+ +

Presbyopia surgery

Surgery presbyopia: possible discover the principles and techniques used for the presbyopic eye surgery!

There is not a single operation of presbyopia, but a range of techniques that allow most of presbyopes to reduce their dependence on glasses or lenses. The preoperative, indispensable, toll has aimed to choose the most suitable technique considered an eye and Visual ambitions of presbyopia surgery candidate.

Presbyopia: reminder

Presbyopia is defined by the loss of the accommodative function of the eye (see the pages dedicated to accommodation and to the) lens). the focus for playback or clear vision of objects near the eye (ex: 40 cm) is no longer sufficient from the quarantine.

A well corrected not presbyopic patient far accommodates to see up close: the lens 'bomb' and the increase in the optical power of the eye form a sharp image on the retina of a nearby object. This is analogous to the function of autofocus cameras, making the update according to the distance of the plan which must be net on the cliché.

The presbyter, the amplitude of accommodation is reduced progressively: the autofocus of the eye (through the lens) is becoming less and less effective, because the lens and its envelope lose their flexibility. Despite the contraction of the ciliary muscle to make bomber the lens, it does not deform enough.

See article on presbyopia surgery: http://www.Medscape.fr/voirarticle/3600763

Show "Hello doctor", devoted to presbyopia (16 October 2012) - guest Dr. Damien Gatinel

Which can be operated of presbyopia?

Presbyopia can be a surgical operation, regardless of the default Visual partner by far. Schematically:

At the presbyopic myopesmonovision (an eye for distance vision and the other for near vision) is definitely the best alternative to consider.

At thepresbyopic farsightedthe use of a multifocal technique (combined with a slight monovision) is often a good option.

In all case, astigmatism to be corrected, since it affects both distance vision and near vision.

Finally, at the presbyopic Emmetropic, various options can be envisaged depending on the patient's Visual ambitions.

How to determine the best indication?

Each request for correction of presbyopia must be studied carefully, in order to choose the best strategy for correction.

The collection of parameters is essential:

-age (degree of residual accommodation), sex (male / female)

-motivation and ambition Visual / profession vs. leisure / activities rather than distance vision or near vision

-degree of correction bezel by far and close (addition)

-presence of a debutante same cataract

-presence of eye diseases associated

The presence of a cataract directs priori to a technique of cristallinienne surgery with placement of an implant multifocal in each eye, or monofocal implant intended to induce a monovision (one eye sees net from a distance without glasses, the other closely)

The principles used for the surgical correction of presbyopia:

Contrary to what may suggest various media campaigns or "publi - reports ' recurring, it there is no proven method that allows to fix the accommodation, l and so a true correction of presbyopia: Ideally, there should be flexibility to crystalline, but this is not yet in the domain of the possible with current techniques.

On the other hand, various methods can be used to offset presbyopia :

-the Monovision : she is to use the fact that we have two eyes: one can be dedicated to the vision, the other to distance vision (this difference can be induced during corneal surgery or implant). The dominant eye is usually operated before his vision by far is optimal, and the eye non-dominant to allow her near vision reading, all of course without having need to wear glasses or lenses. A page is devoted to the remediation strategy by Monovision.

-the multifocalite : she is to increase the depth of field of the eye by the induction of a multifocal profile. This profile allows the operated eye to see several remotely in a sufficiently clear way. The multifocalite can be introduced by a surgical technique interesting the cornea or the lens.

PresbyLASIK

The correction on the cornea is to carry out a "multifocal" profile, most often by varying the corneal Asphericity to increase depth of field: the technique is essentially that of LASIK (who took the name of "presbyLASIK").

surgery on the cornea presbylasik presbyopia and multifocal cornea

Presbyopia is the inability for the eye longsighted to a development in vision closely-related: the accommodative power of the eye is reduced, and the image of a close source forms occasionally behind the retina. To correct presbyopia without degrading significantly far vision, we can make a sculpture laser of the cornea in order to modulate its optical power and make sure some of the rays emitted by the source close to be focused on the retina. The cornea is multifocal (the gradient in illustration "roundel" symbolizes this variation of corneal power). The study of wave-front reveals an increase in the rate of spherical aberration, which is an aberration related to the differential correction between the Center and the edges of the pupil.

Presby LASIK brings together a wide range of operations, whose names vary: Supracor, Laser Blended Vision, Q-factor F - CAT, etc. They are all based on a common principle; the increase of aberrations, including spherical, of the eye surgery to increase its depth of field. These "LASIK for presbyopia" techniques differ more by their marketing positioning and some tricks of language, that of their common mechanism: increase the depth of field of the eye without reducing the quality of distance vision playing on the rate of eye spherical aberration.

The spherical aberration is indeed an aberration that is characterized by the fact that the rays refracted by the central area of the pupil converge faster (spherical aberration of negative sign) or slower (spherical aberration of the positive sign) that the rays refracted through the peripheral area of the pupil. We can dedicate the refraction of the pupillary Center to near vision, and refraction of the pupillary periphery vision from afar, and vice versa. To increase the negative spherical aberration rate, can reshape the profile horny to make more aspherical prolate ("playing" with the 'Q factor' of asphericity). Laser manufacturers are less prolific in terms of numbers, and it is difficult to know what rate of spherical aberration is covered with patterns specifically dedicated to the correction of presbyopia. It must be said that this area is relatively complex, because spherical aberration rate also depends on the far possible correction of the pupillary diameter, spherical aberration rate initial, etc,.. .and that a rule of marketing is instead to simplify some explanatory messages, so that they are better understood and received. This actually helps some confusion that surrounds the presbyopia laser correction techniques and their correction mechanism - yet universally based on the modulation of spherical aberrations.

A slightly more technical page is devoted to the principles and explanations of the traitements laser aspherical "custom Q F - CAT.

Multifocal contact lenses are produced according to a principle quite similar to laser corrections. Some are central addition (vision in the centre), other peripheral addition. In the language aberrometrique, Multifocal lenses modulate the rate of spherical aberration of the eye (while correcting any defect by far as farsightedness or nearsightedness).

The hypermetropic presbyopia is generally a good candidate for LASIK surgery: correction of vision far tends to increase the rate of negative spherical aberration, and naturally brings some improvement of near vision.

The multifocal implant

A multifocal implant placement requires the lens, comparable to that of cataract surgery: we replace the lens with a multifocal implant. Indications of implant placement concern especially for beginner cataract patients, or who have reached 60. Both eyes are usually operated. Several useful for vision homes, are created by the Diffractive implants (home for distance vision and close for bifocal implants, home for the intermediate vision and more for trifocals implants).

Surgery of presbyopia by placement of a multifocal implant in replacement of the lens

Presbyopia is the inability for the eye longsighted to a development in vision closely-related: the accommodative power of the eye is reduced, and the image of a close source forms occasionally behind the retina. The correction of presbyopia can in certain indications be accomplished by replacing the lens with a "multifocal" implant, whose power is not unique but bi or trifocale. Depending on the optical properties at stake, the multifocalite of the implant can be 'refractive', or 'Rosea '. The majority of laid multifocal implants are Diffractive.

The implant intra corneal (inlay)

The increase in depth of field by reduction of the diameter of the pupil consists of the insertion of an implant in the cornea of an eye (usually the non-dominant eye). The intervention lasts only a few minutes and is performed under local anesthesia. The corneal implant is called implant KAMRA. This technique can be combined with LASIK to correct distance vision. The advantage of this technique is its reversibility, (it does not have lens or cornea), and the fact that it can be associated with virtually any type of correction laser for a far vision defect associated with presbyopia (myopia, hyperopia, astigmatism).

 

4 Responses to "Presbyopia Surgery"

  1. Michele says:

    Hello thank you for these very clear explanations on the surgery of the presbyopia.
    I've been hyperopic and longsighted for 5 years, I'm 55 years old and no cataracts. My ophthalmologist tells me about implants and surgery God Crystalline lens. I admit that I would prefer the laser what do you think?

  2. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    If you are farsighted, presbyter, and there are no cataract, laser surgery is definitely an interesting option to correct your presbyopia. The reduction of hyperopia is synergistic with the improvement envisaged for near vision. LASIK, especially, is a technique particularly suited to the hyepretropie joint correction and presbyopia. This intervention is less "invasive" surgery of the clear lens, it can be pure local anaesthesia and does not require the use of an anesthesiologist.

  3. Garcenot says:

    Hello, I am 66 years old and I want to be operated by Presbyopia by your care. How to make an appointment. Yours sincerely.

  4. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    The appointments can be taken by the site Doctolib or by calling the Institute Laser Vision Noemie de Rothschild directly.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Chirurgie de la presbytie

Opérer la presbytie : c’est possible  Découvrez les principes et techniques utilisées pour la chirurgie des yeux presbytes!

Il n’existe pas une opération unique de la presbytie, mais un éventail de techniques qui permettent à la plupart des presbytes de réduire leur dépendance aux verres de lunettes ou lentilles. Le bilan préopératoire, indispensable, a pour objectif de choisir la technique la plus adaptée à l’oeil considéré et aux ambitions visuels du candidat à la chirurgie de la presbytie.

Presbytie: rappel

La presbytie est définie par la perte de la fonction accommodative de l’oeil (voir les pages consacrées à l’accommodation et au cristallin). la mise au point pour la lecture ou la vision nette d’objets situés près de l’oeil (ex :40 cm) n’est plus suffisante à partir de la quarantaine.

Un patient non presbyte bien corrigé de loin accommode pour voir de près : le cristallin « bombe » et l’augmentation de la puissance optique de l’oeil permet de former une image nette sur la rétine d’un objet proche. Ceci est analogue à la fonction d’autofocus des appareils photos, qui font la mise au point en fonction de la distance du plan qui devra être net sur le cliché.

Chez le presbyte, l’amplitude de  l’accommodation se réduit progressivement: l’autofocus de l’œil (assuré par le cristallin) devient de moins en moins efficace, car le cristallin et son enveloppe perdent de leur souplesse.Malgré la contraction du muscle ciliaire destinée à faire bomber le cristallin, celui-ci ne se déforme pas assez.

Voir article sur la chirurgie de la presbytie: http://www.medscape.fr/voirarticle/3600763

Voir émission « Allo Docteur », consacrée à la presbytie (16 Octobre 2012) – Invité Dr Damien Gatinel

Qui peut être opéré de la presbytie?

La presbytie peut faire l’objet d’une opération chirurgicale, quel que soit le défaut visuel éventuel associé de loin. Schématiquement :

Chez les myope presbyte, la monovision (un  oeil pour la vision de loin, l’autre pour la vision de près) est certainement la meilleure alternative à envisager.

Chez l’hypermétrope presbyte, le recours à une technique multifocale (combinée à une légère monovision) est souvent une option de choix.

Dans tous les cas, l’astigmatisme doit être corrigé, car il nuit à la fois à la vision de loin et la vision de près.

Enfin, chez l’emmétrope presbyte, diverses options peuvent être envisagées en fonction des ambitions visuelles du patient.

Comment déterminer la meilleure indication?

Chaque demande de correction de la presbytie doit être étudiée avec soin, afin de choisir la meilleure stratégie de correction.

Le recueil de certains paramètres est essentiel:

– âge  (degré d’accommodation résiduelle), sexe (masculin / féminin)

– motivation et ambition visuelles / profession vs loisirs / activités sollicitant plutôt la vision de loin ou la vision de près

– degré de correction lunette de loin  et de près (addition)

– présence d’une cataracte même débutante

– présence de pathologies oculaires associées

La présence d’une cataracte oriente a priori vers une technique de chirurgie cristallinienne avec pose d’un implant multifocal dans chaque oeil, ou pose d’implants monofocaux destinés à induire une monovision (un oeil voit net de loin sans lunettes, l’autre de près)

Principes utilisés pour la correction chirurgicale de la presbytie:

Contrairement à ce que peuvent suggérer diverses campagnes médiatiques ou « publi -reportages » récurrents, il l n’existe pas de méthode éprouvée qui permette de réparer l’accommodation, et donc d’apporter une correction véritable de la presbytie: idéalement, il faudrait rendre de la souplesse au cristallin, mais ceci n’est pas encore du domaine du possible avec les techniques actuelles.

En revanche, diverses méthodes pourront servir à compenser la presbytie :

– la monovision : elle consiste à utiliser le fait que nous possédons deux yeux : l’un peut être dédié à la vision de près, l’autre à la vision de loin (cette différence peut être induite au cours d’une chirurgie cornéenne ou par implant). L’oeil dominant est généralement opéré pour que sa vision de loin soit optimale, et l’oeil non dominant pour que sa vision de près permette la lecture, le tout bien sûr sans qu’il soit besoin de porter de lunettes ou lentilles. Une page est consacrée à cette stratégie de correction par monovision.

-la multifocalité : elle consiste à augmenter la profondeur de champ de l’oeil par l’induction d’un profil multifocal. Ce profil permet à l’oeil opéré de voir à plusieurs distance de manière suffisamment nette. La multifocalité peut être introduite par une technique chirurgicale intéressant la cornée ou le cristallin.

Le presbyLASIK

La correction sur la cornée consiste à réaliser un profil « multifocal », le plus souvent en faisant varier l’asphéricité de la cornée pour augmenter la profondeur de champ: la technique est essentiellement celle du LASIK (qui prend alors la dénomination  de « presbyLASIK »).

chirurgie de la presbytie sur la cornée  presbylasik et cornée multifocale

La presbytie est liée à l’incapacité pour l’œil presbyte de faire une mise au point en vision de près: le pouvoir accommodatif de l’œil est réduit, et l’image d’une source rapprochée se forme de manière ponctuelle en arrière de la rétine. Pour corriger la presbytie sans dégrader de manière notable la vision de loin, on peut effectuer une sculpture au laser de la cornée de manière à moduler son pouvoir optique et faire en sorte que certains des rayons émis par la source proche soient focalisés sur la rétine. La cornée est multifocale (le dégradé en « cocarde » de l’illustration symbolise cette variation de la puissance cornéenne). L’étude du front d’onde révèle une augmentation du taux d’aberration sphérique, qui est une aberration liée au différentiel de correction entre le centre et les bords de la pupille.

Le presby LASIK regroupe une large gamme d’opérations dont les dénominations varient : Supracor, Laser Blended Vision, Q-factor F-CAT, etc. Elles reposent toutes sur un principe commun; l’augmentation des aberrations, notamment sphériques, de l’oeil opéré pour accroître sa profondeur de champ. Ces techniques de « LASIK pour presbytie » diffèrent plus par leur positionnement marketing et certaines astuces de langage, que de leur mécanisme commun: augmenter la profondeur de champ de l’œil sans trop réduire la qualité de la vision de loin en jouant sur le taux d’aberration sphérique oculaire.

L’aberration sphérique est en effet une aberration qui se caractérise par le fait que les rayons réfractés par la zone centrale de la pupille convergent plus vite (aberration sphérique de signe négatif) ou moins vite (aberration sphérique de signe positif) que les rayons réfractés traversant la zone périphérique de la pupille. On peut ainsi dédier la réfraction du centre pupillaire à la vision de près, et la réfraction de la périphérie pupillaire à la vision de loin, et vice-versa. Pour augmenter le taux d’aberration sphérique négatif, on peut remodeler le profil cornée pour le rendre plus asphérique prolate (on « joue » avec le « facteur Q » d’asphéricité). Les fabricants de laser sont moins prolixe en matière de chiffres, et il est difficile de savoir quel taux d’aberration sphérique est visé avec les profils spécifiquement dédiés à la correction de la presbytie. Il faut dire que ce domaine est relativement complexe, car le taux d’aberration sphérique dépend aussi de la correction de loin éventuelle, du diamètre pupillaire, du taux d’aberration sphérique initial, etc, …et qu’une règle marketing consiste au contraire à simplifier certains messages explicatifs, pour qu’ils soient mieux compris et reçus. Ceci participe en réalité à une certaine confusion, qui règne autour des techniques de correction laser de la presbytie et leur mécanisme de correction – pourtant universellement fondé sur les modulations d’aberrations sphériques.

Une page un peu plus technique est consacrée aux principes et explications relatives au traitements laser asphériques « custom Q F-CAT ».

Les lentilles de contact multifocales sont réalisées selon un principe tout à fait similaire aux corrections laser. Certaines sont à addition centrale (vision de près au centre), d’autres à addition périphérique. En langage aberrométrique, les lentilles multifocales modulent le taux d’aberration sphérique de l’œil (tout en corrigeant un éventuel défaut de loin comme l’hypermétropie ou la myopie).

L’hypermétrope presbyte est généralement un bon candidat à la chirurgie par LASIK: la correction de la vision de loin tend à augmenter le taux d’aberration sphérique négative, et amène naturellement une certaine amélioration de la vision de près.

L’implant multifocal

La pose d’un implant multifocal nécessite de réaliser une chirurgie du cristallin, comparable à celle de la cataracte: on remplace le cristallin par un implant multifocal. Les indications de pose d’implant concernent surtout les patients atteints de cataracte débutante, ou ayant atteint la soixantaine. Les deux yeux sont généralement opérés. Plusieurs foyers utiles pour la vision, sont créés par les implants diffractifs (foyer pour la vision de loin et de près pour les implants bifocaux, foyer pour la vision intermédiaire en plus pour les implants trifocaux).

chirurgie de la presbytie par pose d'un implant multifocal en remplacement du cristallin

La presbytie est liée à l’incapacité pour l’œil presbyte de faire une mise au point en vision de près: le pouvoir accommodatif de l’œil est réduit, et l’image d’une source rapprochée se forme de manière ponctuelle en arrière de la rétine. La correction de la presbytie peut dans certaines indications être accomplie en remplaçant le cristallin par un implant « multifocal », dont la puissance n’est pas unique mais bi ou trifocale. En fonction des propriétés optiques mises en jeu, la multifocalité de l’implant peut être de nature « réfractive », ou « diffractive ». La majorité des implants multifocaux posés sont diffractifs.

L’implant intra cornéen (inlay)

L’augmentation de la profondeur de champ par réduction du diamètre de la pupille consiste en l’insertion d’un implant dans la cornée d’un oeil (généralement l’oeil non dominant). L’intervention ne dure que quelques minutes et est effectuée sous anesthésie locale. L’implant cornéen est appelé implant KAMRA. Cette technique peut être combinée au LASIK pour corriger la vision de loin. L’avantage de cette technique est sa réversibilité, (on ne retire pas le cristallin ni la cornée), et le fait qu’elle peut être associée à pratiquement tout type de correction laser pour un défaut de la vision de loin associé à la presbytie (myopie, hypermétropie, astigmatisme).

 

2 réponses à “Chirurgie de la presbytie”

  1. Michele dit :

    bonjour merci pour ces explications très claires sur la chirurgie de de le la presbytie.
    Je suis hypermétrope et presbyte depuis 5 ans, j’ai 55 ans et pas de cataracte. Mon ophtalmologue me parle d’implants et de chirurgie dieu cristallin. J’avoue que je préfèrerais le laser qu’en pensez vous?

  2. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Si vous êtes hypermétrope, presbyte, et ne présentez pas de cataracte, la chirurgie au laser est certainement une option intéressante pour corriger votre presbytie. La réduction de l’hypermétropie est synergique avec l’amélioration envisagée pour la vision de près. Le LASIK, en particulier, est une technique particulièrement adaptée à la correction conjointe de l’hyeprétropie et la presbytie. Cette intervention est moins « invasive » que la chirurgie du cristallin clair, elle peut s’effectuer sous anesthésie locale pure et ne requiert pas le recours à un anesthésiste.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *