrait du cristallin.

 

 

Il est donc important de bien comprendre ce point : la biométrie oculaire avec calcul d’implant comporte une part d’extrapolation : celle de la position finale (ou effective) de l’implant dans l’oeil.

Pour remédier à cette incertitude, les fabricants ont initialement proposé d’utiliser pour le calcul biométrique une valeur « moyenne », appelée « constante A », qui permet de réaliser le calcul biométrique en se fondant sur une position « moyenne » de l’implant dans l’oeil. Cette valeur était proposée après avoir accompli des études sur des yeux opérés de la cataracte et ayant reçu l’implant considéré. En fonction de l’écart entre les réfractions obtenues et souhaitées (erreur biométrique) il est possible statistiquement de trouver pour quelle valeur moyenne de position de l’implant l’erreur est minimale. Cette méthode nécessite que les autres sources d’erreur (mesure de la longueur axiale, estimation de la puissance cornéenne) soient le plus faible possible.

Position effective moyenne de l’implant

La position moyenne de l’implant est fournie par le fabricant, non directement mais sous la forme d’une constante exprimée en Dioptrie : cette « convention » est liée aux formules de calcul de première génération, notamment la formule dite « empirique » ou de « régression » appelée SRK (des initiales de ses auteurs). Cette formule est abandonnée, mais la formule SRK-T (T pour Théorique) est encore utilisée pour la plupart des yeux (à condition qu’ils ne soient pas trop « courts » – la longueur axiale doit être supérieur à 22 mm). La formule SRK-T fait partie des formules « théoriques », car elle repose sur un modèle physico mathématique de l’oeil. Cette constante est reliée à la distance entre le sommet cornéen et le plan optique (plans principaux) de l’implant: il ne faut pas la confondre avec la profondeur de chambre antérieure, qui est une donnée anatomique préopératoire (distance entre le sommet de la cornée et la partie antérieure du cristallin). Après l’intervention, la profondeur de la chambre antérieure peut être estimée en fonction de la distance entre le sommet de la cornée et le plan de l’iris. La position de l’optique de l’implant est différente de celle du plan de l’iris. Elle dépend de divers facteurs, comme la géométrie de l’implant, l’épaisseur de son optique, la géométrie du sac capsulaire (et de son insertion sur les procès ciliaires de l’oeil), etc. De plus, la technique chirurgicale utilisée est également à même d’influer légèrement sur cette position moyenne. Ainsi, la variable « position moyenne de l’implant  » s’est vue substituer celle de « Surgeon factor (SF) » ou « Facteur lié au chirurgien » (formule de Holladay).

La constante A est exprimée en Dioptries: il est possible de la relier à la valeur de la position effective moyenne (PEM) de l’implant grâce à la formule suivante :

PEM = ( (constante A x 0.5663) – 65.6 +3.595 ) / 0.9704 )

La constante A est également convertible en « Surgeon Factor  » (SF) :

SF = ( Constante A x 0.5663) – 65.6

La valeur de la constante A est généralement proche de 120 D. Dans la première formule, qui visent à convertir en « position moyenne » (mm), on observe que l’introduction d’une telle valeur  (120) module la valeur de la PEM autour de 5 mm environ.

Dans la seconde formule, la valeur obtenue est plus faible: cette valeur est un « correctif » à appliquer à une constante représentant la position moyenne de l’implant.

Position effective individualisée de l’implant

L’individualisation de la position effective prédite de l’implant au moyen des données biométriques recueillies pour un oeil donné est au cœur des enjeux des formules modernes de calcul biométrique. Le premier auteur a avoir modifié intentionnellement la valeur de la constante A fut Binkhorst; il proposa d’augmenter la valeur de la position effective de l’implant proportionnellement à longueur axiale mesurée. La justesse de la prédiction de la position effective pour un oeil particulier détermine la qualité du résultat réfractif obtenu. Dans les yeux « atypiques », ou opérés dans le passé de chirurgie réfractive, les assomptions des formules de 1er, 2e et 3e génération (formules de calcul d’implant) se révèlent erronées. Les formules de 4e et 5e génération sont plus à même de réaliser un calcul plus précis.

L’influence de la position effective de l’implant est illustrée dans le calcul de la puissance de l’implant après chirurgie réfractive (LASIK pour myopie), chez un patient atteint de cataracte  après qu’il eût été opéré de LASIK pour myopie dix ans auparavant.

cataracte après LASIK pour myopie

Cataracte bilatérale survenue plusieurs années après réalisation d’un LASIK pour corriger la myopie (dossier de correction non disponible). L’instrument OQAS / HD ANALYZER révèle une élévation de l’indice de diffusion lumineuse (optical scatter index OSI), dont le seuil est généralement fixé à 1.5. La face antérieure de la cornée a une géométrie oblate.

Le calcul biométrique, destiné à fournir la puissance de l’iplant, peut être accompli en utilisant deux formules différentes. Ces calculs sont fondés sur les mêmes éléments (kératométrie, longueur axiale, et profondeur de la chambre antérieure pour la formule de Haigis). Ils fournissent cependant des résultats légèrement différents, car les formules prédisent une position effective de l’implant différente.

SRK T vs Hagis formules calcul implant

Pour une même réfraction cible, la formule SRK T prédit une puissance légèrement inférieure à celle de la formule de HAIGIS. Cette différence est spécifiquement induite par une prédiction de la position effective de l’implant qui n’est pas identique entre les deux formules. La formule SRK T ne tient pas compte de la profondeur de la chambre antérieure, et se fonde sur la kératométrie et la longueur axiale pour prédire la position de l’implant. La chirurgie par LASIK ayant modifié la kératométrie, l’utilisation de celle-ci pour prédire la position effective de l’implant devrait être caduque. Une kératométrie réduite (comme après LASIK myopique) prédit une distance entre cornée et implant plus faible qu’une kératométrie plus élevée. La formule de Haigis n’utilise pas la kératométrie pour la prédiction de la position de l’implant.
Légende : AL longueur axiale (myopie), ACD: profondeur de chambre antérieure anatomique préopératoire, LT: épaisseur du cristallin (lens thickness), SE: équivalent sphérique de la puissance cornéenne, K1 : K2 : kératométrie des méridiens le moins vs le plus cambré.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *