+ +

Log MAR: definition and interest

Log MAR: definition

The LogMAR (or Log MAR) is a unit that allows to quantify theVisual acuity in order to perform calculations statistics such as average, deviation of the Visual acuity in a population of eyes, etc.

Reminder: MAR

The MAR (minimum angle of resolution) is the unit that defines the separator (for a resolution) power of the eye. It corresponds to the minimum angle that can deal with two light sources with regard to the eye by being 'just' separate.

reminder angle MAR minimum angle resolution

S1 and S2 are their respective retinal images to separate light sources, and I1 and I2: depending on the angle α they form with the eye (N being the nodal point), the images are more or less separated. The minimum angle of resolution (or separation) is the one "in deca" from which the images of sources, represented in the form of "disks" light whose intensity schematic profile is also represented, are more separated. When sources form an angle equal to the MAR with the eye, they are 'just separate', and priori perceived as distinct if these 'geometrically' separate images are properly sampled.

His progression is geometric, and inversely proportional to that of Visual acuity (when the angle double MAR, acuity is divided by 2). Indeed, remember the decimal acuity (expressed in tenths) is in fact equal to the inverse of the Mar. For example, for a 1 min MAR, Visual acuity is 1 or 10/10. For a MAR of 4 minutes, Visual acuity is 1/4 What done in tenths: 2.5/10.

However the gap between two lines of Visual acuity on Snellen chart is not the same: there are more "gain" of resolution between 1 and 4 tenths (the angle of minimum resolution = MAR is divided by 4) that between 5 to 10 tenths)MAR is divided by 2).

Progression of Visual acuity

The progression between two levels of acuity must be the same, regardless of the line which we "leave", and "get"! It is the role of the conversions in log MAR: a same gain of lines of Visual acuity (this gain is the reflection of a certain percentage of reduction of the MAR) is converted to a constant number of logMAR, regardless of the value of the MAR initial.

Indeed, as Visual acuity is the opposite of the angle MAR (10/10 = 1 is a minute of arc, 9/10 is 1.11 minute arc, 8/10 is 1.25 minute arc, 7/10 is 1.42 minute of arc,..., 2/10 = 0.5 is 5 minutes of arc, etc.) we note that between 2 lines of decimal acuity, reduction of Visual acuity is not constant. More progress from tenth in tenth with a classic Visual acuity of decimal progression scale, and the gain between each line is reduced. Here are the comparative gain between tenths of Visual acuity and reduction of the angle line MAR online:

1/10: MAR = 10 minutes

2/10: MAR = 5 minutes (half or 50% of the MAR angle reduction)

3/10: MAR = 3.33 minutes (33% of the MAR angle reduction)

4/10: MAR = 2.5 minutes (25% of the MAR angle reduction)

5/10: MAR = 2mn (reduction of 20% of the MAR angle)

6/10: MAR = 1.66 minutes (reduction of 16.7% of the MAR angle)

7/10: MAR = 1.42 minutes (reduction of 14.4% angle MAR)

8/10: MAR = 1.25 minutes (12% of the MAR angle reduction)

9/10: MAR = 1.11 minutes (reduction of 11.1% of the MAR angle)

10/10: MAR = 1 min (10% of the MAR angle reduction)

Difficult to make a calculation of average arithmetic with the tenth in a reference population. The use of the logarithm however lets find an arithmetic progression, at the cost of a change of variable.
Thus, thanks to the passage in log MAR, we obtain the same gain for an eye whoseVisual acuity increases a MAR 4 minutes of angle (either an acuity of 0.25 or 2.5/10) and for an eye growing acuity of a MAR of 2 minutes (either a 0.50 AV or 5/10) in a 1 min (1 or 10/10 AV) MAR a MAR of 8 minutes of angle or a sharpness of 0.13 in decimal (i.e. 1.3/10).  This is expected, since in these two case, Visual acuity has doubled (the value of the MAR has been divided by 2).

How to convert the MAR in logMAR?

LogMAR unit is defined as the logarithm in base 10 decimal Visual acuity.

-Log (10)MAR).

We back the decimal fraction of the sharpness to a power of 10. The MAR log is equal to the exponent (which we reverse the sign).

Two case are particularly easy to calculate:

* 10/10 = 1 = 100

-Log = 0 MAR

 

* 1/10 = 0.1 = 10-1

-Log = 1 MAR

* 5/10

It is less easy to mentally calculate the logMAR of 0.5 (5/10) (how much power should I raise 10 to get the value 0.5?)

5/10 = 0.5 = 10-0.3

-MAR = 0.3 log

 

Thanks to the properties of logarithms, between each 0.1 difference logMAR, the percentage of reduction or increase the angle of MAR is the same! In fact, 10-0.1 x 10-0.1 =10-0.2  and 10-0.3 x 10-0.1 =10-0.4 (exhibitors are added together). Between each line, for an addition of-0.1 LogMAR, MAR angle increases by 25% (multiply by 1.25).

In case of acuity greater than less than 1 minutes 10/10 (Tue), decimal acuity turnover is greater than 1, and the exponent of 10 greater than 0; (ex: LogMAR = + 0.3 for acuity of 20/10, is a MAR to 05 minutes of arc). As we reverse its sign, the end result is negative (-0.3).

Some scales of Visual acuity we were designed so that the gain between each line is the reflection of a same progression in terms of MAR. The EDTRS scale is the best known.

The following table allows to convert between the different Visual acuity rating:

The Visual acuities conversion table

Snellen notationMAR -logMARDecimal
6/6020/200101.00.10
6/4820/1608.00.90.13
6/3820/1256.30.80.16
6/3020/1005.00.70.20
6/2420/804.00.60.25
6/1920/603.20.50.32
6/1520/502.50.40.40
6/1220/402.00.30.50
6/9.520/301.60.20.63
6/7.520/251.250.10.80
6/620/201.000.01.00
6/4.820/160.80-0.11.25
6/3.820/12.50.63-0.21.58
6/3.020/100.50-0.32.00

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Log MAR : définition et intérêt

Log MAR : définition

Le LogMAR (ou Log MAR) est un unité qui permet de quantifier l’acuité visuelle de manière à pouvoir effectuer des calculs statistiques comme la moyenne, l’écart type de l’acuité visuelle dans une population d’yeux, etc.

Rappel  : le MAR

Le MAR (minimum angle of resolution) est l’unité qui définit le pouvoir séparateur (de résolution) de l’œil. Il correspond à l’angle minimum que peuvent occuper deux sources ponctuelles lumineuses vis à vis de l’oeil en étant « juste » séparées.

rappel angle MAR minimum angle resolution

S1 et S2 sont des sources lumineuses ponctuelles, et I1 et I2 leurs images rétiniennes respectives qu’il faut séparer: en fonction de l’angle α qu’elles forment avec l’œil (N étant le point nodal), les images sont plus ou moins séparées. L’angle minimum de résolution (ou séparation) est celui « en deçà » duquel les images des sources, représentées sous forme de « disques » lumineux dont le profil d’intensité schématique est également représenté, ne sont plus séparées. Quand les sources forment avec l’œil un angle égal au MAR, elles sont « juste séparées », et a priori perçues comme distinctes si ces images « géométriquement » séparées sont correctement échantillonnées.

Sa progression est géométrique, et inversement proportionnelle à celle de l’acuité visuelle (quand l’angle MAR double, l’acuité est divisée par 2). En effet, rappelons que l’acuité visuelle décimale (exprimée en dixièmes) est en fait égale à l’inverse du MAR. Par exemple, pour un MAR de 1 mn, l’acuité visuelle est de 1 soit 10/10. Pour un MAR de 4 mn, l’acuité visuelle est de 1/4 ce qui fait en dixièmes : 2.5/10.

Cependant l’écart entre deux lignes d’acuité visuelle Snellen n’est pas le même : il y a plus de « gain » de résolution entre 1 et 4 dixièmes  (l’angle de résolution minimum = MAR est divisé par 4) qu’entre 5 et 10 dixièmes (MAR est divisé par 2).

Progression de l’acuité visuelle

La progression entre deux niveaux d’acuité doit être le même, quelle que soit la ligne dont on « part », et celle où l’on  « arrive » ! C’est le rôle de la conversions en log MAR : un même gain de lignes d’acuité visuelle (ce gain est le reflet d’un certain pourcentage de réduction du MAR) est converti en un  nombre  constant de logMAR , indépendamment de la valeur du MAR initial.

En effet, comme l’acuité visuelle est l’inverse de l’angle MAR (10/10= 1 est une minute d’arc, 9/10 est 1.11 minute d’arc, 8/10 est 1.25 minute d’arc, 7/10 est 1.42 minute d’arc, …, 2/10=0.5 est 5 minutes d’arc, etc.) on remarque qu’entre 2 lignes d’acuité décimale, la réduction de l’acuité visuelle n’est pas constante. Plus on progresse de dixième en dixième avec une échelle classique d’acuité visuelle de progression décimale, et plus le gain entre chaque ligne se réduit. Voici le gain comparé entre dixièmes d’acuité visuelle et réduction de l’angle MAR de ligne en ligne :

1/10 : MAR= 10 mn

2/10 : MAR= 5 mn   (réduction de moitié soit 50% de l’angle MAR)

3/10: MAR = 3.33 mn (réduction de 33% de l’angle MAR)

4/10 : MAR = 2.5 mn (réduction de 25 % de l’angle MAR)

5/10 : MAR = 2 mn (réduction de 20% de l’angle MAR)

6/10 : MAR = 1.66 mn (réduction de 16.7 % de l’angle MAR)

7/10 : MAR = 1.42 mn (réduction de 14.4% de l’angle MAR)

8/10 : MAR = 1.25 mn (réduction de 12 % de l’angle MAR)

9/10 : MAR = 1.11 mn (réduction de 11.1 % de l’angle MAR)

10/10: MAR = 1 mn (réduction de 10% de l’angle MAR)

Difficile alors d’effectuer un calcul de moyenne arithmétique avec les dixièmes dans une population de référence. L’utilisation du Logarithme permet cependant de retrouver une progression arithmétique, au prix d’un changement de variable.
Ainsi,grâce au passage en log MAR, on obtient le même gain pour un œil dont l’acuité visuelle augmente d’un MAR de 8 mn d’angle (soit une acuité de 0.13 en décimal soit 1.3/10) à un MAR de 4 mn d’angle (soit une acuité de 0.25 ou 2.5/10) et pour un œil dont l’acuité augmente d’un MAR de 2 mn (soit une AV de 0.50 ou 5/10) à un MAR de 1 mn (AV de 1 ou 10/10).  Ceci est attendu, puisque dans ces deux cas, l’acuité visuelle a doublé (la valeur du MAR a été divisée par 2).

Comment convertir les MAR en logMAR ?

L’unité logMAR est définie comme le logarithme en base 10 de l’acuité visuelle décimale.

– Log 10(MAR).

On ramène la fraction décimale de l’acuité à une puissance de 10. Le log MAR est alors égal à l’exposant (dont on inverse le signe).

Deux cas sont particulièrement faciles à calculer :

*   10/10= 1= 100

-Log MAR = 0

 

* 1/10= 0.1= 10-1

-Log MAR =1

*5/10

Il est moins facile de calculer mentalement le logMAR de 0.5 (5/10) (à quelle puissance dois-je élever 10 pour obtenir la valeur 0.5 ?)

5/10=0.5 = 10-0.3

-log MAR= 0.3

 

Grâce aux propriétés des logarithmes, entre chaque écart de 0.1 logMAR, le pourcentage de réduction ou d’augmentation de l’angle MAR est identique ! En effet, 10-0.1 x 10-0.1 =10-0.2  et 10-0.3 x 10-0.1 =10-0.4 (les exposants s’additionnent). Entre chaque ligne, pour une addition de -0.1 LogMAR, l’angle MAR augmente de 25% (multiplication par 1.25).

En cas d’acuité supérieure à 10/10 (MAR inférieur à 1 mn), le chiffre d’acuité décimale est supérieur à 1, et l’exposant de 10 supérieur à 0; (ex: LogMAR=+0.3 pour une acuité de 20/10, soit un MAR de 05 mn d’arc). Comme on inverse son signe, le résultat final est négatif (-0.3).

Certaines échelles d’acuité visuelle on été conçues de manière à ce que le gain entre chaque ligne soit le reflet d’une même progression en terme de MAR. L’échelle EDTRS est la plus connue.

Le tableau suivant permet de convertir entre elles les différentes notation d’acuité visuelle:

Tableau de conversion des acuités visuelles

Notation Snellen MAR – logMAR Decimal
6/60 20/200 10 1.0 0.10
6/48 20/160 8.0 0.9 0.13
6/38 20/125 6.3 0.8 0.16
6/30 20/100 5.0 0.7 0.20
6/24 20/80 4.0 0.6 0.25
6/19 20/60 3.2 0.5 0.32
6/15 20/50 2.5 0.4 0.40
6/12 20/40 2.0 0.3 0.50
6/9.5 20/30 1.6 0.2 0.63
6/7.5 20/25 1.25 0.1 0.80
6/6 20/20 1.00 0.0 1.00
6/4.8 20/16 0.80 -0.1 1.25
6/3.8 20/12.5 0.63 -0.2 1.58
6/3.0 20/10 0.50 -0.3 2.00

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *