+ +

Pellucid degeneration

The OPD is useful to characterize the optical consequences of illnesses that cause a deformation of the cornea. Pellucid marginal degeneration is a disease that, as the Keratoconus is a non inflammatory disease that affects the cornea (more information on the pellucid marginal degeneration of the cornea). It is not hereditary, and its causes are unknown;  Allergic land and of repeated eye rubbing may be involved in the genesis of this affection.  It is characterized by the appearance of a astigmatism reverse direction, bilateral (both eyes are reached), and which is progressing over time. The discovery of this affection is often made by chance by corneal topography. This review is prescribed in patients with astigmatism is changing, either accompanied by Visual symptoms such as a duplication of the images, an impression of blur despite the correction in glasses of astigmatism.

Corneal topography shows level anterior curvature map a characteristic appearance in "wings of mill", or "Gallic moustache", which corresponds to the presence of a reverse irregular astigmatism. This aspect is actually secondary to what seems to be the distinctive feature of this affection: a lower corneal thinning located and marked. This thinning is objectified by the realization of a tomographic examination (product optical by collection of corneal elevation anterior and posterior).

degeneration pellucid marginal topography

Specular corneal topography earlier (Placido disc) revealing an aspect of pellucid marginal degeneration of the cornea. The software "Corneal Navigator" (OPD SCAN 3) suggests this diagnosis in an automated way. Note the characteristic appearance in "whiskers" conferred by areas of accented curvatures. These areas surround a "corridor" vertical central where the flatness is maximum, up to an area of "casesure" (maximum thinning area) where the curvature increases again.

In OPD, it is interesting to inspect the map OPD, which shows (in diopters) refraction in the pupil. Astigmatism caused by corneal deformation is "irregular"; Indeed, we observe that there is a difference of distribution of optical power between the halves upper and lower of the pupil.

map OPD pellucid marginal degeneration

Map OPD, which shows the distribution of the optical power in the pupillary area (studied diameter: 6 mm). The diopter power variations ("local myopia", since the numbers are all negatives) are stackable to changes in curvature of the anterior cornea. There is the superior pupil hemi presents less less than the hemi pupil average refractive power.

The OPD map restricted to the only aberrations of high degree to objectify their effect on local refraction in the pupil. This map shows the residual defects of powers, when we correct the eye of myopia and regular astigmatism (cylindrical sphero 'ideal' bezel glass). In the absence of optical aberrations of high degree, this map would show no residual refractive error. In the case of a pellucid marginal degeneration, the asymmetrical deformation of the cornea engenders a high rate of optical aberrations; so there is still a wide uncorrected refractive error rate:

map OPD HO pellucid marginal degeneration

Map OPD for the only aberrations of high degree. Despite an optimal correction of myopia and the regular component from astigmatism, there is still a significant refractive error that is related to the existence of the irregular deformation of the cornea; observed fluctuations whose amplitude reaches almost 10 diopters between certain areas of the pupillary area. Those errors explain that the optical quality of the eye should be amended, and some visual symptoms.

The joint study of the ocular Wavefront of the entire eye and corneal wave front is instructive. She obviously confirms corneal origin of wave-front aberrations; the phase shifts of the Wavefront eye total (entire eye) looks quite superimposable than previous ocular wave-front. The 'internal' wave front, calculated by subtraction, reveals a "reverse" aspect There is a slight mitigation of previous corneal aberrations internally. This is actually related to the posterior side of the cornea. If the deformations at this level are parallel to those of the front (less pellucid degeneration corneal thinning has consequences on the corneal wall and so on both corneal faces), the change of index of refraction between the corneal stroma and aqueous humor ' separated by the posterior face of the cornea) is of opposite sign that separates air from the cornea. "Equal" geometry, as the index of refraction of the cornea is higher than that of aqueous humor, the effects on the phase of the wave front are opposed.

Wavefront aberrations pellucid degeneration

The total Wavefront maps (entire eye) and corneal are nearly identical. On the other hand, the present internal wave front opposite a topology; the posterior face of the cornea being distorted jointly to the front, it affects the rate of eye optical aberrations, but in the sense of a reduction of the effect of the deformation of the front (the gradient index between cornea and aqueous humor bathing the anterior Chamber of the eye is of opposite sign communities separated by the front of the cornea - air and horny face).

 

The pellucid marginal degenrerescence of the cornea is a condition which induced a remarkable corneal distortion, because its axis is very close to the vertical direction (90 °). Thinning corneal lower causes a local "casesure", with camber marked next to it. Since the casesure is very less, the laws of the conservation of the average curvature of the cornea dictate the occurrence of a flattening joint, which predominates in the vertical corridor in the case of this affection. The induced aberrations are predominantly type coma and trefoil. The axis of these aberrations is close to 90 ° (it comes terms Z (3, -1) and (Z3, 3).)

Here's a representation separate from these modes coma and trefoil, extracted from the eye full, corneal and internal wave fronts (dominated by the effect of the posterior cornea). For each, a PSF is calculated (black and white box). The combination of these aberrations (lower line) provides a distortion of the Wavefront who marries one of the tested eye. Beware, the PSF generated by this combination is not equal to a simple "superposition" of the respective PSF of the aberrations, coma and trefoil.

coma trefoil pellucid marginal degeneration

Representation of phase shifts caused by aberrations of type coma (upper line), trefoil (Central line) and the combination coma + trefoil (lower line). These aberrations are typically high in case of pellucid marginal degeneration. They are responsible for the degradation of the quality of the retinal image, which persists despite the correction of the regular component from astigmatism by glasses. Rigid contact lenses can neutralize some of these aberrations, but "unmask" their internal component (last column).

 

3 responses to "pellucicide degeneration"

  1. Nabil says:

    Hello
    I am now 41 years old. I have a keratoconus been detected for 20 years. I wear semi rigid lenses but recently I learned that I had a form of keratoconus marginal pellucicide degeneration with a large astigmatism because when I remove my lenses I could read a book before but since I can no longer. can tell me what the consequences and is what this can lead to a corneal transplant knowing that the correction with lenses is done very well.
    Thanks

  2. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    It is probable that you present a form of Keratoconus whose topographical characteristics evoke a "marginal pellucicide degeneration" of the cornea (lower thinning with characteristic deformation in topography). It is necessary to monitor the possibility of eye friction (to interrupt) and the sleep position (belly or side, to be modified for sleep position on the back). For the correction of vision, it is always better to wear lenses than to undergo a corneal transplant.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Dégénérescence pellucide

L’aberrométrie est utile pour caractériser les conséquences optiques des affections qui provoquent une déformation de la cornée. La dégénérescence pellucide marginale est une pathologie qui, comme le kératocône,  est une maladie non inflammatoire qui affecte la cornée (plus d’informations sur la dégénérescence pellucide marginale de la cornée). Elle est non héréditaire, et ses causes sont inconnues;  un terrain allergique et des frottements oculaires répétés pourraient être impliqués dans la genèse de cette affection.  Elle se caractérise par l’apparition d’un astigmatisme de direction inverse, bilatéral (les deux yeux sont atteints), et qui progresse au fil du temps. La découverte de cette affection est souvent faite de manière fortuite par la topographie cornéenne. Cet examen est prescrit chez des patients dont l’astigmatisme évolue, ou bien s’accompagne de symptômes visuels comme un dédoublement des images, une impression de flou malgré la correction en lunettes de l’astigmatisme.

La topographie cornéenne montre au niveau carte de courbure antérieure un aspect caractéristique en « ailes de moulin », ou « moustache gauloise », qui correspond à la présence d’un astigmatisme inverse irrégulier. Cet aspect est en fait secondaire à ce qui semble être l’élément distinctif de cet affection: un amincissement cornéen inférieur localisé et marqué. Cet amincissement est objectivé par la réalisation d’un examen tomographique (pachymétrie optique par recueil de l’élévation cornéenne antérieure et postérieure).

dégénérescence pellucide marginale topographie

Topographie cornéenne spéculaire antérieure (disque de Placido) révélant un aspect de dégénérescence pellucide marginale de la cornée. Le logiciel "Corneal Navigator" (OPD SCAN 3) suggère ce diagnostic de manière automatisée. Noter l'aspect caractéristique en "moustaches" conféré par les zones de courbures accentuées. Ces zones entourent un "couloir" vertical central où l'applatissement est maximum, jusqu'à une zone de "cassure" (zone d'amincissement maximal) où la courbure augmente à nouveau.

En aberrométrie, il est intéressant d’inspecter la carte OPD, qui montre (en Dioptries) la réfraction dans la pupille. L’astigmatisme engendré par la déformation cornéenne est « irrégulier »; en effet, on observe qu’il existe une différence de répartition de la puissance optique entre les moitiés supérieures et inférieures de la pupille.

carte OPD dégénérescence pellucide marginale

Carte OPD, qui montre la répartition de la puissance optique au sein de l'aire pupillaire (diamètre étudié: 6 mm). Les variations de puissance dioptrique ("myopie locale", puisque les chiffres sont tous négatifs) sont superposables aux variations de courbure de la cornée antérieure. On observe que l'hémi pupille supérieure présente une puissance réfractive moyenne inférieure à l'hémi pupille inférieure.

La carte OPD restreinte aux aberrations de haut degré seules permet d’objectiver leur effet sur la réfraction locale dans la pupille. Cette carte montre les défauts de puissances résiduels, quand on corrige l’oeil de la myopie et l’astigmatisme régulier (verre de lunette sphéro cylindrique « idéal »). En l’absence d’aberrations optiques de haut degré, cette carte montrerait l’absence d’erreur réfractive résiduelle. Dans le cas d’une dégénérescence pellucide marginale, la déformation asymétrique de la cornée engendre un taux élevé d’aberrations optiques; il persiste donc un large taux d’erreur réfractive non corrigée :

carte OPD HO dégénérescence pellucide marginale

Carte OPD pour les seules aberrations de haut degré. Malgré une correction optimale de la myopie et de la composante régulière de l'astigmatisme, il persiste une erreur réfractive importante qui est liée à l'existence de la déformation irrégulière de la cornée; on observe des fluctuations dont l'amplitude atteint pratiquement 10 Dioptries entre certaines zones de l'aire pupillaire. Ces erreurs expliquent que la qualité optique de l'oeil soit modifiée, et l'apparition de certains symptomes visuels.

L’étude conjointe du front d’onde oculaire de l’oeil entier et du front d’onde cornéen est instructive. Elle confirme bien évidemment l’origine cornéenne des aberrations du front d’onde; l’aspect des déphasages du front d’onde oculaire total (oeil entier) est assez superposable à celui du front d’onde oculaire antérieur. Le front d’onde « interne », calculé par soustraction, révèle un aspect « inversé ». Il existe une légère atténuation des aberrations cornéennes antérieures en interne. Ceci est en fait lié à la face postérieure de la cornée. Si les déformations à ce niveau sont parallèles à celles de la face antérieure (l’amincissement cornéen inférieur de la dégénérescence pellucide a des conséquences sur le mur cornéen et donc sur les deux faces cornéennes), le changement d’indice de réfraction entre le stroma cornéen et l’humeur aqueuse ‘séparés par la face postérieure de la cornée) est de signe opposé à celui qui sépare l’air de la cornée. A géométrie « égale », comme l’indice de réfraction de la cornée est supérieur à celui de l’humeur aqueuse, les effets sur la phase du front d’onde  sont opposés.

Front d'onde aberrations dégénérescence pellucide

Les cartes de front d'onde total (œil entier) et cornéen sont quasiment identiques. En revanche, les front d'onde interne présente une topologie inverse; la face postérieure de la cornée étant déformée conjointement à la face antérieure, elle influe sur le taux d'aberrations optiques oculaires, mais dans le sens d'une réduction de l'effet lié à la déformation de la face antérieure (le gradient d'indice entre cornée et l'humeur aqueuse baignant la chambre antérieure de l'oeil étant de signe opposé à celui des milieux séparés par la face antérieure de la cornée - air et cornée).

 

La dégénrérescence pellucide marginale de la cornée est une affection qui induite une déformation cornéenne remarquable, car son axe est très proche de la direction verticale (90°). L’amincissement cornéen inférieur provoque une « cassure » locale, avec cambrure marquée en regard de celle-ci. Comme la cassure est très inférieure, les lois de la conservation de la courbure moyenne de la cornée dictent la survenue d’un aplatissement conjoint, qui dans le cas de cette affection prédomine dans le couloir vertical. Les aberrations induites sont majoritairement de type coma et trefoil. L’axe de ces aberrations est proche de 90° (il s’agit des termes Z(3;-1) et (Z3,3).

Voici une représentation séparée de ces modes coma et trefoil, extraite des fronts d’onde oculaire total, cornéen et interne (dominé par l’effet de la cornée postérieure). Pour chacun, une PSF est calculée (encadré noir et blanc). La combinaison de ces aberrations (ligne inférieure) fournit une déformation du front d’onde qui épouse bien celle de l’oeil examiné. Attention, la PSF engendrée par cette combinaison n’est pas égale à une simple « superposition » des PSF respectives des aberrations coma et trefoil.

coma trefoil dégénérescence pellucide marginale

Représentation des déphasages infligés par les aberrations de type coma (ligne supérieure), trefoil (ligne centrale) et la combinasion coma + trefoil (ligne inférieure). Ces aberrations sont typiquement élevées en cas de dégénérescence pellucide marginale. Elles sont responsables de la dégradation de la qualité de l'image rétinienne, qui persiste malgré la correction de la composante régulière de l'astigmatisme par les lunettes. Les lentilles de contact rigides permettent de neutraliser une partie de ces aberrations, mais "démasquent" leur composante interne (dernière colonne).

 

Une réponse à “Dégénérescence pellucide”

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *