+ +

Cataract and laser femtosecond VICTUS™ platform

VICTUS platform: description

VICTUS platform was originally developed by the company Technolas Perfect Vision (Munich, Germany), and is currently jointly proposed for cataract surgery by the firm of Bausch & Lomb. It is one of the 4 main platforms currently proposed for the realization of the assisted cataract surgery by the femtosecond laser. It also allows the realization of corneal surgeries (covers of) LASIKintra stromal incisions: Intracor), the possibility to make the incisions of cataract surgery entry should be available soon.

Video of surgery of cataract with laser femtosecond Victus (Dr. Damien Gatinel, Rothschild Foundation):

The platform includes:

-a laser cavity, which are generated pulses them femtoseconds,

-a system that guides the laser radiation and which end is the interface with the patient's eye

-a visualization system of the anterior segment of the eye, assured by an OCT (Optical Coherence Tomography) device that allows real-time anatomical 'cuts' interesting the cornea, the lens, and the space understood between the two (anterior Chamber). These images are displayed on two monitors. These images are currently captured dynamically, allowing you to see in real time the effect of the laser impacts in the anterior segment of the eye.

-a bed intended to receive the patient and position it under the licensing system

-a "consumable" said material, which includes a suction ring and an interface for single use. This interface is curved, in order to marry the corneal curvature, and minimize the deformations of it (the presence of folds of the cornea that can induce a loss of laser impacts, and responsible for optical distortion of less precision in the representation of the anterior segment in OCT).

Platform laser VICTUS

 

Characteristics of the anterior segment OCT visualization

The dimensions of the anterior segment of the eye are in a cylinder of close 12mm diameter (the diameter of the cornea), and thick variable, generally less than 8 mm (i.e. the distance between the top of the cornea and the posterior capsule of the lens). Cuts OCT diameter is 13 mm, and the depth of the cuts extension is 9 mm. The path to the location of cuts aimed at cutting the anterior capsule (capsulorhexis) as well as impacts to the fragmentation of the cristallinien kernel appear superimposed.

Representation in Cup sagitale of the anterior segment OCT VICTUS femtosecond laser system

 

Example of capsulorhexis femtosecond laser:

The capsulorhexis is an important time of cataract surgery: it corresponds to the opening of the capsular bag, and cristallinien fragmenting hardware access. The precision and reproducibility of the cutting automated laser of the anterior capsule to achieve a near-perfect circularity of its edge. The diameter of the capsulorhexis can be adjusted with precision (ex: 5.3 mm). The clinical benefit expected from this "geometric" capsulotomy for stability of the implant, that is to say the holds of its axial position in the anterior segment. The studies do not demonstrate the benefit of a cutting laser towards a hand cutting, when these two cuts are conducted in a satisfactory manner.

The following video shows the realization of circular cutting laser femtosecond (capsulorhexis):

Circular Capsulotomy laser femtosecond VICTUS

Patterns of fragmentation to the femtosecond laser

The femtosecond laser has the ability to fragment 'in situ' the lens. The spatial distribution of the laser impact is designed to split the lens into pieces (sous-fragments), realizing (route "dotted") joint impacts the way the stamp post, but in a volume, that is to say "three dimensional". The pre fragmentation allows to reduce the amount of ultrasound necessary for removal of the lens, as well as the machinations of cleavage of the lens ("cracking").

 

In addition to the previous video, some examples of "patterns" of fragmentation of the nucleus of the lens:

Pattern of laser femtosecond cross cutting


Cutting ring and radiaire femtosecond laser pattern


Pattern in neighborhoods and capsulotomy (laser VICTUS) femtosecond laser

In 2015, the interest of the femtosecond laser cataract surgery is being heated debates in the community of cataract surgeons. Apart from the financial aspects (use of the laser represents a cost of several hundred euros per procedure), some aspects of this surgery are discussed.

The realization of an automated circular cutting (capsulorhexis) is a definite advantage for the beginner surgeon, but does not represent a major advantage for a seasoned surgeon.

The pre-cut (fragmentation of the lens) can certainly facilitate phacoemulsification stage and reduce the rate of ultra sounds issued to complete the extraction of the crystalline fragments. But she exposed to some local effects such as reduction of the diameter of the IRIS pupil, which can then reduce complicate the achievement of surgery.

Assistive technology for cataract surgery femtosecond laser is undergoing rapid changes, and benefits from progress related to Imaging (OCT 'live'), and progress made in the area of delivery of the laser impacts. It is likely to take more and more in the area of cataract surgery. This place is definitely more important the day the clinical benefits of the use of the laser in cataract surgery femtosecond will be proven.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Cataracte et plateforme laser femtoseconde VICTUS™

Plateforme VICTUS : description

La plateforme VICTUS a été initialement développée par la société Technolas Perfect Vision (Munich, Allemagne), et est actuellement proposée conjointement pour la chirurgie de la cataracte par la firme Bausch & Lomb. Il s’agit d’une des 4 principales plateformes actuellement proposées pour la réalisation de la chirurgie de la cataracte assistée par le laser femtoseconde. Elle permet également la réalisation de chirurgies cornéennes (capots de LASIK, incisions intra stromales: Intracor), la possibilité de réaliser les incisions d’entrée en chirurgie de la cataracte devrait être disponible prochainement.

Vidéo d’une intervention de cataracte avec le laser femtoseconde Victus (Dr Damien Gatinel, Fondation Rothschild) :

La plateforme comprend :

-une cavité laser, où sont générés les pulses femtosecondes,

– un système de délivrance qui guide le rayonnement laser et dont l’extrémité correspond à l’interface avec l’oeil du patient

– un système de visualisation du segment antérieur de l’oeil, assuré par un appareil OCT (Optical Coherence Tomography) qui permet de réaliser en temps réel des « coupes » anatomiques intéressant la cornée, le cristallin, et l’espace compris entre les deux (chambre antérieure). Ces images sont affichées sur deux écrans de contrôle. Ces images sont actuellement capturées de manière dynamique, ce qui permet de voir en temps réel l’effet des impacts laser délivrés dans le segment antérieur de l’oeil.

– un lit destiné à recevoir le patient et le positionner sous le système de délivrance

– un matériel dit « consommable », qui comprend un anneau de succion et une interface à usage unique. Cette interface est courbe, afin d’épouser le galbe cornéen, et minimiser les déformations de celui-ci (la présence de plis de la cornée pouvant induire une déperdition des impacts laser, et une distorsion optique responsable d’une moindre précision dans la représentation du segment antérieur en OCT).

Plateforme laser VICTUS

 

Caractéristiques de la visualisation OCT du segment antérieur

Les dimensions du segment antérieur de l’œil  s’inscrivent dans un cylindre de diamètre proche de 12mm (soit le diamètre de la cornée), et d’épaisseur  variable, généralement inférieure à 8 mm (soit la distance comprise entre le sommet de la cornée et la capsule postérieure du cristallin). Le diamètre des coupes OCT est de 13 mm, et l’extension en profondeur des coupes est de 9 mm. Le tracé correspondant à l’emplacement des incisions destinées à la découpe de la capsule antérieure (capsulorhexis) ainsi que celui des impacts destinés à la fragmentation du noyau cristallinien s’affichent en surimpression.

Représentation en coupe sagitale du segment antérieur par le système OCT du laser femtoseconde VICTUS

 

Exemple de capsulorhexis au laser femtoseconde :

Le capsulorhexis est un temps important de la chirurgie de la cataracte: il correspond à l’ouverture du sac capsulaire, et l’accès au matériel cristallinien à fragmenter. La précision et la reproductibilité de la découpe automatisée au laser de la capsule antérieure permet d’obtenir une circularité  quasi parfaite de son bord. Le diamètre du capsulorhexis peut être ajusté avec précision (ex: 5.3 mm). Le bénéfice clinique attendu de cette capsulotomie « géométrique » concerne la stabilité de l’implant, c’est à dire le maitient de sa position axiale dans le segment antérieur. Les études effectuées ne permettent pas de démontrer le bénéfice d’une découpe laser vis à vis d’une découpe manuelle, quand ces deux découpes sont conduites de manière satisfaisante.

La vidéo suivante montre la réalisation de la découpe circulaire au laser femtoseconde (capsulorhexis) :

Capsulotomie circulaire au laser femtoseconde VICTUS

Patterns de fragmentation au laser femtoseconde

Le laser femtoseconde a la capacité de fragmenter « in situ » le cristallin. La répartition spatiale des impacts laser est conçue pour scinder le cristallin en morceaux (sous-fragments),  en réalisant des impacts conjoints (tracé en « pointillés ») à la manière des timbre poste, mais dans un volume, c’est à dire « en trois dimensions ». La pré fragmentation permet de réduire la quantité d’ultrasons nécessaires au retrait du cristallin, ainsi que les manœuvres de clivage du cristallin (« cracking »).

 

En complément de la vidéo précédente, voici des exemples de « patterns  » de fragmentation du noyau du cristallin:

Pattern de découpe au laser femtoseconde en croix


Pattern de découpe laser femtoseconde annulaire et radiaire


Pattern en quartiers et capsulotomie au laser femtoseconde (laser VICTUS)

En 2015, l’intérêt de la chirurgie de la cataracte au laser femtoseconde fait l’objet de débats animés dans la communauté des chirurgiens de la cataracte. En dehors des aspects financiers (l’utilisation du laser représente un coût de plusieurs centaines d’euros par procédure), certains aspects propre à cette chirurgie sont discutés.

La réalisation d’une découpe circulaire automatisée (capsulorhexis) est un avantage certain pour le chirurgien débutant, mais ne représente pas un avantage majeur pour un chirurgien aguerri.

La pré-découpe (fragmentation du cristallin) permet certainement de faciliter l’étape de phacoémulsification et réduire le taux d’ultra sons délivrés pour achever l’extraction des fragments de cristallin. Mais elle expose à certains effets locaux comme la réduction du diamètre de la pupille irienne, qui peut alors réduire compliquer la réalisation du geste chirurgical.

La technologie d’assistance au laser femtoseconde de la chirurgie de la cataracte subit des évolutions rapides, et bénéficie de progrès liés à l’imagerie (OCT « live »), et au progrès accomplis dans le domaine de la délivrance des impacts laser. Il est probable qu’elle prenne de plus en plus de place dans le domaine de la chirurgie de la cataracte; cette place sera certainement plus importante le jour les bénéfices cliniques de l’utilisation du laser femtoseconde en chirurgie de la cataracte seront avérés.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *