+ +

Spatial density of retinal photoreceptors

This page is dedicated to the study of simplified distribution of the retinal photoreceptors, which are of two types in the human retina. the rods and cones. These cells contain the Visual pigment in their external articles (the deeper layer of the retina). The cones are the cells that allow the perception of the details, and who are sensitive to colors (there are 3 types of cones, which are more or less sensitive to various wavelength with a peak of sensitivity near 555 nm): they require a sufficient amount of light to "work." The cones are the cells that determine the level of the' eyesight and of the resolving power of the eye.

The sticks are very sensitive to light, but their density and their connections with other retinal cells (several sticks for a bipolar cell) do not allow them to discern fine details of an image.

Curcio et al. (The journal of comparative neurology - 1990) measured the density space of photoreceptors (rods and cones) on retinas of 7 human eyes taken post-mortem, and analyzed in histological way.

Cones

The human retina contains 4.6 million cones on average, (4.08 - 5.29 million). The peak density of cones in the fovea is 199000 cones by mm2: this figure is an average that masks a significant inter individual variability. In this study, the extreme densities were 100000 cones to 324000 cones per mm2.  This maximum density can be measured on a surface which the angular extension can reach 0.032 deg2 (about 0.2 degree of Visual field, or 12 minutes of arc 0.0025 mm2 surface foveolaire). However, at 1 mm of this peak, the density is cones is ten times less. The size of the outer segment of the cones varies between the central region (1.6 to 2.2 microns) and the periphery macular (4 microns and more).

The overall density of the cones is more important in the nasal retina than the temporal retina. However, the number of cones seems relatively constant from one eye to the other: their spatial distribution is however quite variable between subjects. The fovea is devoid of sticks on a diameter of 600 microns. Beyond sticks appear progressively and their density becomes equal to that of the cones at a distance of 400 to 500 microns to the center of the fovea. The cones have a diameter of about 4 microns and are one of the sticks is close to 2 microns.

At the center of the fovea, the cones have a more often hexagonal perimeter: they form a joined structure in honeycomb. It has been mathematically demonstrated in 1999 that this kind of arrangement is optimal: it promotes a "paving" of maximum density, by minimizing the perimeter of the contiguous 'cells'. Bees use this type of motive for the realization of the inserts of the booty, the hexagonal arrangement allows them to minimize the wax used for the creation of the alveoli.

Sticks

The retina contains on average 92 million sticks (77.9 to 107.3 million). The fovea is devoid of sticks on a horizontal diameter of approximately 0.350 mm (either 1.25 degree of Visual field). The density of the sticks is maximum along an elliptic perimeter area at the same distance as the optic nerve of the fovea.  The density of sticks seems maximum within the superior retina.

 

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Densité spatiale des photorécepteurs rétiniens

Cette page est consacrée à l’étude simplifiée de la répartition des photorécepteurs rétiniens  qui sont de deux types dans la rétine humaine; les cônes et les bâtonnets. Ces cellules contiennent le pigment visuel dans leurs articles externes (couche la plus profonde de la rétine). Les cônes sont les cellules qui permettent la perception des détails, et qui sont sensibles aux couleurs (on distingue 3 types de cônes, qui sont plus ou moins sensibles à diverses longueur d’onde avec un pic de sensibilité proche de 555 nm) : ils nécessitent une quantité suffisante de lumière pour « fonctionner ». Les cônes sont les cellules qui conditionnent le niveau de l‘acuité visuelle et du pouvoir séparateur de l’oeil.

Les bâtonnets sont très sensibles à la lumière, mais leur densité et leurs connexions avec les autres cellules rétiniennes (plusieurs bâtonnets pour une cellule bipolaire) ne leur permettent pas de discerner les détails fins d’une image.

Curcio et coll. (The journal of comparative neurology – 1990) ont mesuré la densité spatiale des photorécepteurs (cones et batonnets) sur des rétines de 7 yeux humains prélevés post mortem et analysées de manière histologique.

Cônes

La rétine humaine contient 4.6 millions de cônes en moyenne, (4.08-5.29 millions ). Le pic de densité de cônes de la fovéa est de 199000 cônes par mm2: ce chiffre est une moyenne qui masque une importante variabilité inter individuelle. Dans cette étude, les densités extrêmes étaient de 100000 cônes à 324000 cônes par mm2.  Cette densité maximale peut être mesurée sur une surface  dont l’extension angulaire peut atteindre 0.032 deg2 (environ 0.2 degré de champ visuel, soit 12 minutes d’arc ou 0.0025 mm2 de surface fovéolaire). Toutefois, à 1 mm de ce pic, la densité est cônes est dix fois moindre. La taille du segment externe des cônes varie entre la région centrale (1.6 à 2.2 microns) et la périphérie maculaire (4 microns et plus).

La densité globale des cônes est plus importante dans la rétine nasale que la rétine temporale. Toutefois, le nombre de cônes semble relativement constant d’un œil à l’autre : leur répartition spatiale est en revanche assez variable entre les sujets. La fovéa est dépourvue de bâtonnets sur un diamètre de 600 microns. Au-delà les batonnets apparaissent de manière progressive et leur densité devient égale à celle des cônes à une distance de 400 à 500 microns du centre de la fovéa. Les cônes ont un diamètre d’environ 4 microns et sont alors que celui des bâtonnets est proche de 2 microns.

Au centre de la fovéa, les cônes ont un périmètre le plus souvent hexagonal: ils forment une structure jointive en nid d’abeille. Il a été mathématiquement démontré en 1999 que ce type de disposition est optimal: il favorise un « pavage » de densité maximale, en minimisant le périmètre des « cellules »jointives. Les abeilles utilisent ce type de motif pour la réalisation des alvéoles de la ruche, cet arrangement hexagonal leur permet de minimiser la cire utilisée pour la création des alvéoles.

Bâtonnets

La rétine contient en moyenne 92 millions de bâtonnets (77.9 à 107.3 millions). La fovéa est dépourvue de bâtonnets sur un diamètre horizontal d’environ 0.350 mm (soit 1.25 degré de champ visuel). La densité des bâtonnets est maximale le long d’une zone de périmètre elliptique située à la même distance que le nerf optique de la fovéa.  La densité de bâtonnets semble maximale au sein de la rétine supérieure.

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *