+ +

Power of the cornea paraxial optics

Calculation of the optical power (vergence) of the cornea

Vergence of the cornea or paraxial optical power depends on the curvature of its faces front and rear, as well as its thickness.

What is being?

A determine the vergence (optical power) of the entire cornea (a combination of the refraction of the front and back sides). We wish to determine a model paraxial of the cornea, which implies the determination of the position of the principal planes, and of the focal lengths, as for a thick lens (see the page on the justification of) paraxial optics and main plans)

Experienced - we?

The topography of the cornea to measure the apical curvature of the cornea, and it is possible to obtain the thickness by tomographic measurement.

We know the value of the index of refraction of the corneal stroma (nco = 1,376, and aqueous humor (nHaq=1.336)

The anterior curvature has a RADIUS R1 = 7.8 mm

Subsequent curvature has a RADIUS R2 = 6.5 mm

E thicknessco = S1S2 = 0.55 mm

Cornea optical power

Representation of the data which we know the numerical values for the calculation of the power of the cornea paraxial.

 

Calculation of the power of the front of the cornea

D1 (n =co (1) /R1 = (1,376 - 1) / 0.0078 = 48.21 D

The focus distance object is given by f1 = 1/48.20 m = - 0,02074 m

The focal image is given by f'1= 1.376/48.21 m = 0.02854 m

Calculation of the power of the face rear of the cornea

D2 (n =Haq -nco) /R2 = (1336-1.376)/0.0065 =-6.15 D over the cornea is cambered (R)2 decreases), more the back made "diverge" light rays!

The focal length f object2 =-1.376/-6.15 m = 0,2237 m

The focal length f image'2 = 1.336/-6.15 m =-0,2172 m

The next step is to calculate the power of the equivalent to the cornea (D centered systemco), taking into account the thickness of the cornea at the centre (distance between the anterior and the posterior).

Equivalent to the cornea (D centered system powerco)

Used for this form of Gullstrand, referring to systems 'thick': we subtract the sum of the terms of power the product of thickness by the powers front and rear divided by the index of refraction of the stroma.

Dco = D1 + D2 -eco(D1D2) / nco = 48.21 - 6.15 - 0.00055 x 48.21x-6.15/1.376 = 48.21 - 6.15 + 0.12 = 42.17D

The focal object of the cornea (front and rear) is equal to fco = - 1 / Dco = 1/42.17 m = - 0,02371 m

The focal image of the cornea is equal to f'co = 1,337 / Dco 1.337/42.17 = 0.03170 = m

It remains to determine the position of points (intersection of the planes with the optical axis) and plans major of the cornea.

Position of the main plans of the cornea

The distance between (point) plan main purpose:co  and the top of the cornea Sis:  

S1Hco  e =co fco / f2 = 0.55 x (-23.71) / (223.7) = - 0.0583 mm

The distance between (point) plan main image: 'co  and the top of the cornea S2  is:

S2H'co  = EIco f'co / f'1 = - 0.55 x (31.70) / (28.54) = - 0.6101 mm

(pages are devoted to the paraxial a modeling thick lens and to the  explanation and calculation of the position of main points of a paraxial system and plans)

The negative sign of the distances is a position of the plan main object located in front of the cornea (58.3 microns before S)1). The position of the plan main image is also located at 0.55 - 0.6101 = 0.0601 mm = 60.1 microns in front of the front S1.

major plans horny

Position of the main plans of the cornea (the distances are not to scale)

Conclusion

The gap between the main plans of the cornea is very low (1.8 microns), and the distance from the top of the cornea (vertex in S1) is negligible.

We can assimilate the behavior perspective the cornea of a paraxial spherical dioptre. A such diopter would have a curvature such that:

R = (1.336-1)/42.17 = 7.97 mm.)

The same calculation can be done for the lens (see the paraxial of the lens power calculation). The lens is not comparable to a spherical diopter, and the calculation of its paraxiales properties matches made for a thick lens.

 

Consequences: approximation of the optical power of the cornea

The RADIUS calculated with the formula for the spherical dioptre is relatively close to the radius of curvature previous 'real' of the cornea (7.8 mm). The index is considered should be for this calculation is aqueous (n = 1336) mood. If one chooses a somewhat smaller value for this index (ex: n = 1.333), it gets even closer to the initial value of the anterior radius of curvature.

This approximation is the use of an index says "minus" or k, used on the keratometres and the software of the topographers to calculate the maps of power (should say curvature) axial and tangential in diopter. The interest of this approximation was impossible to measure the posterior face of the cornea in a easy way in clinical practice-related.  It also provides a precise enough estimate of power k in dioptres for most common applications.

However, it is valid only for corneas with the effect of posterior curvature on the earlier power is not too different from the 'average '.

For example, if you measure a value of radius of 8.5 mm (flat cornea, after) LASIK or PKR myopic), but it keeps the same value of posterior curvature (6.5 mm), the power calculation paraxial using the previous equations provide the following value: Dco = 38.2 D.

Using the approximation with n = 1.333, obtain a power equal to 39.2 paraxial D: an error of 1 d (overestimate) may have significant clinical consequences. It is thus recommended to use this approximation (cornea = spherical with index minus dioptre) after refractive surgery to perform a calculation biometric, and this all the more that the other inaccuracies in measurement of the keratometry tend after refractive surgery to overestimate the Central corneal power... which leads to an underestimation of the power of the implant to ask and may induce a hyperopia after cataract surgery.

The position of the implant (after insertion in the capsular bag that is carried out during the cataract surgery) can vary for reasons relating to the geometry of the operated eye (depth of the anterior Chamber, behavior of the implant in the capsular bag, etc.). In a paraxial of the eye 'pseudophake' model, which would combine corneal and implant, the actual position of the implant corresponds to the main image of the cornea, the distance between the plan and the plan main purpose of the implant.

Finally, in a paraxial calculation (calculation biometric paraxial for example), the "optical" eye length is not quite equal to the anatomical length: do indeed start the length of the eye at the level of the plan main object, which is located about 50 microns in front of the cornea. This explains the term "+ 0.050" (in millimeters) which is often add to the axial (L) length, measured in biometric formulas (ex: formula Colebrander).

Thanks to the calculation of the focal powers and position of the cardinal elements of the cornea, one can calculate the Optical power of the entire eye.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Pouvoir optique paraxial de la cornée

Calcul du pouvoir optique (vergence) de la cornée

Le pouvoir optique paraxial ou vergence de la cornée  dépend de la courbure de ses faces avant et arrière, ainsi que de son épaisseur.

Que cherche-t-on ?

A déterminer la vergence (pouvoir optique) de la cornée entière (effet conjugué de la réfraction des faces avant et arrière). On souhaite à déterminer un modèle paraxial de la cornée, ce qui implique la détermination de la position des plans principaux, et des distances focales, comme pour une lentille épaisse (voir la page consacrée à la justification de l’optique paraxiale et des plans principaux)

Que connait-on ?

La topographie de la cornée permet de mesurer les courbures apicales de la cornée, et il est possible d’obtenir l’épaisseur par une mesure tomographique.

On connait la valeur de l’indice de réfraction du stroma cornéen (nco = 1.376, et de l’humeur aqueuse (nhaq=1.336)

La courbure antérieure possède un rayon R1 = 7.8 mm

La courbure postérieure possède un rayon R2 = 6.5 mm

L’épaisseur eco = S1S2 = 0.55 mm

Cornée pouvoir optique

Représentation des données dont on connait les valeurs numériques pour le calcul de la puissance paraxiale de la cornée.

 

Calcul de la puissance de la face avant de la cornée

D1 = (nco – 1)/R1 = (1.376 -1)/0.0078 = 48.21 D

La distance focale objet est donnée par f1 = -1/48.20 m =  -0,02074 m

La distance focale image est donnée par  f’1= 1.376/48.21 m = 0.02854 m

Calcul de la puissance de la face arrière de la cornée

D2 = (nhaq – nco)/R2 = (1.336 -1.376)/0.0065 = -6.15 D   plus la cornée est cambrée (R2 diminue), plus la face postérieure fait « diverger » les rayons lumineux!

La distance focale objet f2 = -1.376/-6.15 m =  0,2237 m

La distance focale image f’2 = 1.336/-6.15 m =  -0,2172 m

L’étape suivante est de calculer la puissance du système centré équivalent à la cornée  (Dco), en tenant compte de l’épaisseur de la cornée au centre (distance entre la face antérieure et la face postérieure).

Puissance du système centré équivalent à la cornée  (Dco)

On utilise pour cela la formule de Gullstrand, qui concerne les systèmes « épais » : on retranche à la somme des termes de puissance le produit de l’épaisseur par les puissances avant et arrière divisé par l’indice de réfraction du stroma.

Dco   = D1 + D2 – eco(D1D2)/ nco = 48.21 -6.15 –0.00055 x 48.21x-6.15/1.376 = 48.21 –6.15 + 0.12 = 42.17D

La distance focale objet de la cornée (face avant et face arrière) est égale à fco = -1/ Dco = -1/42.17 m =  -0,02371 m

La distance focale image de la cornée est égale à f’co = 1.337/ Dco = 1.337/42.17 = 0.03170 m

Il reste à déterminer la position des plans et points (intersection des plans avec l’axe optique) principaux de la cornée.

Position des plans principaux de la cornée

La distance entre (point) plan principal objet Hco  et le sommet de la cornée Sest:  

S1Hco  = eco fco / f2 = 0.55 x ( -23.71) / (223.7) = – 0.0583 mm

La distance entre (point) plan principal image H’co  et le sommet de la cornée S2  est:

S2H’co  = -eco f’co / f’1 = -0.55 x ( 31.70) / (28.54) = – 0.6101 mm

(des pages sont consacrées à la modélisation paraxiale d’une lentille épaisse et aux  explications et calcul des la position des plans et points principaux d’un système paraxial)

Le signe négatif des distances correspond à une position du plan principal objet située en avant de la cornée (58.3 microns avant S1). La position du plan principal image est également située à 0.55-0.6101 = 0.0601mm = 60.1 microns en avant de la face avant S1.

plans principaux cornée

Position des plans principaux de la cornée (les distances ne sont pas à l’échelle)

Conclusion

L’écart entre les plans principaux de la cornée est très faible (1.8 microns), et la distance avec le sommet de la cornée (vertex en S1) est négligeable.

On peut assimiler le comportement optique paraxial de la cornée à celui d’un dioptre sphérique. Un tel dioptre aurait une courbure telle que :

R = (1.336-1)/42.17 = 7.97 mm.

Le même calcul peut être effectué pour le cristallin (voir calcul de la puissance paraxiale du cristallin). Le cristallin n’est pas assimilable à un dioptre sphérique, et le calcul de ses propriétés paraxiales correspond à celui effectué pour une lentille épaisse.

 

Conséquences: approximation du pouvoir optique de la cornée

Le rayon calculé avec la formule du dioptre sphérique est relativement proche du rayon de courbure antérieur « réel » de la cornée (7.8 mm). L’indice considéré est comme il se doit pour ce calcul est celui de l’humeur aqueuse  (n=1.336). Si l’on choisit une valeur un peu plus réduite pour cet indice (ex : n =1.333), on obtient une valeur encore plus proche de la valeur initiale du rayon de courbure antérieur.

Cette approximation correspond à l’utilisation d’un indice dit  « minoré » ou kératométrique, utilisé sur les kératomètres et dans le logiciel des topographes pour calculer les cartes de puissance (on devrait dire courbure) axiale et tangentielle en dioptrie. L’intérêt de cette approximation était lié à l’impossibilité de mesurer la face postérieure de la cornée de manière aisée en pratique clinique.  Elle fournit d’ailleurs une estimation suffisamment précise de la puissance kératométrique en dioptries pour la plupart des applications courantes.

Toutefois, elle n’est valide que pour les cornées dont l’effet de la courbure postérieure sur la puissance antérieure ne diffère pas trop de la « moyenne ».

Par exemple, si l’on mesure une valeur de rayon de courbure de 8.5 mm (cornée plate, après LASIK ou PKR myopique), mais que l’on conserve la même valeur de courbure postérieure (6.5 mm), le calcul de la puissance paraxiale en utilisant les équations précédentes fournit la valeur suivante : Dco = 38.2 D.

En utilisant l’approximation avec n=1.333, on obtient une puissance paraxiale égale à 39.2 D : une erreur de 1D (surestimation) peut avoir des conséquences cliniques non négligeables. Il est ainsi déconseillé d’utiliser cette approximation (cornée = dioptre sphérique avec indice minoré) après chirurgie réfractive pour réaliser un calcul biométrique, et ce d’autant plus que les autres imprécisions de mesure de la kératométrie tendent après chirurgie réfractive à surestimer la puissance cornéenne centrale… ce qui induit une sous-estimation de la puissance de l’implant à poser et risque d’induire une hypermétropie après chirurgie de la cataracte.

La position de l’implant (après insertion dans le sac capsulaire qui s’effectue lors de la chirurgie de la cataracte) peut varier pour des raisons qui tiennent à la géométrie de l’oeil opéré (profondeur de la chambre antérieure, comportement de l’implant dans le sac capsulaire, etc.). Dans un modèle paraxial de l’oeil « pseudophake », qui associerait cornée et implant, la position effective de l’implant correspond à la distance entre le plan principal image de la cornée, et le plan principal objet de l’implant.

Enfin, dans un calcul paraxial (calcul biométrique paraxial par exemple), la longueur « optique » de l’oeil n’est pas tout à fait égale à la longueur anatomique : il faut en effet faire débuter la longueur de l’oeil au niveau du plan principal objet, qui est situé environ 50 microns en avant de la cornée. Ceci explique le terme « +0.050 » (en millimètres) qui est souvent ajouter à la longueur axiale (L), mesurée dans les formules biométriques (ex: formule de Colebrander).

Grâce au calcul des puissances focales et de la position des éléments cardinaux de la cornée, on peut calculer la puissance optique de l’oeil entier.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *