Virtual reality headset Oculus Rift

Virtual reality headset: eye issues

 

The virtual reality caseque Oculus Rift is designed by Oculus RV company. It is a computing device connected to a computer, PC or Mac, and consisting of a display screen coupled with stereoscopic bi-oculaire system. Each eye looks a different image, through a dedicated eyepiece. The dimensions of the caseque are comparable to those of a diving mask, but promised here immersion requires no tuba or bottles: it is only Visual, possibly sound, but it seems yet total. From the first use of the caseque, we got the feeling to be transported into another world, to be spent through the looking glass. The virtual seems real, he's bluffing our sensations by the Visual realism provides this Visual dive into dimensional sort 360 universe. The adage "To see is to believe" ("Seing is believing") takes on a particularly concrete dimension.

This page is primarily devoted to the Visual aspects and optical challenges of the Oculus Rift (version DK2) virtual reality caseque, of which there are already competing models like the Samsung Gear RV, Google Cardboard, marketed in some countries.

These views of virtual reality devices offer countless opportunities to renew the field of the video game of the show, and democratize virtual reality. The equipped player of the caseque is no longer in front of a screen: he dives into the universe of the game, the action takes place all around him on 360 °, and it is possible to observe moving the head from left to right, from bottom to top, etc. The event viewer is no longer facing the stage where it takes place: a concert filmed in 3D and panoramic vision can be viewed with this type of caseque: This gives the wearer the feeling to be carried on the stage, in the middle of the musicians.  It can be seen at leisure, turning his head, as he would 'naturally' if he was physically present among them. Once carried out the step of the acquisition (or creating) realistic content, it is possible to virtually visit but a very realistic exposure, fly over a landscape, or even attend since at home in a conference... as if we were there.

 

General principles

The computer connected to the caseque generates a video stream consists of pairs of moving images, to a refresh rate of 60 Hz.   One of the images of each pair is meant to be seen by the right eye, the other by the left eye. The screen is the same as that which equips the Galaxy Note 3: technology is AMOLED, and its resolution of 960 × 1080 pixels per eye (a "half" format "full HD").  The images are calculated numerically or acquired (3D camera), so as to simulate the respective views of the left eye and the right eye. This allows the observer to collect the reliefunder the mechanisms that allows the Visual system to estimate the relative distance between apparent objects of the scene observed (stereo). The field of vision expanded (about 100 degrees) reinforces the impression of realism, but it is especially the constant monitoring of the movements of the head allowing the display "virtual universe" in which is virtually plunged the user who contributes most to the sense of immersion. The head movements are tracked by a device connected to the computer, and which records the information transmitted by a gyroscope and an accelerometer present on the caseque. This information is processed to return an image that should be displayed smoothly and with a possible shortest latency (currently estimated less than 20 ms) on the display (via a DVI port). The display of the caseque responds to the movements of rotation of the head, but also forward or back. This lag time is short enough with the version tested (DK2 + iMac) to avoid embarrassment or discomfort.

 

Oculus Rift Stereogram

Simultaneous view of the screen of the computer and the display of the Oculus Rift why, one of the eyepieces has been removed. The caseque is connected to the DVI and the computer USB port.

 

 

caseque Oculus Rift DK2

caseque Oculus DK2 is based on viewing a separate image through each eye of a scene through an eyepiece. The screen is placed to the (or slightly forward) the home object of the eyepiece. This eyepiece forms an image enlarged and returned to infinity, allowing a priori observation without fatigue.

 

Eyepieces

The right and left eye are composed of a simple biconvex asymmetrical plastic lens, which the Home object is located in the plane of the display screen. The light rays emitted by each of the dots on the screen (ex: pixels) are refracted through the eyepiece and returned to infinity; the eye perceives an image enlarged screen, whose observation (at least in monocular) is relatively comfortable - accommodation is not stimulated at the Emmetropic. The angle of observation is due to the short distance between the eye and the ocular (a few millimeters), the focal length of the eyepiece (approximately 50 mm), and the diameter of the eyepiece.

caseque Oculus Rift eyepiece

Eyepieces of the Oculus Rift DK2 caseque: it consist of a simple asymmetrical biconvex lens molded plastic. The less convex face is located on the side of the eye.

However, this system has some imperfections, which degrade in quality of use, which is damaging in terms of realism and performance. A biconvex lens of strong used as ocular vergence generates 'barrel' distortion, and chromatic distortion.

chromatic aberration caseque oculus rift

Chromatic distortion of the eyepiece of the Oculus Rift DK2 caseque: it is all the more marked that the source is located away from the optical axis. It is characterized by the fact that the white (polychromatic light) sources have coloured fringes where Blue is spread out (to the edge of the field) and red on the inside. Right, a detail of a photo taken of a keyboard through the ocular lens of the caseque. The colorful fringes are visible.

 

The particular interest of a caseque of virtual reality is that the image projected on the display screen can be "manipulated" for offset some of the limitations of the optics of the eye. Barrel distortion is offset by an ad-hoc deformation of... image that appears on the screen (without the eyepiece) barrel. This is perfectly logical under the reversibility of the optical path: remember that the screen is located in the space object, the eye of the user located across the eyepiece.

Distortion

Distortion of the eyepiece of the Oculus Rift DK2 seen on the side of the eye, and on the side of the screen (barrel). In comparison, the low distortion of a 58 mm lens (Noct Nikkor), at maximum aperture. This goal is composed of many lenses including one aspherical, to control the distortion and improve the quality of the image throughout the field.

The same principle prevails for the chromatic distortion mitigation, related to the prismatic effects of the rays refracted by the edges of the eye lens. Here, the display generated by the Oculus Rift has fringes that correspond to the lateral shift necessary for the colourful radiation necessary for mitigation of chromatic aberration. In the previous diagram, if we consider the displacement of the rays from the screen, through the eyepiece, the presence of colored fringes to reconstitute a white light.

The following diagram and its expanded show the effect of the software compensation:

Stereogram of the Oculus Rift caseque: an enlarged image detail is presented in the following illustration.

Stereogram of the Oculus Rift caseque: an enlarged image detail is presented in the following illustration.

On the enlarged, the color fringes are visible:

Color compensation

On the enlarged, the color fringes are well noticeable. This shift is designed to be "compensated" by looking through the eyepiece, for each eye.

Observed through the eyepiece, the compensation of chromatic distortion is noticeable:

corresction chromatic distortion

Observed through the eyepiece, the image is partially corrected for chromatic distortion (observe the steeple and the bird)

Use of the caseque, ametropia, apply gap, Visual acuity

 

The caseque is provided with two pairs of (eye) lenses whose focal length is slightly different to compensate for a possible defective vision (spherical)myopia). The position of the lenses to the screen is also adjustable. Remember that the remoteness of the eyepiece on the display screen can not be executed beyond the focal plane, failing to produce an inverted image!

The correction of theastigmatism is not possible with the eyepieces, but wearing glasses of correction with the caseque seems possible (if the mounts are not too prominent). This is especially useful for the astigmatic strong and hypermetropia. The apply gap (average 64 mm) is managed in a software manner, and probably governs the distance from the center of the left and right images on the display screen.

The depth perception based on binocular vision: the history of strabismus, of amblyopia reflect the lack of binocular vision, and the use of a virtual reality caseque will not allow reached a disorder of binocular vision user to enjoy the stereoscopic effect.

Outside the optical quality of the eyepiece, the quality of the display is crucial to enhance the use of the caseque of virtual reality. The commercial magnification of a magnifying glass is equal to its vergence (in diopters) divided by 4. This quantity expresses the ratio between the size of an object seen at 25 cm and the size of the same object observed through the magnifying glass. The vergence of the eyepieces of the caseque Rift is close to 50mm (5 cm), either a vergence of 20 diopters, and apparent magnification of x 5. To provide a equivalent to that of the screen resolution display observed at 25 cm (which is one Galaxy Note 3), should be priori multiply by 5 this screen resolution: this could be obtained approximately by doubling the number of pixels in each line and each column (4K resolution)... This raises many technical challenges, in terms of memory, display, and autonomy for a caseque powered by a battery.

resolution screen Oculus Rift

caseque Oculus screen resolution is still too low to allow an observation of quality, in terms of definition of the apparent image. This resolution is less than the maximum retinal resolution: the "lattice" of the matrix of pixels is visible, and there are even the arrangement of sub pixels. The screen used for this caseque is the smartphone Galaxy Note 3.

 

In conclusion, the experience of virtual reality with the caseque Oculus Rift is significant. In the future, the improvement of this technology is based on improving the optical quality eyepieces, and expansion of the definition of the images on the display screen. The use of a design of better optical quality eyepieces (ex: achromatic doublet, aspherical lenses of high factor, as with the eyepieces of telescopes for astronomical observation) should guarantee a better experience by preventing distortion and chromatic aberrations. Increase the resolution of the screen is an unavoidable prospect, because the improvement of the optical quality of the ocular isolated would that unmask its low native resolution against these conditions of observations. A curved screen offers an interesting perspective for addressing the problems posed by the conditions of observation on a broad field, and reduce chromatic and geometrical distortion.

 

Thank you very much Samuel Demeulmeester for making this possible test.

 

 

 

8 Responses to "Oculus Rift virtual reality Helmet"

  1. Ldm01 says:

    Thanks for this article very well explained, it really serves me for my topic of TPE on virtual reality.

  2. Olivier Thomas says:

    Excellent!
    Even if the optical system can not correct the astigmatism and farsighted: Can it be envisaged that this correction and even any correction can be treated directly on the image?
    In a simplified way, I enter the corrections of my glasses for a consideration on the image
    One could probably consider something similar on computer screens or smartphone to deal with the presbyopia without wearing specific glasses...
    Finally, why binocular vision cannot be restored for amblyopic since the right image is presented to each eye? An inability of the brain to remake the relief?
    Again thanks for this article (I was looking for something similar for a long time:-))
    Olivier Thomas

  3. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    The techniques of "precompensation' of the blur to correct optical defects of the eye (preconvolution, deconvolution) usually do not work very well. The eye is a sensor, and the treatment of Visual channels and the cerebral cortex of the image is certainly at the origin of this. It was envisaged to deal with the images from the screens of mobile phones to compensate for presbyopia and I participated in some trials to achieve this: it does not work very well. Amblyopia is a visual impairment that originates at the level of Visual channels, not the eye itself. The correction of the eye leads to improve the quality of the image formed on the retina, but this has no effect on amblyopia unfortunately.

  4. Nicolas says:

    Thank you for this detailed article.
    I was curious to know what causes a feeling of discomfort when you put the helmet, even without moving the head. What feature (s) of rendering relief can give the heart ache, as I could have with a vivid HTC?

    I wonder in order to scrutinize the changes on the new versions, be it in frequency, resolution.. ect

  5. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    The discomfort corresponds, much like "sea sickness" or "transport sickness", to a dissociation between the information perceived by the visual system and the vestibular system (responsible for the balance and posture). It is not certain that improved refreshment and resolution improve this type of symptoms.

  6. Nicolas says:

    Precisely, I am not talking about situations where the head moves and can induce a vision/vestibular shift. Simply the effect of slight discomfort of the 3d rendering relief. The simple fact of opening your eyes in the headphones creates an unpleasant sensation, and I wonder what factor of the display created it.

  7. Louis says:

    Hello, I arrive a little late, but the nausea is often caused by a different headphone operation than a real observation. 3d is made by displaying a different image per eye and therefore the eyes of the two eye intersect in a 3d point, giving the perspectives we know. In a normal scene your eyes accommodate (i.e. focus) on this same crossover point, but in the case of the VR, all points are displayed on the same screen, and therefore at a fixed focus distance. This is totally unnatural, discreet enough to only feel bad but without realizing the problem. This is an explanation that presbyopic often do not need glasses with helmets (no need to accommodate). If you want more information, look for: «Vergence accomodation Conflict», an article explains well what happens: DOI: 10.1109/TVCG. 2015.2473855

  8. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    Thank you for your comment quite pertinent. The eyes must actually converge when an object of the observed scene approaches, and this calls for accommodation which in this situation of virtual reality has no interest. A lot of research is taking place to try to alleviate this problem, which is the cause of the discomfort felt by some subjects. Those who manage to dissociate a little accommodation and convergence are less embarrassed.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Casque de réalité virtuelle Oculus Rift

Casque de réalité virtuelle : enjeux ophtalmologiques

 

Le casque de réalité virtuelle Oculus Rift est conçu par la société Oculus VR. Il s’agit d’un périphérique informatique relié à un ordinateur, PC ou Mac, et constitué d’un écran de visualisation couplé à système bi-oculaire stéréoscopique. Chaque œil regarde une image différente, au travers d’un oculaire dédié. Les dimensions du casque sont comparables à celles d’un masque de plongée, mais l’immersion promise ici ne requiert ni tuba ni bouteilles : elle n’est que visuelle, éventuellement sonore, mais elle parait pourtant totale. Dès la première utilisation du casque, on est pris de la sensation d’être transporté dans un autre monde, d’être passé de l’autre côté du miroir. Le virtuel parait réel,  il bluffe nos sensations par le réalisme visuel qu’offre cette plongée visuelle dans univers tri dimensionnel sur 360°. L’adage « Voir, c’est croire »  (« Seing is believing ») prend ici une dimension particulièrement concrète.

Cette page est principalement consacrée aux aspects visuels et challenges optiques du casque de réalité virtuelle Oculus Rift (version DK2), dont il existe déjà des modèles concurrents comme le Samsung Gear VR, le Google Cardboard, déjà commercialisés dans certains pays.

Ces dispositifs d’affichages de réalité virtuelle offrent d’innombrables perspectives pour renouveler le domaine du jeu vidéo, du spectacle, et démocratiser la réalité virtuelle. Le joueur équipé du casque n’est plus face à un écran : il plonge dans l’univers du jeu, dont l’action se déroule tout autour de lui sur 360°, et qu’il est possible d’observer en bougeant la tête de gauche à droite, de bas en haut, etc. Le spectateur d’un événement n’est plus face à la scène où celui-ci se déroule : un concert filmé en 3D et en vision panoramique peut être visionné avec ce type de casque : ceci procure au porteur la sensation d’être transporté sur la scène, au milieu des musiciens.  Il peut les observer à loisir, en tournant la tête, comme il le ferait « naturellement » s’il était physiquement présent parmi eux. Une fois réalisée l’étape de l’acquisition (ou de la création) de contenus réalistes, il est possible de visiter virtuellement mais de manière très réaliste une exposition, survoler un paysage, ou encore assister depuis chez soi à une conférence… comme si l’on y était.

 

Principes généraux

L’ordinateur relié au casque génère un flux vidéo constitué de paires d’images animées, à un taux de rafraîchissement de 60 Hz.   Une des images de chaque paire est destinée à être vue par l’oeil droit, l’autre par l’oeil gauche. L’écran est le même que celui qui équipe le Galaxy Note 3 : sa technologie est AMOLED, et sa résolution de 960×1080 pixels par œil (une « moitié » de format « full HD »).  Les images sont calculées numériquement ou acquises (caméra 3D), de manière à simuler les points de vue respectifs de l’œil gauche et l’œil droit. Ceci permet à l’observateur de percevoir le relief, en vertu des mécanismes qui permettent au système visuel d’estimer la distance relative entre les objets apparents de la scène observée (stéréoscopie). Le champ de vision élargi (environ 100 degré) renforce l’impression de réalisme, mais c’est surtout le suivi constant des mouvements de la tête permettant l’affichage de « l’univers virtuel » au sein duquel est virtuellement plongé l’utilisateur qui contribue le plus à la sensation d’immersion. Les mouvements de la tête sont traqués par un dispositif relié à l’ordinateur, et qui enregistre les informations transmises par un gyroscope et un accéléromètre présents sur le casque. Ces informations sont traitées afin de renvoyer sur l’écran d’affichage (via un port DVI) une image qui doit apparaitre de manière fluide et avec une latence la plus brève possible (estimée à moins de 20 ms actuellement). L’affichage du casque répond aux mouvements  de rotation de la tête, mais aussi de translation avant ou arrière. Ce temps de latence apparait suffisamment bref avec la version testée (DK2 + iMac) pour éviter gêne ou malaise.

 

oculus Rift Stéréogramme

Vue simultanée de l’écran de l’ordinateur et de l’affichage du caque Oculus Rift, dont un des oculaires a été retiré. Le casque est relié au port DVI et USB de l’ordinateur.

 

 

casque Oculus Rift DK2

Le casque Oculus DK2 repose sur la visualisation d’une image distincte par chaque oeil d’une scène au travers d’un oculaire. L’écran est placé au (ou légèrement en avant) du foyer objet de l’oculaire. Cet oculaire forme une image agrandie et renvoyée à l’infini, permettant une observation a priori sans fatigue.

 

Oculaires

L’oculaire droit et gauche sont composés d’une  simple lentille biconvexe asymétrique en plastique, dont le foyer objet est situé dans le plan de l’écran d’affichage. Les rayons lumineux émis par chacun des points de l’écran (ex : pixels) sont réfractée par l’oculaire et renvoyés vers l’infini ; l’œil perçoit une image agrandie de l’écran, dont l’observation (au moins en monoculaire) est relativement confortable – l’accommodation n’est pas stimulée chez l’emmétrope. L’angle d’observation découle de la faible distance entre l’œil et l’oculaire (quelques millimètres), la longueur focale de l’oculaire (environ 50 mm), et le diamètre de l’oculaire.

oculaire casque Oculus Rift

Oculaires du casque Oculus Rift DK2 : il sont constitués d’une simple lentille biconvexe asymétrique en plastique moulé. La face la moins convexe est situé du côté de l’oeil.

Ce système présente cependant certaines imperfections, qui en dégradent la qualité d’utilisation, ce qui est dommageable en termes de réalisme et de performances. Une lentille biconvexe de forte vergence utilisée comme oculaire génère de la distorsion en « barillet », et de la distorsion chromatique.

aberration chromatique casque oculus rift

Distorsion chromatique de l’oculaire du casque Oculus Rift DK2: elle est d’autant pius marquée que la source est située loin de l’axe optique. Elle se caractérise par le fait que les sources blanches (lumière polychromatique) présentent des franges colorées où le bleu s’étale en dehors (vers le bord du champ) et le rouge en dedans. A droite, un détail d’une photo prise d’un clavier au travers de la lentille oculaire du casque. Les franges colorées sont bien visibles.

 

L’intérêt particulier d’un casque de réalité virtuelle est que l’image projetée sur l’écran d’affichage peut être « manipulée » pour compenser une partie des limitations de l’optique de l’oculaire. La distorsion en barillet est compensée par une déformation ad hoc de l’image affichée… qui apparaît sur l’écran (sans l’oculaire) en barillet. Ceci est parfaitement logique, en vertu de la réversibilité du chemin optique : rappelons que l’écran se situe dans l’espace objet,  l’œil de l’utilisateur se situant de l’autre côté de l’oculaire.

Distorsion

Distorsion de l’oculaire de l’Oculus Rift DK2 perçue du côté de l’oeil, et du coté de l’écran (barillet). En comparaison, la faible distorsion d’un objectif 58 mm (Noct Nikkor), à ouverture maximale. Cet objectif est compos de nombreuses lentilles dont une asphérique, afin de contrôler la distorsion et améliorer la qualité de l’image sur l’ensemble du champ.

Le même principe prévaut pour l’atténuation de la distorsion chromatique, liée aux effets prismatiques des rayons réfractés par les bords de la lentille oculaire. Ici, l’affichage généré par l’Oculus Rift comporte des franges qui correspondent au décalage latéral nécessaire aux radiations colorées nécessaires à l’atténuation de l’aberration chromatique. Sur le schéma précédent, si on considère le déplacement des rayons depuis l’écran, au travers de l’oculaire, la présence de franges colorées permet de reconstituer une lumière blanche.

Le schéma suivant et son agrandi montrent l’effet de la compensation logicielle:

Stéréogramme du casque Oculus Rift: un détail agrandi de l'image est présenté sur l'illustration suivante.

Stéréogramme du casque Oculus Rift: un détail agrandi de l’image est présenté sur l’illustration suivante.

Sur l’agrandi, les franges chromatiques sont bien visibles:

Compensation chromatique

Sur l’agrandi, les franges chromatiques sont bien perceptibles. Ce décalage est conçu pour être « compensé » par l’observation au travers de l’oculaire, pour chaque oeil.

Observée au travers de l’oculaire, la compensation de la distorsion chromatique est perceptible :

corresction distorsion chromatique

Observée au travers de l’oculaire, l’image est partiellement corrigée pour la distorsion chromatique (observer le clocher et l’oiseau)

Utilisation du casque, amétropies, écart inter-pupillaire, acuité visuelle

 

Le casque est fourni avec deux paires de lentilles (oculaires) dont la longueur focale est légèrement différente pour compenser une éventuelle amétropie sphérique (myopie). La position des lentilles vis-à-vis de l’écran est également ajustable. Rappelons que l’éloignement de l’oculaire vis-à-vis de l’écran d’affichage ne peut pas s’effectuer au-delà du plan focal, sous peine de produire une image inversée!

La correction de l’astigmatisme n’est pas possible avec les oculaires, mais le port de lunettes de correction avec le casque semble possible (si les montures ne sont pas trop proéminentes). Cette possibilité est particulièrement intéressante pour les forts astigmates et hypermétropes. L’écart inter-pupillaire (en moyenne 64 mm) est géré de manière logicielle, et gouverne probablement la distance séparant le centre des images droite et gauche sur l’écran d’affichage.

La perception du relief repose sur la vision binoculaire : les antécédents de strabisme, d’amblyopie traduisent l’absence de vision binoculaire, et l’utilisation d’un casque de réalité virtuelle ne permettra pas à l’utilisateur atteint d’un trouble de la vision binoculaire de profiter de l’effet stéréoscopique.

En dehors de la qualité optique de l’oculaire, la qualité de l’affichage est un élément crucial pour agrémenter l’utilisation du casque de réalité virtuelle. Le grossissement commercial d’une loupe est égal à sa vergence (en dioptries) divisée par 4. Cette quantité exprime le rapport entre la taille d’un objet vu à 25 cm et la taille du même objet observé au travers de la loupe. La vergence des oculaires du casque Rift est proche de 50mm (5 cm), soit une vergence de 20 Dioptries, et un grossissement apparent de x5. Pour fournir une résolution équivalente à celle de l’écran d’affichage observé à 25 cm (qui est celui du Galaxy Note 3), il faudrait a priori multiplier par 5 la résolution de cet écran : ceci pourrait être obtenu approximativement en doublant le nombre de pixel de chaque ligne et de chaque colonne (résolution 4K)…. Ceci soulève de nombreux défis techniques, en termes de mémoire, d’affichage, et d’autonomie pour un casque alimenté par une batterie.

résolution écran Oculus Rift

La résolution de l’écran du casque Oculus est encore trop faible pour permettre une observation de qualité, en terme de définition de l’image apparente. Cette résolution est inférieure à la résolution rétinienne maximale: le « treillis » de la matrice de pixels est visible, et on distingue même l’arrangement des sous pixels. L’écran utilisé pour ce casque est celui du smartphone Galaxy Note 3.

 

En conclusion, l’expérience de la réalité virtuelle avec le casque Oculus Rift est marquante. Dans l’avenir, l’amélioration de cette technologie repose sur l’amélioration de la qualité optique des oculaires, et de l’augmentation de la définition des images sur l’écran d’affichage. Le recours à une conception d’oculaires de meilleure qualité optique (ex: doublet achromatique, lentilles asphériques de fort indice, comme pour les oculaires des télescopes pour l’observation astronomique) devrait garantir une meilleure expérience, en prévenant la distorsion et les aberrations chromatiques. Augmenter la résolution de l’écran est une perspective incontournable, car l’amélioration de la qualité optique de l’oculaire isolée ne ferait que démasquer sa faible résolution native au regard de ces conditions d’observations. Un écran incurvé offre une perspective intéressante pour pallier au problèmes posés par les conditions d’observation sur un large champ, et réduire la distorsion géométrique et chromatique.

 

Je remercie vivement Samuel Demeulmeester pour avoir rendu ce test possible.

 

 

 

3 réponses à “Casque de réalité virtuelle Oculus Rift”

  1. Ldm01 dit :

    Merci pour cet article très bien expliqué, il me sert vraiment pour mon sujet de TPE sur la réalité virtuelle.

  2. Olivier Thomas dit :

    Excellent !
    Même si le système optique ne peut à priori corriger les astigmates et hypermétropes : peut-on envisager que cette correction et même toute correction puisse être traitée directement sur l’image ?
    De manière simplifiée, je rentre les corrections de mes verres pour une prise en compte sur l’image
    On pourrait sans doute envisager quelque chose de similaire sur les écrans d’ordinateur ou de smartphone pour traiter de la presbytie sans port de lunettes spécifiques…
    Enfin, pourquoi la vision binoculaire ne peut être restaurée pour les amblyope puisque la bonne image est présentée à chaque œil ? Une incapacité du cerveau à refaire le relief ?
    Encore merci pour cet article (je cherchais quelque chose de similaire depuis longtemps :-))
    Olivier Thomas

  3. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Les techniques de « précompensation » du flou pour corriger les défauts optiques de l’oeil (préconvolution, déconvolution) ne fonctionnent généralement pas très bien. L’oeil est un capteur, et le traitement des voies visuelles et du cortex cérébral de l’image est certainement à l’origine de cela. Il a été envisagé de traiter les images émises par les écrans des téléphones portables pour compenser la presbytie et j’ai participé à certains essais pour accomplir cet objectif: cela ne fonctionne pas très bien. L’amblyopie est une déficience visuelle qui trouve son origine au niveau des voies visuelles, pas de l’oeil lui même. La correction de l’oeil conduit à améliorer la qualité de l’image formée sur la rétine, mais cela est sans effet sur l’amblyopie malheureusement.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *