+ +

OPD and Keratoconus

These cards OPD SCAN 3 have been identified in a patient of 30 years reached bilateral Keratoconus. The patient was rubbing the eyes since adolescence (responsible for Atopic field of eye pruritus chronic: the) eye rubbing enough to cause marked, corneal deformation that is labeled "Keratoconus"). Visual acuity corrected in glasses was 10/10: the patient reported the impression of a double vision, and the impression that vision "dropped" to the night, with night-time halos.

Keratoconus OPD SCAN 3 Overview

The "Overview" map is an overview of the analyzed eye. It allows to enjoy the refraction (correction glasses) measured by the instrument (red box), the degree ofastigmatism irregular (blue box), the corneal Asphericity (green box), and the distribution of astigmatism (total, corneal, internal) (orange box). Colors cards are from left to right: map OPD (refraction in the pupil), the axial topographic map, and the map internal OPD (effect on the refraction of the internal components: front posterior cornea and crystalline)

The optical aberrations of high degree are high in the presence of a Keratoconus. They result essentially from the deformation of the anterior corneal surface (negative aspherisation, asymmetry, paracentrale hypercambrure). The back is also a concomitant deformation. However, the negative sign of the difference in index between aqueous and corneal stroma assigns a role of compensation to the effects induced by the front (note the opposite aspect of phase shift type aberrations-dominated coma of the wave front internally, with respect to the corneal Wavefront). Adaptation of a rigid lens sometimes unmasks the internal quota of aberrations of high degree.

aberrations Keratoconus

Calculation of aberrations optical total (left), corneal (in the middle), and internal (right). Under each colorful map (wave front limited to aberrations of higher degree), there is the list of the optical aberrations grouped into major categories. In the box to the right of the wave front maps is plotted the Point Spread Function (PSF, the point spread function)

It is possible to display the values of the RMS of each optical aberration (represented by a = Zernike polynomial term). Note the elevation of the aberrations of type coma, trefoilClassic in the case of the extent of an affected eye of Keratoconus.

keratoconus HOA Zernike

Decomposition of the total, internal and corneal Wavefront (Zernike polynomials). The analyzed diameter is 5.65 mm.

The retinal image quality can be calculated from these data aberrometriques. The image of a point source on the retina (Point Spread Function) allows the reduction of the stigma. The convolution of the PSF with a reference image provides a representation of the image projected on the retina by the eye dioptres. It allows to objectify the existence of a reduction in the contrast of images, duplication, etc. These demonstrations are common in case of Keratoconus. The MTF is a curve that explores the contrast of the retinal image reduction, it is represented for different pupillary diameter: in case dilation pupillary, optical aberrations rate increases and decreases the contrast.

Keratoconus quality optical MTF convolution

Evalution of optical quality and the retinal image (contrast, sharpness)

This card can be recalculated to show the effect of the only aberrations of high degree; It is the optical quality of the eye once nearsightedness and astigmatism corrected at best (with the best possible glasses). "" Even if there is logically a significant improvement of the optical quality of the studied eye, the effect of the "irregular astigmatism ' remains (aberrations of high degree), and must be reconciled with the Visual complaints of the patient (a split and less contrasted vision feeling).

Keratoconus optical quality HOA MTF

The optical quality of the eye for the high degree only aberrations (HOA)

In particular, the study of these symptoms can be performed by a convolution operation: it comes to calculate the effect of aberrations of high degree on the vision of the patient, in "convoluant" the reference with the PSF image, she even calculated from the aberrations of high degree.

keratoconus HOA convolution acuity

It is interesting to compare the reference (optically perfect eye) with the convoluee (right) image image. Note the reduction in contrast, and the fact that the image "bleed" way slash. These are the type coma aberrations, including orientation wife this "distortion" of the image (the inversion of the retinal image close). However, it is possible to recognize the letters, at least until the line corresponding to the acuteness of 10/10. Contrast reduction does not exclude the possibility of the pattern recognition, which is facilitated by cognitive factors (pattern recognition which we know priori characteristics)

Representation of the star of Siemens ("Siemens star") allows to study the effect of the aberrations of optical high spatial frequencies, in terms of contrast but also of 'phase' more independently (gap between black and white areas adjacent). Nearsightedness and astigmatism induce inversions of phase more marked on some spatial frequencies, which makes the picture particularly blurred. This is a "reference" image of a Siemens star:

Siemens star star

Siemens Star in the absence of optical aberrations.  Closer to the Center, and more frequencies correspond to patterns "purposes", so a higher resolving power (until 20/20 or 10/10). In case of aberrations, this representation shows the effect of optical aberrations on the contrast (mitigation) and phase (move) the spatial frequencies, based on value and orientation

For the affected eye of Keratoconus, we noted that there (in the absence of any lens correction) some spectrum that can be identified, according to an oblique axis: this axis is the result of the interaction between type coma aberration and astigmatism:

Keratoconus siemens star total aberrations

This map reveals the optical aberrations to induce greater interference of the spatial frequencies located on an axis in line with the type coma aberrations.

Here, 'Siemens Star' map is recalculated for only aberrations of high degree. It reveals the predominance of an overall reduction of contrast, and the absence of phase inversion.

Keratoconus siemens star HOA

The Siemens Star pattern for the only aberrations of high level reveals the marked reduction in the contrast of the retinal image, even if it is possible to discern these frequencies up to the equivalent to 10/10 resolution (i.e. Visual acuity which was measured with a correction in glasses).

3 Responses to "Aberrometry and Keratoconus"

  1. Dr. derhy says:

    beautiful very useful work and is not too simple understanding SEO

  2. Martin says:

    Hello, a patient with kératocone with 12/10 weak to both eyes with soft lenses, but clinical aberrations, can he find a profit with rigid lenses? Thank you.

  3. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    The rigid lenses are able to suppress certain aberrations related to keratoconus, as they compensate for the distortion of the cornea (the soft lenses "absorb" less this type of deformation).

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Aberrométrie et kératocône

Ces cartes OPD SCAN 3 ont été relevées chez un patient de 30 ans atteint de kératocône bilatéral. Le patient se frottait les yeux depuis l’adolescence (terrain atopique responsable d’un prurit oculaire chronique: les frottements oculaires suffisent à provoquer une déformation cornéenne marquée, qui est étiquetée « kératocône »). L’acuité visuelle corrigée en lunettes était de 10/10: le patient signalait l’impression d’une vision dédoublée, et l’impression que la vision « chutait » à la tombée de la nuit, avec des halos nocturnes.

Keratocone OPD SCAN 3 Overview

La carte « Overview » est une vue d’ensemble de l’oeil analysé. Elle permet d’apprécier la réfraction (correction lunettes) mesurée par l’instrument (encadré rouge), le degré d’astigmatisme irrégulier (encadré bleu), l’asphéricité cornéenne (encadré vert), et la répartition de l’astigmatisme (total, cornéen, interne) (encadré orange). Les cartes couleurs sont de gauche à droite : la carte OPD (réfraction dans la pupille), la carte topographique axiale, et la carte OPD interne (effet sur la réfraction des composants internes: face postérieure de la cornée, et cristallin)

Les aberrations optiques de haut degré sont élevées en présence d’un kératocône. Elles résultent essentiellement de la déformation de la surface cornéenne antérieure (asphérisation négative, asymétrie, hypercambrure paracentrale). La face postérieure subit également une déformation concomitante.Toutefois, le signe négatif de la différence d’indice entre stroma cornéen et humeur aqueuse attribue un rôle de compensation aux effets induits par la face antérieure (noter l’aspect opposé du déphasage dominé par les aberrations de type coma au niveau du front d’onde interne, vis à vis du front d’onde cornéen). L’adaptation d’une lentille rigide démasque parfois ce contingent interne d’aberrations de haut degré.

aberrations kératocone

Calcul des aberrations optiques totales (à gauche), cornéennes (au milieu), et internes (à droite). Sous chaque carte colorée (front d’onde limité aux aberrations de haut degré), figure un relevé des aberrations optiques regroupées en catégories principales. En encadré à droite des cartes de front d’onde figure la Point Spread Function (PSF, fonction d’étalement du point)

Il est possible d’afficher les valeurs RMS de chaque aberration optique (représentée par un terme = polynôme de Zernike). Noter l’élévation des aberrations de type coma, trefoil, classique dans le cas de la mesure d’un oeil atteint de kératocône.

keratocone HOA Zernike

Décomposition du front d’onde total, cornéen et interne (polynomes de Zernike). Le diamètre analysé est de 5.65 mm.

La qualité de l’image rétinienne peut être calculée à partir de ces données aberrométriques. L’image d’un point source sur la rétine (Point Spread Function) permet d’étudier la réduction du stigmatisme. La convolution de la PSF avec une image de référence fournit une représentation de l’image projetée sur la rétine par les dioptres oculaires. Elle permet d’objectiver l’existence d’une réduction du contraste des images, d’un dédoublement de celles-ci, etc. Ces manifestations sont fréquentes en cas de kératocône. La MTF est une courbe qui explore la réduction du contraste de l’image rétinienne, elle est représentée pour différents diamètres pupillaires: en cas de dilatation pupillaire, le taux des aberrations optique augmente et le contraste diminue.

Keratocone qualite optique convolution MTF

Evalutation de la qualité optique et de l’image rétinienne (contrastes, acuité)

Cette carte peut être recalculée pour montrer l’effet des seules aberrations de haut degré; il s’agit d’évaluer la qualité optique de l’oeil une fois la myopie et l’astigmatisme corrigés au mieux (avec les meilleures lunettes possibles). Même si l’on observe logiquement une amélioration notable de la qualité optique de l’oeil étudié, l’effet de l' »astigmatisme irrégulier  » (aberrations de haut degré) demeure, et doit être rapproché des plaintes visuelles du patient (sensation d’une vision dédoublée et moins contrastée).

Keratocone qualite optique HOA MTF

Relevé de la qualité optique de l’œil pour les aberrations de haut degré seules (HOA)

En particulier, l’étude de ces symptômes peut être effectuée par une opération de convolution: il s’agit de calculer l’effet des aberrations de haut degré sur la vision du patient, en « convoluant » l’image de référence avec la PSF, elle même calculée à partir des aberrations de haut degré.

keratocone HOA convolution acuité

Il est intéressant de comparer à l’image de référence (oeil optiquement parfait) avec l’image convoluée (à droite). Noter la réduction du contraste, et le fait que l’image « bave » de manière oblique. Ce sont les aberrations de type coma, dont l’orientation épouse cette « déformation » de l’image (à l’inversion de l’image rétinienne près). Il est possible toutefois de reconnaître les lettres, au moins jusqu’à la ligne correspondant à l’acuité de 10/10. La réduction du contraste n’exclut pas la possibilité de reconnaissance des motifs, qui est facilitée par des facteurs cognitifs (reconnaissance de motifs dont on connait a priori les caractéristiques)

La représentation de l’étoile de Siemens (« Siemens star ») permet d’étudier de manière plus indépendante l’effet des aberrations optiques de haut degré sur les fréquences spatiales, en terme de contraste mais aussi de « phase » (décalage entre les secteurs noirs et blancs adjacents). La myopie et l’astigmatisme induisent des inversions de phase plus marqués sur certaines fréquences spatiales, ce qui rend l’image particulièrement brouillée. Voici une image « de référence » d’une Siemens star :

siemens star etoile

Siemens Star en l’absence d’aberrations optiques.  Plus on se rapproche du centre, et plus les fréquences correspondent à des motifs « fins », donc à un pouvoir de résolution plus élevé (jusquà 20/20 soit 10/10). En cas d’aberrations, cette représentation montre l’effet des aberrations optiques sur le contraste (atténuation) et la phase (déplacement) des fréquences spatiales, en fonction de valeur et de leur orientation

Pour l’œil atteint de kératocône, on note qu’il existe (en l’absence de toute correction optique) certaines fréquences susceptibles d’être identifiées, selon un axe oblique: cet axe résulte de l’interaction entre l’astigmatisme et l’aberration de type coma:

Keratocone siemens star aberrations totales

Cette carte révèle que les aberrations optiques induisent un brouillage plus important des fréquences spatiales situées sur un axe conforme à celui des aberrations de type coma.

La carte « Siemens Star » est ici recalculée pour les seules aberrations de haut degré. Elle révèle la prédominance d’une réduction globale du contraste, et l’absence d’inversion de phase.

Keratocone siemens star HOA

Le motif Siemens Star pour les seules aberrations de haut degré révèle la réduction marquée du contraste de l’image rétinienne, même s’il est possible de discerner ces fréquences jusqu’à la résolution équivalente à 10/10 (soit l’acuité visuelle qui était mesurée avec une correction en lunettes).

Une réponse à “Aberrométrie et kératocône”

  1. dr derhy dit :

    beau travail très utile et sert de référencement de compréhension de notions pas trop simples

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *