+ +

OPD: Beginner cataract

A patient has a feeling of decreased vision in one eye (right eye), while his acuity without correction 10/10 and 12/10 with a very slight correction ofastigmatism myopic: plan (-0.25 x 0 °). The patient reported a few symptoms compatible with those of a debutante cataract (glare, difficulties in against day).

Examination to the lamp (biomicroscope) slot, there is a discreet opalescence of the center of the lens (nuclear opalescence) of the right eye.

opalescence beginner cataract

Appearance in the review to the lamp (biomicroscope) slot of the anterior segment of the eye: note the discreet opalescence of the central part (core) of the lens (arrow).

The aberrometrique survey with the OPD SCAN 3 shows that there is a slight elevation of the optical irregularity, seemingly original internal, since the cornea does not have irregular astigmatism (red box).

OPD beginner cataract

Statement aberrometrique OPD SCAN 3: left, map OPD (variations of the refraction in the pupil), in the Center, corneal topography (axial mode), right: refraction related to the internal dioptres (later of the cornea and crystalline face). The red box shows that there is a rise in the rate of eye aberrations of internal origin (since the corneal aberrations rate is close to zero)

It was noted that the quality of the stigma (maps of the) PSF (: Point Spread Function, framed black and white next to the maps in color) is less in terms of the internal dioptres for the cornea.

An expansion of these images confirms it:

Point spread function (PSF) cataract debutante fovea cones

The only comparison between images PSF (Point Spread Function; the point spread function) for the entire eye (left), the anterior cornea (in the Center) and the internal dioptres (right). The magnification of the PSF of the entire eye shows that sprawl of the image of a point source (which in one eye 'optically perfect', should be almost limited) concerns only a number limited to photoreceptors (the yellow wire represents the mosaic of the cones in the fovea).

To better interpret them, we can overlay the mosaic of photoreceptors (cones) in the image of bright sprawl (at the bottom of the image above): we found that the spatial extension of this light spread (PSF) is low, which allows a good resolution, but results in a lower contrast of the retinal image.

The study of fluctuations of the refractive power shows a slight "myopisation" Central: it is certainly induced by an increase in the refractive index of the lens (index myopia) that often accompanies the appearance of cataract.

map OPD beginner cataract

This map shows the fluctuations of the refraction within the pupil for the entire eye: an increase of the (Central myopisation: myopia of index in this context).

This suggests the beginner cristalliniennes opacities responsibility in the genesis of these disorders: it is a "pre cataract", or a beginning of nuclear cataract. There is no formal operative indication due to the gene that is moderate, and the preservation of Visual acuity. A measure of the light distribution (collection of the OSI: 'Optical Scatter Index', performed with the instrument) OQAS) is indicated: this technology allows to objectify the effects of the loss of transparency of the lens on the Visual function (see article on) indicators provided by the OQAS and cataract)

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Aberrométrie : cataracte débutante

Un patient présente une sensation de baisse de la vision d’un œil (œil droit), alors que son acuité est de 10/10 sans correction et 12/10 avec une très légère correction d’astigmatisme myopique : plan (-0.25 x 0°). Le patient signale quelques symptômes compatibles avec ceux d’une cataracte débutante (éblouissements, difficultés en contre jour).

A l’examen à la lampe à fente (biomicroscope), on note une discrète opalescence du centre du cristallin (opalescence nucléaire) de l’oeil droit.

opalescence cataracte débutante

Aspect à l’examen à la lampe à fente (biomicroscope) du segment antérieur de l’oeil: noter la discrète opalescence de la partie centrale (noyau) du cristallin (flèche).

Le relevé aberrométrique effectué avec l’OPD SCAN 3 montre qu’il existe une légère élévation de l’irrégularité optique, qui semble d’origine interne, puisque la cornée ne présente pas d’astigmatisme irrégulier (encadré rouge).

aberrometrie cataracte débutante

Relevé aberrométrique OPD SCAN 3 : à gauche, carte OPD (variations de la réfraction dans la pupille), au centre, topographie cornéenne (mode axial), à droite : réfraction liée aux dioptres internes (face postérieure de la cornée, et cristallin). L’encadré rouge montre qu’il existe une élévation du taux d’aberrations oculaires, d’origine interne (puisque le taux d’aberrations cornéennes est quasi nul)

On note que la qualité du stigmatisme (cartes de la PSF : Point Spread Function, encadrés en noir et blanc à côté des cartes en couleurs) est moindre sur le plan des dioptres internes que pour la cornée.

Un agrandissement des ces images le confirme :

Point spread function (PSF) cataracte débutante fovéa cones

La comparaison entre les images PSF (Point Spread Function ; fonction d’étalement du point) pour l’oeil entier (à gauche), la cornée antérieure seule (au centre) et les dioptres internes (à droite). L’aggrandissement de la PSF de l’oeil entier montre que l’étalement de l’image d’un point source (qui, dans un oeil « optiquement parfait », devrait être quasi ponctuelle) ne concerne qu’un nombre limité de photorécepteurs (le treillis jaune représente la mosaique des cones de la fovéa).

Pour mieux les interpréter, on peut superposer la mosaique des  photorécepteurs (cônes) à l’image de l’étalement lumineux (en bas de l’image ci dessus) : on constate que l’extension spatiale de cet étalement lumineux (PSF) est faible, ce qui permet une bonne résolution, mais résulte en un moindre contraste de l’image rétinienne.

L’étude des fluctuations de la puissance réfractive montre une légère « myopisation » centrale : celle-ci est certainement induite par une augmentation de l’indice de réfraction du cristallin (myopie d’indice), qui accompagne souvent l’apparition d’une cataracte.

carte OPD cataracte débutante

Cette carte montre les fluctuations de la réfraction au sein de la pupille pour l’oeil entier : on note une augmentation de celle-ci (myopisation centrale : myopie d’indice dans ce contexte).

Ceci suggère la responsabilité des opacités cristalliniennes débutante dans la genèse de ces troubles: il s’agit d’une « pré cataracte », ou d’un début de cataracte nucléaire. Il n’y a pas d’indication opératoire formelle en raison de la gêne qui est modérée, et la préservation de l’acuité visuelle. Une mesure de la diffusion lumineuse (recueil de l’OSI : « Optical Scatter Index », effectué grâce à l’instrument OQAS) est indiquée: cette technologie permet d’objectiver les effets de la perte de la transparence du cristallin sur la fonction visuelle (voir article sur indicateurs fournis par l’OQAS et cataracte)

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *