+ +

Corneal Biomechanics

Biomechanical properties clinical evaluation of the corneal with theOcular Response Analyzer (ORA).

Interest and principles of mesure.de corneal hysteresis.

While many instruments allow to study geometric properties and optical (corneal topography) or histo-morphological (confocal microscopy study), the estimate of the biomechanical properties of the cornea was long confined to research until the introduction of the Ocular Response Analyzer® (Reichert, Buffalo, NY). This instrument provides the clinician with a noninvasive estimate of corneal hysteresis, and this physical setting is used to increase the accuracy of the measurement of intraocular pressure.
We use the Ocular Response Analyzer (ORA) in a variety of clinical contexts.

It is important to understand the principles and parameters measured.

ocular-response-analyzer-(ora)

What's the point to evaluate the biomechanical properties of the cornea in clinical practice?

Management of glaucoma and corneal refractive surgery is the main field of the study of corneal biomechanics.

(1) glaucoma

As part of the screening and follow-up of glaucomatous patients, it is important to better measure eye pressure, and understand the entangled mechanical factors that may vary the figures obtained with the classical tonometers.
Ocular hypertension (HTO) is the most significant risk factor for glaucoma, and remains the only element whose treatment decreases the incidence and progression of glaucoma. The most commonly used method of measuring intra-ocular pressure (IOP) is that of the Goldmann tonometer, mounted on a slit lamp, based on the law of Fick. This law assumes that the internal pressure exerted on a thin-walled sphere is equal to the pressure necessary to flatten a small area of its wall. However, it has been shown that the corneal thickness has an influence on the measurement of IOP. Moreover, the consideration of the pachymetry (thickness) corneal is not sufficient to predict the mechanical characteristics of the corneal wall. The law of Fick is valid for perfectly elastic walls (zero hysteresis). Finally, this law applies to spheres of homogeneous resistance. However, the sclera and the cornea have varying thickness and stiffness depending on the subjects. Thus, the Goldmann Tonometer has been calibrated for a thickness of 525 µm and neglects the corneal viscosity. The reliability of the measurement with this type of ocular tonometry is therefore subject to a certain vagueness, all the more so because the cornea of the subject goes out of the simplified model proposed by Goldman.

(2) refractive surgery

The change of the optical power of the cornea caused by radial keratotomy (KR) was based on the induction of a modification of the biomechanical structure of the cornea (peripheral deep corneal incisions), without change in volume (absence of tissue subtraction). These incisions weakened biomechanically the periphery of the cornea, which the Center "membership" and is applatissait.
The techniques of photoablation are built on an inverse postulate and base the modification of the refractive power on a subtractive corneal remodeling (sculpture by the Excimer Laser), neglecting the possible biomechanical reaction.
It is now shown that some of the "unpredicted" effects of ablation profiles are based on changes in the geometry of the corneal wall of biomechanical origin. The low predictability and refractive fluctuations of the KR could be attributed to the inter-and intra-individual variations of parameters influencing the biomechanical state of the cornea (intra-ocular pressure, variable corneal rigidity of a patient at The other, ect...).
LASIK-induced corneal ectasia is a very rare complication. It could be related to the decompensation of a precarious corneal biomechanical state (Keratoconus fruste). The objective measurement of the preoperative biomechanical state could increase the sensitivity of the detection of these "biomechanically hazardous" corneas.

The corneal hysteresis as interest is not limited to the diagnosis of glaucoma and the screening of corneas at risk in refractive surgery. It could also allow to assess the biomechanical consequences of 'local' eye conditions (malfunction meibomien and dry eye, dystrophy corneal degenerations, ect...) or secondary to General conditions (atopy, diabetes, collagenases, diseases of systems, ect...)... Finally, the assessment of corneal rigidity could quantify the beneficial effect of therapeutic procedures such as the insertion of intra-corneens rings or cross-linking of the corneal collagen (cross linking - CXL). Since the rise of the practice of the CXL, biomechanical measures show no real change of corneal Biomechanics (lack of elevation of the hysteresis, or hysteresis), what needs to reconsider the interest of this technique.

What is that the hysteresis?

The phenomenon has been described by Sir James Alfred Ewing in 1890. The hysteresis (or hysteresis) is a present property in some physical systems characterized by the character differed in time response to a force that is applied to them. These systems react 'gently' and do not instantly return to their original form as they absorb a part of the incidental mechanical energy they dispel another form (heat). Viscous systems have a high hysteresis.

What is than the visco elasticity of the cornea?

The pressure to the pressionnelle measure corresponds to a mechanical stress to the cornea (force exerted on the entire surface offered by the corneal wall). The collection of data on the 'management' of this mechanical stress by the cornea provides information about its biomechanical properties.
The mechanical behaviour of the corneal tissue responds to the laws of physics and can be modelled as a system with visco-elastic behaviour. Elasticity and viscosity give the corneal tissue two distinct behavioral characteristics:

-elastic behavior; a perfectly elastic system can store energy before you return it almost entirely. A metal spring is an example of elastic system. After compression (even extended), the energy is stored (reversible molecular deformations) then returned almost instantly. In certain conditions of tension, an elastic system tends to present oscillations during the return of energy.

-viscous behavior; a viscous system a resistance that grows not proportional to intensity exercised deformation force. There is a dissipation of mechanical energy incident (in the form of thermal energy), which is a return deferred to state of origin.

How does the Ocular Response Analyzer?

The instrument emits a jet of continuous calibrated air directed to the corneal dome. This pressure increases by summation over time and exerts a force of increasing intensity at each point of the corneal surface exposed to the air flow. This force will cause a deformation of the cornea. The pressure exerted by the air flow is monitored at very short intervals by the instrument throughout the review. The unfortunately is detected by the measure of the intensity of infrared light reflected from the cornea. This light is emitted according to an oblique impact, and its reflection (also skew in the opposite direction) to a photosensitive sensor is all the more important that the corneal curvature is low. The unfortunately corresponds to a peak of reflected light intensity, because this at this moment the corneal surface acts like a mirror. The unfortunately pressure corresponds to the pressure measured when the infrared peak.

Ora storyboards

The originality of the Ocular Response Analyzer is its ability to perform during a simple review no not one, but two consecutive unfortunately measures: the first during the initial corneal deformation resulting from the increase in pressure, the second at the time, or the cornea returns to its original shape condition.
When the first (infra-red) first peak is detected, the air jet emission is abruptly interrupted. The air pressure exerted on the corneal wall does not fall however immediately, but continues to increase by inertia for a few milliseconds, before reaching a maximum, and then gradually decreasing to the initial equilibrium state. The look of the pressure curve obtained throughout the examination is Gaussian (it marries a bit the allure of a "bell").
The height of this bell curve is proportional to the intraocular pressure value: We should remember that the air flow is interrupted by the instrument only when the first operation occurs. The higher the intraocular pressure, the greater the equivalent air pressure to be provided in the vicinity of the cornea is important to obtain the first level of inflow. At this point, the upward part of the pressure curve and the height of the "bell" will be even higher as the intraocular pressure is high.
After the first decompression, the corneal dome undergoes a pressure higher than the intraocular pressure for a few moments, and the central corneal profile becomes slightly concave forward. The proportion of infrared light decreases then abruptly. The second detection occurs during the pressure decay and is detected by the second peak of reflected infrared light.

How is calculated the quantitative indexes provided by the instrument?

The device allows to measure two consecutive aplanations (P1 and P2) pressure, expressed in mmHg. Schematically, P1 is measured so that the sudden cornea and withstands positive pressure of air stream calibrated, while P2 is measured when the cornea returns to its state of equilibrium, in decreasing positive pressure phase.
Thus, from the values of P1 and P2, the Ora software offers different indexes:

-L' hysteresis (CH for Corneal Hysteresis) is equal to the difference between P1 and P2 (P1 - P2). The hysteresis value is proportional to the degree of viscosity of the cornea, and inversely proportional to its degree of elasticity.

Ora corneal hysteresis

-L' estimate of the (Corneal Resistance Factor = FIU) corneal resistance factor
P1-KxP2, with K = 0.7. The value of K was determined from clinical studies and statistical correlation models. This formula gives a favorable weight for P1 vis-à-vis P2.

-The uncompensated eye pressure (IOPg) is equal to the average arithmetic mean between P1 and P2, be (P1 + P2) / 2.
-The ocular pressure compensated for the viscoelastic properties of the cornea (IOPCC) is equal to a linear combination between P1 and P2, and whose value is particularly sensitive to P2, i.e. to the pressure value measured in the second The same
IOPCC = P2-0. KxP1, with K = 0.43. This value of K was determined from clinical studies and statistical regression models. The CRF is thus better correlated with the central corneal thickness.

How to analyze the signals provided by the ORA?

Three curves are shown for each measure on the same chart which the x axis is a time scale...
The green Gaussian curve corresponds to the pressure exerted against the corneal dome.
The red curve represents the infra-red light intensity detected during the measurement. The blue curve is obtained by a mathematical smoothing of the red bent to reduce the "noise".
The intersection of the peaks of the smoothed curve (in blue) with the pressure curve (in green) makes it possible to spot the two successive pressure pressures.
Our preliminary experience with ORA has enabled us to identify the morphological characteristics frequently found in various clinical contexts such as chronic glaucoma, keratoconus, refractive surgery surgical Suites Corneal, ect...
A preliminary statistical study identified an average value of 11.02 (+/-1.22) MmHg for CH in "normal" patients. The definition of "normality" is here cautious and even if any patient with an ocular hypertonia, a suspicion of keratoconus fruste, ect... was excluded from the analysis, the patients with low amétropes were mainly represented In this sample. The CH appeared weakly correlated with the value of the central corneal thickness in our study.
The value of the CH appears to be statistically significantly reduced for the eyes with Keratoconus (while the intraocular pressure is normal). The cornea affected by keratoconus thus presents an augmented elastic component, which means that its ability to absorb the incident energy is less than a keratoconus-free cornea.
We observed a steady but variable intensity decrease (about 2 mmHg on average) of the CH value after refractive surgery by LASIK. This reduction appears to be prolonged over time (up to one year of recoil) and without clinical consequences. The values obtained for the CH after LASIK are lower than the preoperative values but remain statistically higher than those of the group of patients with keratoconus. It should be recalled that the corrected measurement (IOPCC) of ocular pressure by the ORA takes into account the value of the second adjustment and thus takes better account of the biomechanical state of the cornea.

Several preliminary studies suggest that in extended ocular hypertonia case, the value of the CH reduced remains despite the normalization of eye pressure. The reduction of the CH could translate an alteration in the properties of the corneal tissue subjected to a prolonged hypertension. It is also lawful to apply that a reduction of the corneal hysteresis could make the bed of glaucoma (increased capacity of distension of intra-oculaires tissue involving not only the cornea but the sclera and the blade riddled). In this context, the CH could be considered a marker prognostic glaucomateuse affection.
Finally, the analysis of morphological characteristics resulting from the collection in intensity of the infra-red signal opens up new diagnostic perspectives. These characteristics involve the height and width of the peaks, the more or less smooth appearance of the infrared signal curve, ect... Their study is the subject of various works in our department, in collaboration with Dr. Dave Luce, inventor of the instrument.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Biomécanique cornéenne

Evaluation clinique des propriétés biomécanique de la cornéen avec l’Ocular Response Analyzer (ORA).

Intérêt et principes de mesure.de l’hystérésis cornéen.

Alors que de nombreux instruments permettent d’étudier les propriétés géométriques et optiques (topographie cornéenne) ou histo-morphologiques (étude en microscopie confocale), l’estimation des propriétés biomécaniques de la cornée fut longtemps cantonnée à la recherche jusqu’à l’introduction de l’Ocular Response Analyzer® (Reichert, Buffalo, NY). Cet instrument fournit au clinicien une estimation non invasive de l’hystérésis cornéen, et utilise ce paramètre physique pour accroître la précision de la mesure de la pression intra-oculaire.
Nous utilisons l’Ocular Response Analyzer (ORA) dans des contextes cliniques variés.

Il est important de bien en comprendre les principes et les paramètres mesurés.

ocular-response-analyzer-(ora)

Quel est l’intérêt d’évaluer les propriétés biomécaniques de la cornée en pratique clinique ?

La prise en charge du glaucome et la chirurgie réfractive cornéenne est le champ principal de l’étude de la biomécanique cornéenne.

1) Glaucome

Dans le cadre du dépistage et le suivi des patients glaucomateux, il est important de mieux mesurer la pression oculaire, et comprendre les facteurs mécaniques intriqués qui peuvent en faire varier les chiffres obtenus avec les tonomètres classiques.
L’hypertension oculaire (HTO) est le facteur de risque de glaucome le plus significatif, et reste le seul élément dont le traitement diminue l’incidence et la progression du glaucome. La méthode de mesure de la pression intra-oculaire (PIO) la plus communément utilisée est celle du tonomètre à aplanation de Goldmann, monté sur une lampe à fente, basée sur la loi de Imbert-Fick. Cette loi suppose que la pression interne exercée sur une sphère à paroi fine est égale à la pression nécessaire pour aplatir une petite zone de sa paroi. Cependant, il a été démontré que l’épaisseur cornéenne a une influence sur la mesure de la PIO. De plus, la prise en compte de la pachymétrie (épaisseur) cornéenne ne suffit pas à prédire les caractéristiques mécaniques du mur cornéen. La loi d’Imbert-Fick est valable pour des parois parfaitement élastiques (hystérésis nul). Enfin, cette loi s’applique à des sphères présentant une résistance homogène. Or, la sclère et la cornée ont une épaisseur et une rigidité variable selon les sujets. Ainsi, le tonomètre de Goldmann a été calibré pour une épaisseur de 525 µm et néglige la viscosité cornéenne. La fiabilité de la mesure avec ce type de tonométrie oculaire est donc sujette à une certaine imprécision, d’autant plus grande que la cornée du sujet se départit du modèle simplifié proposé par Goldman.

2) Chirurgie réfractive

La modification du pouvoir optique de la cornée induite par la kératotomie radiaire (KR) reposait sur l’induction d’une modification de la structure biomécanique de la cornée (incisions cornéennes profondes périphériques), sans variation de volume (absence de soustraction tissulaire). Ces incisions affaiblissaient biomécaniquement la périphérie de la cornée, dont le centre « ployait » et s’applatissait.
Les techniques de photoablation sont bâties sur un postulat inverse et fondent la modification du pouvoir réfractif sur un remodelage cornéen soustractif (sculpture par le laser excimer), en négligeant la possible réaction biomécanique.
Il est aujourd’hui démontré qu’une partie des effets « non prédits » par les profils d’ablation repose sur des modifications de la géométrie du mur cornéen d’origine biomécanique. La faible prédictibilité et les fluctuations réfractive de la KR ont pu être attribuée aux variations inter et intra individuelles de paramètres influant sur l’état biomécanique de la cornée (pression intra oculaire, rigidité cornéenne variables d’un patient à l’autre, ect…).
L’ectasie cornéenne induite par le LASIK est une complication très rare. Elle pourrait être liée à la décompensation d’un état biomécanique cornéen précaire (kératocône fruste). La mesure objective de l’état biomécanique préopératoire pourrait accroître la sensibilité de la détection de ces cornées « à risque biomécanique ».

L’intérêt de la mesure de l’hystérésis cornéen ne se limite pas au diagnostic du glaucome et le dépistage des cornées à risque en chirurgie réfractive. Il pourrait également permettre d’apprécier les conséquences biomécaniques d’affections oculaires « locales » (dysfonctionnement meibomien, sécheresse oculaire , dystrophies et dégénérescences cornéennes, ect…) ou secondaires à des affections générales (atopie, diabète, collagénoses, maladies de systèmes, ect…).. Enfin, l’appréciation de la rigidité cornéenne pourrait permettre de quantifier l’effet bénéfique escompté de procédures thérapeutiques comme l’insertion d’anneaux intra-cornéens ou la réticulation du collagène cornéen (cross linking – CXL). Depuis l’essor de la pratique du CXL, les mesures biomécaniques ne montrent pas de réelle modification de la biomécanique cornéenne (absence d’élévation de l’hystérèse ou hystérésis), ce qui doit faire reconsidérer l’intérêt de cette technique.

Qu’est ce que l’Hystérèse ?

Le phénomène a été décrit par Sir James Alfred Ewing en 1890 . L’hystérèse (ou hystérésis) est une propriété présente chez certains systèmes physiques caractérisée par le caractère différé dans le temps de la réponse à de une force qui leur est appliquée. Ces systèmes réagissent « doucement » et ne reviennent pas instantanément à leur forme d’origine car ils absorbent une partie de l’énergie mécanique incidente qu’ils dissipent sous une autre forme (chaleur). Les systèmes visqueux possèdent une hystérèse élevée.

Qu’est ce que la visco élasticité de la cornée ?

La pression exercée pour la mesure pressionnelle correspond à un stress mécanique pour la cornée (force exercée sur l’ensemble de la surface offerte par le mur cornéen). Le recueil des données relatives à la « gestion » de ce stress mécanique par la cornée renseigne sur ses propriétés biomécaniques.
Le comportement mécanique du tissu cornéen répond aux lois de la physique et peut être modélisé comme un système au comportement visco-élastique. L’élasticité et la viscosité confèrent au tissu cornéen duex caractéristiques comportementales distinctes :

-comportement élastique ; un système parfaitement élastique peut stocker de l’énergie avant de la restituer quasi intégralement. Un ressort métallique est un exemple de système élastique. Après compression (même prolongée), l’énergie est stockée (déformations moléculaires réversibles) puis restituée de manière quasi instantanée. Dans certaines conditions de tension, un système élastique a tendance à présenter des oscillations .lors de la restitution de l’énergie.

-comportement visqueux ; un système visqueux oppose une résistance qui s’accroît de façon non proportionnelle à l’intensité force de déformation exercée. Il existe une dissipation de l’énergie mécanique incidente (sous forme d’énergie thermique), qui explique un retour différé à l’état d’équilibre d’origine.

Comment fonctionne l’Ocular Response Analyzer ?

L’instrument émet un jet d’air calibré continu dirigé vers le dôme cornéen. Cette pression augmente par sommation au cours du temps et exerce une force d’intensité croissante en chaque point de la surface cornéenne exposée au flux d’air. Cette force va entraîner une déformation de la cornée. La pression exercée par le flux d’air est monitorée à de très brefs intervalles de temps par l’instrument tout au long de l’examen. L’aplanation est détectée grâce à la mesure de l’intensité de lumière infra-rouge réfléchie par la cornée. Cette lumière est émise selon une incidence oblique, et sa réflexion (également oblique dans une direction opposée) vers un capteur photosensible est d’autant plus importante que la courbure cornéenne est faible. L’aplanation correspond à un pic d’intensité lumineuse réfléchie, car cet à cet instant la surface cornéenne agit un peu comme un miroir plan. La pression à l’aplanation correspond à la pression mesurée lors du pic infrarouge.

ora story board

L’originalité de l’Ocular Response Analyzer réside dans sa capacité à effectuer lors d’un simple examen non pas une mais deux mesures d’aplanation consécutives : la première lors de la déformation cornéenne initiale consécutive à l’augmentation de pression, la seconde au moment ou la cornée retourne vers son état de forme initial.
Lors de la détection de la première aplanation (premier pic infra rouge), l’émission du jet d’air est brusquement interrompue. La pression de l’air exercée sur le mur cornéen ne chute toutefois pas immédiatement, mais continue d’augmenter par inertie pendant quelques millisecondes, avant d’atteindre un maximum, puis décroître progressivement vers l’état initial d’équilibre. L’allure de la courbe de pression obtenue tout au long de l’examen est d’allure gaussienne (elle épouse un peu l’allure d’une « cloche »).
La hauteur de cette courbe en cloche est proportionnelle à la valeur de pression intraoculaire: en effet, rappelons que le flux d’air n’est interrompu par l’instrument qu’au moment où survient la première aplanation. Plus la pression intra oculaire est élevée, plus la pression d’air équivalente à fournir au voisinage de la cornée est importante pour obtenir la première aplanation. A cet instant, la partie ascendante de la courbe de pression et la hauteur de la « cloche » seront d’autant plus élevée que la pression intraoculaire est élevée.
Après la première aplanation, le dôme cornéen subit pendant quelques instant une pression supérieure à la pression intraoculaire, et le profil cornéen central devient légèrement concave en avant. La proportion de lumière infrarouge décroît alors brutalement. La seconde aplanation survient lors de la décroissance pressionnelle et est détectée grâce au second pic de lumière infrarouge réfléchi.

Comment sont calculés les Index quantitatifs fournis par l’instrument ?

L’appareil permet de mesurer deux pressions d’aplanations consécutives (P1 et P2), exprimées en mmHg. Schématiquement, P1 est mesurée alors que la cornée subit et résiste à une pression positive croissante du jet d’air calibré, alors que P2 est mesurée quand la cornée revient à son état d’équilibre, en phase de pression positive décroissante.
Ainsi, à partir des valeurs de P1 et P2, le logiciel de l’ORA propose différents index :

-L’hystérèse (CH pour Corneal Hysteresis) est égal à la différence entre P1 et P2 (P1-P2). La valeur de l’hystérèse est proportionnelle au degré de viscosité de la cornée, et inversement proportionnelle à son degré d’élasticité.

ora corneal hysteresis

-L’estimation du facteur de la résistance cornéenne (Corneal Resistance Factor = CRF)
P1-KxP2, avec K=0.7. La valeur de K a été déterminée à partir d’étude cliniques et de modèles statistiques de corrélation. Cette formule accorde une pondération favorable pour P1 vis à vis de P2.

-La pression oculaire non compensée (IOPg) est égale à la moyenne arithmétique entre P1 et P2, soit (P1+P2)/2.
-La pression oculaire compensée pour les propriétés viscoélastiques de la cornée (IOPcc) est égale à une combinaison linéaire entre P1 et P2, et dont la valeur est particulièrement sensible à P2 , c’est à dire à la valeur de pression mesurée lors de la deuxième aplanation.
IOPcc = P2-0.KxP1, avec K=0.43. Cette valeur de K a été déterminée à partir d’études cliniques et de modèles statistiques de régression. Le CRF est ainsi mieux corrélé à l’épaisseur cornéenne centrale.

Comment analyser les signaux fournis par l’ORA ?

Trois courbes sont affichées pour chaque mesure sur un même graphique dont l’abscisse est une échelle de temps..
La courbe verte d’allure gaussienne correspond à la pression exercée contre le dôme cornéen.
La courbe rouge représente l’intensité de lumière infra rouge détectée pendant la mesure. La courbe bleue est obtenue par un lissage mathématique de la courbée rouge afin d’en réduire le « bruit ».
L’intersection des pics de la courbe lissée (en bleu) avec la courbe pressionnelle (en vert) permet de repérer les deux pressions d’aplanation successives.
Notre expérience préliminaire avec l’ORA nous a permis d’identifier les caractéristiques morphologiques fréquemment retrouvées dans des contextes cliniques divers comme le glaucome chronique, le kératocône, les suites opératoires de chirurgie réfractive cornéenne, ect…
Une étude statistique préliminaire a permis de définir une valeur moyenne de 11.02 (+/- 1.22 ) mmHg pour le CH chez des patients « normaux ». La définition de la « normalité » est ici prudente et même si tout patient présentant une hypertonie oculaire, une suspicion de kératocône fruste, ect … était exclu de l’analyse, les patients faiblement amétropes étaient majoritairement représentés dans cet échantillon. Le CH est apparu faiblement corrélée à la valeur de l’épaisseur cornéenne centrale dans notre étude.
La valeur du CH apparaît réduite de façon statistiquement significative pour les yeux atteints de kératocône (alors que la pression intra-oculaire est normale). La cornée atteinte de kératocône présente ainsi une composante élastique augmentée, ce qui signifie que sa capacité à absorber l’énergie incidente est inférieure à une cornée indemne de kératocône.
Nous avons observé une diminution constante mais d’intensité variable (environ 2 mmHg en moyenne) de la valeur du CH après chirurgie réfractive par LASIK. Cette réduction semble prolongée dans le temps (jusqu’à un an de recul) et sans conséquence clinique. Les valeurs obtenues pour le CH après LASIK sont inférieures aux valeurs préopératoires mais demeurent statistiquement supérieures à celles du groupe de patients atteints de kératocône. Rappelons que la mesure corrigée (IOPcc) de la pression oculaire par l’ORA tient compte de la valeur de la seconde aplanation et tient ainsi mieux compte de l’état biomécanique de la cornée.

Plusieurs études préliminaires suggèrent qu’en cas d’hypertonie oculaire prolongée, la valeur du CH demeure réduite malgré la normalisation de la pression oculaire. La réduction du CH pourrait traduire une altération des propriétés du tissu cornéen soumis à une hypertonie prolongée. Il est également licite de postuler qu’une réduction de l’hystérésis cornéen pourrait faire le lit du glaucome (capacité accrue de distension de tissus intra-oculaires impliquant non seulement la cornée mais la sclère et la lame criblée). Dans ce contexte, le CH pourrait être considéré comme un marqueur pronostique de l’affection glaucomateuse.
Enfin, l’analyse des caractéristiques morphologiques issues du recueil en intensité du signal infra-rouge ouvre de nouvelles perspectives diagnostiques. Ces caractéristiques font intervenir la hauteur et la largeur des pics, l’aspect plus ou moins lisse de la courbe de signal infrarouge, ect…Leur étude fait l’objet de travaux divers dans notre service, en collaboration avec le Dr Dave Luce, inventeur de l’instrument.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *