+ +

The multifocalite master

This page is dedicated to the design of a multifocal correction for presbyopia. She outlines of a method of multifocal customized correction based on a non-empirical approach, we have designed in the early 2000s and for which an international patent has been filed Ocular wavefront-correction profiling United States Patent 20060023162 http://www.patentstorm.us/patents/7341345.html

 

In view of simplifying or empirical methods proposed at the time, the interest of a model-based approach precise and rational to induce controlled manner of the multifocalite we became evident.
We initiated the development and validation of a theoretical model that would allow, as the Munnerlyn model for myopia, to establish a profile that is both quantitative, accurate and configurable. Like empirical approaches, this type of model should provide the flexibility required to benefit from improvements through successive adjustments deducted from the responses observed during the course of their application.
In order to lay the groundwork for this "mastered" multifocal, we began by studying the links between pseudo accommodation (depth of field) and optical aberrations. Then, we reformulated the addition concept closely by directly integrating optical aberrations into the realization of a multifocal ocular wavefront.
The Aberrometry allows to establish the precise and quantitative survey of the different "high degree" aberrations, from which a comprehensive analysis of the optical properties of the eye can be carried out, such as the calculation of the maximum visual acuity Theoretical corrected and uncorrected, the prediction of the sensitivity to contrasts of optical origin (curve of transfer modulation), etc...
Used for the study of complex vision disorders and the development of monofocal personalized treatment, Aberrometry is not used for the development of personalized medico-surgical devices intended for Multifocal compensation of the presbyopia. This appeared to us to be the least surprising and encouraged us to develop a method based on the integration of data related to the ocular wavefront.
A multifocal system is traditionally seen as an optical device with multiple foci, at least two when it comes to compensating presbyopia and Ametropia from afar. This design is certainly just but reductive if seen from the aberrométrique angle.
By providing a much more exhaustive and accurate collection of the optical properties of the eye, the Aberrométrique study offers the possibility of simulating the perception of a "multifocal eye" under various lighting or contrast conditions, and supporting it Precise qualitative and quantitative elements (type and rate of optical aberrations, degree of reduction of the sensitivity to contrasts of optical origin). It appeared to us that visual exploration techniques based on the study of the ocular wavefront should allow to establish a true multifocal treatment personalized and controlled.

Multifocalite and ocular Wavefront

Several elements of clinical origin refers to the ocular Wavefront as a key element for the multifocalite.
While the lack of a close, uncorrected vision is a failure for the patient wanting to get rid of the glasses, it is however the degradation of the quality of the vision from afar that is at the origin of the most vehement complaints. This degradation is related to the induction of a high rate of low and high-degree optical aberrations.
The induction of a high level of high-degree optical aberrations may be the cause of a reduction in vision quality while the maximum contrast visual acuity remains unchanged. Some functional complaints (halos, ghost images, glare) observed after refractive surgery or insertion of multifocal implants are often correlated with the induction of high-degree optical aberrations. Coma-type aberration is typically responsible for phantom images, Monocular diplopism, whereas spherical aberration is often implicated in the case of halos or glare.
During sequential multifocal treatment (correction by far and near separately issued), an additional photoablatif treatment centered for close vision can induce an excessive rate of spherical aberration, while decentric it mislead in addition to the Coma. A frequently encountered trap is to consider the corneal vertex as an optical center; The pupil is most often biased in relation to this marker. The pupil being by definition the area borrowed by the incident light to reach the retina, the center of the pupil is considered to compute the optical aberrations of the whole ocular wavefront.
We have carefully studied the Aberrométrique profile of eyes adapted with various types of multifocal lenses. The aberrations found significantly elevated when wearing these lenses were coma-type and spherical aberrations. Some of these aberrations reflect the multifocal character of the lenses tested and is certainly useful in inducing a visual acuity closely.
Spherical aberration, for example, corresponds to the refractive differential between the centre and the edges of the optical zone. Multifocal lenses with addition for near-center vision induce negative spherical aberration, while lenses with addition for near-periphery vision induce positive spherical aberration. We postulated that if some of these spherical aberrations were directly related to the aspherical geometry of these lenses, the other and coma-type aberrations were probably induced by their relative decentering vis-à-vis the pupil Iris. In fact, the multifocal lenses tested were all revolution symmetry and could not induce odd aberrations in the optimal centering case.
Oshika et al calculated the rate of optical aberrations of the cornea of pseudophakes patients. The influence of these aberrations was evaluated by stimulating the point spread function (PSF) and the optical Contrast curve (MTF) from the Wave-front collection. A correlation between pseudo-accommodation and vertical coma-type aberration was found. These authors also showed that a variation in power of 0.5 D (defocusing) had more deleterious effect on the quality of the retinal image when the eye had no high-degree aberrations than when it had a moderate rate of coma .
It was thus apparent to us that the development of a personalized multifocal profile had to take into account, or even predict, to control the rate of optical aberrations necessarily induced

Towards a multifocalite controlled

-Use of the aberrations of high degree to induce the multifocalite!

We studied the relationship between optical aberrations of high degree to understand their effects with respect to the multifocalite. We then discovered that it was possible to mathematically predict the average change in focal length induced by an aberration given, and for a given pupillary diameter.

aberration spherical defocus

The spherical aberration of the Z40 Zernike polynomial induced the defocus on a central area obtained in this example by concentric reduction (see the small patterns into medallions). Our algorithm allows the calculation of the defocus may be present on any sub-pupil for each listed in the classification of Zernike aberration. In this example, the maximum defocus is reached when the pupillary diameter is reduced by 30%. All aberrations are not equal in terms of defocus-induced, and pupillary reduction percentage optimal. Some aberrations lead of defocus on money not concentric pupils.

This focal variation is not restricted to the aberrations of degree 2 (myopia and) astigmatism change the spherical equivalent), but affects all of the optical imperfections of the ocular system and therefore the aberrations of high degree.
The perimeter of the zones dedicated to these different focal lengths can be determined from the pupillary game of a given patient, for a given activity in a given light environment. For example, it is possible to study the variations of the diameter and the centring of the pupil in different light conditions (photosting, Mesopic, scotopic) and working distance (33 cm, 70 cm, infinity, etc...).
Rather than "play" with the only myopia Defocus alone (diopter correction accomplished on the area dedicated to vision from afar, then addition to area close, etc.,...) The originality of our approach is to use a selection of high aberrations from the outset degree to build the multifocal correction. The collection of these data (pupillary game, patient's wishes) makes it possible to establish a list of constraints.
The optimum combination is achieved through a special algorithm that uses mathematical optimization functions from pre-determined constraints. The algorithm "selects" the type and rate of accuracy of high-degree aberrations necessary for the construction of the wavefront to induce a given multifocal (depending in particular on the required addition and selected pupil domains).

multifocalite aberrations of high degree

Construction of a multifocal wave front from the pupillary game data, we built coins pupils. Knowing each aberration-induced 'degree of multifocalite', we can then generate one or more multifocal eye wave front, to induce exactly the degree of addition pre defined on the domain souhaité(ex: 1.5D, sur une pupil de 2 mm)

We have also included in the parameters taken into account in the development of the multifocal profile the quantitative elements of quality of vision such as the RMS of the Wavefront error, Strehl criterion, or the area under the line of the MTF modulation transfer function. As a result, the rate and the consequences on the quality of vision of the combination of optical aberrations introduced by a given correction is known prior to issuance of the multifocal treatment!
Our method offers increased flexibility, since the correction takes the form of a theoretical ocular wavefront resulting from the integration of a correction for vision from afar and close vision, or even one or more intermediate visions. Concerning the Presby-LASIKintegration of the data corresponding to the correction for vision of far and near in one profile of ablation is a tangible progress, eliminating the risk of overlapping of optical zones and transition induced by sequential treatment.
It is possible to propose for the same patient one or more multifocal correction by weighting differently vision from afar and close vision, etc.,... For example, different magnitudes for the addition of close can be tested, in order to determine a safety margin for the preservation of vision quality from afar.

Another possibility of customization offered by our method is to encourage the expression of some aberration in the final resulting wave front by a technique of selective weighting. This is important when we realize that mechanisms of neural compensation can weigh the subjective effect of an aberration on Visual function.
Knowledge of the rate of induced aberrations simulates the effect of the multifocal correction envisaged by the calculation of objective optical-quality metrics such as the Point-spreading function and the Modulation transfer curve. The realization of convoluées images (simulating the deformation of optotypes), phase blades with the corrections generated, or an adaptive optic technique can also be used to study the subjective perception of a patient given to the Proposed multifocal.
These techniques allow to study the theoretical effect of the correction before its realization. This is all the more important as candidates for multifocal often ignore the visual constraints, except when they experience the wearing of multifocal contact lenses. For example, the use of adaptive optics could simulate different types of correction, and subjectively determine how to use different induced aberrations to optimize depth of field and Induced optical aberrations.

-Steps to the obention of a controlled multifocalite

Important dimensions to the pre-surgery.
Patients who express unrealistic expectations must be challenged. The ability to sort cortical is a crucial element for the success of the technique. The adaptation of a multifocal lens can be proposed before surgery to study the effect induced by multifocalness in a candidate patient. A successful adaptation with these lenses is an encouraging prognostic element. The patient should be warned that his vision will evolve after performing the surgical act because of the scar-remodeling phenomena and the start-up of new vision interpretation mechanisms.
The study of variations in pupillary diameter is a crucial step, as patients with a large diameter in scotopic environment may be particularly exposed to the perception of vision quality disorders after the intervention. The pupillary shift in near vision must be measured, in order to define an optimal subdomain for the addition of close. The existence of a weak and low-reactive pupillary diameter could limit the tolerance of multifocal (selection of a low optical gradient at the cornea).
The frequent practice of night driving and/or activities in scotopic atmosphere represents a contraindication for the realization of a multifocal surgery technique. In all case, the patient must be warned of the risk of degradation of his night vision quality.
Our method has not yet been the subject of extensive clinical studies. This deficiency is inherent in the conditions that presided in its realization; Our initial ambition was to compensate for the lack of a specific model for the controlled induction of multifocality.
However, we have received very encouraging indirect confirmations regarding the relevance of our approach. In particular, we have carefully studied the results of our theoretical simulations carried out from clinical data collected from real patients (dynamic pupillary, degree of addition to be filled). The patterns we generated were very similar in quality (type of induced aberrations) and quantity (RMS rate) to those measured in clinical practice in subjects with an effective and well-tolerated multifocal (natural or obtained after Surgery or port of multifocal lenses). In addition, some simulations induce a small degree of oblique or inverse astigmatism for a pupillary diameter, the beneficial effect on multifocalness has been reported.
Finally, the design of a multifocal wavefront independent of an organic support (cornea, Crystalline lens, etc...) can be induced by different vectors: Laser ablation profile (obtained by "subtraction" corneal of the optical path separating the Pre-operative optical aberrations of the ideal multifocal wavefront), lens, customized implant in situ (Cahloun lens), etc...

Refractive multifocal techniques for presbyopia as presbyLASIK compensation must satisfy a subtle compromise between increased pseudoaccommodation and maintains a quality of vision acceptable for the patient. This compromise depends on various other factors such as brain plasticity of the patient (cortical sorting efficiency) but remains mainly under the influence of the generated optical aberrations.
Aberrometry is now widely used for understanding and establishing a possible treatment of vision quality disorders. It provides a more precise analysis and is advantageously substituted for a purely "focal" conception of multifocal. The inclusion of parameters such as pupillary dynamics and the control of induced optical aberrations is an indispensable step to improve the reproducibility and results of the techniques of induction of multifocal for the correction of the Presbyopia.

References

(1) Anschutz T. Laser correction of hyperopia and persbyopia. Int invest blink, 1994; 34 (4): 107-137
2) Vinciguerra P, Nizzola GM, Bailo G, Nizzola F, Encaria A, Epstein D excimer laser photorefractive keratectomy for presbyopia: 24-month follow-up in three eyes. J Refract Surg. 1998; 14 (1): 31-7.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Maitriser la multifocalité

Cet page est consacrée au design d’une correction multifocale optimisée pour la presbytie. Elle expose les grandes lignes d’une méthode de correction multifocale personnalisée fondée sur une approche non empirique, que nous avons conçue au début des années 2000 et pour laquelle un brevet international a été déposé Ocular wavefront-correction profiling United States Patent 20060023162 http://www.patentstorm.us/patents/7341345.html

 

Au vu des méthodes empiriques ou simplificatrices proposées à l’époque, l’intérêt d’un modèle fondé sur une approche précise et rationnelle pour induire de façon contrôlée de la multifocalité nous est apparu manifeste.
Nous avons entamé l’élaboration et la validation d’un modèle théorique qui permettrait, comme le modèle de Munnerlyn pour la myopie, d’établir un profil à la fois quantitatif, précis et paramétrable. A l’instar des approches empiriques, ce type de modèle devrait offrir la souplesse requise pour bénéficier d’améliorations par des ajustements successifs déduits des réponses observées au décours de leur application.
Afin de jeter les bases de cette multifocalité « maîtrisée », nous avons commencé par étudier les liens entre pseudo accommodation (profondeur de champ) et aberrations optiques. Puis, nous avons reformulé le concept d’addition de près en intégrant directement les aberrations optiques dans la réalisation d’un front d’onde oculaire multifocal.
L’aberrométrie permet d’établir le relevé précis et quantitatif des différentes aberrations de « haut degré », à partir desquels une analyse exhaustive des propriétés optiques de l’œil peut être effectuée, comme le calcul de l’acuité visuelle maximale théorique corrigée et non corrigée, la prédiction de la sensibilité aux contrastes d’origine optique (courbe de tranfert de modulation), etc…
Utilisée pour l’étude des troubles complexes de la qualité de vision et la mise au point de traitement personnalisés monofocaux, l’aberrométrie n’est pas utilisée pour l’élaboration de dispositifs médico-chirurgicaux personnalisés destinés à la compensation multifocale de la presbytie. Ceci nous est apparu pour le moins surprenant et nous a encouragé pour l’élaboration d’une méthode reposant sur l’intégration de données liées au front d’onde oculaire.
Un système multifocal est traditionnellement perçu comme un dispositif optique pourvu de foyers multiples, au minimum deux quand il s’agit de compenser la presbytie et l’amétropie de loin. Cette conception certes juste mais réductrice si on l’observe sous l’angle aberrométrique.
En fournissant un recueil beaucoup plus exhaustif et précis des propriétés optiques de l’œil, l’étude aberrométrique offre la possibilité de simuler la perception d’un « œil rendu multifocal » dans diverses conditions d’éclairage ou de contraste, et de l’étayer d’éléments qualitatifs et quantitatifs précis (type et taux d’aberrations optiques, degré de réduction de la sensibilité aux contrastes d’origine optique). Il nous est apparu que les techniques d’exploration visuelles fondées sur l’étude du front d’onde oculaire devaient permettre d’établir un véritable traitement multifocal personnalisé et maîtrisé.

Multifocalité et front d’onde oculaire

Plusieurs éléments d’origine clinique désignent le front d’onde oculaire comme un élément clé pour la multifocalité.
Si l’absence de vision utile de près non corrigée constitue un échec pour le patient désireux de s’affranchir des lunettes, c’est toutefois la dégradation de qualité de la vision de loin qui est à l’origine des plaintes les plus véhémentes. Cette dégradation est liée à l’induction d’un taux élevé d’aberrations optiques de bas et haut degré.
L’induction d’un taux élevé d’aberrations optiques de haut degré peut être à l’origine d’une réduction de la qualité de vision alors que l’acuité visuelle à contraste maximal demeure inchangée. Certaines plaintes fonctionnelles (halos, images fantômes, éblouissements) observées après chirurgie réfractive ou insertion d’implants multifocaux sont souvent corrélées à l’induction d’aberrations optiques de haut degré. L’aberration de type coma est classiquement responsable d’images fantômes, de diplopie monoculaire, alors que l’aberration sphérique est souvent incriminée en cas de halos ou d’éblouissements.
Lors d’un traitement multifocal séquentiel (correction de loin et de près délivrées séparément), un traitement photoablatif additionnel centré pour la vision de près peut induire un taux excessif d’aberration sphérique , alors que décentré il induira en plus du coma. Un piège fréquemment rencontré est de considérer le vertex cornéen comme centre optique ; la pupille est le plus souvent décentrée par rapport à ce repère. La pupille étant par définition la zone empruntée par la lumière incidente pour atteindre la rétine, le centre de la pupille est considéré pour calculer les aberrations optiques du front d’onde oculaire entier.
Nous avons étudié avec attention le profil aberrométrique d’yeux adaptés avec divers types de lentilles multifocales. Les aberrations retrouvées significativement élevées lors du port de ces lentilles étaient de type coma et aberrations sphériques. Une partie de ces aberrations reflète le caractère multifocal des lentilles testées et est certainement utile à l’induction d’une acuité visuelle de près.
L’aberration sphérique correspond par exemple au différentiel de réfraction entre le centre et les bords de la zone optique. Les lentilles multifocales avec addition pour la vision de près au centre induisent de l’aberration sphérique négative, alors que les lentilles avec addition pour la vision de près en périphérie induisent de l’aberration sphérique positive. Nous avons postulé que si une partie de ces aberrations sphériques était directement liée à la géométrie asphérique de ces lentilles, l’autre et les aberrations de type coma étaient probablement induit par leur décentrement relatif vis à vis de la pupille irienne. En effet, les lentilles multifocales testées présentaient toutes une symétrie de révolution et ne pouvaient donc induire d’aberrations impaires en cas de centrage optimal.
Oshika et coll ont calculé le taux d’aberrations optiques de la cornée de patients pseudophakes. L’influence de ces aberrations était évaluée en stimulant la fonction d’étalement du point (PSF) et la courbe de contraste d’origine optique (MTF) à partir du recueil du front d’onde. Une corrélation entre pseudo-accommodation et aberration de type coma verticale a été retrouvée. Ces auteurs ont également démontré qu’une variation de puissance de 0.5D (défocalisation) avait plus d’effet délétère sur la qualité de l’image rétinienne lorsque l’œil présentait aucune aberration de haut degré que lorsque qu’il présentait un taux modéré de coma.
Il nous est ainsi apparu que la mise au point d’un profil multifocal personnalisé devait impérativement tenir compte, voire prédire afin de contrôler le taux d’aberrations optiques nécessairement induit

Vers une multifocalité maîtrisée

-Utilisation des aberrations de haut degré pour induire de la multifocalité !

Nous avons étudié les relations entre aberrations optiques de haut degré afin de mieux comprendre leurs effets vis à vis de la multifocalité. Nous avons alors découvert qu’il était possible de prédire mathématiquement la variation moyenne de focale induite par une aberration donnée, et ce pour un diamètre pupillaire donné.

aberration sphérique défocus

L’aberration sphérique exprimée par le polynôme de Zernike Z40 induit du défocus sur une zone centrale obtenue dans cet exemple par réduction concentrique (voir les petits shémas en médaillons). Notre algorithme permet le calcul du défocus éventuellement présent sur n’importe quelle sous-pupille pour chacune des aberrations répertoriées dans la classification de Zernike. Dans cet exemple, le defocus maximal est atteint quand le diamètre pupillaire est réduit de 30%. Toutes les aberrations ne sont pas égales en terme de défocus induit, et de pourcentage de réduction pupillaire optimal. Certaines aberrations n’induisent du défocus que sur des sous pupilles non concentriques.

Cette variation focale n’est pas restreinte aux aberrations de degré 2 (myopie et astigmatisme qui modifient l’équivalent sphérique), mais concerne l’ensemble des imperfections optiques du système oculaire et donc les aberrations de haut degré.
Le pourtour des zones respectivement dédiées à ces différentes focales peut être déterminé à partir du jeu pupillaire d’un patient donné, et ce pour une activité donnée dans une ambiance lumineuse donnée. Par exemple, il est possible d’étudier les variations du diamètre et du centrage de la pupille dans différentes conditions de luminosité (photopique, mésopique, scotopique) et de distance de travail (33 cm, 70 cm, infini, etc..).
Plutôt que de « jouer » avec le seul défocus myopique seul (correction dioptrique accomplie sur la zone dédiée à la vision de loin, puis addition sur zone de près, etc.,…) l’originalité de notre approche est d’utiliser d’emblée une sélection d’aberrations de haut degré pour bâtir la correction multifocale. Le recueil de ces données (jeu pupillaire, souhaits du patient) permet d’établir une liste de contraintes.
La combinaison optimale est obtenue grâce à un algorithme spécial qui utilise des fonctions mathématiques d’optimisation à partir de contraintes pré déterminées. L’algorithme « sélectionne » le type et le taux d’exact d’aberrations de haut degré nécessaire à la construction du front d’onde permettant d’induire une multifocalité donnée (en fonction notamment de l’addition requise et des domaines pupillaires choisis).

multifocalité aberrations de haut degré

Construction d’un front d’onde multifocal A partir des données du jeu pupillaire, on construit des sous pupilles. Connaissant le « degré de multifocalité » induit par chaque aberration, on peut alors générer un ou plusieurs front d’onde oculaires multifocaux, pour induire exactement le degré d’addition pré défini sur le domaine souhaité(ex : 1.5D, sur une pupille de 2 mm)

Nous avons également inclus dans les paramètres d’optimisation pris en compte dans l’élaboration du profil multifocal les éléments quantitatifs de qualité de vision tels que l’erreur RMS du front d’onde, le critère de Strehl, ou l’aire sous lacourbe de la fonction de transfert de modulation-MTF. De ce fait, le taux et les conséquences sur la qualité de vision de la combinaison des aberrations optiques introduit par une correction donnée est connu avant délivrance du traitement multifocal !
Notre méthode offre une souplesse accrue, puisque la correction prend la forme d’un front d’onde oculaire théorique résultant de l’intégration d’une correction pour la vision de loin et la vision de près, voire d’une ou plusieurs visions intermédiaires. Concernant le presby-LASIK, l’intégration des données correspondant à la correction pour la vision de loin et de près en un seul profil d’ablation constitue un progrès tangible, éliminant le risque de superposition des zones optiques et de transition induit par les traitements séquentiels.
Il est possible de proposer pour un même patient une ou plusieurs correction multifocales en pondérant différemment vision de loin et vision de près, etc.,… Par exemple, différentes magnitudes pour l’addition de près peuvent être testées, afin de déterminer une marge de sécurité pour la préservation de la qualité de vision de loin.

Une autre possibilité de personnalisation offerte par notre méthode est de favoriser l’expression de certaines aberration dans le front d’onde résultant final par une technique de pondération sélective. Ceci est important si l’on réalise que des mécanismes de compensation neuronale peuvent pondérer l’effet subjectif d’une aberration donnée sur la fonction visuelle.
La connaissance du taux des aberrations induites permet de simuler l’effet de la correction multifocale envisagée par le calcul de métriques objectives de qualité optique comme la Fonction d’Etalement du Point et la courbe de Transfert de Modulation. La réalisation d’images convoluées (simulant la déformation d’optotypes), de lames de phase comportant les corrections générées, ou d’une technique d’optique adaptative peut également permettre d’étudier la perception subjective d’un patient donné à la multifocalité proposée.
Ces techniques permettent d’étudier l’effet théorique de la correction avant sa réalisation. Ceci est d’autant plus important que les candidats à la multifocalité en ignorent souvent les contraintes visuelles, sauf quand ils ont l’expérience du port de lentilles de contact multifocales. A titre d’exemple, l’utilisation de l’optique adaptative pourrait permettre de simuler différentes types de correction, et déterminer subjectivement comment utiliser différentes aberrations induites afin d’optimiser la profondeur de champ et les aberrations optiques induites.

-Etapes nécessaires à l’obention d’une multifocalité contrôlée

Le bilan préopératoire revêt un aspect important.
Les patients qui expriment des attentes non réalistes doivent être récusés. L’aptitude au tri cortical est un élément crucial pour le succès de la technique. L’adaptation d’une lentille multifocale peut être propose avant la chirurgie pour étudier l’effet induit par la multifocalité chez un patient candidat. Une adaptation réussie avec ces lentilles constitue un élément pronostique encourageant. Le patient doit être averti du fait que sa vision évoluera après la réalisation de l’acte chirurgical en raison des phénomènes de remodelage cicatriciel et de la mise en route de nouveaux mécanismes d’interprétation de la vision.
L’étude des variations du diamètre pupillaire est une étape cruciale, car les patients présentant un large diamètre en ambiance scotopique pourront être particulièrement exposé à la perception de troubles de la qualité de vision après l’intervention. Le shift pupillaire en vision de près doit être mesuré, afin de définir un sous domaine optimal pour l’addition de près. L’existence d’un diamètre pupillaire faible et peu réactif pourrait limiter la tolérance de la multifocalité (sélection d’un faible gradient optique au niveau de la cornée).
La pratique fréquente de la conduite de nuit et/ou d’activités en ambiance scotopique représente une contre-indication relative à la réalisation d’une technique de chirurgie multifocale. Dans tous les cas, le patient doit être prévenu du risque de dégradation de sa qualité de vision nocturne.
Notre méthode n’a pas encore fait l’objet d’études cliniques poussées. Cette déficience est inhérente au conditions qui ont présidées à sa réalisation ; notre ambition initiale était de suppléer à l’absence de modèle précis pour l’induction maîtrisée de la multifocalité.
Toutefois, nous avons obtenus des confirmations indirectes très encourageantes vis à vis de la pertinence de notre approche. En particulier, nous avons attentivement étudiés les résultats issus de nos simulations théoriques réalisées à partir de donnée cliniques recueillies auprès de patients bien réels (dynamique pupillaire, degré d’addition à pourvoir). Les patterns que nous avons générés étaient très semblables en qualité (type d’aberrations induites) et en quantité (taux RMS) à ceux mesurés en pratique clinique chez des sujets présentant une multifocalité efficace et bien tolérée (naturelle ou obtenue après chirurgie ou port de lentilles multifocales). De plus, certaines simulations induisent pour un diamètre pupillaire donné un faible degré d’astigmatisme oblique ou inverse dont l’effet bénéfique sur la multifocalité a été rapporté.
Enfin, le design d’un front d’onde multifocal indépendant d’un support organique (cornée, cristallin, etc…) peut être induit par différents vecteurs : profil d’ablation laser (obtenu par « soustraction » cornéenne du chemin optique séparant les aberrations optiques pré opératoires du front d’onde multifocal idéal), lentille, implant customisé in situ (lentille de Cahloun) , etc…

Les techniques de chirurgie réfractive multifocales destinées à la compensation de la presbytie comme presbyLASIK doivent satisfaire un compromis subtil entre pseudoaccommodation accrue et maintient d’une qualité de vision acceptable pour le patient. Ce compromis dépend de divers autres facteurs comme la plasticité cérébrale du patient (efficacité du tri cortical) mais reste principalement soumis à l’influence des aberrations optiques générées.
L’aberrométrie est aujourd’hui couramment utilisée pour la compréhension et l’établissement d’un traitement éventuel des troubles de la qualité de vision. Elle fournit une analyse plus précise et se substitue avantageusement à une conception purement « focale » de la multifocalité. La prise en compte de paramètres comme la dynamique pupillaire et du contrôle des aberrations optiques induites est une étape incontournable pour améliorer la reproductibilité et les résultats des techniques d’induction de multifocalité pour la correction de la presbytie.

Références

1) Anschutz T. Laser correction of hyperopia and persbyopia. Int Ophthalmol Clin,1994;34(4):107-137
2) Vinciguerra P, Nizzola GM, Bailo G, Nizzola F, Ascari A, Epstein D Excimer laser photorefractive keratectomy for presbyopia: 24-month follow-up in three eyes.J Refract Surg. 1998;14(1):31-7.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *