+ +

PSF - Point Spread Function

General information

Acronym for Point Spread Function (the Point spread function). The PSF represents the spatial distribution of the light intensity in the image of an optical system, formed from a point source object plane. More the image formed from the point source (PSF) is ad hoc form, the optical system is "faithful". Even for a 'perfect' optics, devoid of optical aberrations, the PSF is not a point pais a disk called Airy task, due to the effects of diffraction by the edges of the opening of the light waves. Depending on the light source (mono or polychromatic), the PSF can be calculated for a wavelength (monochromatic) or a set of (polychromatic) wavelength.

diffraction PSF spot airy

The image of a point source formed by an optical system in the image plane is called "Point Spread Function" (the point spread function). The image is affected by diffraction:

Calculation and representation of the PSF of the eye

For a healthy eye, optical aberrations and diffraction are responsible for a deterioration of the PSF. Optical aberrations are responsible for the degradation of the image for greater than 2 mm pupil diameter. When the diameter of the pupil is less than 2 mm, the diffraction of the edges of the pupil is at the root of sprawl bright.

The aberrometres calculated the ocular PSF from the collection of the wave front, through a transformed of Fourier. The transformed of Fourier wave gives function the PSF in amplitude, which the square of the module provides the PSF in intensity.  The convolution operation allows to simulate the final image of an object likened to a set of source points: each source point is convoluted with the PSF in intensity.

Calculation of the PSF from the wave front and representation. The simulated retinal image is obtained by convolution.

The point spread function is therefore a fundamental parameter in the evaluation of any optical imaging system, and provides a direct estimate of the retinal image quality in ophthalmology.

In the absence of significant light diffusion, the PSF is directly related to the function of aberration of the Wavefront at the level the pupillary opening through a transformed of Fourier. In case increased light distribution (loss of transparency of the tissue: cataract, corneal haze, etc.), the appearance of the PSF can be degraded: the OPD by double passage (OQAS) provides a representation of the more functional PSF

PSF and light intensity

The function that describes the way in which an imaging system transforms a point object when it transfers the plan object to an image plane can be described as function of spreading of the point (FEP), the most commonly used English equivalent is the "Point Spread Function" (PSF). The eye PSF is the function that describes the spatial distribution in intensity of the light distribution of the retinal image of an object point. It combines the effect both of diffraction and aberrations. It can also be understood as the function that describes the probability of photon distribution in the image plane which serainet issued by the point source.

In case of reduction of transparency of one or more ocular elements, the PSF also is affected by the dissemination.  Because of the various optical imperfections, the image will be more spread out and wider than an idealized object point.

PSF and image of the source object, convolution

Any object can be represented as a set of point sources, each of which is imaged as a PSF by the optics of the eye. Most of the PSF is dense and symmetrical, the more the fidelity of the image. When dealing with an object such as a two-dimensional set of points of various intensity, the PSF determines how the intensity of each object point is converted into intensity at each image point. The operation that is conceptually the translation a point of an object to the level of the retinal image (taking into account the magnification, diffraction and sprawl of aberrations by the exit pupil of the eye) named after convolution operation. More the OGP is important, the more overlap between the points of the irradiation of images profile, therefore reducing the resolution of the real points.

Thus, the image is the result of Assembly (convolution) of each of these PSF.

 

Representation of the PSF

. The representation of the PSF is usually done in white on black background (intensity), or figure an angular distance scale which specifies the extension of the PSF. Recall that in the case of an eye perfectly corrected for all optical aberrations, the PSF would take the appearance of a drive of Airy (diffraction effect), the angular diameter (from the Center to the first 'light extinction') is equal to: 2.44 x wavelength / pupillary diameter).

The Strehl ratio is an indicator of the 'quality' of the measured PSF. He cortrespond to the relationship between the height of the peak of the measured PSF and that of the 'ideal' PSF (Airy task). The criterion of Marshal stipulates that when the Strehl ratio is greater than 0.8, the optical system can be considered as only "limited by diffraction.

The human eye is far from possessing such optical quality: a strehl ratio greater than 0.1 represents an above average optical performance. Here is a representation of light spread of a model eye (Arizona Eye Model), in monochromatic terms (0.55 microns):

Bridge Srpead Function: PSF light spread

Theoretical representation of the light spreading from a point source on the retina of a theoretical look (Arizona Eye Model). The Strehl ratio is equal to 0.0682 (pupil of 4.4 mm), due to aberrations optiques.de high degree caused by the imperfect (opposite of an optimal stigma) asphericity of ocular surfaces.

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

PSF – Point Spread Function

Généralités

Acronyme pour Point Spread Function (Fonction d’Etalement du Point). La PSF représente la répartition spatiale de l’intensité lumineuse dans le plan image d’un système optique, formée à partir d’un point source objet. Plus l’image formée du point source (la PSF) est de forme ponctuelle, plus le système optique est « fidèle ». Même pour un système optique « parfait », dépourvu d’aberrations optiques, la PSF n’est pas un point pais un disque appelé tache d’Airy, en raison des effets de la diffraction par les bords de l’ouverture des ondes lumineuses. En fonction de la source lumineuse (mono ou polychromatique), la PSF peut être calculée pour une longueur d’onde (monochromatique) ou un ensemble de longueur d’onde (polychromatique).

diffraction PSF tache d'Airy

L'image d'un point source formée par un système optique dans le plan de l'image est appelée "Point Spread Function" (Fonction d'étalement du point). L'image subit les effets de la diffraction:

Calcul et représentation de la PSF de l’oeil

Pour un œil sain, les aberrations optiques et la diffraction sont responsables d’une dégradation de la PSF. Les aberrations optiques sont à l’origine de la dégradation de l’image pour un diamètre de pupille supérieur à 2 mm. Quand le diamètre de la pupille est inférieur à 2 mm, la diffraction des bords de la pupille est à l’origine de l’étalement lumineux.

Les aberromètres calculent la PSF oculaire à partir du recueil du front d’onde, par le biais d’une transformée de Fourier. La transformée de Fourier de la fonction d’onde donne la PSF en amplitude, dont le carré du module fournit la PSF en intensité.  L’opération de convolution permet de simuler l’image finale d’un objet assimilé à un ensemble de points sources : chaque point source est convolué avec la PSF en intensité.

Calcul de la PSF à partir du front d'onde et représentation. L'image rétinienne simulée est obtenue par convolution.

La Fonction d’étalement du point est donc d’un paramètre fondamental dans l’évaluation de tout système d’imagerie optique, et qui fournit en Ophtalmologie une estimation directe de la qualité d’image rétinienne.

En l’absence de diffusion lumineuse significative, la PSF est directement liée à la fonction d’aberration du front d’onde au niveau l’ouverture pupillaire par l’intermédiaire d’une transformée de Fourier. En cas diffusion lumineuse accrue (perte de transparence des tissus: cataracte, haze cornéen, etc.), l’aspect de la PSF peut être dégradée: l’aberrométrie par double passage (OQAS) fournit une représentation de la PSF plus fonctionnelle

PSF et intensité lumineuse

La fonction qui décrit la manière dont un système d’imagerie transforme un point objet lorsqu’il le transfère du plan objet à un plan image peut être qualifiée de fonction d’étalement du point (FEP), dont l’équivalent en anglais plus couramment usité est la « Point Spread Function » (PSF). La PSF oculaire est la fonction qui décrit la répartition spatiale en intensité de la distribution lumineuse de l’image rétinienne d’un point objet. Elle combine l’effet à la fois de la diffraction et des aberrations. Elle peut également être comprise comme la fonction qui décrit la probabilité de distribution de photons dans le plan image qui serainet émis par la source ponctuelle.

En cas de réduction de transparence d’un ou plusieurs éléments oculaires, la PSF subit également les effets de la diffusion.  Du fait des diverses imperfections optiques, le point image sera plus étalé et plus large qu’un point objet idéalisé.

PSF et image de l’objet source, convolution

Tout objet peut être représenté comme un ensemble de sources ponctuelles, dont chacune est imagée sous forme de PSF par les éléments optiques de l’œil. Plus la PSF est dense et symétrique, plus la fidélité de l’image est élevée. En traitant un objet comme un ensemble bidimensionnel de points d’intensité diverse, la PSF détermine la manière dont l’intensité de chaque point objet est convertie en intensité à chaque point image. L’opération qui réalise de manière conceptuelle la translation point par point d’un objet au plan de l’image rétinienne (en prenant en compte le grossissement, la diffraction et l’étalement des aberrations par la pupille de sortie de l’œil) porte le nom d’opération de convolution. Plus la PSF est importante, plus il y a de chevauchement entre les points du profil d’irradiation des images, diminuant dès lors la résolution des vrais points.

Ainsi, l’image est le résultat de l’assemblage (convolution) de chacune de ces PSF.

 

Représentation de la PSF

. La représentation de la PSF s’effectue généralement en blanc (intensité) sur fond noir, ou figure une échelle de distance angulaire qui précise l’extension de cette PSF. Rappelons que dans le cas d’un œil parfaitement corrigé pour toutes les aberrations optiques, la PSF prendrait l’aspect d’un disque d’Airy (effet de la diffraction), dont le diamètre angulaire (du centre vers la première « extinction lumineuse ») est égal à : 2.44 x  longueur d’onde / Diamètre pupillaire).

Le ratio de Strehl est un indicateur de la « qualité » de la PSF mesurée. Il cortrespond au rapport entre la hauteur du pic de la PSF mesurée et celui de la PSF « idéale » (tache d’Airy). Le critère de Maréchal stipule que lorsque le ratio de Strehl est supérieur à 0.8, le système optique peut être considéré comme seulement « limité par la diffraction ».

L’oeil humain est loin de posséder une telle qualité optique: un strehl ratio supérieur à 0.1 représente une performance optique supérieure à la moyenne. Voici une représentation de l’étalement lumineux d’un oeil modèle (Arizona Eye Model), en conditions monochromatiques (0.55 microns):

Pont Srpead Function : PSF étalement lumineux

Représentation théorique de l'étalement lumineux d'un point source sur la rétine d'un oeil théorique (Arizona Eye Model). Le ratio de Strehl est égal à 0.0682 (pupille de 4.4 mm), en raison des aberrations optiques.de haut degré engendrées par l'asphéricité imparfaite (vis à vis d'un stigmatisme optimal) des surfaces oculaires.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *