+ +

Quantity and quality of vision: exploration

The quality and quantity of vision are explored by various "metric". These are measures objective or subjective, objective measures merely to predict the quality of the retinal image.

Visual acuity: General information

The beginner reader is invited to read the page dedicated to 'eye and optical‘. In addition, a specialized page is dedicated to: theVisual acuity is its relationship with the resolving power of eye)
Visual acuity is the ability of the eye to distinguish the details of a scene or a Visual pattern observed: these details are 'ends', and more Visual acuity is high.  Acuity Visual, often expressed in tenths, corresponds to the resolving power of the eye. Indeed, apart from the details back to separate them, see them as elements of a scene. There are several tests of Visual acuity (threshold, detection, etc.). The measure of Visual acuity is only one of the parameters used to explore the Visual performance.

This page is essentially devoted to generalities about Visual acuity, defined in terms of power of resolution of the eye, for a target at high contrast (there are other types of Visual acuity as the sharpness of detection, etc.). When we talk about "best corrected Visual acuity", it is assumed that the eye is perfectly corrected for any optical defect (myopia or one astigmatism cause a reduction in Visual acuity). Conversely, Visual acuity 'uncorrected' (or 'uncorrected') corresponds to the Visual acuity of an eye without optical correction. Do not confuse tenths and diopters. Visual acuity can be 'monocular' (one eye, the other being hidden), or "binocular" (both eyes at the same time).

Visual acuity is expressed in France by a number of "tenth" or fraction: ex: 3/10 say "3 tenths. There are several types of scale, the most common being called "Snellen scale." It is made up of letters (or optotypes) of different sizes, black on white background (contrast is high). More letters (optotypes) are small, and more constituent details of these letters are difficult to 'split' the eye who is watching. There are several types of unit for quantified Visual acuity (tenth, fractions,) MAR), which are explained in this page and its related links.

Example of Visual acuity scale (optotypes). The scale is in digital divide (left) in the unit log MAR (right)

Since the viewing distance Visual acuity is affected (if we approach the observed target, the magnification of the letters makes it easier to identify them because their apparent size grows), it is not wise to define the sharpness as a minimum size of letter discerned. The "tenths" are rather related to the notion of apparent angle of the optotype with the eye: this angle helps to maintain a proportionality between the distance and the size of the optotype seen by the eye.

Visual acuity: retinal theoretical maximum resolution

What is the theoretical maximum (to separation) Visual acuity of the human eye? It depends on biological and physical factors.

As the definition of an image depends on a number of pixels per unit area (and therefore the size of the pixels), the maximum definition (finesse) of the retinal image depends on the number of photosensitive elements per unit area (density of retinal photoreceptors). At the center of the fovea (foveola), the density of photoreceptors is maximum. All are cones, joined and hexagonal periphery, whose size (diameter) is around 2 to 2.5 microns, and distance inter slightly lower center, the hexagonal nature of the paving.

Reported to a medium focal length of the human eye (17 mm), this size of photoreceptors allows to sample two points underlying an angle of 30 arcseconds (half a minute of arc, or 1 degree of the rapporteur /(180x60x2= 0.00046))... provided that the eye is "optically perfect' (fixed any optical deficiencies, then limited by diffraction only). In these conditions, each point forms a separate image on two adjacent but separate of a photoreceptor photoreceptors "not simulated.

Some physical factors also imply a reduction of the theoretical maximum visual acuity. If the eye is theoretically perfect, the image of a point on the retina cannot, however, be punctual, and the shape of a focal task is called task of Airy (the spreading of light is caused by diffraction to the edges of the pupil). The diameter of this task is equal to 2.44 x(longueur d'onde de la lumière)/diameter of the pupil.

More the pupil is wide, the larger the diameter of the task of Airy is narrow. For a pupil of 6 mm diameter, the diameter of the task of Airy is less than 2 microns. To separate two points on the retina, that:

      (1) the focal tasks of Airy are not superimposed

      (2) the images of these Airy tasks themselves each on one or several cones separated from one or several cones not stimulated

What are the terms limits of these two prerequisites?

Rayleigh criteria

(1) Rayleigh criterion States that two Airy jobs may be regarded as distinct if they are separated by a distance at least equal to their RADIUS (or 1.22 x(longueur d'onde)/diameter of the pupil - RADIUS angle expressed in radians; obtaining a value in micron (distance) requires the use of the focal length of the eye, or 17 mm on average). In the circumstances of the Rayleigh criterion, Airy duties encroach on the other, but it is possible to distinguish two "peaks" of light intensity.

Retinal sampling

As the definition of an image depends on a number of pixels per unit area (and therefore the size of the pixels), the definition of the retinal image depends on the number of photosensitive elements (photoreceptors) retinal. At the center of the fovea (foveola), the density of photoreceptors is maximum. All are cones, whose size is around a little less than 2 microns (for children) to 2.5 microns on average.

The sampling frequency of the mosaic of the retinal cones is related to the density of these cones, which is close to 120 cones by degree angle in the foveola (area located at the center of the fovea, where the cones are fine). The Nyquist theorem predicted that the signal to be sampled must have a frequency at most equal to half of the frequency of the cones, or 60 cycles per degree.

The theoretical retinal resolution is close to 30 seconds of arc (1/120th of degree). It is related both to the limits imposed by the diffraction (diameter of the Airy task) and the density of retinal photoreceptors. This density is maximum at the level of the fovea, and the best-performing eye, we can estimate that the minimum distance between the centers of simulated and separated by a (hexagonal paving) no simulated cone cones is a minimum of 2.5 microns. Two separate points will have centres separated by a distance of about 2.5 microns: angle under tense circumstances is close to 0.5 minutes of arc, and the corresponding Visual acuity 20/10.

In practice, the human eye is sometimes densities of smaller cones, as well as various "imperfections" (ex: optical aberrations of high degree), resulting in a power separation of the eye (which determines the maximum visual acuity) of adults often less than 30 seconds of arc, even when we correct the eye with the 'best glasses '.

The reduction of the pupillary diameter increases diffraction and therefore the radius of the Airy task, but reduces the effect of optical aberrations of high degree;  theoretical considerations set out earlier are so modulated by various factors. Thus, it was decided to set the resolving power of the eye to one minute of arc to define "normal" Visual acuity Please understand this line like the one below which we can consider that Visual acuity is lower than normal.

Optotypes and Visual acuity

By convention, we choose a distance of 20 feet (6 meters) to serve as a reference distance to measure Visual acuity.

In a corner of a minute of arc, we can register one of the horizontal of a letter 'E', as long as it is for example located 6 meters (20 feet) of the eye, and measures 8 mm. The letter E is made up of 5 horizontal bars (3 black and two white). The letter is part of a total angle of 5 minutes of arc. Each of these bars can be understood as part of a 'cycle', and for an acuteness of 10/10, we could register 30 cycles in an angle of 1 degree under tense by the eye (10/10 is equivalent to solving a spatial frequency of 30 cycles per degree). The size of the optotypes is therefore calculated according to the distance where they are projected (6 meters) and the angle under which their details must be seen.

Visual acuity, MAR, tenths and Snellen acuity

 More letters (optotypes) the scale of measure of acuity are small, and more constituent details of these letters are difficult to 'split' the eye who is watching. As the viewing distance affects Visual acuity (if we approach the observed target, the apparent magnification letter makes it easy to identify them because their apparent size grows), it is not wise to define the sharpness as a minimum size of letter discerned. The "tenths" are related to the apparent angle of the optotype with the eye: this angle helps to maintain a proportionality between the distance and the size of the optotype seen by the eye.

The minimum angle of resolution acceptable to a human eye is 1 minute of arc. The minimum angle of resolution is named after the acronym MAR (Minimum Angle of Resolution). Decimal Visual acuity is equal to the inverse of the Mar. A Visual acuity of 10/10 (minimum angle of resolution of 1 minute of arc, either 1/60th of a degree) "solves" a spatial frequency 30 cycles per degree. Indeed, in these conditions each constituent part of the cycle (which includes two: a clear and dark) is part of an angle of 1 /(2×30) = 1/60th of a degree.

In the Anglo-Saxon countries, Visual acuity is expressed as a fraction whose numerator is fixed and equal to 20. How is calculated the denominator (200 for an acuity of 20/200)? A Visual acuity consistent with a minimum angle of resolution of 1 minute of arc allows a letter which details fit into this angle and at 6 m to be identified. If Visual acuity is decreased (by a myopia, for example), the angle of resolution minimum (MAR) increases. It will take to grow the letter so that it is recognized. To express the corresponding Visual acuity, it assimilates the denominator to the distance that this enlarged letter should be remote to be placed at an angle of 5 minutes of arc. For example, an acuity of 20/200 is to solve 20 feet (6 meters) an 'E' whose size is such (26 mm) to move it back to 200 piers (60 meters) to register it in a corner of 5 minutes of arc

 

Rating Snellen fraction of Visual acuity

An acuity of 20/40 is better than an acuity of 20/200, allowing it to 'see' an E 17 mm at a distance of 6 meters (20 feet), and there is no need to back this letter to 12 meters (40 feet) to register it in a corner of 5 minutes of arc.

These fractions can be expressed with an another numerator (6 meters), or converted to our famous "tenths". 20/20 is so 10/10 (1 in decimal notation), 20/200 is equal to 1/10 (0.1 in decimal notation).

This is the meaning of these tenths of Visual acuity, which are the decimal expression of a fraction. The fraction is a ratio of distances, and this fraction is the reciprocal of a minimum angle of resolution.

It should also never forget that Visual acuity depends on the minimum angle of resolution)MAR). This minimum resolution angle (Minimum Angle of Resolution) determines the Visual acuity. Performing calculations of average or standard deviation range on measures of Visual acuity justifies the use of another unit for these statistical calculations: the log MAR.

 

2 Responses to "Quantity and quality of vision: exploration"

  1. […] Visual by far will be reduced. The tenths allow to quantify the distance vision Visual acuity (ex: 10/10, 8/10, [...])

  2. […] days to regularize themselves. This explains the vision fluctuations during the first days. Visual acuity uncorrected operated patients is generally between 8/10 and 10/10 on the fifth day [...]

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Quantité et qualité de vision : exploration

La qualité et la quantité de vision sont explorées par diverses « métriques ». Celles-ci correspondent à des mesures objectives ou subjectives, les mesures objectives se bornant à prédire la qualité de l’image rétinienne.

Acuité visuelle: généralités

Le lecteur débutant est invité à lire la page consacrée à ‘oeil et optique‘. Par ailleurs, une page plus spécialisée est consacrée à : l’acuité visuelle est ses rapports avec le pouvoir de résolution oculaire )
L’acuité visuelle exprime la capacité de l’œil à distinguer des détails d’une scène ou un motif visuel observé: plus ces détails sont « fins », et plus l’acuité visuelle est élevée.  L’acuité visuelle, souvent exprimée en dixièmes,  correspond au pouvoir séparateur de l’œil. En effet, distinguer des détails revient à les séparer, les voir comme des éléments distincts d’une scène. Il existe plusieurs tests d’acuité visuelle (de seuil, de détection, etc.). La mesure de l’acuité visuelle n’est qu’un des paramètres utilisés pour explorer la performance visuelle.

Cette page est essentiellement consacrée à des généralités concernant l’acuité visuelle définie en terme de pouvoir de résolution de l’œil, pour une cible à fort contraste (il existe d’autres types d’acuité visuelle comme l’acuité de détection, etc.). Quand on parle de « meilleure acuité visuelle corrigée », on suppose que l’œil est parfaitement corrigé pour un éventuel défaut optique (une myopie ou un astigmatisme provoquent une réduction de l’acuité visuelle). A l’inverse, l’acuité visuelle « non corrigée » (ou « sans correction ») correspond à l’acuité visuelle d’un œil sans correction optique. Il ne faut pas confondre dixièmes et dioptries. L’acuité visuelle peut être « monoculaire » (un seul œil, l’autre étant caché), ou « binoculaire » (deux yeux à la fois).

L’acuité visuelle s’exprime en France par un nombre de « dixièmes » ou une fraction : ex : 3/10 se dit « 3 dixièmes ». Il existe plusieurs types d’échelle, la plus courante étant appelée «échelle de Snellen». Elle est constituée de lettres (ou optotypes) de différentes tailles, de couleur noire sur fond blanc (le contraste est élevé). Plus les lettres (optotypes) sont petites, et plus les détails constitutifs de ces lettres sont difficiles à « séparer » par l’œil qui les observe. Il existe plusieurs types d’unité pour quantifié l’acuité visuelle (dixièmes, fractions, MAR, etc.), qui sont explicitées dans cette page et ses liens afférents.

Exemple d’échelle d’acuité visuelle (optotypes). L’échelle est en fraction numérique (à gauche) en unité log MAR (à droite)

Comme la distance d’observation influe sur l’acuité visuelle (si l’on s’approche de la cible observée, le grossissement des lettres rend plus facile leur identification car leur taille apparente grandit), il n’est pas judicieux de définir l’acuité comme une taille minimum de lettre discernée. Les « dixièmes » sont plutôt reliés à la notion d’angle apparent de l’optotype avec l’œil : cet angle permet de maintenir une proportionnalité entre la distance et la taille de l’optotype vu par l’œil.

Acuité visuelle : résolution maximale rétinienne théorique

Quelle est l’acuité visuelle théorique maximale (de séparation) de l’œil humain? Celle-ci dépend de facteurs biologiques et physiques.

Comme la définition d’une image dépend d’un nombre de pixels par unité de surface (et donc de la taille des pixels), la définition maximale (la finesse) de l’image rétinienne dépend du nombre d’éléments photosensibles par unité de surface  (densité de photorécepteurs rétiniens). Au centre de la fovéa (fovéola), la densité des photorécepteurs est maximale. Tous sont des cônes, jointifs et de pourtour hexagonal, dont la taille (diamètre) avoisine 2 à 2.5 microns, et la distance inter centre légèrement moindre, en raison de la nature hexagonale du pavage.

Rapportée à une longueur focale moyenne de l’œil humain (17 mm), cette taille de photorécepteurs permet d’échantillonner deux points qui sous-tendent un angle de 30 secondes d’arc (une demi minute d’arc, soit 1/(180x60x2= 0.00046) degré du rapporteur)… à condition que l’œil soit « optiquement parfait » (corrigé de tout défaut optique éventuel, limité alors par la seule diffraction). Dans ces conditions, chaque point forme une image distincte sur deux photorécepteurs non adjacents mais séparés d’un photorécepteur « non simulé ».

Certains facteurs physiques impliquent également une réduction de l’acuité visuelle maximale théorique. Si l’œil est théoriquement parfait, l’image d’un point sur la rétine ne peut toutefois être ponctuelle, et épouse la forme d’une tache focale appelée tache d’Airy (l’étalement de la lumière est provoqué par la diffraction au niveau des bords de la pupille). Le diamètre de cette tache est égal à 2.44x(longueur d’onde de la lumière)/Diamètre de la pupille.

Plus la pupille est large, plus le diamètre de la tache d’Airy est étroit. Pour un diamètre de pupille de 6 mm, le diamètre de la tache d’Airy est inférieur à 2 microns. Pour séparer deux points  sur la rétine, il faut que :

      1) Les taches focales d’Airy ne soient pas superposées

      2) Les images de ces taches d’Airy se projettent chacune sur un ou plusieurs cônes séparés d’un ou plusieurs cônes non stimulés

Quelles sont les conditions limites de ces deux pré-requis?

Critères de Rayleigh

1) Le critère de Rayleigh stipule que deux tâches d’Airy peuvent être considérées comme distinctes si elles sont séparées d’une distance au moins égale à leur rayon (soit 1.22x(longueur d’onde)/Diamètre de la pupille  – rayon angulaire exprimé en radian; l’obtention d’une valeur en micron (distance) nécessite l’utilisation de la distance focale de l’œil, soit 17 mm en moyenne). Dans les conditions propres au critère de Rayleigh, les taches d’Airy empiètent l’une sur l’autre, mais il est possible de distinguer deux « pics » d’intensité lumineuse.

Échantillonnage rétinien

Comme la définition d’une image dépend d’un nombre de pixels par unité de surface (et donc de la taille des pixels), la définition de l’image rétinienne dépend du nombre d’éléments photosensibles (photorécepteurs) rétinien. Au centre de la fovéa (fovéola), la densité des photorécepteurs est maximale. Tous sont des cônes, dont la taille avoisine un peu moins de 2 microns (pour les plus petits) à 2.5 microns en moyenne.

La fréquence d’échantillonnage de la mosaïque des cônes rétiniens est liée à la densité de ces cônes, qui est proche de 120 cônes par degré angle dans la fovéola (zone située au centre de la fovéa, où les cônes sont les plus fins). Le théorème de Nyquist prédit que le signal à échantillonner devra avoir une fréquence au plus égale à la moitié de la fréquence des cônes, soit 60 cycles par degré.

La résolution rétinienne théorique est proche de 30 secondes d’arc (soit 1/120e de degré). Elle est liée à la fois aux limites imposées par la diffraction (diamètre de la tache d’Airy) et la densité de photorécepteurs rétiniens. Cette densité est maximale au niveau de la fovéa, et pour les yeux les plus performants, on peut estimer que la distance minimale entre les centres de cônes simulés et séparés par un cône non simulé (pavage hexagonal) est au minimum de 2.5 microns. Deux points distincts auront des centres séparés d’une distance d’environ 2.5 microns : l’angle sous tendu dans ces conditions est proche de 0.5 minutes d’arc, et l’acuité visuelle correspondante égale à 20/10.

En pratique, l’œil humain présente parfois des densités de cônes plus faibles, ainsi que diverses « imperfections » (ex : aberrations optiques de haut degré), ce qui résulte en un pouvoir de séparation de l’œil (qui conditionne l’acuité visuelle maximale) des adultes souvent inférieur à 30 secondes d’arc, même quand on corrige l’œil avec les « meilleures lunettes ».

La réduction du diamètre pupillaire augmente la diffraction et donc le rayon de la tache d’Airy, mais réduit l’effet des aberrations optiques de haut degré;  les considérations théoriques énoncées précédemment sont ainsi modulées par divers facteurs. Ainsi, il a été choisi de fixer le pouvoir séparateur de l’œil à une minute d’arc pour définir l’acuité visuelle « normale ». Il faut comprendre ce seuil comme celui en deçà duquel on peut considérer que l’acuité visuelle est inférieure à la normale.

Optotypes et acuité visuelle

Par convention, on choisit une distance de 20 pieds (soit 6 mètres) pour servir de distance de référence afin de mesurer l’acuité visuelle.

Dans un angle d’une minute d’arc, on peut inscrire l’une des barres horizontales d’une lettre « E », à condition que celle-ci soit par exemple située à 6 mètres (20 pieds) de l’œil,et mesure 8 mm. La lettre E est constituée de 5 barres horizontales (3 noires, et deux blanches). La lettre s’inscrit donc dans un angle total de 5 mn d’arc. Chacune de ces barres peut être comprise comme l’élément d’un « cycle », et pour une acuité de 10/10, on pourrait inscrire 30 cycles dans un angle de 1 degré sous tendu par l’oeil (10/10 équivaut à résoudre une fréquence spatiale de 30 cycles par degré). La taille des optotypes est donc calculée en fonction de la distance où ils sont projetés (6 mètres) et l’angle sous lequel leurs détails doit être perçu.

Acuité visuelle, MAR, dixièmes et acuité Snellen

 Plus les lettres (optotypes) de l’échelle de mesure d’acuité sont petites, et plus les détails constitutifs de ces lettres sont difficiles à « séparer » par l’œil qui les observe. Comme la distance d’observation influe sur l’acuité visuelle (si l’on s’approche de la cible observée, le grandissement apparent des lettre rend plus facile leur identification car leur taille apparente grandit), il n’est pas judicieux de définir l’acuité comme une taille minimum de lettre discernée. Les « dixièmes » sont reliés à l’angle apparent de l’optotype avec l’œil : cet angle permet de maintenir une proportionnalité entre la distance et la taille de l’optotype vu par l’œil.

L’angle minimum de résolution acceptable pour un œil humain est de 1 minutes d’arc. Cet angle minimum de résolution est dénommé selon l’acronyme MAR (Minimum Angle of Resolution). L’acuité visuelle décimale est égale à l’inverse du MAR. Une acuité visuelle de 10/10 (angle minimum de résolution de 1 minute d’arc, soit 1/60e de degré) permet de « résoudre » une fréquence spatiale de 30 cycles par degré. En effet, dans ces conditions chaque élément constitutif du cycle (qui en comprend deux : un clair et un sombre) s’inscrit dans un angle de 1/(2×30)=1/60e de degré.

Dans les pays Anglo-saxons, l’acuité visuelle est exprimée comme un fraction dont le numérateur est fixe et égal à 20. Comment est calculé le dénominateur (200 pour une acuité de 20/200) ? Une acuité visuelle conforme à un angle de résolution minimal de 1 mn d’arc permet à une lettre dont les détails s’inscrivent dans cet angle et située à 6 m d’être identifiée. Si l’acuité visuelle est diminuée (par une myopie par exemple), l’angle de résolution minimal (MAR) augmente. Il faudra grossir la lettre pour qu’elle soit reconnue. Pour exprimer l’acuité visuelle correspondante, on assimile le dénominateur à la distance à laquelle cette lettre agrandie devrait être reculée jusqu’à être inscrite dans un angle de 5 mn d’arc. Par exemple, une acuité de 20/200 correspond à résoudre à 20 pieds (6 mètres) un « E » dont la taille est telle (26 mm) qu’il faut la reculer à 200 piers (60 mètres) pour l’inscrire dans un angle de 5 mn d’arc

 

Notation Snellen en fraction de l’acuité visuelle

Une acuité de 20/40 est meilleure qu’une acuité de 20/200, car elle permet de « voir » un E de 17 mm à une distance de 6 mètres (20 pieds), et il n’est besoin de reculer cette lettre qu’à 12 mètres (40 pieds) pour l’inscrire dans un angle de 5 mn d’arc.

Ces fractions peuvent être exprimées avec un autre numérateur (6 en mètres), ou converties en nos fameux « dixièmes ». 20/20 est ainsi égal à 10/10 (1 en notation décimale), 20/200 est égal à 1/10 (0.1 en notation décimale).

Telle est la signification de ces dixièmes d’acuité visuelle, qui sont l’expression décimale d’une fraction. La fraction est un rapport de distances, et cette fraction est la réciproque d’un angle minimal de résolution.

Il ne faut d’ailleurs jamais perdre de vue que l’acuité visuelle dépend de l’angle minimal de résolution (MAR). Cet angle de résolution minimale (Minimum Angle of Resolution) conditionne l’acuité visuelle. La réalisation de calculs de moyenne ou d’écart type portant sur des mesures d’acuité visuelle justifie l’utilisation d’une autre unité pour ces calculs statistiques: le log MAR.

 

2 réponses à “Quantité et qualité de vision : exploration”

  1. […] visuelle de loin va être réduite. Les dixièmes permettent justement de quantifier l’acuité visuelle en vision de loin  (ex : 10/10, 8/10, […]

  2. […] jours pour se régulariser. Ceci explique les fluctuations de la vision lors des premiers jours. L‘acuité visuelle non corrigée des patients opérés oscille généralement entre 8/10 et 10/10 au cinquième jour […]

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *