+ +

Paraxial

Paraxial: definitions and explanations

The term paraxial ("close to the axis') is an approximation made in geometrical optics, in order to predict the path of rays of light through an optical system in a simple way. In the paraxial approximation, the angle formed by the incident ray with the optical axis is low (the value of the angle, in radians, is close to that of his sinuses); This allows to perform some geometric simplifications and get forms simple and linear, involving the angle of index and height of the RADIUS at the entrance of the optical system. A paraxial approximation is necessary to establish the formula of vergence. If one knows the vergence of optical system, one can then predict the height and angle of release of the corresponding emerging RADIUS. The paraxial field allows to simplify the calculation of the path of the rays and the formation of pictures through the optical system. This is useful for example to establish the theoretical formulas for the biometric calculation of the power of artificial lens implants.

The non-paraxial field is called marginal area: it is in the field not paraxial optical aberrations effect comes in.

Eye and conditions paraxiales

Regarding the eye can trace the path of a ray through the front of the cornea, the posterior face of the cornea, etc by a paraxial approximation. Just know the paraxial curvature and the index of refraction of crossed circles. The conditions paraxiales apply for the near rays of the optical axis of the eye: yet, rays admitted by the pupil irisne can form an angle relatively important with this one; for example, for a pupil of 4 mm and a radius of curvature corneal close to 8 mm, the angle of impact i is equal is close to 14.5 ° 0.253 radians. The sine of this angle is 0.250 radians which is more or less acceptable depending on the context, and this especially as the error can be accentuated to each refraction, especially by the cristalliniennes surfaces. In practice, we can make use of for the study paraxial approximation and correction of refractive defects of the eye (ametropias).

In paraxiales conditions, one can equate a set of dioptres or lenses with a system centered, which only requires the homes and plans and main points to determine the properties related to the formation of images (position, magnification, etc.): vergences formulas apply, depending on the position of households and the objects with respect to the principal planes of the / systems.

Representation

The following diagram represents an incident Ray paraxial refraction, propagating from left to right in a middle of index n. This section forms a u (radians) angle and meets a spherical diopter of RADIUS R, and refractive index, to a height h.

paraxial approximation

The incident rays forming a low angle to the optical axis, to determine the direction of the ray after refraction through the formula didn't u'-n u = h F. This formula stems from the Snell's law applied to small angles. The signs + and - after u and u' depend on the respective direction of these angles, expressed in radians. On the right, shown in light green a possible new refractive surface: simply repeat the calculation with h' (which depends on the distance of the surface from the previous) and u' to determine the path after refraction by the next surface.

We call F the vergence of the diopter, equal to the change of index of refraction (no-n) divided by the radius of curvature R; F = (no-n) / r

In the paraxiales conditions, we check the equation:

don't u'-n u = h F

where F = 1/R (F is expressed in diopters). It is important not to confuse u u' and the angle of incidence, θi and the angle of refraction (see θr the page dedicated to the calculation of the formula of vergence for demonstration This formula)

As suggested in the legend of the previous figure, you can apply the same formula with the next surface: this is done serially in ray tracing calculations.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Paraxial

Paraxial : définitions et explications

Le terme paraxial (« proche de l’axe ») correspond à une approximation faite en optique géométrique, afin de prédire de manière simple le trajet des rayons lumineux au travers d’un système optique. Dans l’approximation paraxiale, l’angle formé par le rayon incident avec l’axe optique est faible (la valeur de l’angle, en radians, est proche de celle de son sinus); ceci permet d’effectuer quelques simplifications géométriques et d’obtenir des formules simples et linéaires, faisant intervenir l’angle d’indice et la hauteur du rayon à l’entrée du système optique. Une approximation paraxiale est nécessaire pour établir la formule de vergence. Si l’on connait la vergence du système optique, on peut alors prédire la hauteur et l’angle de sortie du rayon émergent correspondant. Le domaine paraxial permet alors de simplifier le calcul du trajet des rayons et la formation des images au travers du système optique. Ceci est utile par exemple pour établir des formules théoriques pour le calcul biométrique de la puissance des implants de cristallin artificiel.

Le domaine non paraxial est appelé domaine marginal: c’est dans le domaine non paraxial qu’intervient l’effet des aberrations optiques.

Oeil et conditions paraxiales

En ce qui concerne l’oeil, on peut tracer le trajet d’un rayon à travers la face antérieure de la cornée, la face postérieure de la cornée, etc en faisant une approximation paraxiale. Il suffit de connaître la courbure paraxiale et l’indice de réfraction des milieux traversés. Les conditions paraxiales s’appliquent pour les rayons proches de l’axe optique de l’oeil: pourtant, les rayons admis par la pupille irienne peuvent former un angle relativement important avec celui-ci; par exemple, pour une pupille de 4 mm, et un rayon de courbure cornéen proche de 8 mm, l’angle d’incidence i est égal est proche de 14,5° soit 0.253 radians. Le sinus de cet angle vaut 0.250 radians ce qui est plus ou moins acceptable en fonction du contexte, et ce d’autant que l’erreur peut s’accentuer à chaque réfraction, notamment par les surfaces cristalliniennes. En pratique, on peut faire usage de l’approximation paraxiale pour l’étude et la correction des défauts réfractifs de l’oeil (amétropies).

Dans les conditions paraxiales, on peut assimiler un ensemble de dioptres et/ou lentilles à un système centré, dont il suffit de connaître les foyers et plans et points principaux pour déterminer les propriétés liées à la formation des images (position, grandissement, etc.): les formules de vergences s’appliquent alors, en fonction de la position des foyers et des objets vis à vis des plans principaux du/des systèmes.

Représentation

Le schéma suivant représente la réfraction paraxiale d’un rayon incident, se propageant de la gauche vers la droite dans un milieu d’indice n. Ce rayon forme un angle u (radians) et rencontre un dioptre sphérique de rayon R, et d’indice réfractive n’, à une hauteur h.

approximation paraxiale

Pour les rayons incidents formant un angle faible avec l’axe optique, on peut déterminer la direction du rayon après réfraction grâce à la formule n’ u’- n u =-h F. Cette formule découle de la loi de Snell appliquée à de petis angles. Les signes + et – situés après u et u’ dépendent de l’orientation respective de ces angles, exprimés en radians. A droite, on a représenté en vert clair une éventuelle nouvelle surface réfractive: il suffit de répéter le calcul avec h’ (qui dépend de la distance de cette surface vis à vis de la précédente) et u’ pour déterminer le trajet du rayon après réfraction par la surface suivante.

On appelle F la vergence du dioptre, égale à la variation d’indice de réfraction (n’-n) divisée par le rayon de courbure R; F = (n’-n)/R

Dans les conditions paraxiales, on vérifie l’équation :

n’u’ – n u = -h F

où F =1/R (F est exprimé en Dioptries). Il est important de ne pas confondre u u’ et l’angle d’incidence θi ou l’angle de réfraction θr  (voir la page dédiée au calcul de la formule de vergence pour la démonstration de cette formule)

Comme suggéré dans la légende de la figure précédente, on peut appliquer la même formule avec la surface suivante: ceci est effectué en série dans les calculs de ray tracing.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *