+ +

Characteristics of LASER light

The LASER light is «» monochromatic », « directional ', and ' '. consistent ». It is important to understand the meaning of each of these terms, which this page is dedicated

BCM

Visible white light is made up of several colourful radiation, that can be separated using a Prism: their respective wavelengths extend from 400 to 700 nanometers (a nanometer is one thousandth of micron, or one-millionth of a millimeter).

You can use a filter to select the red component of white light; the spectral richness of red light obtained thus is less than that of white light, because the filter lets only the wavelengths in the Red (ex: 650 to 700 nm, or light red to dark red).

In comparison to the ability of a filter to restrict the range of the present in a radiation wavelengths, the light emitted by a laser He-do (for Helium Neon) is such that the wavelengths emitted out of the cavity of the laser have almost identical to a nanometer or less!

monochromatic laser light

Left, the light emitted by an electric torch is polychromatic and inconsistent: the white light is made up of several colorful visible radiation. A red filter to select the wavelengths in the Red (ex: 600-650 nm). However, the light emitted by a laser pointer is naturally monochromatic. In addition, the light is coherent: trains of wave emitted between them are "in phase". 

However, despite this selectivity, the light emitted by a laser cannot be truly monochromatic (radiation corresponding to a single wavelength), because beyond practical constraints, this would be in violation of some laws of physics, which impose a certain "range" of wavelength for any emitted radiation. The light emitted by a standard laser is restricted to a narrow range of wavelength.

 

Directional aspect

 

Some light sources like those issued by the spotlight on the Eiffel Tower and which illuminate the Parisian night sky seem directional, as they form a "brush" light almost parallel edges that sweep the clouds. In reality these beams diverge after a few hundred meter, and he is happy that the cloud layer that covers the capital frequently intervenes and used screen - there is then the broom of the bright spots formed by the section of the light beams.

If these beams consisted of a laser light, we follow them for several kilometres before you see them diverge. Directional aspect of the laser light, used for some shows sounds and lights, has been popularized in the 1970s by the 'Star Wars' saga where the firing of light laser emitted by the spaceships can cross great distance in maintaining their straight look (it should be pointed out that the needs of staging the speed of this laser light seems slow in these films, and in an empty environment and not spreading as interstellar space, it would be possible to 'see' this light only on his journey,... either by being directly targeted).

The highly directional aspect of LASER light is related to the cavity where is produced and amplified laser light: before emerge, she "resonates", IE performs several back-back between its walls before emerging through a partially transparent mirror. These back and forth are in the axis of the resonance cavity, next to which is positioned the partially transparent mirror: LASER light is emitted according to the direction of this axis which explains his strong 'directionality '.  It is possible to calculate how much "extends" a laser beam with distance depending on features such as its minimum diameter, its wavelength, etc.

It is because of the inevitable diffraction that laser light, yet very directional, always slightly diverges beyond a distance of output. The energy profile Gaussian (bell-shaped profile) of most of the lasers beams made that this divergence is less that of a light whose intensity of the section profile would be constant. The opening angle is given by:

Theta = 1.27 lamda / D

Here D refers to the "width" of the Gaussian beam, and lambda at the wavelength of radiation considered. This size is about two times less than that of the classical diffraction through a circular orifice (2.44 lambda/D). If it emits a laser beam Gaussian through an opening which the diameter is about two or three times larger than D, there were no rings of diffraction at the level of the collected image: in these circumstances, the image by diffraction at infinity of a Gaussian beam remains a Gaussian beam.

This strong directionality (low divergence) is very useful to train focal tasks more compact than a beam that would be more divergent, and focus the light on a limited spatial area.

 

Consistency and inconsistency

Before we go forward, we must insist on this point: it is because the laser light is coherent action of the laser on the material is so special, and can carry a significant amount of light energy over long distances.

The coherence of the laser light reflects the fact that transported light waves are "in phase". (Stars), or artificial light (bulbs) natural light sources emit a light polychromatic and inconsistent. The emission of photons are carried out in a haphazard manner: same wavelength photons are not in phase.

On the contrary, laser light is coherent: the photons emitted by the laser source are not distinguishable: they have the same phase, same polarization (the angle formed by the vibration of the electric field with the direction of propagation).  The coherence of the laser light is both spatial and temporal.

coherent light

The spatial coherence of the source reflects the fact that different points in a plane perpendicular to the direction of propagation of the laser source are in the same State of phase (the phase difference is zero). Temporal coherence implies that this phase difference is constant in time. The temporal coherence of the laser light is not infinite, but is much longer than that of the light emitted by a non coherent light source. The average duration of coherence of the trains of wave emitted by a source is 10-11 seconds for a source classiquen and 10-8 second for a helium neon laser. The temporal coherence of the laser light is related to its spectral purity.

 

Spatial coherence:

at any given time, all points in a plane perpendicular to the laser beam are in the same State of phase (same value and orientation of the electromagnetic field).

 

Temporal coherence 

It reflects the fact that several light waves issued successively by the same point the source remain in phase: this feature and of course closely related to the (nearly) monochromatic appearance of laser light.

 

Effect of coherence on the LASER light energy

 Addition in incoherent light of N photons whose energy is E produced an energy equal to N x E. If the light is coherent, addition of N photons produced a total energy equal to N2x E. The difference is of exponential nature!

(E) energy or intensity of the emitted light is equal to the square of the amplitude of the light wave (A) associated with the photons that make up; When this light is incoherent, the photons (the same wavelength) have a random phase: there is sometimes constructive, sometimes destructive interference which modulate the amplitude of the resultant wave, resulting in an average amplitude that tends towards √N x has.  Similarly, one can show that a subject moving at random and changing direction at every step through a distance equal to the square root of the total number of not multiplied by the length of a step. Energy (square of this amplitude) is so good in this equal to N x E case.

random direction square root relationship

A Walker performing successive steps of the same length but in a direction to each time random courses a path on average proportional to the square root of the number of not performed. If the Walker steps of one meter, after 100, the distance in a straight line from its point of departure is equal on average to 10 meters. This relationship is similar to that between amplitude and energy: trains of waves not consistent 'add up' as in the random direction no. The coherent wave trains add up as the distance steps which would each be carried out in the same direction.

When waves associated with photons are in phase, the amplitudes are added (constructive interference) and the resulting wave has an amplitude equal to NXA: energy equals N2x E.

energy light wave amplitude relationship

The energy is proportional to the square of the amplitude: in case of "random" phase between the photons, the amplitude of the total wave tends towards the square root of the number of photons present. In phase case identical (laser light), the total wave amplitude is logically equal to the sum of the respective amplitudes of each photon.

2 Responses to "LASER Light peculiarities"

  1. Me says:

    Super interesting, Super clear

  2. Juju says:

    Exactly what I was looking for – > Simple explanations with some concrete examples for essential optics often neglected!
    Thank you

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Particularités de la lumière LASER

La lumière LASER est « monochromatique », « directionnelle », et « cohérente ». Il est important de comprendre la signification de chacun de ces termes, auxquels cette page est consacrée

Monochromatisme

La lumière blanche visible est composée de plusieurs radiations colorées, que l’on peut séparer au moyen d’un prisme : leur longueurs d’onde respectives s’étende de 400 à 700 nanomètres (un nanomètre est un millième de micron, ou un millionième de millimètre).

On peut utiliser un filtre pour sélectionner la composante rouge d’une lumière blanche ; la richesse spectrale de la lumière rouge obtenue ainsi est moindre que celle de la lumière blanche, car le filtre ne laisse passer que les longueurs d’onde situées dans le rouge (ex : 650 à 700 nm, soit du rouge clair au rouge foncé).

En comparaison à la capacité d’un filtre à restreindre l’éventail des longueurs d’onde présentes dans un rayonnement, la lumière émise par un laser He-Ne (pour Hélium Néon) est telle que les longueurs d’onde émises  à la sortie de la cavité du laser ont quasi identiques, à un nanomètre près, voire moins !

lumière laser monochromatique

A gauche, la lumière émise par une torche électrique est polychromatique et non cohérente: la lumière blanche est constituée de plusieurs radiations colorées visibles. Un filtre rouge permet de sélectionner les longueurs d’onde situées dans le rouge (ex: 600 à 650 nm). En revanche, la lumière émise par un pointeur laser est naturellement monochromatique. De plus, la lumière est cohérente: les trains d’onde émis entre eux sont « en phase ». 

Toutefois, malgré cette sélectivité remarquable, la lumière émise par un laser ne peut être véritablement monochromatique (rayonnement correspondant à une longueur d’onde unique), car au-delà des contraintes pratiques, ceci serait en violation avec certaines lois de la Physique, qui imposent un certain « éventail » de longueur d’onde pour tout rayonnement émis. La lumière émise par un laser standard est restreinte à une gamme étroite de longueur d’onde.

 

Aspect Directionnel

 

Certaines sources lumineuses comme celles émises par les projecteurs situés sur la Tour Eiffel et qui éclairent le ciel nocturne parisien semblent directionnelles, car elles forment un « pinceau » lumineux aux bords quasi parallèles qui balaient les nuages. En réalité ces faisceaux divergent après quelques centaines de mètre, et il est heureux que la couche nuageuse qui recouvre fréquemment la capitale s’interpose et serve d’écran – on observe alors le balai des taches lumineuses formées par la section des faisceaux lumineux.

Si ces faisceaux étaient constitués d’une lumière laser, il faudrait les suivre sur plusieurs kilomètres avant de les voir diverger. Cet aspect directionnel de la lumière laser, utilisé pour certains spectacles sons et lumières, a été popularisé dès les années 70 par la saga « Star Wars » où les tirs de lumière laser émis par les vaisseaux spatiaux peuvent traverser de grande distance en conservant leur allure rectiligne (il convient toutefois de préciser que pour les besoins de la mise en scène, la vitesse de déplacement de cette lumière laser semble bien lente dans ces films, et que dans un milieu vide et non diffusant comme l’espace interstellaire, il ne serait possible de « voir » cette lumière qu’en se plaçant sur son trajet,.. soit en en étant la cible directe).

L’aspect fortement directionnel de la lumière LASER est liée à la cavité où est produite et amplifiée la lumière laser : avant d’en émerger, elle y « résonne », c’est à dire effectue plusieurs allers- retour entre ses parois avant d’émerger au travers d’un miroir partiellement transparent. Ces allers retours se font dans l’axe de la cavité de résonance, en regard duquel est positionné le miroir partiellement transparent : la lumière LASER est émise selon la direction de cet axe ce qui explique sa forte « directionnalité ».  Il est possible de calculer de combien « s’élargit » un faisceau laser avec la distance en fonction de certaines caractéristiques comme son diamètre minimum, sa longueur d’onde, etc.

C’est en raison de l’incontournable diffraction que la lumière laser, pourtant très directionnelle, diverge toujours un peu au-delà d’une distance de sortie. Le profil énergétique gaussien (profil en cloche) de la plupart des faisceaux lasers fait que  cette divergence est moindre que celle d’une lumière dont le profil d’intensité de la section serait constant. L’angle de divergence est donné par :

Theta = 1,27 lamda / D

Ici, D se réfère à la « largeur » du faisceau gaussien, et lambda à la longueur d’onde du rayonnement considéré. Cette grandeur est environ deux fois moindre que celle de la diffraction classique à travers un orifice circulaire (2,44 lambda/D). Si l’on émet un faisceau laser Gaussien au travers d’une ouverture dont le diamètre est environ deux ou trois fois plus grand que D, on n’observe pas d’anneaux de diffraction au niveau de l’image recueillie : dans ces conditions, l’image par diffraction à l’infini d’un faisceau gaussien demeure un faisceau gaussien.

Cette forte directionnalité (faible divergence) est très utile pour former des taches focales plus compactes que celles d’un faisceau qui serait plus divergent, et de concentrer la lumière sur une zone spatiale restreinte.

 

Cohérence et incohérence

Avant d’aller plus avant, il faut insister sur ce point : c’est parce que la lumière laser est cohérente que l’action du laser sur la matière est si particulière, et peut transporter une importante quantité d’énergie lumineuse sur de longues distances.

La cohérence de la lumière laser traduit le fait que les ondes lumineuses transportées sont « en phase ». Les sources de lumières naturelles (étoiles), ou artificielles (ampoules électriques) émettent une lumière polychromatique et non cohérente. L’émission de photons s’effectuent de manière désordonnée : les photons de même longueur d’onde ne sont pas en phase.

Au contraire, la lumière laser est cohérente : les photons émis par la source laser ne sont pas distinguables : ils ont la même phase, même polarisation (angle formé par la vibration du champ électrique avec la direction de propagation).  La cohérence de la lumière laser est à la fois spatiale et temporelle.

lumière cohérente

La cohérence spatiale de la source traduit le fait que les différents points de la source laser situés dans un plan perpendiculaire à la direction de propagation sont dans le même état de phase (la différence de phase est nulle). La cohérence temporelle implique que cette différence de phase est constante dans le temps. La cohérence temporelle de la lumière laser n’est pas infinie, mais est beaucoup plus longue que celle de la lumière émise par une source de lumière non cohérente. La durée moyenne de cohérence des trains d’onde émis par une source est de 10 -11 secondes pour une source classiquen et 10 -8 seconde pour un laser hélium néon. La cohérence temporelle de la lumière laser est liée à sa pureté spectrale.

 

Cohérence spatiale :

à un instant donné, toutes les points situés dans un même plan perpendiculaire au faisceau laser sont dans le même état de phase (même valeur et orientation du champ électromagnétique).

 

Cohérence temporelle 

Elle traduit le fait que plusieurs ondes lumineuses émises successivement par un même point de la source demeurent en phase :  cette caractéristique et bien sûr liée de près à l’aspect (quasi) monochromatique de la lumière laser.

 

Effet de la cohérence sur l’énergie lumineuse LASER

 L’addition en lumière incohérente de N photons  dont l’énergie de chacun est E produit une énergie égale à N x E. Si la lumière est cohérente, l’addition de N photons produit une énergie totale égale à N2x E. La différence est de nature exponentielle !

L’énergie (E) ou intensité de la lumière émise est égale au carré de l’amplitude de l’onde lumineuse (A) associée aux photons qui la composent ; quand cette lumière est incohérente, les photons (de même longueur d’onde) ont une phase aléatoire : il existe des interférences tantôt constructives, tantôt destructives qui modulent l’amplitude de l’onde résultante, ce qui résulte en une amplitude moyenne qui tend vers √N x A.  De la même manière, on peut montrer qu’un sujet se déplaçant au hasard et en changeant de direction à chaque pas parcourt une distance égale à la racine carrée du nombre total de pas multipliée par la longueur d’un pas. L’énergie (carré de cette amplitude) est donc bien dans ce cas égale à N x E.

relation racine carrée direction aléatoire

Un marcheur effectuant des pas successifs de même longueur mais dans une direction à chaque fois aléatoire parcours un chemin en moyenne proportionnel à la racine carrée du nombre de pas effectué. Si le marcheur effectue des pas d’un mètre, au bout de 100 pas, la distance parcourue en ligne droite depuis son point de départ est égale en moyenne à 10 mètres. Cette relation est analogue à celle qui relie amplitude et énergie : les trains d’ondes non cohérents « s’additionnent » comme des pas de direction aléatoire. Les trains d’onde cohérents s’additionnent comme la distance des pas qui seraient chacun effectués dans la même direction.

Quand les ondes associées aux photons sont en phase, les amplitudes s’ajoutent (interférence constructive) et l’onde résultante a une amplitude égale à NXA : l’énergie est égale à N2x E.

relation amplitude énergie onde lumineuses

L’énergie est proportionnelle au carré de l’amplitude: en cas de phase « aléatoire » entre les photons, l’amplitude de l’onde totale tend vers la racine carrée du nombre de photons présents. En cas de phase identique (lumière laser), l’amplitude de l’onde totale est logiquement égale à la somme des amplitudes respectives de chaque photon.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *