+ +

Corneal topography: elevation maps

Corneal topography of elevation to collect information directly related to the spatial morphology, i.e. to the relief of the corneal surface. Measuring corneal relief allows representation in elevation, with respect to a reference surface, which is most often spherical by default.

The topography of elevation is a complementary diagnostic tool to the topography specular (topography of curvature). It allows access to the study of the posterior face of the cornea and provides information on the corneal thickness (optical product, establishing a study of corneal tomography) which is deducted from the distance between the front and back surfaces. Its relatively recent generalization was favoured by the development of refractive surgery, where it is particularly useful for the planning of photoablative corneal surgery, as well as screening for contraindications to the LASIK (screening of beginner infra clinical forms of Keratoconus, as Keratoconus fruste).

Definition of rise in corneal topography

Rise in corneal topography is simply refers to the distance above or below which are points of the corneal surface toward a reference surface: the surface is 'virtual' and must be calculated. It simply serves as a 'zero level '. In this, the topography of elevation is closer to the notion of "topography", which is the study of the relief of surfaces. The pre-eminence of the topography of curvature owes to its historical precedence.

Data processed in topography of elevation are directly the spatial coordinates of the surface analyzed in a 3 dimensional space, and not that of the local curvature. The corneal surface studied includes a mesh which points have an abscissa X, ordered Y and an elevation coordinate (Z).

topography corneal elevation raw data

The topography of elevation allows to understand the relief of the elevation of the studied surface (earlier or later). The "raw" data collected by the system of analysis (Scheimpflug camera, slit scan, etc.) correspond to an absolute elevation (Z) value for each pair of (X, Y) point located in the map disc covering the analysis (typically close to 10 mm) diameter. These coordinates are represented here in projection on the axes (X, Y, Z) to a point in red. At this point, the reference surface is not yet calculated.

Corneal elevation data can theoretically be calculated from the data of curvature (technology of specular reflection, which was the first technique used in the study of corneal topography). He must perform a mathematical operation that induced a loss of precision of the study of elevation with respect to direct measurement. Acquired more directly using the digitized images of a line of light (instrument Orbscan) scan, or a camera rotating Scheimpflug (Pentacam, Galilei, TMS 5 instruments).

 

elevation orbscan corneal topography balayantes slots

Acuquisition of the raw data of the elevation by the topographer Orbscan: viewing one of the lumiineuses slots used for the acquisition of the data before and after of the cornea.

 

scheimpflug corneal topography elevation

Images corresponding to images acquired by the topographer Galilei (Ziemer). This surveyor is equipped with a double camera Scheimpflug and allows to visualize the anterior segment and calculate the topography of anterior and posterior corneal elevation.

The direct acquisition (independent of the technology by specular reflection type Placido) is more reliable that the calculation from the data of curvature, because it is not influenced by mathematical interpolation and/or smoothing of specular data, related to the calculation of integration necessary for curvature to rise. The curvature is indeed deducted from the rise, because the local radius of curvature of a surface is calculated from an operation of derivation (need to get the local slope and especially its changes; operation of second derivative).

This type of direct acquisition also provides elevation data of the posterior surface of the cornea, specular reflection techniques can analyze: indeed, the specular reflection is proportional to the difference in refractive index at the level of the reflective interface. case of the posterior surface and aqueous humor, this difference is too small to allow the study of the reflection of projected targets.

Images of the raw data collected by the detection system (camera Scheimpflug, or detection of "slots balayantes") is handled by a dedicated mathematical process (ex: triangulation) three-dimensional reconstruction of the surface of the cornea. Anterior and posterior corneal surface define corneal volume, which allows to record pachymetrique "point by point", then allowing the establishment of a Tomographic map.

Given the discrepancy between the total diameter of the cornea (millimetric scale) and the change in elevation to describe (micronique scale), the representation of the fine variations in elevation can not be made compared to a reference (SR) arbitrary horizontal as a plane surface.

As the cornea, the Earth is a body whose surface is close to the geometry of a sphere. In terrestrial topography, the average sea level is conveniently chosen as one the usual reference surface and 'zero level '. Land below the sea level and ditches - marine are then fitted with a 'negative' elevation

The representation of the corneal elevation also requires the use of a reference surface, against which the differences of elevation will be characterized. In order to highlight the small local variations, the reference surface must marry the overall profile of the measured surface. The sphere is the geometric surface chosen 'default' to represent the elevation of the cornea. It is important to understand that the Reference Surface used for the representation of the elevation of the cornea must be calculated: it corresponds to a geometric surface characterized (ex: sphere) whose points are closest to the analyzed surface.

 

topography corneal elevation calculation reference sphere

Schematic representation of the sequence leading to the elevation of the corneal surface representation. Once the gained elevation (the raised dot matrix is shown in blue), a sphere of reference is calculated (b). A color is atrribuee at each point based on its distance to the sphere of reference (c). The points "on top" of the sphere are colored in "warm" colors, and the points "at the bottom" in cool colors.

Calculation of the sphere of Reference:

Once completed the acquisition of gross elevation data (X, Y, Z coordinates), the topographer software must calculate a reference sphere (commonly called even in France: 'best - fit sphere': BFS) using an appropriate algorithm. Schematically, several spheres (of RADIUS and variable position - so-called 'floating') are 'tested' and for each, the topographer software calculates the sum of the distances to the square between each of the points of the measured corneal surface and the anticipated sphere. The chosen sphere is one for which the sum of the square of the distance from the measured corneal surface is the lowest. Raise the measured distance squared can both cancel out the influence of the (upper or lower) position of the point measured with respect to the sphere tested, and give some weight to the most distant points of the test curve. The sphere of selected reference is that which the quadratic deviation to the measured corneal surface is the lowest.

It is necessary to calculate a sphere of reference for the front of the cornea, and another sphere of reference to the posterior side of the cornea: obviously, these areas will not have the same RADIUS.

The value of the radius of the sphere of reference has no optical significance, and does not correspond directly to the value of the average keratometry of the studied surface, even if it is usually larger that the average keratometry is low. The Asphericity and the degree of toricite or irregularity of the corneal surface represented also influence the radius of the sphere of reference. When analyzed corneal surface is dominated by the toricite, the radius of the sphere of reference tends to adopt an intermediate value between the respective values of curvature of the flattest Meridian and the Meridian the camber. As a result, points along the flattest meridians will be rather located above the sphere, while those located along the curved meridians will be located below. A reason for rise in 'X' (in 'cross') is then obtained.

Rendering of the maps of elevation:

After calculation of the sphere of reference on a given diameter of analysis, elevation data are rendered by using a suitable color scale. With most of the topographical and by analogy with the land maps of elevation, the dots above the sphere (positive elevation) are represented in warm colors, from yellow and dark red, while points below the sphere (negative elevation) are represented in cold color (from blue to purple). Points located at the level of the sphere are represented in green ('zero level'). E elevation topography, an area of 'red' must be seen as 'above' the sphere of reference, not as an arched area just.

topography elevation scale microns

Principle of the color scale for elevation. The standard unit is the micron. Each color corresponds to a step, often equal to 5 micron by default.

topography corneal elevation microns 3D

: Elevation of a previous normal corneal surface representation. Disparities in elevation towards the sphere of reference (dark mesh) are represented by a different color depending on their value. The step of the scale here is 5 microns, and points in the colored light yellow areas have an elevation (distance) to the sphere between 2.5 and 7.5 microns. Variations in elevation are about 1000 times smaller than the diameter of the cornea that is measured.

Have the elevation anterior and posterior, knowing the difference between these surfaces allows a map of product, which provides a particularly comprehensive survey of changes in corneal thickness: it also defines this type of study as tomographic representation of the cornea. The color scale varies warm colors (thin corneas) to cooler colors (thick corneas). The value of the minimum thickness, its location, the existence of a thinning central or cancer are all information sought in refractive surgery, as part of the screening of Keratoconus infra clinical including.

 

map tomographic topography Orbscan corneal product

Example of map pachymetrique. The scale corresponds to the distribution of the thickness in microns. The location of the end point ('windows point') is materialized by the red dot. The figures presented on the maps correspond to local average thicknesses.

 

Alignment constraints

The different choices for alignment are the following: 'float', 'axis', 'pinned' or 'apex')Figure 11). The "float" mode, in which no constraint is applied to the sphere of reference, is the default mode for most of the topographers. The 'axis' alignment forced the geometric centre of the sphere to be aligned with that of the cornea, with the possibility to move along it. The constraint "pinned" imposes an intersection of the sphere of reference with the surface on the line of sight. The "apex" mode combines two constraints, the "pinned" mode and the "axis" mode

By default, there is no alignment to the sphere of reference constraints (the calculated sphere is said to be "floating", or even in calculated 'float' mode '). The center of the BFS is not forced to lie on the geometric axis of the cornea, and the chosen sphere is simply one that marries the best reporting corneal surface.

elevation surface constraints reference float axis apex pinned

Schematic representation of the different possible alignment constraints for the calculation of a sphere of reference. The vertical arrow marks the location of the geometric center of the cornea

 

Not spherical reference surfaces

 

It is possible to select in the menu of the software as the Orbscan topographer, the Pentacam or Galilei a NON spherical reference surface. By default, the calculation of the reference surfaces is in mode "float". It is also possible to force the geometric axis of these surfaces to align with that of the cornea (ex: axial mode with the Orbscan). The interest of non-spherical surfaces is better "stick" to the geometric reality of the cornea, and allow to split qualitatively the effect of certain characteristics of the shape of the analyzed surface.

 

More alignment constraints can be added to the calculated reference sphere, and other geometrical surfaces of references can be selected, such as Ellipsoids, the toroides or any conicoide.

asphere surface reference aconic topography elevation

: Principle of the effect of the change of reference surface. The cornea is naturally slightly aspherical and asymmetric (in addition to a variable degree of toricite), the choice of a type of reference-free (sphere) or with a surface or several of these characteristics can often be better to marry the corneal relief. In addition, the degree of asphericity and toricite of the reference surface provides an "estimate" of the corneal surface analyzed. Left, schematic representation of a corneal profile (in white) and its reference surface (green profile). On the right, an example of map of elevation or a change of reference (sphere at the top, and aconique surface at the bottom) surface was conducted. Aconic mode allows the calculated reference surface to be o-ring and apsherique. This representation allows to highlight a certain degree of vertical asymmetry in the studied relief. This map is a beginner Keratoconus affect cornea.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Topographie cornéenne : cartes d’élévation

La topographie cornéenne d’élévation permet de recueillir des informations directement relatives à  la morphologie spatiale, c’est-à-dire au relief de la surface cornéenne. La mesure du relief cornéen permet une représentation en élévation, vis à vis d’une surface de référence, qui est le plus souvent sphérique par défaut.

La topographie d’élévation est un outil diagnostique complémentaire à la topographie spéculaire (topographie de courbure). Elle permet d’accéder à l’étude de la face postérieure de la cornée et fournit des informations sur l’épaisseur cornéenne (pachymétrie optique, permettant d’établir une étude de la tomographie de la cornée) qui est déduite de la distance entre les surfaces antérieures et postérieures. Sa généralisation relativement récente a été favorisée par l’essor de la chirurgie réfractive, où elle est particulièrement utile pour la planification de la chirurgie photoablative cornéenne, ainsi que le dépistage des contre-indications au LASIK (dépistage des formes infra clinique débutante de kératocône, comme le kératocône fruste).

Définition de l’élévation en topographie cornéenne

L’élévation dans la topographie cornéenne fait simplement référence à la distance au-dessus ou en dessous à laquelle se situent les points de la surface cornéenne vis-à-vis d’une surface de référence: cette surface est « virtuelle » et doit être calculée. Elle sert simplement de « niveau zéro ». En cela, la topographie d’élévation est plus proche de la notion de « topographie », qui est l’étude du relief des surfaces. La prééminence de la topographie de courbure ne doit qu’à son antériorité historique.

Les données traitées en topographie d’élévation sont directement les coordonnées spatiales de la surface analysée dans un espace à 3 dimensions, et non celle de la courbure locale. La surface cornéenne étudiée y est assimilée à un maillage dont les points possèdent une abscisse X, une ordonnée Y et une coordonnée d’élévation (Z).

topographie cornéenne élévation raw data

La topographie d’élévation permet d’appréhender le relief de l’élévation de la surface étudiée (antérieure ou postérieure). Les données « brutes » recueillies par les sytème d’analyse (caméra Scheimpflug, balayage par fente, etc…) correspondent à une valeur d’élévation absolue (Z) pour chaque couple de point (X,Y) situés dans le disque plan couvrant le diamètre d’analyse (en général proche de 10 mm). Ces coordonnées sont représentées ici en projection sur les axes (X,Y, Z) pour un point figuré en rouge. A ce stade, la surface de référence n’est pas encore calculée.

Les données d’élévation cornéenne peuvent théoriquement être calculées à partir des données de courbure (technologie de réflexion spéculaire, qui fut la première technique utilisée pour l’étude de la topographie cornéenne). Il faut effectuer une opération mathématique qui induit une perte de précision de l’étude de l’élévation vis à vis de la mesure directe. Acquises de manière plus directe en utilisant les images numérisées du balayage d’une fente lumineuse (instrument Orbscan), ou d’une caméra rotative Scheimpflug (instruments Pentacam, Galilei, TMS 5).

 

elevation orbscan fentes balayantes topographie cornéenne

Acuquisition des données brutes de l'élévation par le topographe Orbscan : visualisation d'une des fentes lumiineuses utilisées pour l'acquisition des données antérieures et postérieures de la cornée.

 

elevation scheimpflug topographie cornéenne

Images correspondant à des images acquises par le topographe Galilei (Ziemer). Ce topographe est équipé d'une double camera Scheimpflug et permet de visualiser le segment antérieur et calculer la topographie d’élévation cornéenne antérieure et postérieure.

L’acquisition directe (indépendante de la technologie par réflexion spéculaire type Placido) est plus fiable que le calcul effectué à partir des données de courbure,car elle n’est pas influencée par l’interpolation mathématique et/ou le lissage des données spéculaires, liés au nécessaire calcul d’intégration pour passer de la courbure à l’élévation. La courbure est en effet déduite de l’élévation, car le rayon de courbure local d’une surface se calcul à partir d’une opération de dérivation (nécessité d’obtenir la pente locale et surtout ses variations; opération de dérivée seconde).

Ce type d’acquisition directe fournit également des données d’élévation de la surface postérieure de la cornée, que les techniques de réflexion spéculaire ne peuvent analyser : en effet, le reflet spéculaire est proportionnel à la différence d’indice de réfraction au niveau de l’interface réflective. n ce qui concerne la surface postérieure et l’humeur aqueuse, cette différence est trop faible pour permettre l’étude du reflet de mires projetées.

Les images des données brutes recueillies par le système de détection (camera Scheimpflug, ou détection de « fentes balayantes ») sont traitées par un procédé mathématique dédié (ex : triangulation) en vue de la reconstruction tridimensionnelle des surfaces de la cornée. Les surfaces antérieure et postérieure de la cornée délimitent le volume cornéen, ce qui permet d’établir un relevé pachymétrique « point par point », permettant alors l’établissement d’une carte tomographique.

Compte tenu de la divergence entre le diamètre total de la cornée (échelle millimétrique) et la variation de l’élévation qu’il faut décrire (échelle micronique), la représentation des variations fines de l’élévation ne peut pas être faite par rapport à une surface de référence (SR) horizontale arbitraire comme un plan.

Comme la cornée, la Terre est un corps dont la surface est proche de la géométrie d’une sphère. En topographie terrestre, le niveau moyen de la mer est commodément choisi comme celui la surface de référence habituelle et « niveau zéro ». Les terres situées sous le niveau de la mer et les fosses sous- marines sont alors pourvues d’une élévation « négative ».

La représentation de l’élévation cornéenne suppose  aussi l’utilisation d’une surface de référence, par rapport à laquelle les différences d’élévation seront caractérisées. Afin de mettre en évidence les petites variations locales, la surface de référence doit épouser le profil global de la surface mesurée. La sphère est la surface géométrique choisie « par défaut » pour représenter l’élévation de la cornée. Il est important de comprendre que la Surface de Référence utilisée pour la représentation de l’élévation de la cornée doit être calculée : elle correspond à une surface géométrique caractérisée (ex : sphère) dont les points sont les plus proches de la surface analysée.

 

topographie cornéenne elevation calcul sphère de référence

Représentation schématique de la séquence conduisant à la représentation en élévation de la surface de la cornéen. Une fois l’élévation acquise (la matrice des points recueillis est représentée en bleu), une sphère de référence est calculée (b). Une couleur est atrribuée à chaque point en fonction de sa distance à la sphère de référence (c). Les points situés "au dessus" de la sphère sont colorés en couleurs "chaudes", et les points situés "au dessous" en couleurs froides.

Calcul de la sphère de Référence :

Une fois accomplie l’acquisition des données brutes d’élévation (coordonnées X,Y,Z), le logiciel du topographe doit calculer une sphère de référence (communément appelée même en France : « best-fit sphere »: BFS) en utilisant un algorithme approprié. Schématiquement, plusieurs sphères (de rayon et position variable – mode dit « flottant » ) sont « testées » et pour chacune, le logiciel du topographe calcule la somme des distances élevées au carré entre chacun des points de la surface cornéenne mesurée et la sphère pressentie. La sphère retenue est  celle pour laquelle la somme du carré des distances avec la surface cornéenne mesurée est la plus faible. Élever au carré la distance mesurée permet à la fois d’annuler l’influence de la position (supérieure ou inférieure) du point mesuré par rapport à la sphère testée, et de donner un certain poids aux points les plus distants de la courbe testée. La sphère de référence retenue est ainsi celle dont l’écart quadratique à la surface cornéenne mesurée est la plus faible.

Il faut calculer une sphère de référence pour la face antérieure de la cornée, et une autre sphère de référence pour la face postérieure de la cornée: bien évidemment, ces sphères n’auront pas le même rayon.

La valeur du rayon de la sphère de référence n’a pas de signification optique particulière, et ne correspond pas directement à la valeur de la kératométrie moyenne de la surface étudiée, même s’il est en général d’autant plus grand que la kératométrie moyenne est basse. L’asphéricité et le degré de toricité ou d’irrégularité de la surface cornéenne représentée influent également sur le rayon de la sphère de référence. Quand la surface cornéenne analysée est dominée par la toricité, le rayon de la sphère de référence tend à adopter une valeur intermédiaire entre les valeurs respectives de courbure du méridien le plus plat et du méridien le plus cambré. De ce fait, les points situés le long des méridiens les plus plats seront plutôt situé au dessus de la sphère, alors que ceux situés le long des méridiens les plus cambrés seront situés au dessous. Un motif d’élévation en « X » (en « croix ») est alors obtenu.

Rendu des cartes d’élévation :

Après calcul de la sphère de référence sur un diamètre d’analyse donné, les données d’élévation sont rendues en utilisant une échelle de couleurs appropriée. Avec la plupart des topographes et par analogie avec les cartes terrestres d’élévation, les points au-dessus de la sphère (élévation positive) sont représentés en couleurs chaudes, allant du jaune et rouge foncé, tandis que les points situés au-dessous de la sphère (élévation négative) sont représentés en couleurs froides (du bleu ciel au violet). Les points situés au niveau de la sphère sont représentés en vert (« niveau zéro »). E topographie d’élévation, une zone « rouge » doit simplement être perçue comme « au dessus » de la sphère de référence, non comme une zone cambrée.

topographie élévation échelle microns

Principe de l’échelle colorimétrique pour l’élévation. L’unité habituelle est le micron. Chaque couleur correspond à un pas, le plus souvent égal à 5 microns par défaut.

topographie cornéenne elevation microns 3D

: Représentation en élévation d’une surface antérieure de cornée normale. Les disparités d’élévation vis-à-vis de la sphère de référence (maillage sombre) sont représentées par une couleur différente en fonction de leur valeur. Le pas de l’échelle est ici de 5 microns, et les points situés dans les zones colorées en jaune clair ont une élévation (distance) à la sphère comprise entre 2.5 et 7.5 microns. Les variations de l’élévation sont environ 1000 fois plus petites que le diamètre de la cornée mesurée.

Disposer de l’élévation antérieure et postérieure, tout en connaissant l’écart entre ces surfaces permet de réaliser une carte de pachymétrie, qui fournit un relevé particulièrement exhaustif des variations de l’épaisseur cornéenne: on définit également ce type d’étude comme la représentation tomographique de la cornée. L’échelle de couleur varie des couleurs chaudes (cornées fines) aux couleurs plus froides (cornées épaisse) . La valeur de l’épaisseur minimale, sa localisation, l’existence d’un amincissement central ou paracentral sont autant d’informations recherchées en chirurgie réfractive, dans le cadre du dépistage du kératocône infra clinique notamment.

 

carte tomographique topographie cornéenne pachymétrie Orbscan

Exemple de carte pachymétrique. L’échelle correspond à la distribution de l’épaisseur en microns. L’emplacement du point le plus fin (« thinnest point ») est matérialisé par le point rouge. Les chiffres présentés sur la cartes correspondent à des épaisseurs moyennes locales.

 

Contraintes d’alignement

Les différents choix possibles pour l’alignement sont les suivants : « float », « axis », « pinned » ou « apex » (Figure 11). Le mode « float », dans lequel aucune contrainte n’est appliquée à la sphère de référence, est le mode par défaut de la plupart des topographes. L’alignement « axis » contraint le centre géométrique de la sphère à être aligné avec celui de la cornée, avec possibilité de se déplacer le long de celui-ci. La contrainte « pinned » impose une intersection de la sphère de référence et de la surface sur l’axe de visée. Le mode « apex » combine les deux contraintes, celle du mode « pinned » et celle du mode « axis ».

Par défaut, il n’y a pas de contraintes d’alignement pour la sphère de référence (la sphère calculée est dite« flottante », ou encore en calculée en mode « float »‘). Le centre de la BFS n’est pas contraint de se situer sur l’axe géométrique de la cornée, et la sphère choisie correspond simplement à celle qui épouse le mieux la surface cornéenne considérée.

elevation surface reference contraintes float axis apex pinned

Représentation schématique des différentes contraintes d’alignement possibles pour le calcul d’une sphère de référence. La flèche verticale marque l’emplacement du centre géométrique de la cornée

 

Surfaces de références non sphériques

 

Il est possible de sélectionner dans le menu du logiciel de topographe comme l’Orbscan, le Pentacam ou le Galilei une surface de référence NON sphérique. Par défaut, le calcul des surfaces de référence est effectué en mode « float ». Il est également possible de contraindre l’axe géométrique de ces surfaces à s’aligner sur celui de la cornée (ex : mode axial avec l’ Orbscan). L’intérêt des surfaces non sphériques est de mieux « coller » à la réalité géométrique de la cornée, et de permettre de scinder qualitativement l’effet de certaines caractéristiques de la forme de la surface analysée.

 

En plus des contraintes d’alignement peuvent être ajoutées à la sphère de référence calculée, et d’autres surfaces géométriques de références peuvent être choisies, telles que des ellipsoïdes, des toroïdes ou tout conicoïde.

asphere surface de reference aconic topographie élévation

: Principe de l’effet du changement de surface de référence. La cornée étant naturellement légèrement asphérique et asymétrique (en plus de présenter un degré variable de toricité), le choix d’un type de surface de référence exempt (sphère) ou muni d’une ou plusieurs de ces caractéristiques permet souvent de mieux épouser le relief cornéen. De plus, le degré d’asphéricité et de toricité de la surface de référence fournit une « estimation » de celui de la surface cornéenne analysée. A gauche, représentation schématique d’un profil cornéen (en blanc) et sa surface de référence (profil vert). A droite, un exemple de carte d’élévation ou un changement de surface de référence (sphère en haut, et surface aconique en bas) a été effectué. Le mode aconic permet à la surface de référence calculée d’être torique et apshérique. Cette représentation permet de souligner un certain degré d’asymétrie verticale dans le relief étudié. Cette carte correspond à une cornée atteinte de kératocône débutant.

 

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *