+ +

keratoconus: Stages and clinical forms

Stages and clinical forms

There are several stages of keratoconus, and different classifications exist to group them. The so-called clinical forms and the so-called infra-clinical forms are classically distinguished.

Clinical Forms correspond to an advanced stage of the disease: Corneal deformation is sometimes visible at the biomicroscopic examination (Slit lamp), the visual acuity corrected in the bezel barely reaches the 10/10 due to a large irregular astigmatism (induction of high-degree aberrations). Patients have a long history of eye rubbing Repeated. The corneal topography is characteristic: marked thinning of the corneal wall, asymmetric and irregular deformation of the anterior face of the cornea, marked elevation of the posterior face, etc.

It is rare to diagnose keratoconus only at a very advanced clinical stage, because the visual disorders characterized by a astigmatism Fast evolution poorly corrected in glasses, rapid accentuation in adolescence, often lead to raise the diagnosis of keratoconus at an earlier stage (in all case , this diagnosis must be confirmed by the corneal topography).

When the disease-related deformation reaches a very advanced stage, it is visible for direct examination; Munson's sign corresponds to a deformation characteristic of the palpebral ledge in the downward look:

Sign of Munson, Keratoconus
Munson sign; This patient, whose topographies and Scheimpflug sections are represented above, rubbed vigorously and in a daily way the left eye.

Thesubclinical forms characterized by an often chance discovery, on the occasion of an ophthalmological checkup (sometimes in the context of a pre-refractive surgery balance, i.e. before a eye laser surgery To correct myopia and astigmatism).

This discovery is made through the realization of a corneal topography, which must be systematic in this context.

The corneal topography reveals signs that arouse suspicion vis-à-vis a beginning form of keratoconus. Depending on these topographic anomalies, the cornea may be classified as " suspect of Keratoconus", or a '" crude form of Keratoconus "(or more simply:" Keratoconus fruste »). These designations combine the forms that present certain characteristics that may evoke the presence of a beginner keratoconus.

Patients with "suspicious" topography are often those who rub their eyes regularly, sometimes (often) without their knowledge, and/or sleep on the side or on the belly. However, friction has not yet been sufficiently intense and or prolonged to cause greater deformation, and there is a slight topographic irregularity below the detection thresholds established for keratoconus.

The variability of eye rubbing In intensity, laterality, duration, etc. Explains the existence of topographic forms so different, in terms of evolutionary stage, when discovering a keratoconus.

Certain however: regardless of its stage and its evolutionary character. Keratoconus, even beginner represents an absolute contraindication to surgery through LASIK, because the realization of this technique can only be done if the cornea has sufficient thickness and regularity.

The cutting of a flap stromal and the photoablation are able to weaken brutally corneal resistance already weakened by repeated rubbing, and then, deformation can be accentuated by the crossing of the threshold of biomechanics decompensation.

As a result, it is crucial to detect the presence of an early form of keratoconus in patients seeking refractive surgery. In the spirit of the author of this site, a starting form of keratoconus corresponds more exactly to a moderate corneal deformation, induced by the repetition of eye rubbing whose intensity and duration are not sufficiently pronounced To trigger the appearance of a proven form, characterized by a more severe corneal deformation and a source of non-correctable visual disturbances in spectacles.

For the same duration and the same intensity of friction, a thicker and more resistant cornea may present a deformation less pronounced than a fine and less resistant cornea (role favouring the "Kératotype").

  The completion of a LASIK in a patient with keratoconus says "fruste" usually causes an increase in corneal deformation.  A proven form of keratoconus is then observed, which is then referred to as "Keratoconus iatrogenic", or more generally of LASIK-induced ectasia.

An aspect of beginner keratoconus reflects the presence of a certain degree of biomechanical fragility (mechanical origin: friction); LASIK produces an additional weakening that can increase this fragility and accelerate the biomechanical decompensation of the cornea.

Functional treatment of proven Keratoconus is the optical patient rehabilitation and includes glasses, contact lenses, inserting intra corneal ring segments, the corneal transplant (lamellar keratoplasty, deep). The realization of one «» cross-linking » Corneal Collagen has been proposed to curb (or even halt) the evolution of keratoconus; This approach presupposes that keratoconus is the result of a primitive tissue anomaly ("soft" cornea). However, as explained on this site, the keratoconus is the consequence of the repeated eye rubbing: The shutdown of these is the safest method to stop the evolution.

 

See also:

No rub, no Cone, the Keratoconus Conjecture

Rebuttal of classical theory: Marfan syndrome 

Keratoconus and corneal topography

Vision correction and Keratoconus

Suspicious forms of Keratoconus

Keratoconus subclinical

Consulter des case documentés avec suivi de kératocône (en anglais)

Comments are closed.

+ +

Keratocone: stades et formes cliniques

Stades et formes cliniques

Il existe plusieurs stades de kératocône, et différentes classifications existent pour les regrouper. On distingue classiquement les formes dites cliniques et les formes dites infra-cliniques.

Les formes cliniques correspondent à un stade avancé de la maladie: la déformation cornéenne est parfois visible à l’examen biomicroscopique (lampe à fente), l’acuité visuelle corrigée en lunette peine à atteindre les 10/10 en raison d’un important astigmatisme irrégulier (induction d’aberrations de haut degré). Les patients présentent un long passé de frottements oculaires répétés). La topographie cornéenne est caractéristique: amincissement marqué du mur cornéen, déformation asymétrique et irrégulière de la face antérieure de la cornée, élévation marquée de la face postérieure, etc.

Il est rare de faire le diagnostic de kératocône à un stade clinique très évolué, car les troubles visuels caractérisés par un astigmatisme évolutif rapide mal corrigé en lunettes, d’accentuation rapide à l’adolescence, amènent souvent à soulever le diagnostic de kératocône à un stade plus précoce (ce diagnostic doit être confirmé par la topographie cornéenne).

Quand la déformation liée à la maladie atteint un stade très évolué, elle est visible à l’examen direct; le signe de Munson correspond à une déformation caractéristique du rebord palpébral dans le regard vers le bas:

Signe de Munson, kératocône
Signe de Munson; ce patient, dont les topographies et coupes Scheimpflug sont représentées plus haut, se frottait vigoureusement et de manière quotidienne l’oeil gauche.

Les formes infracliniques se caractérisent par une découverte souvent fortuite, à l’occasion d’un bilan ophtalmologique (souvent pour un bilan pré chirurgie réfractive, c’est à dire  avant une opération des yeux au laser pour corriger myopie et astigmatisme).

Cette découverte est faite grâce à la réalisation d’une topographie cornéenne, qui doit être systématique dans ce context.

La topographie cornéenne révèle des signes qui éveillent la suspicion vis à vis d’une forme débutante de kératocône.

En fonction de ces anomalies topographiques, on pourra classer la cornée comme « suspecte de kératocône« , ou présentant une « forme fruste de kératocône » (ou « kératocône fruste »).

Les patients qui présentent une topographie « suspecte » sont souvent ceux qui se frottent les yeux régulièrement, parfois (souvent) à leur insu, et/ou dorment sur le côté ou sur le ventre. Les frottements n’ont toutefois pas encore été suffisamment intenses et ou prolongés pour entraîner une déformation plus importante, et on observe une légère irrégularité topographique, en deçà des seuils de détection établis pour le kératocône.

La variabilité des frottements oculaires, responsables de la déformation cornéenne, explique l’existence de formes topographiques si différentes, en terme de stade évolutif, lors de la découverte du kératocône.

Une certitude toutefois : quelque soit son stade et son caractère évolutif, le kératocône, même débutant représente une contre-indication absolue à la chirurgie par LASIK, car la réalisation de cette technique ne peut se faire que si la cornée présente une épaisseur et une régularité suffisante.

La découpe d’un capot stromal et la photoablation sont à même d’affaiblir brutalement la résistance cornéenne déjà amoindrie par des frottements répétés, et la déformation peut alors s’accentuer par le franchissement du seuil de décompensation biomécanique.

De ce fait, il est crucial de dépister la présence d’une forme débutante de kératocône chez les patients demandeurs de chirurgie réfractive. Dans l’esprit de l’auteur de ce site, une forme débutante de kératocône correspond plus exactement à une déformation cornéenne modérée, induite par la répétition de frottements oculaires dont l’intensité et la durée ne sont pas suffisamment prononcées pour déclencher l’apparition d’une forme avérée, caractérisée par une déformation cornéenne plus sévère et source de troubles visuels non corrigibles en lunettes.

Pour une même durée et une même intensité de frottements, une cornée plus épaisse et résistante pourra présenter une déformation moins marquée qu’une cornée fine et moins résistante (rôle favorisant du « kératotype »).

  La réalisation d’un LASIK chez un patient atteint de kératocône dit « fruste » provoque généralement une augmentation de la déformation cornéenne.  On observe alors une forme avérée de kératocône, qui est alors qualifié de « kératocône iatrogène », ou plus généralement d’ectasie induite par le LASIK.

Un aspect de kératocône débutant traduit la présence d’un certain degré de fragilité biomécanique (d’origine mécanique: les frottements); le LASIK produit un affaiblissement supplémentaire qui peut accroître cette fragilité et accélérer la décompensation biomécanique de la cornée.

Le traitement fonctionnel du kératocône avéré vise la réhabilitation optique du patient et comprend les verres de lunettes, les verres de contact, l’insertion intra cornéenne de segments d’anneaux, la greffe de cornée (lamellaires profondes, transfixiante). La réalisation d’un « cross-linking » du collagène cornéen a été proposée pour freiner (voire stopper) l’évolution du kératocône; cette approche pré-suppose que le kératocône est la conséquence d’une anomalie tissulaire primitive (cornée « molle »). Or, comme expliqué sur ce site, le kératocône est la conséquence des frottements oculaires répétés: l’arrêt de ceux-ci est la méthode la plus sûre pour en stopper l’évolution.

 

Voir également:

No rub, No Cone, the Keratoconus Conjecture

Réfutation de la théorie classique: le syndrome de Marfan 

Kératocône et topographie cornéenne

Correction de la vision et kératocône

Formes suspectes de kératocône

Kératocône infraclinique

Consulter des cas documentés avec suivi de kératocône (en anglais)

Les commentaires sont fermés.