+ +

Reflection on spherical curved mirrors

 

Laws of reflection on mirrors

Know some laws of reflection of light on spherical curved mirrors is useful to understand the basic technologies such as corneal topography specular, and understand the genesis of the light reflections that can be seen when one illuminates the eye, including the easiest to observe is the reflection corneal, also called image of Purkinje.

As for the laws of refraction, sought to resolve issues the position of the plan that forms the image (reflection) and the size of this image (its magnification).

The eye against the light path three surfaces that act as convex mirrors: the anterior face of the cornea, the posterior side of the cornea, the front of the lens. Only a surface acts like a concave mirror: the posterior side of the lens. The percentage of the reflected incident light is close to 5% for the front of the cornea, and much lower for images formed by reflection on the other surfaces.

Under the Huygens principle and time of minimum course imposed on the path of light, reflection of a beam on a flat surface is not a problem. The angle of impact with the surface (where the normal point of impact) equals the reflected angle.

 

plan mirror

Reflection plane (top). The reflected image undergoes a reversal. The eye watching the mirror in a given direction fixed point of the image such as the time set by the light from its source until the eye is minimal (equivalent to the 'straight line' ride. (down example of reflection hovers in the wild)

An incident Ray on the smooth surface of a curved mirror forms an angle with the normal to the surface (which can be regarded as locally flat). It is thought an identical angle to this normal. In the case of mirrors curved, circular in section, the normal to the surface marries the path of the local radius of curvature of this section.

mirror curve convex picture

The observer and the source are not aligned with the center of the mirror: the light rays that reach the observer are reflected according to an equal angle on part and on the other of the normal to the surface at the point of reflection.

 

Concave mirror

Only the posterior side of the lens (or implant) behaves like a concave mirror. We focus on a simple system, a circular concave mirror where a close incident ray of the optical axis is reflected. At this stage, we're interested to establish a link between the incidence angle with the normal to the reflecting surface, its curvature (inversely proportional to its RADIUS R value), and the journey of the reflected ray.

Due to the symmetry of revolution (represented further Cup), we guess that all parallel incident rays at the same distance from the optical axis is cut on the optical axis. Therefore, it is essential to identify the intersection of a ray incident parallel to the axis of symmetry of the mirror (the optical axis), with the optical axis.

This approach seeks to determine the position of the image formed by reflection with a point at infinity, mirror for close radii of the optical axis.

 

mirror concave reflection

When an incident Ray is reflected by a spherical mirror, it forms an angle of incidence i towards the normal to the surface of the mirror. By definition, reflects the angle an angle equal to i to this normal, which passes through the center of curvature of the mirror. The point of intersection with the optical axis (F) allows you to draw an isosceles triangle, including the large (hypotenuse) is OF

 

We can establish from the figure above the following law:

OF = R / (2 x cos ((i))

The angle i will vary with the distance of the incident Ray to the axis, we deduce from this equality that the position of point F varies with the height of the considered range. The spherical mirror is not a stigmatic system; the image of a point is not a point, except to consider a small beam of incident rays.

When i is small, one can then write: OF = R/2 car cos (i) tends to 1.

For small angles of incidence (the near rays of the optical axis), it can be established that the home of the mirror, where are concentrated the rays, is located at a distance equal to half of the radius of curvature of the mirror. The image formed by the mirror is located in a plan before it, and reverse

 

Convex mirror

 

We can construct an equivalent figure, this time with a convex mirror, and deduce the same equality as before. Geometric construction reveals that the home is located this time "backwards" from the top of the mirror. The position of the image is also located 'back' of the spherical mirror. This should not shock: the image is virtual, but it can quite be 'captured' by the eye, or an image sensor. This means that the rays emitted in reflections "appear to be" plan of image formation (the eye or the sensor cannot know that the rays have undergone prior reflection).

convex spherical reflection

When an incident Ray is reflected by a convex spherical mirror, it forms an angle of incidence i towards the normal to the surface of the mirror. By definition, reflects the angle an angle equal to i to this normal, which passes through the center of curvature of the mirror. The point of intersection with the optical axis (F) allows you to draw an isosceles triangle whose side is R.

 

 

Position of the reflected image

 

The following figure lays the foundations of the problem: we're looking for the position I of the image of a source O point located on the optical axis. With a few approximations on small angles (the tangent of the angle is equal to the angle in radians, and the cosine of a small angle is very close to 1), we can establish a combination formula that calculates the position of the reflected image.

 

formula conjugation spherical mirror

On the diagram, O from RADIUS meets the surface of the concave mirror to a height h. It reflects and cut the optical axis in I (attention: I is not exactly located in the distance f, as for a ray incident parallel to the optical axis).

To perform calculations with this formula, it is important to consider the distances as algebraic quantities: to the left from the top, the distances are negative amounts, to the right, positive.

For a convex mirror, the formula is the same, but the sign to the value of the radius of curvature is negative.

It is interesting to note that this formula is similar to the formula of vergence, but that there is no value of refractive index, since the propagation of light occurs in reflection, in the same environment.

These formulas are used to calculate the position of the eye reflections)Purkinje images).

 

Example:

We're looking for to know the position of the image of a source object to 40 cm from the surface of the cornea, whose radius of curvature is 8 mm. The home of the mirror is so located in half this distance (4 mm).

 

horny reflection

Scheme for calculating the position of an image reflected from the cornea (ex: image of a bright light source reflecting on c ^ me corneal)

We can write:

1 = 1, f - 1 /(distance objet) /(distance image)

1 /(distance image) = 1/4 - 1 /-400 = 101/400

Remote image = 400/101 = 3.96 mm

(Virtual) appears in a later plan to the mirror, and the image is not reversed (unlike the case of reflection by a concave mirror - when the object is located before (later) of the household.)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Réflexion sur miroirs courbes sphériques

 

Lois de la réflexion sur les miroirs

Connaître certaines  lois de la réflexion de la lumière sur des miroirs courbes sphériques  s’avère utile  pour appréhender les fondamentaux de technologies comme la topographie cornéenne spéculaire, et comprendre la genèse des reflets lumineux que l’on peut observer lorsque l’on illumine l’œil, dont le plus simple à observer est le reflet cornéen, également appelé image de Purkinje I.

Comme pour les lois de la réfraction, les questions que l’on cherche à résoudre concernent la position du plan où se forme l’image (le reflet) et la taille de cette image (sa magnification).

L’œil oppose au trajet de la lumière trois surfaces qui agissent comme des miroirs convexes :la face antérieure de la cornée, la face postérieure de la cornée, la face antérieure du cristallin. Seule une surface agit comme un miroir concave : la face postérieure du cristallin. Le pourcentage de la lumière incidente réfléchie est proche de 5% pour la face antérieure de la cornée, et beaucoup plus faible pour les images formées par la réflexion sur les autres surfaces.

En vertu du principe de Huygens et du temps de parcours minimal imposé au parcours de la lumière, la réflexion d’un rayon sur une surface plane ne pose pas de problèmes. L’angle d’incidence avec la surface (où la normale au point d’incidence) est égal  l’angle réfléchi.

 

miroir plan

Réflexion plane (en haut). L’image réfléchie subit une inversion. L’œil qui observe le miroir dans une direction donnée fixe un point de l’image tel que le temps mis par la lumière depuis sa source jusqu’à la l’œil est minimal (équivalent au trajet en « ligne droite ». (en bas exemple de réflexion plane en milieu naturel)

Un rayon incident sur la surface lisse d’un miroir courbe forme un angle donné avec la normale à cette surface (que l’on peut considérer comme localement plane). Il est réfléchi selon un angle identique vis-à-vis de cette normale.Dans le cas des miroirs courbes, circulaires en section, la normale à la surface épouse le trajet du rayon de courbure local de cette section.

miroir courbe convexe image

L’observateur et la source ne sont pas alignés avec le centre du miroir: les rayons lumineux qui atteignent l’observateur sont réfléchis selon un angle égal de part et d’autre de la normale à la surface au point de réflexion.

 

Miroir concave

Seule la face postérieure du cristallin (ou d’un implant) se comporte comme un miroir concave. Nous nous intéresserons à un système simple, un miroir concave circulaire où un rayon incident proche de l’axe optique est réfléchi. A ce stade, on s’intéresse à établir un lien entre l’angle d’incidence avec la normale à la surface réfléchissante, sa courbure (inversement proportionnelle à la valeur de son rayon R), et le trajet du rayon réfléchi.

En raison de la symétrie de révolution (représenté plus loin en coupe), on devine que tous les rayons incidents parallèles réfléchis à la même distance de l’axe optique se couperont sur l’axe optique. Il est donc essentiel de repérer l’intersection d’un rayon incident parallèle à l’axe de symétrie du miroir (l’axe optique), avec l’axe optique.

Cette démarche vise ainsi à déterminer la position de l’image formée par la réflexion avec le miroir d’un point situé à l’infini, pour des rayons proches de l’axe optique.

 

miroir concave réflexion

Quand un rayon incident est réfléchi par un miroir sphérique, il forme un l’angle d’incidence i vis-à-vis de la normale à la surface du miroir. Par définition, l’angle réfléchit forme un angle égal à i vis-à-vis de cette normale, qui passe par le centre de courbure du miroir. Le point d’intersection avec l’axe optique (F) permet de dessiner un triangle isocèle, dont le grand côté (hypothénuse) est OF

 

On peut établir à partir de la figure ci-dessus la loi suivante :

OF =  R / (2 x cos (i) )

Comme l’angle i varie avec la distance du rayon incident à l’axe, on déduit de cette égalité que la position du point F varie avec la hauteur du rayon considéré. Le miroir sphérique n’est pas un système stigmatique ; l’image d’un point n’est pas un point, sauf à considérer un petit faisceau de rayons incidents.

Quand i est petit, on peut alors écrire : OF = R/2 car cos (i) tend vers 1.

Pour les petits angles d’incidence (les rayons proche de l’axe optique), on peut établir que le foyer du miroir, où se concentrent les rayons, est situé à une distance égale à la moitié du rayon de courbure du miroir. L’image formée par le miroir est située dans un plan avant de celui-ci, et inversée

 

Miroir convexe

 

On peut construire une figure équivalente, cette fois-ci avec un miroir convexe, et en déduire la même égalité que précédemment. La construction géométrique révèle que le foyer est situé cette fois ci « en arrière » du sommet du miroir. La position de l’image est également située « en arrière » du miroir sphérique. Ceci ne doit pas choquer: l’image est virtuelle, mais elle peut tout à fait être « captée » par l’oeil, ou un capteur photographique. Cela signifie que les rayons émis en réflexions « semblent provenir » du plan de formation de l’image (l’oeil ou le capteur ne peuvent pas savoir que les rayons ont subis une réflexion préalable).

réflexion sphérique convexe

Quand un rayon incident est réfléchit par un miroir sphérique convexe, il forme un l’angle d’incidence i vis-à-vis de la normale à la surface du miroir. Par définition, l’angle réfléchit forme un angle égal à i vis-à-vis de cette normale, qui passe par le centre de courbure du miroir. Le point d’intersection avec l’axe optique (F) permet de dessiner un triangle isocèle, dont le grand côté est R.

 

 

Position de l’image réfléchie

 

Le schéma suivant pose les bases du problème : on cherche la position I de l’image d’un point source O situé sur l’axe optique. Avec quelques approximations sur les petits angles (la tangente de l’angle est égale à l’angle en radians, et le cosinus d’un petit angle est très proche de 1), on peut établir une formule de conjugaison qui permet de calculer la position de l’image réfléchie.

 

formule conjugaison miroir sphérique

Sur le schéma, le rayon issu de O rencontre la surface du miroir concave à une hauteur h. Il se réfléchit et coupe l’axe optique en I (attention : I n’est pas exactement situé à la distance f, comme pour un rayon incident parallèle à l’axe optique).

Pour effectuer des calculs avec cette formule, il est important de considérer les distances comme des grandeurs algébriques : vers la gauche à partir du sommet, les distances sont des quantités négatives, vers la droite, positives.

Pour un miroir convexe, la formule est identique, mais le signe pour la valeur du rayon de courbure est négatif.

Il est intéressant de noter que cette formule ressemble à la formule de vergence, mais que n’y intervient aucune valeur d’indice de réfraction, puisque la propagation de la lumière s’effectue en réflexion, dans le même milieu.

Ces formules permettent de calculer la position des reflets oculaires (images de Purkinje).

 

Exemple :

On cherche à connaître la position de l’image d’un objet source situé à 40 cm de la surface de la cornée, dont le rayon de courbure est 8 mm. Le foyer du miroir est donc situé à la moitié de cette distance (4 mm).

 

réflexion cornée

Schéma permettant le calcul de la position d’une image réfléchie par la cornée (ex: image d’une source lumineuse brillante en réflexion sur le do^me cornéen)

On peut donc écrire :

1/(distance image) = 1/f – 1/(distance objet)

1/(distance image) =  1/4 – 1/-400 =101/400

Distance image =400/101 = 3.96 mm

L’image (virtuelle) apparait située dans un plan postérieur au miroir, et n’est pas inversée (contrairement au cas de la réflexion par un miroir concave – quand l’objet est situé avant (plus loin) du foyer.

 

 

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *