+ +

Corneal asymmetry

The asymmetry of the cornea is a feature seen in corneal topography. It is important to detect and quantify, because it is a marker for the early detection of Keratoconus (Keratoconus fruste), especially in its orientation vertical or oblique forms.

Definition of asymmetry

Corneal asymmetry is defined by a  marked curvature difference between opposites hemi-meridians (ex: hemi-Meridian 90 °, hemi-Meridian 270 °): an area of the cornea is more arched than the opposite sector.

Three-dimensional schematic example of corneal surface asymmetrical:

Asymmetry of the cornea

The corneal surface is represented by the Green mesh: asymmetry is related to a camber increased to half level below: this type of asymmetry is characteristic of Keratoconus.

However, the cornea has a physiological asymmetry: she is usually less arched in nasal and temporal. In part this is because of the nasal gap of the corneal vertex, which is centered in topography specular review, and thecorneal Asphericity physiological prolate.

 

Topographic translation of asymmetry:

In curvature

 A skewed distribution of the gradient of topographic curvature reflects the difference in Camber between certain opposites hemi-meridians.

variations of the curvature in corneal topography

Schematic representation of an asymmetric distribution of curvature (here quantified by the osculating circles, which are not drawn to scale) along a meridian of the anterior corneal surface. In this example, the apex, which is defined as the point of maximum curvature, is lateralized (biased in lower) towards the geometric center of the cornea. The latter marks the dividing line between the two meridians hemi (upper and lower) constituent of the explored Meridian. This type of asymmetry is often observed in patients with Keratoconus (apex moving typically turned-temporal relation to the geometric center of the cornea)

Here is an example of corneal topography obtained in a patient of Keratoconus.

axial topography of Keratoconus

Specular topography in axial mode (custom relative scale) of a cornea with Keratoconus. Note the strong vertical curvature gradient, and the lower displacement of the apex in axial curvature. The asymmetry of curvature between the half top of the cornea and half lower of the cornea is obvious.

 

The asymmetric curvature distribution is often associated with a displacement of apex who moves away from the central region, in the direction of the curved meridians hemi. It is important to keep in mind that this map (axial curvature) arises from the study of the local radius of curvature of the cornea (and not a representation of the spatial form of the cornea). The areas represented in warm colors are "over arching" (the small radius of curvature).

The cornea is usually slightly flat in his nasal portion, a certain degree of asymmetry horizontal (vertical axis) is commonly found for normal corneas, and it manifests in cooler colors on the nasal side of the side temporal of the cornea, while the apex remains relatively central.

physiological nasal corneal asymmetry

Representation of the curvature in the axial mode a normal cornea (right eye, custom scale). There is a slight asymmetry vertical, but of low magnitude. The Asphericity is of type prolate, the cornea is overall more arched in the Center and towards the edges. Note the peripheral flattening more marked in nasal (arrow), which causes an asymmetry of horizontal type: this asymmetry is physiological, and partly related to the nasal offset of the vertex, which is by definition in the center of the topographic map, which should not be confused with the geometric center of the cornea.

All increase in asymmetryespecially when she is oblique or vertical and associated with a displacement of the apex must be suspect of a breach of the cornea such as the Keratoconus or the pellucid marginal degeneration.

In the early stages of Keratoconus, the asymmetry is often characterized by an aspect of bowtie asymmetrical ("asymmetry bow tie") whose orientation follows the direction of the more arched part of the cornea. At the earlier stages (Keratoconus subclinical form fruste), only the presence of a slightly more arched area in lower answers can be observed, with a deviation from the direction of one of the arched hemi-meridians relative to each other (radial throw axes: SRAX).

asymmetry corneal fruste Keratoconus and anomaly of type SRAX

Axial curvature (custom scale) topographic representation of the other (adelphe, right eye) of the patient with Keratoconus featured on the previous figures. The cornea of the eye is one of the early topographical signs of Keratoconus: a 'bow tie' asymmetrical with meridians hemi of maximum curvature (red segments) of axis deflected. You can use the acronlyme "AB-SRAX" to refer to this aspect: AB for asymmetry Bowtie, SRAX for radial throw axes). The appearance in bow tie is linked to the conjunction of the Asphericity and the corneal toricite; the deviation of the hemi-axis is the result of the asymmetrical deformation of the cornea. In this context, when we know that the other eye has a Keratoconus, it is possible to formally diagnose Keratoconus fruste, despite the minor nature of these anomalies. Repeated eye rubbing are originally of asymmetrical deformation of the cornea, as well as the compression of the eye at night by hand or the pillow.

At advanced stages, extreme asymmetry is combined with a negative Asphericity (prolate) more important and result in an aspect where is evident a more arched off-center area.

Emphasize that it is important to detect and quantify the asymmetry in order to develop tools for screening of Keratoconus in refractive surgery. any asymmetry is not necessarily synonymous with Keratoconus fruste, and is made up of other clues to accredit this diagnostic hypothesis (clinical context, corneal thickness, etc.). The eye rubbing repeated explain a large proportion of the topographic case of asymmetry (corneal)According to the author of the site, the eye rubbing explain the occurrence of Keratoconus). It is also striking to observe the correlation between Forms of isolated corneal asymmetries and sleeping on your stomach or side, pressing hold the eye (pillow or hand).

 

Apart from friction and these traumatic causes chronic, the cornea may be due to an infection (abscess) acute deformation, or the issuance of an off-center laser correction.

The following example corresponds to a shift of the correction of myopia in laser surface (PKR), occurred in the mid-1990s, when the first lasers excimers of had not in routine of enslavement to the eye (eye-tracker) prosecution system. During the surgical recovery through personalized treatment (topographically-guided), to relieve the patient of symptoms of double vision, again in PKR, there well offset by lower treatment area. The original PKR have taken locally the layer smooth Bowman, the most superficial stroma of the cornea (putting naked after removal of the epithelium), is observed through the reduction of the reflection photoablation in lower area offset after removal of the epithelium.

shift photablation corneal asymmetry

Curvature in map k axial asymmetry linked to a shift of laser correction. The warm colored area corresponds to the fitting with the untreated area. Flattening induced by the laser correction is shifted to lower. After removal of corneal epithelium during surgery performed 20 years after the initial procedure, observed through the loss of the reflection of the layer of Bowman that the treatment is biased significantly in lower.

Various indices from the maps of curvature and quantifying the asymmetry have been described, they are based on the differences of curvatures noted between horny hemimeridiens or hemi upper and lower (ex: I-S value, which is used in the calculation of the value of the Score with the) software SCORE Analzyer). These indices are useful for the screening of Keratoconus (see the) site dedicated to SCORE Analyzer software)

Elevation

In topography of elevationphysiological horizontal asymmetry is responsible, in the normal corneas, a slight temporal shift and differences between points respectively in temporal and nasal in the relative distribution of their respective elevation with respect to the sphere of reference.

In the early stages of Keratoconus, the asymmetry translates also in elevation by a reduction of the axial symmetry with respect to the horizontal axis. A slight shift to the bottom of the bunch of horizontal elevation ("promontory") on the maps of elevation of the anterior cornea can be observed.

corneal asymmetry: appearance in elevation

Elevation of the anterior corneal surface topography (the sphere of reference is free: float mode). The cornea is prolate and o-ring)astigmatism (in line), and presents a significant vertical asymmetry, resulting in a shift of the landscape promontory down (note the difference between the distance upper and lower at the geometric center of the cornea). The corneal surface analyzed here in elevation is represented in curvature on the previous Figure - vertical asymmetry. In elevation, the asymmetry is less obvious than in curvature; This is especially of the to the sphere of reference shifts to marry the best studied surface, which minimizes topographical translation of asymmetry.

Corneal asymmetry may be better revealed through the use of an alignment constraint (for example, "axis" mode) for the calculation of the reference sphere (Best Fit Sphere - BFS) since "float" mode allows the sphere away from Center, therefore reducing the apparent asymmetry on the maps of elevation. The "axis" mode forces the sphere to remain aligned with the geometric center of the cornea.

asymmetry corneeenne elevation: using axis mode

Representation in elevation, using a constraint of alignment for the sphere of reference (axis mode). The sphere is forced to align themselves with the geometric center of the cornea. This constraint allows to underline the asymmetry of the explored area. The arched hemi-meridians are located in lower, and lie under the sphere of forced reference. Senior, less arched, hemi-meridians are logically located above.

 

In practice, the asymmetrical component is only rarely isolated, with varying degrees of toricite and Asphericity depending on the clinical circumstances. In Keratoconus, the toricite and the negative Asphericity are often more pronounced than for a normal cornea.

The following figure, based on a mathematical simulation software (Maple) summarizes the topographic features observed in curvature and elevation when the asymmetry is combined with the Asphericity and the toricite.

corneeennes, toricite, Asphericity asymmetries: comparison between the curve elevation maps

Computer simulation of the representation in elevation (E) and (C) curvature of corneal surface according to their geometric properties elementary. The surfaces were generated by a mathematical simulation software, and a calculation algorithm is designed for the calculation of the sphere of reference (needed for the representation of the elevation), and the southern curve of type.

 

 

 

It is important to note that the clinical interpretation of topographic asymmetry is based on the clinical context, and other topographical settings like scalability, and the existence or not of a comparable contralateral asymmetry (preservation of the enantiomorphism, that characterizes the symmetry between right eye and left eye mirrored).

 


Maeda N, SD, MK, Thompson HW Smolek Klyce. Automated keratoconus screening with corneal topography analysis. Invest invest Vis Sci. 1994; 35 (6): 2749-57.

 

Rabinowitz YS, Rasheed K, Yang H, Elashoff J. Accuracy of ultrasonic pachymetry and videokeratography in detecting keratoconus. J Cataract Refract Surg. 1998; 24 (2): 196-201.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Asymétrie cornéenne

L’asymétrie de la cornée est une caractéristique observée en topographie cornéenne. Il est important de la détecter et de la quantifier, car elle est un marqueur important pour la détection précoce du kératocône (kératocône fruste), en particulier dans ses formes d’orientation verticale ou oblique.

Définition de l’asymétrie

L’asymétrie cornéenne est définie par une  différence de courbure marquée entre des hémi-méridiens opposés (ex : hémi-méridien 90°, hémi-méridien 270°) : un secteur de la cornée est plus cambré que le secteur opposé.

Voici un exemple schématique tridimensionnel de surface cornéenne asymétrique :

Asymétrie de la cornée

La surface cornéenne est représentée par le maillage vert: l’asymétrie est liée à une cambrure accentuée au niveau de la moitié inférieure : ce type d’asymétrie est caractéristique du kératocône.

La cornée présente cependant une asymétrie physiologique: elle est généralement moins cambrée en nasal qu’en temporal. Ceci est en partie lié au fait du décalage nasal du vertex cornéen, sur lequel est centré l’examen en topographie spéculaire, et de l’asphéricité cornéenne physiologique prolate.

 

Traduction topographique de l’asymétrie :

En courbure

 Une distribution asymétrique du gradient de courbure topographique traduit la différence de cambrure entre certains hémi-méridiens opposés.

variations de la courbure en topographie cornéenne

Représentation schématique d’une répartition asymétrique de la courbure (quantifiée ici par les cercles osculateurs, qui ne sont pas représentés à l’échelle) le long d’un méridien de la surface cornéenne antérieure. Dans cet exemple, l’apex, qui est défini comme le point de courbure maximale, est latéralisé (décentré en inférieur) vis-à-vis du centre géométrique de la cornée. Ce dernier marque la démarcation entre les deux hémi méridiens (supérieur et inférieur) constitutifs du méridien exploré. Ce type d’asymétrie est souvent observé chez les patients atteints de kératocône (l’apex se déplaçant typiquement en inféro-temporal par rapport au centre géométrique de la cornée)

Voici un exemple de topographie cornéenne obtenue chez un patient atteint de kératocône.

topographie axiale du kératocône

Topographie spéculaire en mode axial (échelle relative personnalisée) d’une cornée présentant un kératocône. Noter le fort gradient de courbure vertical, et le déplacement inférieur de l’apex en courbure axiale. L’asymétrie de courbure entre la moitié supérieure de la cornée et la moitié inférieure de la cornée est évidente.

 

Une distribution de la courbure asymétrique s’associe souvent avec un déplacement de l’apex qui s’éloigne de la région centrale, dans la direction des hémi méridiens les plus cambrés. Il est important de garder à l’esprit que cette carte (courbure axiale) découle de l’étude du rayon de courbure local de la cornée (et non d’une représentation de la forme spatiale de la cornée). Les zones représentées en couleurs chaudes sont « plus cambrées » (plus petit rayon de courbure).

La cornée étant généralement légèrement plus plate dans sa portion nasale, un certain degré asymétrie horizontale (par rapport à l’axe vertical) est couramment retrouvé pour des cornées normales et elle se manifeste par des couleurs plus froides du côté nasal par rapport au côté temporal de la cornée, alors que l’apex demeure relativement central.

asymétrie cornéenne nasale physiologique

Représentation de la courbure en mode axial d’une cornée normale (œil droit, échelle personnalisée). Il existe une légère asymétrie verticale, mais de faible magnitude. L’asphéricité est de type prolate, la cornée est globalement plus cambrée au centre que vers les bords. Noter l’aplatissement périphérique plus marqué en nasal (flèche), qui provoque une asymétrie de type horizontal: cette asymétrie est physiologique, et en partie liée au décalage nasal du vertex, qui correspond par définition au centre de la carte topographique, qui ne doit pas être confondu avec le centre géométrique de la cornée.

Toute augmentation de l’asymétrie, en particulier quand elle est oblique ou verticale et associée à un déplacement de l’apex doit faire suspecter la présence d’une atteinte de la cornée telle que le kératocône ou la dégénérescence pellucide marginale.

Aux stades précoces du kératocône, l’asymétrie se caractérise souvent par un aspect de nœud papillon asymétrique  (« asymetric bow tie ») dont l’orientation suit la direction de la partie plus cambrée de la cornée. Aux stades les plus précoces (kératocône infraclinique de forme fruste), seule la présence d’une zone légèrement plus cambrée en paracentral inférieur peut être observée, avec une déviation de la direction d’un des hémi-méridiens les plus cambré par rapport à l’autre (skewed radial axes : SRAX).

asymétrie cornéenne kératocone fruste et anomalie de type SRAX

Représentation topographique en courbure axiale (échelle personnalisée) de l’ autre (œil adelphe, droit) du patient atteint de kératocône présenté sur les figures précédentes. La cornée de l’œil droit présente un des signes topographiques précoces de kératocône : un « nœud papillon » asymétrique avec des hémi méridiens de courbure maximale (segments rouges) d’axe déviés. On peut utiliser l’acronlyme« AB-SRAX » pour désigner cet aspect: AB pour Asymetric Bowtie, SRAX pour Skewed radial axes). L’aspect en noeud papillon est lié à la conjonction de l’asphéricité et de la toricité cornéenne; la déviation des hémi axes est le fruit de la déformation asymétrique de la cornée. Dans ce contexte, lorsque l’on sait que l’autre oeil a un kératocône, il est possible de poser formellement le diagnostic de kératocône fruste, malgré le caractère mineur de ces anomalies. Les frottements oculaires répétés sont à l’origine d’une déformation asymétrique de la cornée, de même que la compression de l’oeil la nuit par la main  ou l’oreiller.

Aux stades avancés, l’asymétrie extrême se combine avec une asphéricité négative (prolate) plus importante et résulte en un aspect où ressort nettement une zone décentrée plus cambrée.

Insistons sur le fait qu’il est important de détecter et de quantifier l’asymétrie afin de pouvoir élaborer des outils de dépistage du kératocône en chirurgie réfractive; toute asymétrie n’est pas forcément synonyme de kératocône fruste, et il faut rassembler d’autres indices pour accréditer cette hypothèse diagnostique (contexte clinique, épaisseur cornéenne, etc.). Les frottements oculaires répétés expliquent une très grande proportion des cas topographiques d’asymétrie cornéenne (les frottements oculaires expliquent selon l’auteur du site la survenue du kératocône). Il est également frappant d’observer la corrélation entre des formes d’asymétries cornéennes isolées et le fait de dormir sur le ventre ou le côté, en appuyant de manière prolongée sur l’oeil (oreiller ou main).

 

En dehors des frottements et de ces causes traumatiques chroniques, la cornée peut subir une déformation aiguë consécutive à une infection (abcès), ou la délivrance d’une correction laser décentrée.

L’exemple suivant correspond à un décentrement de la correction d’une myopie en laser de surface (PKR), survenue au milieu des années 90, quand les premiers lasers excimers de disposaient pas en routine de système d’asservissement aux poursuites oculaires (eye-tracker). Lors de la reprise chirurgicale par traitement personnalisé (topographiquement guidé), pour soulager le patient de symptômes de vision dédoublée, à nouveau en PKR, on observe bien  la zone de traitement décalée en inférieur. La PKR initiale ayant ôté localement la couche lisse de Bowman, la plus superficielle du stroma de la cornée (mise à nu après retrait de l’épithélium), on observe grâce à la réduction du reflet le décalage de la zone de photoablation en inférieur après retrait de l’épithélium.

décentrement photablation asymétrie cornéenne

Asymétrie de courbure en carte kératométrique axiale liée à un décentrement de correction laser. La zone de couleur chaudes correspond au raccord avec la zone non traitée. L’aplatissement induit par la correction laser est décalé en inférieur. Après retrait de l’épithélium cornéen au cours de la chirurgie effectuée 20 ans après la procédure initiale, on observe grâce à la perte du reflet de la couche de Bowman que le traitement est décentré de manière significative en inférieur.

Divers indices issus des cartes de courbure et permettant de quantifier l’asymétrie ont été décrits, ils reposent sur les différences de courbures notées entre hémiméridiens et/ou hémi cornée supérieure et inférieure (ex: valeur I-S, qui est utilisée dans le calcul de la valeur du Score avec le logiciel SCORE Analzyer). Ces indices sont utiles au dépistage du kératocône (voir le site dédié au logiciel SCORE Analyzer)

En élévation

En topographie d’élévation, l’asymétrie horizontale physiologique est responsable, dans les cornées normales, d’un léger décentrement temporal et de différences entre les points situés respectivement en temporal et nasal dans la distribution relative de leur élévation respective par rapport à la sphère de référence.

Aux stades précoces du kératocône, l’asymétrie se traduit également en élévation par une réduction de la symétrie axiale par rapport à l’axe horizontal. Un léger décalage vers le bas de la bande d’élévation horizontale (« promontoire ») sur les cartes d’élévation de la cornée antérieure peut être observé.

asymétrie cornéenne : aspect en élévation

Topographie d’élévation de la surface cornéenne antérieure (la sphère de référence est libre: mode float). La cornée est prolate et torique (astigmatisme conforme), et présente une asymétrie verticale notable, qui se traduit par un décalage du promontoire horizontal vers le bas (noter la différence entre la distance supérieure et inférieure au centre géométrique de la cornée). La surface cornéenne analysée ici en élévation est représentée en courbure sur la Figure précédente – asymétrie marquée verticale. En élévation, l’asymétrie est moins évidente qu’en courbure; ceci est en particulier du à ce que la sphère de référence se décale pour épouser au mieux la surface étudiée, ce qui minimise la traduction topographique de l’asymétrie.

L’asymétrie cornéenne peut être mieux dévoilée par l’utilisation d’une contrainte d’alignement (par exemple, mode « axis ») pour le calcul de la sphère de référence (Best Fit Sphere – BFS) puisque le mode « float » permet à la sphère de s’éloigner du centre, réduisant dès lors l’asymétrie apparente sur les cartes d’élévation. Le mode « axis » contraint la sphère à demeurer alignée avec le centre géométrique de la cornée.

asymétrie cornéeenne elevation : utilisation du mode axis

Représentation en élévation, en utilisant une contrainte d’alignement pour la sphère de référence (mode axis). La sphère est contrainte de s’aligner sur le centre géométrique de la cornée. Cette contrainte permet de souligner l’asymétrie de la surface explorée. Les hémi-méridiens les plus cambrés sont situés en inférieur, et se situent sous la sphère de référence contrainte. Les hémi-méridiens supérieurs, moins cambrés, sont logiquement situés au dessus.

 

En pratique, la composante asymétrique n’est que très rarement isolée, et accompagne selon les circonstances cliniques divers degrés de toricité et d’asphéricité. Dans le kératocône, la toricité et l’asphéricité négative sont souvent plus prononcées que pour une cornée normale.

La figure suivante, établie à partir d’un logiciel de simulation mathématique (Maple) résume les aspects topographiques caractéristiques observés en courbure et en élévation quand l’asymétrie se combine avec de l’asphéricité et/ou de la toricité.

asymétries cornéeennes, toricité, asphéricité: comparaison entre les cartes de courbure élévation

Simulation informatiques de la représentation en élévation (E) et en courbure (C) de surfaces cornéennes en fonction de leurs propriétés géométriques élémentaires. Les surfaces ont été générées par un logiciel de simulation mathématique, et un algorithme de calcul a été réalisé pour le calcul de la sphère de référence (nécessaire à la représentation de l’élévation), et de la courbure de type méridionale.

 

 

 

Il est important de noter que l’interprétation clinique d’une asymétrie topographique repose sur le contexte clinique, et d’autres paramètres topographiques comme l’évolutivité, et l’existence ou non d’une asymétrie controlatérale comparable (préservation de l’énantiomorphisme, qui caractérise la symétrie en miroir entre œil droit et œil gauche).

 


Maeda N, Klyce SD, Smolek MK, Thompson HW. Automated keratoconus screening with corneal topography analysis. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci. 1994;35(6):2749-57.

 

Rabinowitz YS, Rasheed K, Yang H, Elashoff J. Accuracy of ultrasonic pachymetry and videokeratography in detecting keratoconus.J Cataract Refract Surg. 1998;24(2):196-201.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *