+ +

Corneal tomography

Corneal tomography: definition

Corneal tomography is the measurement of corneal thickness in all the analyzed surface. It is accomplished by scans (slots, Scheimpflug camera) or partial coherence tomography systems.

Before the spread of elevation and tomography of corneal topographers, thethickness the cornea could be appreciated by an ultrasound to ultrasound, using a small probe that was affixed to the cornea after local anesthesia of it. This measure is called Ultrasonic product. This method is old and still considered by some to be a reference ("gold standard") method. It can be used to corroborate topographic data, but is not as interesting as the modern tomographic techniques because it only provides "local" data, and is relatively dependent on ' operator'. Indeed, the conventional pachymetres are taking measures in a given point, where the probe touches the cornea.

Interest of corneal tomography

The topographers Orbscan and Pentacam perform one complete measurement of the corneal surfaceoptical - without touching the cornea, which allows the continuous reading of the corneal thickness and to variations, and not simply of one or several isolated points. Determine the thickness of all the points of the cornea can make sure that the area where the 'thinner' point is not missed. It also lets you appreciate the way the cornea thickness varies between the Center and the edges of it (thickness gradients). The precise and extensive measurement of corneal thickness and its variations is fundamental for the detection of Keratoconus frustes forms; She plays an essential role in preventing the post ectasia LASIK. The presence and/or the conjunction of the tomographic following must do evoke the presence of a fragile cornea (Keratoconus very beginner subclinical risk, still called Keratoconus frustrates): point the thinner ('windows point') shifted into lower temporal, rapid variation of the thickness of the cornea between the Center and edges (faster central thinning), tomographic difference between one eye and the other (important central product average difference between the right and left of the same patient eye (: 530 microns vs 500 microns for example).

Topography tomography keratoconus fruste

Interest of the tomographic map (Orbscan topography in Quad Map view). The patient's right eye is reached (top left) advanced Keratoconus. The left eye (map right) presents a topography specular Placido previous 'normal' (indices of Klyce Maeda, topographer OPD scan, Nidek). So you would think that this eye is 'normal '. The context (other affected eye of Keratoconus) we enseinge that this eye has a very beginner form of Keratoconus (subclinical form). This form is so little pronounced screening based on the anterior indices are negative. However, inspection of the tomographic map reveals the presence of a marked lower cancer thinning (red arrow). In this patient, he is the first step towards a possible evolution towards a more proven form of Keratoconus subclinical, with damage detectable from earlier topography. If a ultrasonic ultrasound measurement of the thickness is made on that eye, it may overestimate the corneal thickness (the thickness at the geometric center is higher than that of the end which is shifted).

It appears so much better to perform a (tomographic) optical measurement of corneal thickness as part of a review of refractive surgery, not because it provides data such as the point of minimum thickness (point windows) and its location. Automated testing software SCORE Analyzer includes two maps to assess the profile of the average thickness of the cornea, and thinning speed between the periphery and the point the thinner.

The measurement of corneal thickness can also be accomplished by thereview OCT (optical coherence tomography). This review is especially interesting to estimate the distance in depth of some elements such as the interface of a LASIK flap (where is deducted as the thickness of the flap, and the residual wall posterior). Its accuracy is still a little less than that of optical tomography.

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Tomographie cornéenne

Tomographie cornéenne: définition

La tomographie cornéenne est la mesure de l’épaisseur cornéenne en tout point de la surface analysée. Elle est accomplie par des systèmes de balayages (fentes, caméra Scheimpflug) ou de tomographie par cohérence partielle.

Avant la généralisation des topographes d’élévation et de la tomographie de la cornée, l’épaisseur de la cornée pouvait être appréciée  par une échographie aux ultrasons, en utilisant une petite sonde qui était apposée sur la cornée après anesthésie locale de celle-ci. Cette mesure est appelée pachymétrie ultrasonique. Cette méthode est ancienne et encore considérée comme une méthode de référence (« gold standard ») par certains. Elle peut servir à corroborer des données topographiques, mais n’est pas aussi intéressante que les techniques tomographiques modernes car elle ne fournit que des données « locales », et est relativement « opérateur » dépendant. En effet, les pachymètres conventionnels prennent des mesures en un point donné, là où la sonde touche la cornée.

Intérêt de la tomographie cornéenne

Les topographes Orbscan et Pentacam effectuent une mesure complète de la surface cornéenne, optique – sans toucher la cornée, ce qui permet la lecture continue de l’épaisseur cornéenne et de se variations, et non simplement d’un ou plusieurs points isolés. La possibilité déterminer l’épaisseur de tous les points de la cornée permet de s’assurer que la zone où se trouve le point plus « mince » n’est pas manqué. Elle permet aussi d’apprécier la manière dont l’épaisseur de la cornée varie entre le centre et les bords de celle-ci (gradients d’épaisseur). La mesure précise et étendue de l’épaisseur cornéenne et de ses variations est fondamentale pour la détection des formes frustes de kératocône; elle joue un rôle essentiel pour prévenir l’ectasie post LASIK. La présence et/ou la conjonction des signes tomographiques suivants doit faire évoquer la présence d’une cornée fragile (risque de kératocône infraclinique très débutant, encore appelé kératocône frustre) :  point le plus fin (« thinnest point ») décalé en temporal inférieur, variation rapide de l’épaisseur de la cornée entre le centre et les bords (amincissement central plus rapide), différence tomographique marquée entre un oeil et l’autre (différence de pachymétrie centrale moyenne importante entre l’oeil droit et gauche du  même patient : 530 microns vs 500 microns par exemple).

Topographie tomographie keratocone fruste

Intérêt de la carte tomographique (topographie Orbscan en mode Quad Map). L’oeil droit du patient est atteint de kératocône avancé (en haut à gauche). L’oeil gauche (carte en bas à droite) présente une topographie spéculaire Placido antérieure « normale » (indices de Klyce Maeda, topographe OPD scan, Nidek). On pourrait donc penser que cet oeil est « normal ». Le contexte (autre oeil atteint de kératocône) nous enseinge que cet oeil est atteint d’une forme très débutante de kératocône (forme infraclinique). Cette forme est tellement peu prononcée que les indices de dépistages fondés sur la face antérieure sont négatifs. En revanche, l’inspection de la carte tomographique révèle la présence d’un amincissement paracentral inférieur marqué (flèche rouge). Chez ce patient, il s’agit du premier pas vers une possible évolution vers une forme plus avérée de kératocône infraclinique, avec atteinte décelable de la topographie antérieure. Si une mesure échographique ultrasonore de l’épaisseur est faîte sur cet oeil, elle risque de surestimer l’épaisseur cornéenne (l’épaisseur au centre géométrique est supérieure à celle du point le plus fin qui est décalé).

Il apparait donc nettement  préférable de réaliser une mesure optique (tomographique) de l’épaisseur cornéenne dans le cadre d’un bilan de chirurgie réfractive,  ne serait-ce que parce qu’elle fournit des données comme le point d’épaisseur minimale (thinnest point) et sa localisation. Le logiciel de dépistage automatisé SCORE Analyzer comporte deux cartes permettant d’apprécier le profil de l’épaisseur moyenne de la cornée, et la vitesse d’amincissement entre la périphérie et le point le plus fin.

La mesure de l’épaisseur cornéenne peut également être accomplie par l’examen OCT (optical coherence tomography). Cet examen est particulièrement intéressant pour estimer la distance en profondeur de certains éléments comme l’interface d’un capot de LASIK (d’où l’on déduit la mesure de l’épaisseur du capot, et celle du mur résiduel postérieur). Sa précision est encore un peu  moindre que celle de la tomographie optique.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *