+ +

Kappa angle

Kappa angle is conventionally defined as the angle formed between thepupillary axis (of pupillary Center to the corneal surface, according to a direction perpendicular to the tangent to the cornea at this point) and theVisual axiswhich connects the attachment with the first point nodal point. Among all the lines passing through the center of the pupil and who cut the anterior surface of the cornea, only one is locally perpendicular to the cornea: she embodies thepupillary axis.

We find a different definition some authors where the Kappa angle corresponds to the angle formed by the pupil axis and the 'line of sight' ('line of sight' in English), while this angle is defined by other authors as Lambda terms. These differences are rather academic in nature, because in practice, values between these well defined angles are minimal.

Know the notion of angle Kappa helps to better understand the position of the reflection (corneal)image of Purkinje), and optimize the corrections laser centering in refractive surgery.

Schematic representation of the main eye. The eye represented in schematic Cup is a look right, cut horizontally. The upper part of the globe is removed (the eye is seen from above). The cornea, the pupil and the lens are not aligned on a common axis; It is possible to define a centerline, or "Best Fit Axis" (BFA), from the respective axes of symmetry of these surfaces. This axis is sometimes likened to the 'optical axis' of the eye and is represented in gray dots. F is the set target point (ex: the central point of the mires of Placido), which the image is formed on the fovea. Point E is located at the center of the entrance pupil (Pe), which is the image formed by the IRIS pupil cornea. The FE segment is the central Ray ("chief ray") of the bunch of rays which contributes to the formation of the Foveal image. Point E' in the middle of the output pupil (Ps), which is the image formed by the lens of the IRIS pupil. The line that connects the attachment point to the center of the IRIS pupil is defined as the line of sight (line of sight). The reflection of F (its projection on the cornea, it's the first Purkinje image) allows you to set the axis k (in red), called 'fixing' normal English. This axis contains the local center of curvature of the cornea, and it is locally perpendicular to the corneal surface. The Visual axis (in blue) connects the point of fixation to the first node, and the second nodal point to the fovea. The nodal points of an optical system are two points in the rated optical axis N don't, combined to the other, i.e. image and one of the other, for which bank angles of rays from the centerline, passing n and out in are identical. Is called nodal point of emergence. The distance between the fovea and is and is close to 17 mm for an Emmetropic eye. This distance is useful to calculate the angular size of the retinal image of an object source. The pupillary axis (in green) corresponds to the normal (perpendicular) to the surface corneal and passing right through the center of the pupil. The pupillary (AP) axis is a angle with the line of sight with the Visual axis the angle kappa and lambda. In practice, the proximity of the Visual axis to the line of sight allows to consider these angles as equivalent.

Some topographers as the Orbscan provide an estimate of the angle Kappa, from a joint measure of the plan and the location of the IRIS pupil (topography of elevation by scanning). The positive angle Kappa value (positive because the pupillary axis is usually temporal to the line of sight and the Visual axis) is included in the normal population between 4 ° and 6 °. Its value tends to increase at the hypermetropia and astigmatic (up to 10 °, sometimes more).

 

Topographic map elevation and (Orbscan Quad Map view) curvature of the cornea of a farsighted and astigmatic strongly left eye including the position of the corneal reflection is shown in Figure 9. Kappa angle is estimated to be more than 10 °, and this guidance explains the high score of irregularity, as well as moving in temporal of the physiological area of central corneal thinning (yellow area on the map of thickness in bottom right). Strongly farsighted or astigmatic eyes often present an important Kappa angle. To be strictly rigorous, the Orbscan angle is actually the Lambda, because it measures the angle between the line of sight and the pupil axis).

The existence of the Kappa angle thus reflects the absence of common optical axis for different refractive structures of the human eye, and the fact that the Visual axis is usually located in nasal pupillary axis. Like any angle, its measurement must be in degrees. Sometimes, the Kappa angle is expressed in millimetres; These correspond to the distance between the center of the pupil of the vertex (Center of the mires of Placido). It is a assumption, because the precise location of the Visual axis is not easy in a clinic, and the pupil axis is not equal to the direction perpendicular to the plane of the pupil passing through its Center, such registered topographic examination. Some studies suggest that the Visual axis would be located near the vertex (corneal reflection, first Purkinje image). In practice, the surveyors expressing angle kappa in millimeters are based on these simplifications. Clinically, we can consider that a pronounced kappa angle translated a tendency to "external rotation" greater of the eyeball at the Central fixation.

 

The realization of an ocular biometry with the biometer IOLMaster 700 (Zeiss) allows you to view the effect of this rotation of the globe during the fixation.

kappa nasal vertex angle

The external rotation of the globe over the Foveal fixation target fixation explains the nasal projection of the reflection of Purkinje. The Center hard reflection of hexagonal fixing target corresponds to the projection of the corneal vertex. The camera being coaxial with this focus, the location of it is always located in the center of the picture taken by the camera.

The image in OCT swept source provided by the biometer (upper part of the previous image) can be interpreted roughly as follows:

angle kappa vertex biometrics fixation

Schematic representation of the alignment of the eyeball in setting for a biometric measure. This horizontal cut with a left eye is observed by 'below. The fovea is located in temporal with respect to the optical axis (which is an 'average' axis between the different refractive eye interfaces). This causes a slight external rotation of the globe to its centerline to ensure the central focus Foveal fixation. A reflection of the focus of attachment appears projected in nasal of the lamina and the pupil.

 

A particular interesting case is provided by the eye aphakedevoid of lens; the only refractive surface of this eye is the cornea, and the Visual axis is then confused with the k axis.

pupillary axis axis Visual kappa aphake

For an aphake eye, the Visual axis and axis k are confused, the corneal surface is the only refractive surface. The lack of symmetry of revolution of the ocular structures, and the rotation of the eye to ensure the Foveal fixation, the pupillary and Visual axes are disjoint.

The following image is obtained Cup OCT through the biometer IOLmaster 700 (Zeiss) for an aphake look. We note the absence of the lens behind the iris plan. The corneal reflection is located in nasal of the pupil; it materializes in this case (aphakia) the intersection of the cornea with the Visual axis.

iolmaster700 eye aphake

Biometric a (initially nearsighted) aphake eye examination. Note the nasal localization of the corneal reflection, while the cornea is the only refractive surface.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Angle Kappa

L’angle Kappa est définit classiquement comme l’angle formé entre l’axe pupillaire (du centre pupillaire à la surface cornéenne, selon une direction perpendiculaire à la tangente à la cornée en ce point)  et l’axe visuel, qui relie le point de fixation avec le premier point nodal. Parmi toutes les droites qui passent par le centre de la pupille et qui coupent la surface antérieure de la cornée, une seule est localement perpendiculaire à la cornée: elle matérialise l’axe pupillaire.

On retrouve une définition différente selon certains auteurs, pour lesquels l’angle Kappa correspond à l’angle formé par l’axe pupillaire et la « ligne de visée » ( « line of sight » en anglais), alors que cet angle est défini par d’autres auteurs comme l’angle Lambda. Ces différences sont plutôt d’ordre académique, car en pratique, les valeurs entre ces angles ainsi définis sont minimes.

Connaître la notion d’angle Kappa permet de mieux comprendre la position du reflet cornéen (image de Purkinje I), et optimiser le centrage des corrections au laser en chirurgie réfractive.

Représentation schématique des principaux axes oculaires. L’œil représenté en coupe schématique est un œil droit, coupé horizontalement. La partie supérieure du globe est enlevée (l’œil est vu par dessus). La cornée, la pupille et le cristallin ne sont pas alignés sur un axe commun; il est possible de définir un axe médian, ou « Best Fit Axis » (BFA), à partir des axes de symétrie respectifs de ces surfaces. Cet axe est parfois assimilé à l’« axe optique » de l’œil et est représenté en pointillés gris. F est le point cible fixé (ex : le point central des mires de Placido), dont l’image se forme sur la fovéa. Le point E se situe au centre de la pupille d’entrée (Pe), qui est l’image formée par la cornée de la pupille irienne. Le segment FE est le rayon central (« chief ray ») du bouquet de rayons qui contribue à la formation de l’image fovéale. Le point E’ au milieu de la pupille de sortie (Ps), qui est l’image formée par le cristallin de la pupille irienne. La ligne qui relie le point de fixation au centre de la pupille irienne est défini comme la ligne de visée (line of sight). Le reflet de F (sa projection  sur la cornée, il s’agit de la première image de Purkinje) permet de définir l’axe kératométrique (en rouge), appelé « fixation normal » en anglais. Cet axe contient le centre de courbure local de la cornée, et il est localement perpendiculaire à la surface cornéenne. L’axe visuel (en bleu) relie le point de fixation au premier point nodal, et le deuxième point nodal à la fovéa. Les points nodaux d’un système optique sont deux points de l’axe optique notés N et N’, conjugués l’un de l’autre, c’est-à-dire image l’une de l’autre, pour lesquels les angles d’inclinaison des rayons par rapport à l’axe médian, passant en N et sortant en N’ sont identiques. N’ est appelé point nodal d’émergence. La distance entre la fovéa et N’ et est proche de 17 mm pour un œil emmétrope. Cette distance est utile pour calculer la taille angulaire de l’image rétinienne d’un objet source. L’axe pupillaire (en vert) correspond à la droite normale (perpendiculaire) à la surface cornéenne et passant par le centre de la pupille. L’axe pupillaire (AP) forme avec la ligne de visée l’angle lambda, et avec l’axe visuel l’angle kappa. En pratique, la proximité entre l’axe visuel et la ligne de visée permet de considérer ces angles comme équivalents.

Certains topographes comme l’Orbscan fournissent une estimation de l’angle Kappa, à partir d’une mesure conjointe du plan et de la localisation de la pupille irienne (topographie d’élévation par balayage). La valeur positive de l’angle Kappa (positive car l’axe pupillaire est généralement temporal à la ligne de visée et l’axe visuel) est comprise dans la population normale entre 4° et 6°. Sa valeur tend à augmenter chez les hypermétropes et astigmates (jusqu’à 10°, parfois plus).

 

Carte topographique d’élévation et de courbure (Orbscan mode Quad Map) de la cornée d’un l’œil gauche hypermétrope et fortement astigmate dont la position du reflet cornéen est montrée à la Figure 9. L’angle Kappa est estimée à plus de 10°, et cet orientation explique le score élevé d’irrégularité, ainsi que le déplacement en temporal de la zone physiologique d’amincissement cornéen central (zone jaune sur la carte d’épaisseur en bas à droite). Les yeux fortement hypermétropes et/ou astigmates présentent souvent un angle Kappa important. Pour être strictement rigoureux, l’Orbscan mesure en réalité l’angle Lambda, puisqu’il mesure l’angle entre la ligne de visée et l’axe pupillaire).

L’existence de l’angle Kappa traduit ainsi  l’absence d’axe optique commun pour les différentes structures réfractives de l’oeil humain, et le fait que l’axe visuel est généralement situé en nasal de l’axe pupillaire. Comme tout angle, sa mesure doit se faire en degrés. Parfois, l’angle Kappa est exprimé en millimètres; ceux-ci correspondent à la distance séparant le centre de la pupille du vertex (centre des mires de Placido). Il s’agit d’une assomption, car la localisation précise de l’axe visuel n’est pas aisée en clinique, et l’axe pupillaire n’est pas égal à la direction perpendiculaire au plan de la pupille passant par son centre, telle qu’enregistrée lors de l’examen topographique. Certaines études suggèrent que l’axe visuel serait situé à proximité du vertex (reflet cornéen, première image de Purkinje). En pratique, les topographes exprimant l’angle kappa en millimètres reposent sur ces simplifications. Cliniquement, on peut considérer qu’un angle kappa prononcé traduit une tendance à la « rotation externe » plus marquée du globe oculaire lors de la fixation centrale.

 

La réalisation d’une biométrie oculaire avec le biomètre IOLMaster 700 (Zeiss) permet de visualiser l’effet de cette rotation du globe pendant la fixation.

angle kappa vertex nasal

La rotation externe du globe au cours de la fixation fovéale de la mire de fixation explique la projection nasale du reflet de Purkinje I. Le centre dur reflet de la mire de fixation hexagonale correspond à la projection du vertex cornéen. La caméra étant coaxiale avec cette mire, l’emplacement de celle-ci est toujours située au centre de l’image prise par la caméra.

L’image en OCT swept source fournie par le biomètre (partie supérieure de l’image précédente) peut être interprétée schématiquement comme suit:

angle kappa vertex biometrie fixation

Représentation schématique de l’alignement du globe oculaire lors de la fixation pendant une mesure biométrique. Cette coupe horizontale d’un oeil gauche est observée par « en dessous ». La fovéa est située en temporal vis à vis de l’axe optique (qui est un axe « moyen » entre les différentes interfaces réfractives de l’oeil). Ceci cause une légère rotation externe du globe vis à vis de son axe médian pour assurer la fixation fovéale de la mire centrale. Le reflet de la mire de fixation apparaît projeté en nasal du limbe et de la pupille.

 

Un cas particulier intéressant est fourni par l’oeil aphake, dépourvu de cristallin; la seule surface réfractive de cet oeil est la cornée, et l’axe visuel est alors confondu avec l’axe kératométrique.

axe pupillaire axe visuel kappa aphake

Pour un oeil aphake, l’axe visuel et l’axe kératométrique sont confondus, la surface cornéenne étant la seule surface réfractive. En raison de l’absence de symétrie de révolution des structures oculaires, et de la rotation de l’oeil pour assurer la fixation fovéale, l’axe pupillaire et l’axe visuel sont disjoints.

L’image suivante est obtenue en coupe OCT grâce au biomètre IOLmaster 700 (Zeiss) pour un oeil aphake. On remarque l’absence de cristallin en arrière du plan de l’iris. Le reflet cornéen est localisé en nasal de la pupille; il matérialise dans ce cas (aphakie) l’intersection de la cornée avec l’axe visuel.

iolmaster700 oeil aphake

Examen biométrique d’un oeil aphake (initialement myope). Noter la localisation nasale du reflet cornéen, alors que la cornée est la seule surface réfractive.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *