+ +

Prevalence of presbyopia

Presbyopia: prevalence

Presbyopia is a condition caused by a change in the elasticity of the lens occurs with age. This reduction of the elasticity of the crystalline lens results in a gradual reduction of the power of accommodation: near vision becomes more and more blurred. The age of entry in presbyopia is relatively constant: between 43 and 46 years, but there are some variations in ethnic origin.

Age and presbyopia

The world's population ages, which mechanically causes the growing increase in the number of presbyopes, some do not have access to a suitable means of optical correction.

The lens allows the update in near vision by deforming in a passive way; with age, the amplitude of this deformation is reduced.  The accommodation is quantified as the inverse of the distance (in meters) of clear vision: his unit is therefore (as for the vergence) the diopter. At the age of 12, a child can accommodate to see net an object placed 8 cm from the eye: its amplitude of accommodation is equal to 1/0.08 or 12 diopters. This amplitude continues to shrink with time and 45 years, residual accommodation is more than 3 diopters which does more to see net targets located less than 1/3 = 33 cm. At the age of 60, the amplitude of accommodation is zero, and optical assistance is necessary to see up close.

At what age does presbyopia start?

The first symptoms of presbyopia are usually felt after 40 years, in special situations where the reduction of the amplitude of accommodation is a gene for near vision source: very small print and insufficient lighting.  Presbyopia is the result of a phenomenon whose evolution is progressive and continuous (progressive loss of accommodation); several elements can be regarded as marking the beginning of presbyopia: the new sensation of a Visual gene closely and the need to 'force' in an active way to see enough net are classic symptoms. Instinctively, the presbyter tends to increase the distance eye work to relieve the need for accommodation.

When correct presbyopia.

The age at which the use of corrective lenses for vision closely becomes necessary is variable, because it is based on the following factors:

-the degree of residual capacity of accommodation

-existence of a correction in distant vision: uncorrected slight myopia promotes near vision

-the climate and the living place: presbyopia seems to occur earlier towards the equator to the poles

-the degree of Visual requirement: presbyopia will be felt even more early reading habits include the need to read fine print texts, where tasks much soliciting near vision

-sex: women could be achieved a little earlier than men

-ethnicity: Africans have an age of more early presbyopia (40 years) than the caucaseiens (45 years)

 

To estimate the prevalence of presbyopia, agree on the definition for it; which can be subjective (need to wear specific correction for vision closely that it is that distance vision) or objective (need of correction for reading when far vision is corrected at best). The existence of a slight myopia may allow an objectively far-sighted individual to dispense with reading glasses: the best definition of presbyopia is so priori objective.

Prevalence compared to presbyopia

In countries developed countries populated by a predominantly white population (Europe, Australia, North America), it is estimated the prevalence of of presbyopia at 83% and an age of installation of 45 years. In other regions such as the India, South America, Africa the prevalence of presbyopia is estimated at 58% for an installation of 40 years age.

By combining these data with some projections, it is possible to predict an overall prevalence of presbyopia at 1.4 billion people by 2020, against a little more than a billion in 2005. It is estimated that two thirds of presbyopes live in countries less or underdeveloped, and that among these more than half did not have a correction for presbyopia.  Ultimately, our planet has more than a billion of presbyopes. Of those, slightly more than half of is not access to care and a suitable correction.

These figures underline the importance of the 'market of presbyopia' for the actors of the sector: ophthalmologists, optometrists, manufacturers of Mount, especially contact lenses and glasses. A walk in the commercial and urban center often allows to discover a large (and growing) number of optical stores. -l' increase in the prevalence of nearsightedness also contributes to this development.  A significant part of the advertising (radio, T V, press) is occupied by the manufacturers of ophthalmic lenses. Optics is the main item of the mutual health insurance scheme. Finally, the surgical correction of presbyopia is a growing interest, which attests the many techniques and strategies currently: implants, multifocal, technical correction multifocal laser, intra corneal implants, etc. The large research budgets are devoted to the study of innovative fixed devices as accommodatifs implants, surgery of the lens (restitution of part of its elasticity by incisions made in the) femtosecond laseretc.).

 

References:

Spierer A, Shalev B. Presbyopia among normal individuals. Graefes Arch Exp invest blink. 2003; 241 (2): 101-105.
js. The Presbyopic Add, III: Influence of the distance refractive type. Ophthalmic Physiol Opt. 1995; 15 (4): 249-253.
Abraham LM, Kuriakose T, Sivanandam V, Venkatesan N, Thomas R, Muliyil J. Amplitudeofaccommodationandits relation to refractive errors. Indian JOphthalmol. 2005; 53 (2): 105-108.
Rambo VC. Further notes on the varying ages at which different peoples develop presbyopia. Am J Ophthalmol. 1953; 36 (5): 709-710.
Miranda MN. The geographic factor in the onset of presbyopia. Trans Am Ophthalmol Soc. 1979; 77:603-621.
Weale RA. Human Ocular aging and ambient temperature. Br J Ophthalmol. 1981; 65 (12): 869-870.

Point JS. The presbyopic add, II: age-related trend and a gender difference. Ophthalmic B.j. opt. 1995; 15 (4): 241-248.
Point JS. Gender-related optical aspects of the onset of presbyopia. Ophthalmic Physiol Opt. 2002; 22 (2): 126-129.
Duarte WR, Barros AJD, Dias-da-Costa JS, Carter JM. Prevalence of near vision deficiency and related factors: a population-based study in Brazil. Cad Saude Publica. 2003; 19 (2): 551-559.

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Prévalence de la presbytie

Presbytie : prévalence

La presbytie est une affection causée par une modification de l’élasticité du cristallin survenant avec l’âge. Cette réduction de la l’élasticité du cristallin résulte en une réduction progressive du pouvoir d’accommodation: la vision de près devient de plus en plus floue. L’âge d’entrée dans la presbytie est relativement constant: entre 43 et 46 ans, mais il existe quelques variations d’origine ethnique.

Age et presbytie

La population mondiale vieillit, ce qui provoque mécaniquement l’augmentation croissante du nombre de presbytes, dont certains n’ont pas accès à un moyen de correction optique adapté.

Le cristallin permet la mise au point en vision de près en se déformant de manière passive ; avec l’âge, l’amplitude de cette déformation se réduit.  L’accommodation est quantifiée comme l’inverse de la distance minimale (en mètres) de vision nette : son unité est donc (comme pour la vergence) la dioptrie. A l’âge de 12 ans, un enfant peut accommoder pour voir net un objet placé à 8 cm de l’œil : son amplitude d’accommodation est égale à 1/0,08 soit 12 Dioptries. Cette amplitude ne cesse de se réduire avec le temps et à 45 ans, l’accommodation résiduelle n’est plus que de 3 Dioptries ce qui ne permet plus de voir net les cibles situées à moins de 1/3=33 cm. A 60 ans, l’amplitude d’accommodation est nulle, et le recours à une aide optique est nécessaire pour voir de près.

A quel âge débute la presbytie?

Les premiers symptômes de la presbytie sont généralement ressentis après 40 ans, dans des situations particulières où la réduction de l’amplitude d’accommodation est source d’une gêne pour la vision de près : très petits caractères d’imprimerie et éclairage insuffisant.  La presbytie découle d’un phénomène dont l’évolution est progressive et continue (perte progressive de l’accommodation) ; plusieurs éléments peuvent être considérés comme marquant le début de la presbytie : la sensation nouvelle d’une gêne visuelle de près et le besoin de « forcer » de manière active pour voir suffisamment net de près sont des symptômes classiques. Instinctivement, le presbyte tend  à augmenter la distance œil ouvrage pour soulager le besoin d’accommodation.

Quand corriger la presbytie !

L’âge auquel l’utilisation de verres correcteurs pour la vision de près devient nécessaire est variable, car il repose sur les facteurs suivants :

– le degré de capacité résiduelle d’accommodation

– existence d’une correction en vision de loin: la myopie légère non corrigée favorise la vision de près

– le climat et le lieu de vie : la presbytie semble survenir de manière plus précoce vers l’équateur que vers les pôles

– le degré d’exigence visuelle: la presbytie sera d’autant plus ressentie tôt que les habitudes de lectures comprennent le besoin de lire des textes de petits caractères, où effectuer des tâches sollicitant beaucoup la vision de près

– le sexe : les femmes pourraient être atteinte de manière un peu plus précoce que les hommes

– l’ethnie: les africains présentent un âge de presbytie plus précoce (40 ans) que les caucasiens (45 ans)

 

Pour estimer la prévalence de la presbytie, il faut s’accorder sur la définition retenue pour celle-ci ; qui peut être subjective (besoin de porter de correction spécifique pour la vision de près qu’elle que soit la vision de loin) ou objective (besoin de correction pour la lecture quand la vision de loin est corrigée au mieux). L’existence d’une légère myopie peut permettre à un individu objectivement presbyte de se passer de lunettes de lecture : la meilleure  définition de la presbytie est donc a priori objective.

Prévalence comparée  de la presbytie

Dans les pays développés peuplés par une population majoritairement blanche (Europe, Amérique du Nord, Australie), on estime la prévalence de de la presbytie à  83 % et un âge d’installation de 45 ans. Dans d’autres régions comme l’Inde, l’Amérique du Sud, l’Afrique noire la prévalence de la presbytie est estimée à 58.% pour un âge d’installation de 40 ans.

En combinant ces données avec certaines projections démographiques, il est possible de prédire une prévalence globale de la presbytie à 1.4 milliards d’individus en 2020, contre un peu plus d’un milliard en 2005. On estime que les deux tiers des presbytes vivent dans les pays les moins voire sous développés, et que parmi ceux-ci plus de la moitié ne bénéficiaient pas d’une correction adaptée pour la presbytie.  En définitive, notre planète comporte plus d’un milliard de presbytes. Parmi ceux-ci, un peu plus de la moitié de bénéficie pas d’un accès au soin et d’une correction adaptée.

Ces chiffres soulignent l’importance du « marché de la presbytie » pour les acteurs du secteur : ophtalmologues, optométristes, fabricants de lunettes et monture, de lentilles de contact en particulier. Une promenade dans les centre commerciaux et urbains permet souvent de découvrir un nombre important (et croissant) de magasins d’optique. -l’augmentation de la prévalence de la myopie contribue aussi à cet essor.  Une part non négligeable des messages publicitaires (radio, T V, presse) est occupée par les fabricants de verres ophtalmiques. L’optique est le poste de dépense principal des mutuelles de santé. Enfin, la correction chirurgicale de la presbytie suscite un intérêt croissant, dont atteste les nombreuses techniques et stratégies proposées actuellement : implants multifocaux, techniques de correction laser multifocales, implants intra cornéens, etc. Des budgets de recherche importants sont consacrés à l’étude de dispositifs de correction innovants comme les implants accommodatifs, la chirurgie du cristallin (restitution d’une partie de son élasticité par des incisions réalisées au laser femtoseconde, etc.).

 

Références :

Spierer A, Shalev B. Presbyopia among normal individuals. Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol. 2003;241(2):101-105.
JS. The presbyopic add, III: influence of the distance refractive type. Ophthalmic Physiol Opt. 1995;15(4):249-253.
Abraham LM, Kuriakose T, Sivanandam V, Venkatesan N, Thomas R, Muliyil J.Amplitudeofaccommodationandits relation to refractive errors. Indian JOphthalmol. 2005;53(2):105-108.
Rambo VC. Further notes on the varying ages at which different peoples develop presbyopia. Am J Ophthalmol. 1953;36(5):709-710.
Miranda MN. The geographic factor in the onset of presbyopia. Trans Am Ophthalmol Soc. 1979;77:603-621.
Weale RA. Human ocular aging and ambient temperature. Br J Ophthalmol. 1981;65(12):869-870.

Pointer JS. The presbyopic add, II: age-related trend and a gender difference. Ophthalmic Physiol Opt. 1995;15(4):241-248.
Pointer JS. Gender-related optical aspects of the onset of presbyopia. Ophthalmic Physiol Opt. 2002;22(2):126-129.
Duarte WR, Barros AJD, Dias-da-Costa JS, Cattan JM. Prevalence of near vision deficiency and related factors: a population-based study in Brazil . Cad Saude Publica. 2003;19(2):551-559.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *