+ +

LASIK and astigmatism

Correction of astigmatism in LASIK

THEastigmatism  can be corrected by the LASIK: this optical defect is found in 90% of the population, and 25% of it has an astigmatism greater than one diopter. Astigmatism can be pure (insulated) or associated with myopia or hyperopia.

LASIK is a quite proper technique to correct the vision of the astigmatic, pure or composed his astigmatism (IE associated with myopia or hyperopia). Astigmatism is a particular optical defect, in the sense that it is "oriented"; It is defined by its magnitude and its axis (ex in the noted expression - 3 x 0 °:-3 is the magnitude in diopter and 0 ° axis in degrees). This peculiarity induces some specifics for the realization of LASIK, including him requires optimal orientation of the laser treatment.

Astigmatism has therefore, in addition to the short-sightedness (hyperopia or), a directional component. Because of this constraint, its correction must be done according to rules responding to common principles regardless of the type of astigmatism (simple or compound), to optimize the results and provide the best possible vision after LASIK.

The correction of astigmatism in LASIK is to increase and/or reduce selectively some meridians of the cornea curvature (see the page dedicated to the) profile of ablation of the for the correction of astigmatism excimer laser).

Rating of astigmatism and correction

Astigmatism is expressed as a figure (magnitude in dioptres) and an axis (in degree). For example: (-3 × 10 °), or (+ 2 × 90 °).

The first number is important, the more the astigmatism. The axis mentioned in degree is that of the meridian of the cornea more flat - or less arched when the magnitude is negative (ex:-3 × 10 °: the less camber axis is 10 °). When the magnitude is positive (+ 2 × 90 °), the axis matches that of the arched Meridian. In all case, it is important to align the treatment according to the direction of astigmatism.

Establishing the origin of astigmatism before LASIK

Astigmatism is mainly induced by excessive corneal toricite; in general, there is a match between the axis of the cylinder refractive and major corneal meridians. In case of dissonance, must ensure the reliability of the performed tests, and choose instead of corneal refractive cylinder axis. The presence of a debutante cataract can induce the presence of an internal astigmatism (often reverse). The presence of a Keratoconus can explain the existence of refractive changes: remove a Keratoconus fruste or starting in the presence of astigmatism oblique or reverse in particular.

An aberrometrique examination must be made to decide in the difficult case (ex: calculation of internal and corneal aberrations).

 

Terms of the preoperative examination before LASIK for astigmatism

You must respect the following:

-in case strong astigmatism and wide pupillary diameter, the risk of refractive vagueness and regression, as well as with halos is more important than for pure spherical corrections.

-rigid lenses should be removed at least one month before the intervention, and if the corneal topography and/or refraction are unstable, it is better to extend these time limits and review the patient later.

 

Choice of the profile of ablation (excimer laser) issued in LASIK

The correction of astigmatism aims to restore an identical curvature of all meridians of the cornea. In case of pure or myopic astigmatism composed, to reduce the curvature of the arched meridians. case hypermetropique pure or compound astigmatism, there arch less arched meridians. case of mixed astigmatism, there arch less arched meridians, and reduce the curvature of the arched meridians (bitorique treatment).

LASIK and astigmatism: key points of the operative technique

In LASIK astigmatism treatment must comply with the following points:

-check the programmed values of the refraction in the laser to eliminate any input error, particularly in case of transposition of the refractive formulas sphero-cylindrical expression in cylinder negative than positive cylinder (this concerns especially the astigmatismes compound or mixed).

-ensure the correct alignment of the patient under the laser, and avoid misleading a rotation of the head. A previous marking of the cornea on the horizontal Meridian can correct a cyclotorsion of the globe when the use of a high-performance eye-tracker is recommended. The use of technologies such as iris recognition here is a very interesting application: it allows to align the treatment accurately, even in case of turning movements of the eye when the patient lies under the laser (the cyclotorsion correction).

-Choose a suitable dimensions flap. The hinge should be placed theoretically in the axis of the initially more arched Meridian to offer photoablatif treatment possible stromal surface after cutting. Indeed, the zone of ablation of a cylindrical treatment is oval with a centerline parallel to the Meridian initially as flat. So, in case of direct astigmatism, it is better to get a flap to horizontal hinge superior, as in case of inverse astigmatism, a flap to nasal vertical hinge is an interesting choice. This allows to reduce the risk of fire on the hinge, especially in case of flap of small diameter. The use of the femtosecond laser allows for wide flaps which it is possible to position and size the hinge with precision; some lasers (Alcon Wavelight FS 200) allow even the realization of oval flaps, marrying so the perimeter of the correction issued by the best way excimer laser:



See page dedicated to the profile of ablation for correction of myopic astigmatism

7 responses to "LASIK and astigmatism"

  1. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    A touch-up is more likely if there is astigmatism or if a small residual error myopia is present. Lasik allows easy alterations, early or late, by raising the flap by issuing a supplementary correction.

  2. Marie G says:

    Hello
    I'd like to have surgery to correct astigmatism and myopia that I wear glasses for 7 years (25 years today).
    I have a preference for PKR technique that seems less invasive. Can you tell me if this method is as effective as lasik for this type of correction?
    Thank you very much.

  3. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    Everything depends on the degree of myopia is of astigmatism to be corrected. Schematically the PKR has an efficiency comparable to LASIK for myopia up to 6 diopters, and astigmatism up to 3 dioptres. However, he must add the diopters of myopia and astigmatism, and the sum should also be close to a threshold of 6 diopters. In the past, the risk is the correction, because the PKR can, in high myopia case, induce more marked than LASIK scar regression phenomena.

  4. Silurian says:

    Hello Mr. Gatinel,

    I do surgery Tuesday, August 30 by femto lasik to fix my eyes.
    I had:
    -right:-2,25 (+ 2.5) + 170 °
    -left:-3 (3.35 °) + 5 °.
    I had a little trouble of cutting of the flap left. The Chief of service at the finish cutting with scissors. The diameter is 7 mm of memory. The surgeon (except the problem of cutting the cornea is satisfied with the result.
    However, the next day, I see very well in a field of 30 cm maximum.
    Beyond that, everything is slightly blurred. FYI, I went with my daughter in first grade this morning. From the bottom of the class, the numbers written in size of 10cm seemed very blurry view of the back of the class.

    The surgeon prescribed me a pair of glasses with a correction of-1 for both eyes (myopia) that would be induced by the operation. According him, it should decrease to-0.5 or-0,75.

    The real trouble is that beyond my 30 cm chamo I see blurry... as before without glasses... Anyway, I did that for without me glasses because of water sports.

    For you is this blur normal? and if so, should he leave "soon"? the day after my operation, I had 6/10 without glasses...; –((

    Thanks for your reply.
    Kind regards.

  5. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    Priori yourselves before the operation (reverse) "non-compliant" said astigmatism, which requires a broad and well aligned photoablation on meridians to correct. The correction is indeed in this case to increase the curvature of the horizontal Meridian (as a treatment of the hyperemtropie). A flap of 7 mm diameter seems undersized. Visual blurring can have several origins: it seems that in cutter location, it is bound to a myopisation since it has prescribed a correction of - 1 d. This myopia can actually partially regress. It should also eliminate the presence of a residual astigmatism, or other concerns as the folds of flaps, dryness, etc. In any case it is too early to judge the outcome, because in case of a strong astigmatism correction, the LASIK recovery is a little slower than after correction of simple myopia. Your surgeon can give you more information during the next check, where can be made a review of corneal topography and aberrometrique.

  6. Aurélie says:

    Hello
    In young patients with both an original Interior and corneal astigmatism, seeking to operate the laser. Include you in the programming of the total astigmatism laser or only corneal share?

    Thanks in advance

  7. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    The intervention of refractive surgery aims to bring a satisfactory vision without glasses, and thus preferred the total correction of astigmatism. It is rare that internal astigmatism is very pronounced in general.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

LASIK et astigmatisme

Correction de l’astigmatisme en LASIK

L’astigmatisme  peut être corrigé par le LASIK: ce défaut optique est retrouvé dans 90% de la population, et 25% de celle-ci a un astigmatisme supérieur à une dioptrie. L’astigmatisme peut être pur (isolé) ou associé à de la myopie ou de l’hypermétropie.

Le LASIK est une technique tout à fait appropriée  pour corriger la vision  de l’astigmate, que son astigmatisme soit pur ou composé (c’est à dire associé à de la myopie ou de l’hypermétropie). L’astigmatisme est un défaut optique particulier, en ce sens qu’il est « orienté »; il est défini par sa magnitude et son axe, (ex dans l’expression notée -3 x 0° :  -3 est la magnitude en dioptrie, et 0° l’axe en degré). Cette particularité induit certaines spécificités pour la réalisation du LASIK, notamment le nécessite d’une orientation optimale du traitement laser.

L’astigmatisme possède donc, en plus de la myopie (ou de l’hypermétropie), une composante directionnelle. En raison de cette contrainte, sa correction doit être réalisée selon des règles répondant à des principes communs quelque soit le type d’astigmatisme (simple ou composé), afin d’optimiser les résultats et fournir la meilleure vision possible après LASIK.

La correction de l’astigmatisme en LASIK consiste à augmenter et/ou réduire sélectivement la courbure de certains méridiens de la cornée (voir la page dédiée au profil d’ablation du laser excimer pour la correction de l’astigmatisme).

Notation de l’astigmatisme et correction

L’astigmatisme s’exprime comme un chiffre (magnitude en dioptries) et un axe (en degré). Par exemple : (-3×10°), ou (+2×90°).

Plus le premier chiffre est important, plus l’astigmatisme est élevé. L’axe mentionné en degré est celui du méridien de la cornée le plus plat -ou moins cambré quand la magnitude est négative (ex: -3×10° : l’axe le moins cambré est à 10°). Quand la magnitude est positive (+2×90°), l’axe correspond à celui du méridien le plus cambré. Dans tous les cas, il est important de bien aligner le traitement selon l’orientation de l’astigmatisme.

Etablir l’origine de l’astigmatisme avant LASIK

L’astigmatisme est surtout induit par un excès de toricité cornéenne ; il existe en général une adéquation entre l’axe du cylindre réfractif et celui des méridiens cornéens principaux. En cas de discordance, il faut s’assurer de la fiabilité des examens réalisés, et choisir l’axe du cylindre réfractif plutôt que cornéen. La présence d’une cataracte débutante peut induire la présence d’un astigmatisme interne (le plus souvent inverse). La présence d’un kératocône peut expliquer l’existence de fluctuations réfractives: il faut éliminer un kératocône fruste ou débutant en présence d’un astigmatisme oblique ou inverse en particulier.

Un examen aberrométrique devra être effectué pour trancher dans les cas difficiles (ex : calcul des aberrations cornéennes et internes).

 

Modalités de l’examen préopératoire avant LASIK pour astigmatisme

Il faut respecter les points suivants :

– en cas de fort astigmatisme et/ou de large diamètre pupillaire, le risque d’imprécision réfractive et de régression, ainsi que et de halos est plus important que pour les corrections sphériques pures.

– les lentilles rigides doivent être retirées au moins un mois avant l’intervention, et si la topographie cornéenne et/ou la réfraction sont instables, il est préférable de prolonger ces délais et réexaminer le patient ultérieurement.

 

Choix du profil d’ablation (laser excimer) délivré en LASIK

La correction de l’astigmatisme vise à restaurer une courbure identique de tous les méridiens de la cornée. En cas d’astigmatisme pur ou myopique composé, il faut réduire la courbure des méridiens les plus cambrés. En cas d’astigmatisme hypermétropique pur ou composé, il faut cambrer les méridiens les moins cambrés. En cas d’astigmatisme mixte, il faut cambrer les méridiens les moins cambrés, et réduire la courbure des méridiens les plus cambrés (traitement bitorique).

Lasik et astigmatisme : points clés de la technique opératoire

Le traitement de l’astigmatisme en LASIK doit respecter les points suivants :

– vérifier les valeurs de la réfraction programmées dans le laser pour éliminer toute erreur de saisie, en particulier en cas de transposition des formules réfractives sphéro-cylindriques de l’expression en cylindre négatif à celle en cylindre positif  (ceci concerne surtout les astigmatismes composés ou mixtes).

– s’assurer de l’alignement correct du patient sous le laser, et éviter d’induire une rotation de la tête. Un marquage préalable de la cornée sur le méridien horizontal permet de corriger une cyclotorsion du globe au moment de la fixation L’utilisation d’un eye-tracker performant est conseillée. L’utilisation de technologies comme la reconnaissance de l’iris trouve ici une application très intéressante: elle permet d’aligner le traitement avec précision, même en cas de mouvements de rotation de l’oeil quand le patient est allongé sous le laser (correction de la cyclotorsion).

– choisir un capot de dimensions adaptées. La charnière doit être placée théoriquement dans l’axe du méridien initialement le plus cambré afin d’offrir au traitement photoablatif le plus de surface stromale possible après découpe; en effet, la zone d’ablation d’un traitement cylindrique est ovale avec un grand axe parallèle au méridien initialement le plus plat. Ainsi, en cas d’astigmatisme direct, il est préférable d’obtenir un capot à charnière horizontale supérieure, alors qu’en cas d’astigmatisme inverse, un capot à charnière verticale nasale constitue un choix intéressant. Cela permet de réduire les risques de tirs sur la charnière, surtout en cas de capot de petit diamètre. L’utilisation du laser femtoseconde permet d’obtenir de larges capots dont il est possible de positionner et dimensionner la charnière avec précision ; certains lasers (Alcon Wavelight FS 200) permettent même la réalisation de capots ovales, épousant ainsi le périmètre de la correction délivrée par le laser excimer de meilleure manière:



Voir page consacrée au profil d’ablation pour la correction de l’astigmatisme myopique

7 réponses à “LASIK et astigmatisme”

  1. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Une retouche est plus probable s’il reste de l’astigmatisme ou si une petite erreur résiduelle de type myopie est présente. Le Lasik permet d’effectuer facilement des retouches, précoces ou tardives, en soulevant le capot en délivrant une correction complémentaire.

  2. Marie G dit :

    Bonjour,
    j’aimerai me faire opérer afin de corriger l’astigmatisme et la myopie pour lesquelles je porte des lunettes depuis 7 ans (25ans aujourd’hui).
    J’ai une préférence pour la technique PKR qui semble moins invasive. Pouvez-vous me dire si cette méthode est aussi efficace que le lasik pour ce type de correction ?
    Merci beaucoup.

  3. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Tout dépend du degré de myopie est d’astigmatisme à corriger. Schématiquement la PKR possède une efficacité comparable au LASIK pour la myopie jusqu’à 6 Dioptries, et l’astigmatisme jusqu’à 3 Dioptries. Cependant, il faut additionner les dioptries de myopie et d’astigmatisme, et la somme doit également être proche d’un seuil de 6 Dioptries. Au delà, le risque est la sous correction, car la PKR peut, en cas de forte myopie, induire des phénomènes de régression cicatricielle plus marqués que le LASIK.

  4. Silurien dit :

    Bonjour Mr. Gatinel,

    Je me suis fais opéré mardi 30 août par femto lasik pour réparer mes yeux.
    J’avais:
    – droite: -2,25 (+2,5) +170°
    – gauche: -3 (°3,35) + 5°.
    J’ai eu un petit soucis de découpe du capot à gauche. Le chef de service à du finir la découpe au ciseau. Le diamètre est de 7 mm de mémoire. Le chirurgien (à part le problème de découpe de la cornée est satisfait du résultat.
    Toutefois, dès le lendemain, je vois très bien dans un champ de 30 cm au maximum.
    Au-delà, tout est légèrement flou. Pour info, j’ai accompagné ma fille en CP ce matin. Du fond de la classe, les chiffres écrit en taille de 10cm me paraissait très flou vu du fond de la classe.

    Le chirurgien, m’a prescrit une paire de lunette avec une correction de -1 pour les deux yeux (myopie) qui serait induite par l’opération. D’après lui, elle devrait diminuer jusque -0,5 ou -0,75.

    Le vrai soucis c’est que audela de mon chamo de 30 cm je vois tout flou.. comme avant sans lunettes…. J’ai tout de même fait cela pour me passer de lunettes à cause des sports nautiques.

    Pour vous ce flou est-il normal? et si oui, devrait il partir « rapidement »?? le lendemain de mon intervention, j’avais 6/10 sans lunettes… ;;–((

    Merci pour votre réponse.
    Cordialement.

  5. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    A priori vous présentiez avant l’opération un astigmatisme dit « non conforme » (inverse), qui nécessite une photoablation large, et bien alignée sur les méridiens à corriger. La correction vise en effet dans ce cas à augmenter la courbure des méridiens horizontaux (comme un traitement de l’hyperémtropie). Un capot de diamètre 7 mm paraît sous dimensionné. Le flou visuel peut avoir plusieurs origines: il semble que dans cotre situation, il est lié à une myopisation puisque l’on vous a prescrit une correction de -1D. Cette myopie peut effectivement partiellement régresser. Il faut également éliminer la présence d’un astigmatisme résiduel, ou d’autres soucis comme des plis de capots, une sécheresse oculaire, etc. En tout état de cause, il est trop tôt pour juger du résultat final, car en cas de correction d’un fort astigmatisme, la récupération en LASIK est un peu plus lente qu’après correction d’une simple myopie. Votre chirurgien pourra vous donner plus d’informations lors du prochain contrôle, où pourront être réalisés un examen de topographie cornéenne et un examen aberrométrique.

  6. Aurelie dit :

    Bonjour,
    Chez un patient jeune présentant à la fois un astigmatisme d’origine cornéenne et interne, souhaitant se faire opérer au laser. Intégrez vous dans la programmation du laser l’astigmatisme total ou uniquement la part cornéenne?

    Merci d’avance

  7. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    L’intervention de chirurgie réfractive vise à apporter une vision satisfaisante sans lunettes, et on privilégie ainsi la correction totale de l’astigmatisme. Il est rare que l’astigmatisme interne soit très prononcé en général.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *