+ +

Guide ocular pursuits - eye tracker system

How to ensure the alignment of the eye and the laser during the operation?

 

Centering of the excimer laser correction is a fundamental parameter to ensure a precise and effective correction. It is important regardless of the type of Visual defect corrected. The experience of many practitioners who perform refractive surgery, a good balance of treatment is particularly crucial for the correction of hyperopia and some astigmatismes.

Eye tracking (eye tracking) system

Modern lasers are equipped with sophisticated systems grouped are the term 'Eye tracking system' or 'Eye tracker', which allow the licensing system (the system to deliver the laser impacts) to follow the eye, although it travels small, jerks, during surgery. This technology is comparable in its principles to that team some military equipment (guidance of shooting lasers to destroy missiles in flight), where also the problem of a shot on a moving target.

During surgical correction laser, the surgeon tells systematically the patient a fixation point, which is a focus of green or red (most often). The patient then directs his eye in such a way that it forms a retinal image Foveal of this benchmark. It is important to do this step correctly, because the attachment is not automatic and requires the participation of the patient.

The eye naturally performs a small micro-saccades, even when he fixed a stationary marker.  Eye-tracking systems that equip the excimers lasers are equipped with a video camera high frequency, able to acquire very many images of the eye per second: more than the eye itself, these infra red cameras are able to identify the IRIS Pupil (illuminated by infrared lamps that illuminate the ocular surface without dazzle the patient).

eye tracker camera

Camera eye (laser Wavelight EX500) prosecution system

 

 

For these cameras, the pupil appears as a dark disc, surrounded by the iris whose details can be used for procedures with Iris recognition. In this type of procedure, surgery is preceded by a black and white of the iris image acquisition (ex: instrument Topolyzer Vario) (see the) page dedicated to the centering of a laser treatment procedure by recognition with with laser EX500)

If the laser treatment is designed to be centered on this disc (Center of the pupil) or on a supposed Visual axis (usually slightly in nasal of the center of the pupil), but as the eye moves during treatment, or that it "turns" on its axis (rotation cyclo) laser rectifies in real time the position of the mirrors which are responsible for guided the impacts to the cornea. This is done while the latest lasers have a frequency equal or greater than 500 Hertz (or 500 shots per second).

These sophisticated eye-tracking and guidance systems can be completed by passive mechanisms to stabilize the eye. A system called "Neurotrack" prevents the occurrence of a cyclorotation, i.e. a mismatch between management assumed horizontal, and orientation of the eye of the surgery patient. With the laser Wavelight EX500, 4 Orange LEDs form a rectangle large horizontal axis at the centre of which is located the target set. The eye of the patient tends to align "instinctively" according to the centerline of the rectangle formed by the diodes.

These technologies complexent requires a particular system of illumination of the operating field. A patient who goes for the first time under an excimer laser discovers a complex Assembly of lights, flashing lights, LEDs...

The following figure shows the system allowing the EX500 laser to acquire images of the eye during treatment, to illuminate the operative field, provide a cue to fix during treatment eye.

eye-tracking laser excimer EX500

Representation of the system for enlightenment and the video capture of the field operation, useful to the servo to the eye prosecution system (eye-tracking system) - EX500 Wavelight excimer laser

 

At the end of each issued treatment, the EX500 excimer laser provides a specific statement that has a Cartesian coordinate chart to represent the possible displacement of the center of the pupil with respect to its original position.

eye tracker EX500

The report provided at the end of a correction of hyperopia laser EX500 (Wavelight). Eventual displacement of the eye for the fixing of the alignement(un point vert clignotant) indicator is offset by the system of eye-tracking, which identifies the shift of pupillary Center and shifts firing of the laser as a result. On the right, the graph represents, relative to the center of the tracking camera, the apparent movement (in Cartesian coordinates) of the pupil of the treated eye. 

The following video demonstrates the effectiveness of an eye tracker modern. Despite movements random printed to a target, the laser is able to deliver impact to high frequency (500 Hz or 500 shots per second) thanks to the video loop and the information transmitted to the laser mirrors, which allow to correct the path of laser spots.

 

 

A video "subjective camera" allows to view the appearance of the licensing system, from the patient's side during the surgery.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Système de guidage des poursuites oculaires – eye tracker

Comment garantir l’alignement de l’oeil et du laser pendant l’opération?

 

Le centrage de la correction au laser excimer est un paramètre fondamental pour garantir une correction précise et efficace. C’est un point important quel que soit le type de défaut visuel corrigé. D’après l’expérience de la plupart des praticiens qui effectuent de la chirurgie réfractive, un bon centrage du traitement est particulièrement crucial pour la correction de l’hypermétropie et certains astigmatismes.

Système de poursuite oculaire (eye tracking)

Les lasers modernes sont équipés de systèmes sophistiqués regroupés sont le terme « Eye tracking system » ou « Eye tracker », qui permettent au système de délivrance (le système chargé de délivrer les impacts laser) de suivre l’œil, même si celui-ci effectue des petits déplacements, des saccades, pendant la chirurgie. Cette technologie est comparable dans ses principes à celle qui équipe certains équipements militaires (guidage de tirs laser pour destruction de missiles en vol), où se pose également le problème d’un tir sur une cible en mouvement.

Lors de la correction chirurgicale au laser, le chirurgien indique systèmatiquement au patient un point de fixation, qui est une mire de couleur verte ou rouge (le plus souvent). Le patient oriente alors son oeil de manière à ce qu’il forme une image rétinienne fovéale de ce point repère. Il est important d’effectuer cette étape convenablement, car la fixation n’est pas automatique et nécessite la participation du patient.

L’œil effectue naturellement des petites micro-saccades, même quand il fixe un repère immobile.  Les systèmes de poursuite oculaire qui équipent les lasers excimers sont munis d’une caméra vidéo à haute fréquence, capable d’acquérir de très nombreuses images de l’œil par seconde : plus que l’œil lui-même, ces caméras infra rouges sont capables de repérer la pupille irienne (éclairée par des lampes infrarouges qui illuminent la surface oculaire sans éblouir le patient).

eye tracker camera

Camera du système de poursuites oculaires (laser Wavelight EX500)

 

 

Pour ces caméras, la pupille apparait comme un disque sombre, entourée de l’iris dont les détails peuvent être utilisées pour les procédures avec reconnaissance irienne. Dans ce type de procédure, la chirurgie est précédée de l’acquisition d’une image noir et blanc de l’iris (ex : instrument Topolyzer Vario) (voir la page consacrée à la procédure de centrage d’un traitement laser par reconnaissance avec avec le laser EX500)

Si le traitement laser est destiné à être centré sur ce disque (centre de la pupille) ou sur un axe visuel supposé (généralement légèrement en nasal du centre de la pupille), mais que l’œil se déplace pendant le traitement, ou bien qu’il « tourne » sur son axe (cyclo rotation) le laser rectifie en temps réel la position des miroirs qui sont chargés de guidés les impacts vers la cornée. Ceci s’effectue alors que les lasers les plus récents ont une fréquence égale ou supérieure à 500 Hertz (soit 500 tirs par seconde).

Ces systèmes de guidage et de poursuite oculaire sophistiqués peuvent être complétés par des mécanismes passifs permettant de stabiliser l’œil. Un system appelé “Neurotrack” prévient la survenue d’une cyclorotation, c’est-à-dire une discordance entre la direction supposée horizontale, et l’orientation de l’œil du patient opéré. Avec le laser Wavelight EX500, 4 diodes orangées forment un rectangle à grand axe horizontal, au centre duquel se situe la mire à fixer. L’œil du patient tend à s’aligner « instinctivement » selon le grand axe du rectangle formé par les diodes.

Ces technologies complexent nécessite un système d’illumination  particulier du champ opératoire. Un patient qui s’allonge pour la première fois sous un laser excimer découvre un assemblage complexe de lampes, de points lumineux, de LEDs clignotantes…

L’illustration suivante représente le système permettant au laser EX500 d’acquérir les images de l’œil au cours du traitement, d’éclairer le champ opératoire, de fournir à l’œil un repère à fixer au cours du traitement.

eye tracking laser excimer EX500

Représentation du système permettant l’illumination et la capture vidéo du champ opératoire, utile au système d’asservissement au poursuites oculaires (eye tracking system) – laser excimer Wavelight EX500

 

A l’issue de chaque traitement délivré, le laser excimer EX500 fournit un relevé spécifique qui comporte un graphique en coordonnées cartésiennes destiné à représenter le déplacement éventuel du centre de la pupille vis à vis de sa position initiale;

eye tracker EX500

Rapport fourni à l’issue d’une correction de l’hypermétropie par le laser EX500 (Wavelight). Le déplacement éventuel de l’œil pendant la fixation du repère d’alignement(un point vert clignotant) est compensé par le système de poursuite oculaire, qui repère le déplacement du centre pupillaire et décale les tirs du laser en conséquence. A droite, le graphique représente, par rapport au centre de la caméra de suivi, le déplacement apparent (en coordonnées cartésiennes) de la pupille de l’œil traité. 

La vidéo suivante démontre l’efficacité d’un eye tracker moderne. Malgré des mouvements aléatoires imprimés à une cible, le laser est à même de délivrer des impacts à haute fréquence (500 Hz soit 500 tirs par seconde) grâce à la boucle vidéo et l’information transmise aux miroirs du laser qui permettent de rectifier le trajet de spots laser.

 

 

Une vidéo « façon caméra subjective » permet de visualiser l’aspect du système de délivrance, vu du côté patient au cours de la chirurgie.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *