+ +

Asphericity of implants

Intra ocular implants have experienced many changes over the past decades. Aspherical optics for the improvement of the quality of the retinal image is one of the recent developments in the Decade. It benefits the monofocal and Multifocal lenses.

I participated in the design of optics to a monofocal lens implant (artificial)Micro AY, B.j.) :

implant aspherical b.j.The objective of this work was to establish the optimal Asphericity misleading view of the implant to reduce spherical aberration of the eye using a ray tracing program enabled to achieve a realistic virtual eye and test different geometries of implant.

 Asphericity and spherical aberration of the human eye

The spherical aberration is an aberration that reduced the stigma through a refraction excessive (positive spherical aberration) or insufficient (negative spherical aberration) rays located at distance from the optical axis. It is related to a non optimal curvature of the edges of a lens. The human cornea is slightly aspherical, but flattening to the edges of the front of the cornea (prolate geometry) is generally insufficient to do not induce a residual rate of positive spherical aberration. The average coefficient of asphericity of the cornea is - 0.2, and the induced positive spherical aberration is close to 0.2 microns RMS for a 6 mm pupil. The natural lens has an aspheric geometry, and a variable refractive index (decreasing from Center to edges), which helps reduce the spherical aberration of the eye by neutralizing some of the positive spherical aberration of the cornea (the lens generates a spherical aberration negative close in absolute value of half of the spherical aberration positive of the cornea).

 

Spherical implant

The first generations of implants were biconvex spherical geometry, for reasons of machining, and no optical quality. Their first goal was to compensate for the reduction of the ocular vergence caused by the removal of the lens (which the vergence is close to 20 diopters). Their spherical geometry assured them an optical power adjustable, depending on the curvature of the front and rear optics, as well as a certain tolerance to shift and tilt, which were sometimes put at the first cataract surgeries, including manual (prior to phaco emulsification) extra capsular extraction technique and.

However, these implants produce positive spherical aberration, which degrades the quality of the retinal image for large pupillary diameter (greater than 4 mm). Advances of micro machining have allowed to consider the realization of aspherical optics profiles, with the issue of reducing residual positive spherical aberration of the eye after implantation, but that a possibly deleterious effect is the induction of coma in case shift.

 

Aspherical optics and calculation of the asphericity of the implant

Specificity of the human eye

Improving the quality of the retinal image is the vision Central Foveal (1 Central). It is so no need, unlike systems imagers as cameras, to optimize the optical quality of the image on a broad field. The eye is devoid of optical axis (horny and Crystal have axes of symmetry non-aligned) and the Visual axis is generally shifted from 3 ° to 7 ° towards a "centerline". The eye has a spectral sensitivity peak located in the yellow-green (555 nm).

Purpose of the aspherisation of the implant

The reduction of the spherical aberration of the eye is to focus the rays refracted by the outskirts of the dilated pupil. In the case of obtaining a 'perfect' geometric stigma, it is likely that the optical quality of the eye would be improved, but its depth of field is reduced. It is therefore interesting to evaluate the effect of the reduction of spherical aberration on the retinal contrast around the area of "best home" (trough focus MTF) for each simulation.

Variable and metric used for optimization

In addition to the calculation of the optical aberrations of high and low degree (spherical aberration, coma, etc.), the use of ray tracing allows to use several "visually speaking" clues optical quality: diagram intersection of the rays in the sagittal and southern plan (ray intercept), calculation of the MTF (Modulation Transfer Function), diagram of the spots in the level of the retinal image, etc. These indices are more relevant than the aberrations statement, because it is difficult to infer the quality of the image from a statement of terms of aberrations that can be partially offset.

Theoretical model œil

Initially, we built an eye (without lens) aphake including corneal surfaces are modeled by Conic sections, which can be varied (medium corneal keratometry) apical curvature and the Asphericity (modulation of the rate of spherical aberration). For a cornea and a given axial length, it is possible to calculate a "emmetropisante" in the sense of paraxial implant power. The spherical geometry of the implant concerned here is generally equiconvexe. the radii of curvature, front and rear are almost identical. More rays are large, more powerful implant decreases and vice versa. We know also the Central thickness corresponding to each power, and of course, the refractive index of the material used for optics of the implant (close to 1.5).

For reasons of efficiency (related to geometry) and simplicity, it is best to aspheriser the back side of the implant rather the front if we want to reduce the positive spherical aberration. This induces a slight asymmetry in the profile of Optics (which is equiconvexe).

Thanks to the calculation of ray tracing, determined an optimal Asphericity unsurprisingly negative (near-9.5 Q) for a 22 D implant. The virtual eye consisted of a 'standard' cornea, which the apical curvature (Central keratometry) had an average radius of 7.8 mm and a coefficient of asphericity of-0.25.

Improving the quality of the retinal image after aspherisation of the optics of the implant is evident in the simulations (see below). The calculation of the optimal Asphericity must be repeated for each power implant (from 10 to 30 diopters), and can also be done to eyes which vary the axial length and corneal power. This allows to consider the achievement of optics the Asphericity is "custom" (because the - light - following trends: 1) corneal power, the higher the rate of positive spherical aberration induced by corneal:2) more the Dioptric power of the implant is high, and more the aspherisation of the back side must be high). The benefit of the aspherisation is constant, regardless of the couple "keratometry and axial length. The calculation of the optimal Asphericity led to a new range of aspheric implants; These features have also been taken for the realization of the first implant trifocal aspheric Optics: Finevision (Dec).

The following images allow to compare the gain for the quality of the retinal image to the average eye implanted by a spherical implant 22D: left, the simulations are spherical implant reference, right one replaced this implant with an aspherical implant of the same power (22D).

Ray intercept diagram comparing implant spherical and aspherical

The intercept of light rays (ray tracing) diagram to compare the effect of the aspherisation of the posterior face of the implant on the spherical aberration, both on the centerline, and slightly eccentric directions (5 ° and 7 °).

Sport diagram comparison aspherical and spherical implant

The spot diagram to view the distribution of rays focused in the image plane. These diagrams simulating the intersection of rays focused in the plan of the retina; they are more dispersed, and more the stigma is degraded. The dispersion around a central concentration is related to positive spherical aberration (the impact of peripheral rays are rays that have already crossed the optical axis and are defocused by divergence). Aspherical optics reduced dispersion, but causes an evocative diagram aberration type coma for homes located "off-axis".

MTF curves are eloquent and quantify the gain of the contrast of the retinal image, on and off-axis (the coma aberration effect explains the dispersion of the right curves, but the gain remains significant even for an eccentricity of 7 °).

MTF curves are eloquent and quantify the gain of the contrast of the retinal image, on and off-axis (the coma aberration effect explains the dispersion of the right curves, but the gain remains significant even for an eccentricity of 7 °).

through focus MTF between implant spherical and aspheric curve

Contrary to intuition, improving the optical quality at home also means a better depth of field due to the gain in contrast. The bell curve is slightly asymmetric, due to a slightly positive rate residual positive spherical aberration

 

 

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Asphéricité des implants

Les implants intra oculaires ont connu de nombreuses évolutions au cours des dernières décennies. La réalisation d’optiques asphériques pour l’amélioration de la qualité de l’image rétinienne est l’une des évolutions récentes survenues au cours de la décennie. Elle bénéficie aux optiques monofocales et multifocales.

J’ai participé au design de l’optique d’un implant monofocal de cristallin artificiel (Micro AY, Physiol) :

implant asphérique physiolL’objectif de ce travail était d’établir l’asphéricité optimale à induire sur l’optique de l’implant pour réduire l’aberration sphérique de l’œil L’utilisation d’un programme de ray tracing a permis de réaliser un œil virtuel réaliste et tester différentes géométries d’implant.

 Asphéricité et aberration sphérique de l’oeil humain

L’aberration sphérique est une aberration qui réduit le stigmatisme par le biais d’une réfraction excessive (aberration sphérique positive) ou insuffisante (aberration sphérique négative) des rayons situés à distance de l’axe optique. Elle est liée à une courbure non optimale des bords d’une optique. La cornée humaine est légèrement asphérique, mais l’aplatissement vers les bords de la face avant de la cornée (géométrie prolate) est en général insuffisant pour ne pas induire un taux résiduel d’aberration sphérique positive. Le coefficient d’asphericité moyen de la cornée est -0.2, et l’aberration sphérique positive induite est proche de 0.2 microns RMS pour une pupille de 6 mm. Le cristallin naturel possède une géométrie asphérique, et un indice de réfraction variable (dégressif du centre vers ses bords), ce qui concourt à réduire l’aberration sphérique de l’œil en neutralisant une partie de l’aberration sphérique positive de la cornée (le cristallin génère une aberration sphérique négative proche en valeur absolue de la moitié de l’aberration sphérique positive de la cornée).

 

Implants sphériques

Les premières générations d’implants étaient de géométrie sphérique biconvexe, pour des raisons d’usinage, et non de qualité optique. Leur but premier était de suppléer à la réduction de la vergence oculaire causée par le retrait du cristallin (dont la vergence est proche de 20 Dioptries). Leur géométrie sphérique leur assurait une puissance optique ajustable, en fonction de la courbure de la face avant et et de la face arrière de l’optique, ainsi qu’une certaine tolérance vis à vis du décentrement et tilt, qui étaient parfois de mise lors des premières chirurgies de la cataracte, notamment avec la technique de l’extraction extra capsulaire manuelle (avant la phaco émulsification).

Toutefois, ces implants induisaient de l’aberration sphérique positive, qui dégrade la qualité de l’image rétinienne pour les larges diamètres pupillaires (supérieur à 4 mm). Les progrès du micro usinage ont permis d’envisager la réalisation de profils d’optiques asphériques, dont l’enjeu est de réduire l’aberration sphérique positive résiduelle de l’oeil après implantation, mais dont un effet possiblement délétère est l’induction de coma en cas de décentrement.

 

Optiques asphériques et calcul de l’asphéricité de l’implant

Spécificité de l’œil humain

L’amélioration de la qualité de l’image rétinienne concerne la vision centrale fovéale (les 1° centraux). Il n’est donc pas besoin, contrairement aux systèmes imageurs comme les appareils photo, d’optimiser la qualité optique de l’image sur un large champ. L’œil est dépourvu d’axe optique (cornée et cristallin présentent des axes de symétrie non aligné) et l’axe visuel est en général décalé de 3° à 7° vis-à-vis d’un axe « médian ». L’œil présente un pic de sensibilité spectrale situé dans le jaune- vert (555 nm).

Objectif de l’asphérisation de l’implant

La réduction de l’aberration sphérique de l’œil consiste à mieux focaliser les rayons réfractés par la périphérie de la pupille dilatée. Dans l’hypothèse de l’obtention d’un stigmatisme géométrique « parfait », il est probable que la qualité optique de l’œil serait améliorée, mais sa profondeur de champ réduite. Il est donc intéressant d’évaluer pour chaque simulation l’effet de la réduction de l’aberration sphérique sur le contraste rétinien autour de la zone de « meilleur foyer » (trough focus MTF).

Variables et métriques utilisées pour l’optimisation

En plus du calcul des aberrations optiques de bas et haut degré (aberration sphérique, coma, etc.), l’utilisation du ray tracing permet d’utiliser plusieurs indices « visuellement parlants » de qualité optique : diagramme d’intersection des rayons dans le plan sagittal et méridional (ray intercept), calcul de la MTF (Modulation Transfer Function), diagramme des spots dans le plan de l’image rétinienne, etc. Ces indices sont plus pertinents que le relevé des aberrations, car il est difficile de déduire la qualité de l’image à partir d’un relevé de termes d’aberrations qui peuvent se compenser partiellement.

Œil modèle théorique

Dans un premier temps, on construit un œil aphake (dépourvu de cristallin) dont les surfaces cornéennes sont modélisées par des sections coniques, dont on peut faire varier la courbure apicale (kératométrie moyenne de la cornée) et l’asphéricité (modulation du taux d’aberration sphérique). Pour une cornée et une longueur axiale donnée, il est possible de calculer une puissance d’implant « emmétropisante » au sens paraxial. La géométrie sphérique de l’implant concerné ici est globalement équiconvexe ; les rayons de courbure avant et arrière sont quasi identiques. Plus les rayons sont grands, plus la puissance de l’implant diminue et inversement. On connait également l’épaisseur centrale correspondant à chaque puissance, et bien entendu, l’indice de réfraction du matériau utilisé pour l’optique de l’implant (proche de 1.5).

Pour des raisons d’efficacité (liées à la géométrie) et de simplicité, il est préférable d’asphériser la face arrière de l’implant plutôt que la face avant si l’on veut réduire l’aberration sphérique positive. Ceci induit une légère asymétrie dans le profil de l’optique (qui n’est plus équiconvexe).

Grâce au calcul de ray tracing, on détermine une asphéricité optimale sans surprise négative (Q proche de -9.5) pour un implant de 22 D. L’oeil virtuel comportait une cornée « standard », dont la courbure apicale (kératométrie centrale) avait un rayon moyen de 7.8 mm et un coefficient d’asphéricité de -0.25.

L’amélioration de la qualité de l’image rétinienne après asphérisation de l’optique de l’implant est évidente dans les simulations (voir plus loin). Le calcul de l’asphéricité optimale doit être répété pour chaque puissance d’implant (de 10 à 30 dioptries), et peut également être accompli pour des yeux dont ont fait varier la puissance cornéenne et la longueur axiale. Ceci permet d’envisager la réalisation d’optiques dont l’asphéricité est « personnalisée » (car on observe les – légères – tendances suivantes : 1) plus la puissance cornéenne est élevée, plus le taux d’aberration sphérique positive induit par la cornée  augmente :2) plus la  puissance dioptrique de l’implant est élevée, et plus l’asphérisation de la face arrière doit être élevée). Le bénéfice de l’asphérisation est constant, quels que soient le couple « kératométrie et longueur axiale ». Le calcul de l’asphéricité optimale a permis de réaliser une  nouvelle gamme d’implants asphériques; ces caractéristiques ont également été reprises pour la réalisation de l’optique du premier implant trifocal asphérique:  Finevision (Physiol).

Les images suivantes permettent de comparer le gain obtenu pour la qualité de l’image rétinienne pour un œil moyen implanté par un implant sphérique de 22D : à gauche, les simulations concernent l’implant sphérique de référence, à droite on a remplacé cet implant par un implant asphérique de même puissance (22D).

ray intercept diagramme comparant implant sphérique et asphérique

Le diagramme d’intercept de rayons lumineux (ray tracing) permet de comparer l’effet de l’asphérisation de la face postérieure de l’implant sur l’aberration sphérique, à la fois sur l’axe médian, et pour des directions légèrement excentriques (5° et 7°).

sport diagram compaison implant asphérique et sphérique

Le diagramme en spot permet de visualiser la répartition des rayons focalisés dans le plan de l’image. Ces diagrammes simulent l’intersection des rayons focalisés dans le plan de la rétine; plus ils sont dispersés, et plus le stigmatisme est dégradé. La dispersion autour d’une concentration centrale est liée à l’aberration sphérique positive (les impacts des rayons périphériques correspondent à des rayons qui ont déjà croisé l’axe optique et sont défocalisés en divergence). L’optique asphérique réduit la dispersion, mais provoque un diagramme évocateur d’aberration de type coma pour les foyers situés « hors axe ».

Les courbes de MTF sont éloquentes et quantifient le gain du contraste de l’image rétinienne, sur et hors de l’axe (l’effet de l’aberration de coma explique la dispersion des courbes à droite, mais le gain reste significatif même pour une excentricité de 7°).

Les courbes de MTF sont éloquentes et quantifient le gain du contraste de l’image rétinienne, sur et hors de l’axe (l’effet de l’aberration de coma explique la dispersion des courbes à droite, mais le gain reste significatif même pour une excentricité de 7°).

courbe de through focus MTF entre implant sphérique et asphérique

Contrairement à l’intuition, l’amélioration de la qualité optique au foyer induit également une meilleure profondeur de champ, en raison du gain en contraste. La courbe en cloche est légèrement asymétrique, en raison d’un taux légèrement positif résiduel d’aberration sphérique positive

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *