+ +

Introduction to the eye optics

Œil and optical: the basics

This page is an introduction to the optical eye, also called physiological Optics: it provides a simplified and accessible description how the eye processes light get it to allow the Visual ways send information that will give birth to the Visual sensation to the brain.

 "There are eyes that receive light and there are eyes that give it... "(Paul Claudel)

Introduction to the vision

The vision is the result of a useful interaction between the eye and the light. If visual sensation seat in the brain, the eye is a light sensor body.

The first step of the Visual casecade can be described as optical: she intended to form on the retina, the light-sensitive tissue that lines the inside wall of the eyeball, as fairly as possible of the surrounding world. The light is "information", which, when it is emitted by a light source, travel in the surrounding space. The journey takes this information is generally in the form of straight lines called "spokes". When the eye captures these rays, it captures some of the information emitted by the light source.

To allow our brains to produce a visual sensation, the eye to send this information to the retina, which is a neurological tissue connected to the brain through the Visual channels.  The retinal image is born of the focus on the retina of the light rays emitted by the objects observed and then picked up by the eye. To form a sufficiently sharp retinal image, transparent ocular structures must print the captured light rays a route leading to converge on the retina; one speaks of «» refraction "light rays. The path of light rays in the cornea and the crystalline lens obeys the laws of refraction; Knowing these laws is so essential to understand and predict the way so the eye perceives the world around.  Myopia, hyperopia or astigmatism are so many refractive errors (called "") ametropia"), which stem from an imperfect (flawed drive) refraction light rays to the retina."

eye rays and optics

The eye is a light sensor: the rays, who realized the path of 'light information' are emitted by a source object. So that this information can be used to form a "picture" of the source, so that it is received by an optical system (an ' objective') whose role is to deflect the rays received so that they converge in one same point, ideally located in the plane of a light-sensitive surface. In the case of the human eye, the optical system is formed by the cornea and the lens, and the photosensitive surface is located within the retina and covered with cells called photoreceptors.

The study of the fundamental laws of optics may prove off-putting or arid, particularly when it is presented without direct and explanatory link with some concrete phenomena: even the most basic concepts such as the propagation of light rays can then appear devoid of true meaning for the non-specialist reader. The study of the refraction of light by the eye focuses essentially on the propagation of light through the optical system and the eye is part of optics known as "geometric". This area is essential to understand the mechanisms, consequences and means of correction of the optical defects of the eye (the what). It is unfortunately not enough to fully understand the mechanism of the formation of retinal images.

The notions of additional optics, arising from the field of optics, so-called 'wave' used to explain certain phenomena involved in the formation of these images.

This introduction to the eye optics pages have therefore aims to explain how is the initial stage of the vision, which is an optical step: they are aimed at the novice readers, who may not have knowledge in optics, but who wish to understand how is the initial stage of the vision, which involves light emitted by sources present in our visual environment and the eye. It must serve as an introduction or even "intermediation", by providing the fundamentals and prerequisites useful to address topics more specialized site content.

Some repetitions are voluntary, in order to emphasize the most important concepts. So the reader can understand how exploration methods, modeling, and correction of the refraction of the eye are designed better.

We'll thus successively:

-The General principles that govern the light path of the light source in the retina : this step is important, because it determines the quality of the image captured rays will form on the retinal screen.

-THEretinal image : we will explore how it is possible to study the quality of this image with respect to the light source, which requires to break it down into sub basic units: a set of image points, or a set of spatial frequencies

-The path of the rays through the elements of the eye that refract the light: the cornea and the lens. This optical path depends on physical properties and obeying certain laws, such as the law of refraction.

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Introduction à l’optique oculaire

Œil et optique : les bases

Cette page ainsi est une introduction à l’optique oculaire, également appelée optique physiologique: elle fournit  une description simplifiée et accessible de la manière dont l’œil traite la lumière qu’il capte pour permettre au voies visuelles d’acheminer vers le cerveau une information qui donnera naissance à la sensation visuelle.

 « Il y a des yeux qui reçoivent la lumière et il y a des yeux qui la donnent… » (Paul Claudel)

Introduction à la vision

La vision est le fruit d’une interaction utile entre l’œil et la lumière. Si la sensation visuelle a pour siège le cerveau, l’œil est un organe capteur de lumière.

La première étape de la cascade visuelle peut être qualifiée d’optique : elle a pour but de former sur la rétine, le tissu photosensible qui tapisse la paroi interne du globe oculaire, une image aussi fidèle que possible du monde environnant. La lumière est une « information », qui, lorsque elle est émise par une source lumineuse, voyage dans l’espace environnant. Le trajet qu’emprunte cette information est généralement représenté sous la forme de lignes droites appelées « rayons ». Quand l’oeil capte ces rayons, il capte une partie de l’information émise par la source lumineuse.

Pour permettre à notre cerveau de produire une sensation visuelle, il faut que l’oeil transmette cette information à la rétine, qui est un tissu neurologique relié au cerveau par les voies visuelles.  L’image rétinienne naît donc de la focalisation sur la rétine des rayons lumineux émis par les objets observés puis captés par l’œil. Pour former une image rétinienne suffisamment nette, les structures oculaires transparentes doivent imprimer aux rayons lumineux captés un trajet aboutissant à les faire converger vers la rétine; on parle de « réfraction » des rayons lumineux. Le trajet des rayons lumineux au sein de la cornée et du cristallin obéit aux lois de la réfraction ; connaître ces lois est donc indispensable pour comprendre et prédire la manière donc l’œil perçoit le monde environnant.  Myopie, hypermétropie ou astigmatisme sont autant d’erreurs réfractives (appelées « amétropies« ), qui découlent d’une réfraction imparfaite (d’un trajet imparfait) des rayons lumineux vers la rétine.

oeil rayons et système optique

L’œil est un capteur de lumière: les rayons, qui matérialisent le trajet de « l’information lumineuse » sont émis par un objet source. Pour que cette information puisse être utilisée pour former une « image » de la source, il faut qu’elle soit reçue par un système optique (un « objectif ») dont le rôle est de dévier les rayons captés de manière à ce qu’ils convergent en un même point, idéalement situé dans le plan d’une surface sensible à la lumière. Dans le cas de l’œil humain, le système optique est constitué par la cornée et le cristallin, et la surface photosensible est située au sein de la rétine et recouverte de cellules appelées photorécepteurs.

L’étude des lois fondamentales de l’optique peut s’avérer rébarbative ou aride, particulièrement quand elle est présentée sans lien direct et explicatif avec certains phénomènes concrets : même les concepts les plus élémentaires comme la propagation de rayons lumineux peuvent alors apparaître dénués de sens véritable pour le lecteur non spécialiste. L’étude de la réfraction de la lumière par les tissus oculaires porte essentiellement sur la propagation des rayons lumineux au travers des systèmes optiques et de l’œil fait partie de l’optique dite «géométrique». Ce domaine est incontournable pour comprendre les mécanismes, conséquences et moyens de correction des défauts optiques de l’œil (les amétropies). Il n’est malheureusement pas suffisant pour appréhender pleinement le mécanisme de la formation des images rétiniennes.

Le recours à des notions d’optique complémentaires, qui découlent du champ de l’optique  dite « ondulatoire » permet d’expliciter certains phénomènes qui participent à la formation de ces images.

Les pages de cette introduction à l’optique oculaire ont donc pour ambition d’expliquer comment s’effectue l’étape initiale de la vision, qui est une étape optique : elles s’adressent aux lecteurs novices, qui n’ont pas forcément de connaissances en optique, mais qui souhaitent comprendre comment s’effectue l’étape initiale de la vision, qui met en jeu la lumière émise par les sources présentent dans notre environnement visuel et l’oeil. Elle doit servir d’introduction voire d’ « intermédiation », en fournissant les fondamentaux et prérequis utiles  pour aborder le contenu de rubriques plus spécialisées de ce site.

Certaines répétitions sont volontaires, dans le but d’insister sur les concepts les plus importants. Le lecteur pourra ainsi mieux comprendre comment sont conçues les méthodes d’exploration, de modélisation, et de correction de la réfraction de l’œil humain.

Nous aborderons ainsi successivement :

– Les principes généraux qui régissent le trajet de la lumière de la source lumineuse observée à la rétine : cette étape est importante, car elle conditionne la qualité de l’image que les rayons captés formeront sur l’écran rétinien.

– L’image rétinienne : nous étudierons comment il est possible d’étudier la qualité de cette image vis à vis de la source lumineuse, ce qui requiert de la décomposer en sous unités élémentaires: un ensemble de points image, ou un ensemble de fréquences spatiales

– Le chemin des rayons au travers des éléments de l’oeil qui réfractent la lumière: la cornée et le cristallin. Ce chemin optique dépend de propriétés physiques particulières et obéit à certaines lois, comme la loi de la réfraction.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *