+ +

OPD: Implant Center

The aberrometrique review to quantify the optical effect of a surgical complication of the cataract surgery as the occurrence of a dislocation of the artificial lens implant (implant pseudophake). A patient, cataract surgery, complains of severe discomfort in night vision, glare, halos, bright streaks, impossibility of driving at night. Visual acuity is measured at 10/10 with a slight correction astigmatism, but without this correction reduces the Visual symptoms, which are mitigated the day; the patient however noted a split on the side vision. This variation is consistent with the possibility that a high rate of optical aberration of high degree can be the cause of these symptoms.

(Biomicroscope) slit lamp inspection reveals the presence of a shift of the implant.

biased cataract implant

Biomicroscopique (slit lamp) on examination, there is a lateral shift of the intra ocular implant. This displacement is objectified by the OCT of the anterior segment examination.

The measure by the topographer aberrrometre OPD SCAN 3 reveals the increase in the rate of the high degree of internal origin aberrations (implant).

Wavefront aberration biased implant

Statement of the optical aberrations of high degree; the Wavefront eye total (left), corneal (in the middle) and internal (right) is represented at the top. Downstairs, appear the cumulative rate of high degree aberrations that are grouped by category. Observed that the total eye aberrations rate is high, and linked to a rise in internal optical aberrations.

The statement of the Wavefront accredits the internal origin of the aberrations of high degree, caused by the shift of the intra ocular implant.  The maps that explore the optical quality of the eye allow to appreciate the effect of these aberrations on the quality of the retinal image:

optical quality implant biased MTF

The optical quality of the eye survey objective a horizontal deformation of the PSF (upper-left), which corroborates the appearance of horizontal doubling of the perceived images (hates right). It is interesting to note that the orientation of these disturbances is identical to the direction of the shift of the implant. It is related to the induction of a high rate of optical aberrations of high degree of type coma and trefoil.

Aberrometrique review, faced with clinical data, allows to incriminate the decentering of the implant with Visual symptoms. A reconstructive surgery to refocus the implant to the pupil is then performed:

Re-centering implant surgery

After the operation, which is to refocus the lens through wires (10-0 Prolene) placed to spout the intraocular lens in order to refocus its approach with respect to the pupil.

This procedure, performed under local anesthesia, results in the disappearance of the Visual symptoms (duplication, halos, etc.). Review by OPD confirms the improvement of the optical quality of the eye:

optical quality implant refocused MTF

After narrowing of the implant, there is an improvement of the stigma (the PSF, in the upper left is more compact), contrasts (MTF curve), as well as the image retinal convoluee (disappearance of the side split). This improvement is objectified by the reduction in the rate of the aberrations of high degree.

This case illustrates the value of the OPD in the "complicated" cataract surgery case (in this case, the implant was not been positioned properly because of the occurrence of a breach of the cristallinienne capsule during the initial response). The parallelism between subjective symptoms and objective elements (the shift management and direction of the double vision, optical aberrations of high degree of coma guy) helped confirm the responsibility of the shift in the genesis of Visual annoyance.

2 Responses to "Aberrometry: Decentric Implant"

  1. CONSTANT Claude says:

    After a cataract operation, I found a perfect vision without glasses, but only for 2 days. Then the vision of the operated eye is once again very imperfect, as well nearly as far, and more very unstable, a month after the operation.
    Can it be: a move of the implant?
    Or a problem of instability of the volume of the capsular bag which, thus would no longer be at the proper
    Distance from the retina.
    For now, my surgeon, who finds that everything is normal, did not provide me with an answer.
    To read and thank you, for the advice you will be willing to give me.

  2. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    It is very difficult if not impossible to determine the causes of this decline in vision. A displacement of the implant guess the occurrence of an intraoperative complication. The capsular bag contraction does not in 2 days in principle. An eye exam eventually complemented objective measures (OPD) is expected to understand the reasons for your Visual annoyance.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Aberrométrie : Implant décentré

L’examen aberrométrique permet de quantifier l’effet optique d’une complication chirurgicale de la chirurgie de la cataracte comme la survenue d’une dislocation de l’implant de cristallin artificiel (implant pseudophake). Une patiente, opérée de cataracte, se plaint d’une gêne sévère en vision nocturne, avec éblouissements, halos, trainées lumineuses, impossibilité de conduire la nuit. L’acuité visuelle est mesurée à 10/10 avec correction d’un léger astigmatisme, mais sans que cette correction réduise les symptômes visuels, qui ne sont atténués le jour; la patiente signale toutefois une vision dédoublée sur le côté. Cette variation corrobore la possibilité qu’un taux élevé d’aberration optiques de haut degré puisse être à l’origine de ces symptômes.

L’inspection à la lampe à fente (biomicroscope) révèle la présence d’un décentrement prononcé de l’implant.

implant décentré cataracte

A l’examen biomicroscopique (lampe à fente), on note un décentrement latéral de l’implant intra oculaire. Ce déplacement est objectivé par l’examen OCT du segment antérieur.

La mesure par le topographe aberrromètre OPD SCAN 3 révèle l’augmentation du taux des aberrations de haut degré d’origine interne (implant).

front d'onde aberration implant décentré

Relevé des aberrations optiques de haut degré; le front d’onde oculaire total (à gauche), cornéen (au milieu) et interne (à droite) est représenté en haut. En bas, apparaissent le taux cumulé des aberrations de haut degré regroupées par catégorie. On observe que le taux des aberrations oculaires totales est élevé, et lié à une élévation des aberrations optiques internes.

Le relevé du front d’onde accrédite l’origine interne des aberrations de haut degré, provoquées par le décentrement de l’implant intra oculaire.  Les cartes qui explorent la qualité optique de l’oeil permettent d’apprécier l’effet de ces aberrations sur la qualité de l’image rétinienne:

qualité optique implant décentré MTF

Le relevé de la qualité optique de l’oeil objective une déformation horizontale de la PSF (en haut à gauche), qui corrobore l’aspect de dédoublement horizontal des images perçues ( en hait à droite). Il est intéressant de noter que l’orientation de ces perturbations est identique à la direction du décentrement de l’implant. Il est lié à l’induction d’un taux élevé d’aberrations optiques de haut degré de type coma et trefoil.

L’examen aberrométrique, confronté aux données cliniques, permet d’incriminer le décentrement de l’implant avec les symptômes visuels. Une chirurgie réparatrice destinée à recentrer l’implant vis à vis de la pupille est alors effectuée :

chirurgie recentrement implant

En fin d’intervention, qui consiste à recentrer la lentille grâce à des fils (Prolène 10-0) qui placés pour repositioner la lentille intraoculaire de manière à recentrer son optique vis à vis de la pupille.

Cette intervention, réalisée sous anesthésie locale, résulte en la disparition des symptômes visuels (dédoublements, halos, etc.). L’examen par aberrométrie confirme l’amélioration de la qualité optique de l’oeil:

qualité optique implant recentré MTF

Après recentrement de l’implant, on observe une amélioration du stigmatisme (la PSF, en haut à gauche est plus compacte), des contrastes (courbe MTF), ainsi que l’image rétinienne convoluée (disparition du dédoublement latéral). Cette amélioration est objectivée par la réduction du taux des aberrations de haut degré.

Ce cas illustre l’intérêt de l’aberrométrie dans les cas de chirurgie de la cataracte « compliqués » (dans ce cas, l’implant n’a pas été positionné de manière adéquate en raison de la survenue d’une rupture de la capsule cristallinienne pendant l’intervention initiale). Le parallélisme entre les symptômes subjectifs et les éléments objectifs (direction du décentrement et direction de la vision dédoublée, taux d’aberrations optiques de haut degré de type coma) a permis de confirmer la responsabilité du décentrement dans la genèse de la gêne visuelle.

2 réponses à “Aberrométrie : Implant décentré”

  1. CONSTANT Claude dit :

    Après une opération de la cataracte, j’ai retrouvé une vision parfaite , sans lunettes,, mais seulement pendant 2 jours. Ensuite la vision de l’oeil opéré est redevenue très imparfaite, aussi bien de près comme de loin, et de plus très instable , un mois après l’opération.
    Peut-il s’agir : soit d’un déplacement de l’implant ?
    ou un problème d’instabilité du volume du sac capsulaire qui, de ce fait ne serait plus à la bonne
    distance de la rétine.
    Pour l’instant, mon chirurgien , qui trouve que tout est normal, ne m’a pas fourni de réponse.
    A vous lire et grand Merci, pour les conseils que vous voudrez bien me prodiguer.

  2. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Il est très difficile voire impossible de déterminer la ou les causes de cette baisse de vision. Un déplacement de l’implant suppose la survenue d’une complication peropératoire. La contraction du sac capsulaire ne s’effectue pas en 2 jours en principe. Un examen ophtalmologique éventuellement complété de mesures objectives (aberrométrie) devrait permettre de comprendre les raisons de votre gêne visuelle.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *