+ +

Principles of the eye laser operations

Myopia, astigmatism, hyperopia and presbyopia, they are corrected by lenses or eyeglasses, can now be the subject of a long-lasting correction by laser. The laser eye operations to correct Visual defects such as myopia (refractive surgery) are, with the cataract surgery, surgical techniques the most practiced in the industrialized world, and this across all surgical specialties. Better vision without glasses is now within the reach of many patients, but it is important to surround yourself with the best conditions, in particular a preoperative assessment of quality, and ensure that the material used (laser) is in line with the latest technological advances.

Correction of ametropia by refractive surgery

Laser operations

Excimer laser operations constitute the vast majority of refractive surgery. Excimer laser refractive surgery allows to correct an optical flaw by playing on the optical power of the cornea: this laser can sculpt the corneal profile in order to increase or reduce the optical power. The main variants of laser interventions have similarities and differences.

All laser procedures are performed under local anesthesia, by single instillation of eyedrops. A light tranquilizer is possible. Both eyes are made the same day in the vast majority of the case, in a painless way. Recovery is early and the postoperative are simple, lasting only a few days for the slower techniques.

The main variants of laser operations are

-the LASIKwhere the corneal reshaping is performed in depth, after a superficial flap femtosecond laser cutting.

-the PKRwhere the corneal reshaping is made on the surface, after simple removal of superficial corneal epithelium.

-the Smile is a technique of using femtosecond laser for cutting "block" a lenticule of corneal tissue in the depth of the cornea and then remove it manually through an incision.

Operations by implant

When myopia or hyperopia are very important and cannot be the subject of a correction laser on the cornea, some constituent to add techniques a intraocular implant may be considered.

Similarly, when there is a cataract, the cataract surgerywhich includes the extraction of the clouded lens and its replacement with an implant of power and features, allows the patient to do without glasses after surgery, either from a distance or close)monofocal implant) is by far and near)Multifocal implants). Them implants-rings allow to correct the corneal astigmatism (they can be o-rings o-rings or monofocal multifocal according to the desired optical correction).

The calculation of the power of the implant is performed before the operation (biometrics): it assumes certain measures such as keratometry (corneal optical power measure), the measure of the axial length of the eye, and the use of a calculation formula power implant adapted.

* The refractive visual defects or "possible" are related to :

-excessive refractive power of the eye (myopia): the plan of the sharp image is in front of the retina

-a failure of refractive power of the eye (hyperopia): the plan of the sharp image is behind the retina

-a variation of the refractive power of the eye based on the meridians (astigmatism)

-a lack of accommodation to see net objects close together (presbyopia).

Refractive surgery has for principles of correct the eye by reducing its excess of optical power (myopia) or, on the contrary, by increasing its optical power (hyperopia). Astigmatism correction is based on the regularization of the optical power of the different meridians. Compensation of presbyopia is intended to allow the eye to see net infinity (far) at a close distance (reading).

 

Action Sites affected by refractive surgery

The main sites of action of refractive surgery are:

-the cornea (excimer laser surgery- LASIK or PKR(, relaxing incisions, Smile). The use of the laser to change the optical power of the cornea changing its shape (remodeling by sculpture laser). On this site you will find a detailed information on the characteristics of ablation profiles for the correction of these optical defects by the excimer laser.

-the lens of the eye (cataract surgery)

-more rarely the rooms before and after the eye (by insertion of an implant surgery called "implant phakic", without removal of the lens).

The replacement of the lens with a suitable power implant allows to correct a defect optical pre existing as myopia, hyperopia, or astigmatism (implants-rings). The replacement of the lens is indicated when it loses its transparency (cataract), or for very strong ametropia correction. The cataract surgery has a refractive dimension, and can also be coupled with the laser surgery to perfect a refractive outcome.

 

Indications of Refractive Surgery

Refractive surgery includes surgical operations of Visual defects of vision (optical) refractive origin. These defects are called ametropia. She uses different principles which some are detailed in dedicated pages.

The choice of technique depends on various parameters such as the importance of the visual defect to be corrected. The best surgeon will not get a good result if the indication is not well placed, and the eye to operate presents a counter-indication to the technique envisaged.

A lot of information about the different operating techniques and their respective indications are available on this site.

6 answers to "Principles of laser eye surgery"

  1. Ben says:

    I'm a 34 year old woman I'm wearing cosmetic lenses for years .and I am interested in the idea of changing the color of my eyes in blue grey essentially a light color.

    has this effect I took you to send me in detail if it is possible the conduct of the operation risk and the cost.
    Waiting for your answer I beg you to accept my sincere

  2. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    Repeat that despite some ads and what you can find on some sites, there is no proven and no dangerous method to change the color of the eyes. The artificial iris implant face serious complications (endothelial decompensation of the cornea, acute glaucoma, chronic inflammation, etc.). Thus, it is strongly discouraged to engage in this type of procedure, whose esthetic results can be certainly spectacular... as well as ocular complications they can generate.

  3. Laussu says:

    Hello
    Is it risky to make a laser correction on light blue eyes?
    Thank you for your answer

  4. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    There is no particular risk related to eye colour for refractive surgery procedures such as LASIK, PKR, SMIle etc.

  5. verba says:

    Hello

    I am hyperopic and astigmatic

    od 4.25 (0.50) 180° og 4.5 (1) 165° am I operable?

  6. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    A priori, subject to a favourable balance sheet, this degree of hyperopia can be operated in LASIK.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Principes des opérations des yeux au laser

Myopie, astigmatisme, hypermétropie et presbytie, qu’ils soient corrigés par des lentilles ou des lunettes, peuvent aujourd’hui faire l’objet d’une correction pérenne par laser. Les opérations des yeux au laser destinées à corriger les défauts visuels comme la myopie (chirurgie réfractive) sont, avec la chirurgie de la cataracte, les techniques chirurgicales les plus pratiquées dans le monde industrialisé, et ce toutes spécialités chirurgicales confondues ! Mieux voir sans lunettes est aujourd’hui à la portée de nombreux patients, mais il est important de s’entourer des meilleures conditions, en particulier effectuer un bilan préopératoire de qualité, et s’assurer que le matériel utilisé (laser) est conforme au dernières avancées technologiques.

Correction des amétropies par chirurgie réfractive

Opérations au laser

Les opérations au laser excimer constituent la très grande majorité des interventions de chirurgie réfractive. La chirurgie réfractive au laser excimer permet de corriger un défaut optique en jouant sur la puissance optique de la cornée : ce laser permet de sculpter le profil cornéen afin d’en accroître ou réduire la puissance optique. Les principales variantes des interventions au laser possèdent des points communs et des différences.

Toutes les interventions au laser sont effectuées sous anesthésie locale, par simple instillation de collyres. La prise d’un tranquillisant léger  est possible. Les deux yeux sont opérés le même jour dans la grande majorité des cas, de manière indolore. La récupération est précoce et les suites opératoires sont simples, ne durant que quelques jours pour les techniques les moins rapides.

Les principales variantes des opérations au laser sont

– le LASIK, où le remodelage cornéen est effectué en profondeur, après découpe d’un capot superficiel au laser femtoseconde.

-la PKR, où le remodelage cornéen est effectué en surface, après simple retrait de l’épithélium cornéen superficiel.

– le Smile est une technique qui consiste à utiliser le laser femtoseconde pour découper « en bloc » un lenticule de tissu cornéen dans la profondeur de la cornée et le retirer ensuite de façon manuelle au travers d’une incision.

Opérations par pose d’implants

Quand la myopie ou l’hypermétropie sont très importantes et ne peuvent faire l’objet d’une correction au laser sur la cornée, certaines techniques constituant à ajouter un implant intra-oculaire peuvent être envisagées.

De même, quand il existe une cataracte, la chirurgie de la cataracte, qui comporte l’extraction du cristallin opacifié et son remplacement par un implant de puissance et caractéristiques adaptées, permet au patient de se passer de lunettes après l’intervention, soit de loin ou de près (implants monofocaux) soit de loin et de près (implants multifocaux). Les implants toriques permettent de corriger l’astigmatisme cornéen (ils peuvent être toriques monofocaux ou toriques multifocaux selon la correction optique souhaitée).

Le calcul de la puissance de l’implant est effectué avant l’opération (biométrie) : il suppose certaines mesures comme la kératométrie (mesure de la puissance optique cornéenne), la mesure de la longueur axiale de l’oeil, et l’utilisation d’une formule de calcul de puissance d’implant adaptée.

* Les défauts visuels réfractifs ou « amétropies » sont liées à :

-un excès de puissance réfractive de l’oeil (myopie) : le plan de l’image nette est en avant de la rétine

– un défaut de puissance réfractive de l’oeil (hypermétropie) : le plan de l’image nette est en arrière de la rétine

– une variation de la puissance réfractive de l’oeil en fonction des méridiens (astigmatisme)

– une insuffisance d’accommodation pour voir net des objets rapprochés (presbytie).

La chirurgie réfractive a pour principes de corriger l’œil en réduisant son excès de puissance optique (myopie), ou au contraire en augmentant sa puissance optique (hypermétropie). La correction de l’astigmatisme repose sur la régularisation de la puissance optique des différents méridiens. La compensation de la presbytie vise à permettre à l’oeil de voir net de l’infini (loin) à une distance rapprochée (lecture).

* Sites d’action concernés par la chirurgie réfractive

Les sites d’action principaux de la chirurgie réfractive sont ainsi :

– la cornée (chirurgie au laser excimer – LASIK ou PKR, incisions relaxantes, Smile). L’utilisation du laser permet de modifier le pouvoir optique de la cornée en modifiant sa forme (remodelage par sculpture laser). Vous trouverez sur ce site des informations détaillées sur les caractéristiques des profils d’ablation pour la correction de ces défauts optiques par le laser excimer.

– le cristallin (chirurgie de la cataracte),

– plus rarement les chambres antérieures et postérieures de l’oeil (chirurgie par insertion d’un implant appelé « implant phake », sans retrait du cristallin).

 

Le remplacement du cristallin par un implant de puissance adaptée permet de corriger un défaut optique pré existant comme la myopie, l’hypermétropie, ou l’astigmatisme (implants toriques). Le remplacement du cristallin est indiqué quand celui-ci perd sa transparence (cataracte), ou pour la correction de très fortes amétropies. La chirurgie de la cataracte possède ainsi une dimension réfractive, et peut aussi être couplée à la chirurgie au laser pour parfaire un résultat réfractif.

* Indications de la chirurgie réfractive

Le choix de la technique est fonction de divers paramètres comme l’importance du défaut visuel à corriger. Le meilleur chirurgien n’obtiendra pas un bon résultat si l’indication n’est pas bien posée, et que l’oeil à opérer présente une contre indication à la technique envisagée. De nombreuses informations relatives aux différentes techniques opératoires ainsi que leurs indications respectives sont disponibles sur ce site.

 

La chirurgie réfractive regroupe les opérations chirurgicales des défauts visuels d’origine réfractive (optique) de la vision. Ces défauts sont appelés amétropies. Elle utilise différents principes dont certains sont détaillés dans des pages dédiées.

2 réponses à “Principes des opérations des yeux au laser”

  1. betroune dit :

    je suis une femme de 34 ans je porte des lentilles esthétiques depuis des années .et je suis intéressée par l’idée de changer la couleur de mes yeux en gris bleu l’essentiel une couleur claire .

    a cet effet je vous pris de me communiquer en détail si c’est possible le déroulement de l’opération les risques et le cout.
    en attente de votre réponse je vous prie d’accepter mes sincères

  2. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Répétons que malgré certaines annonces et ce que l’on peut trouver sur certains sites, il n’existe pas de méthode éprouvée et non dangereuse pour changer la couleur des yeux. Les implants d’iris artificiel exposent à de graves complications (décompensation endothéliale de la cornée, glaucome aigu, inflammation chronique etc.). Il est ainsi fortement déconseillé de se lancer dans ce type de procédure, dont les résultats esthétiques peuvent s’avérer certes spectaculaires… tout comme les complications oculaires qu’elles peuvent engendrer.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *