+ +

Diopters and VA fraction

Diopters and tenths express two different quantities.

The diopters

Thediopters (unit of optical power or vergence) quantify the importance of an optical defect such as myopia, hyperopia, theastigmatism where the myopia. A myopic-2 D sees net without effort to 1/2 = 0.5 meters (50 cm). A myopic-4 D sees net without effort to 1/4 = 0.25 meters (25 cm). We conceive that most nearsightedness is important, far more Visual acuity will be reduced.

The tenths

The It allow to quantify theVisual acuity distance vision (ex: 10/10, 8/10, etc.). This sharpness is measured for a "maximum" contrast (the letters are black on a white background). Visual acuity is related to the resolving power of the eye, which is based on the angle of minimum resolution (Minimum Angle of Resolution: MAR) to separate two points (see:) calculation of the MAR, and MAR).

Diopters of myopia and loss of tenths

However, a myopia of 1 d does not necessarily lose tenths as a myopia of 2D double... There is no simple formula to perform a conversion of diopters in tenths. Of course, the more diopters appearing on the formula of the glasses (or lenses) is high, the more tenths will be low, but cannot establish a relationship of proportionality.

It is estimated that:

A myopia of-0.25 D reduced acuity to 9/10

A myopia of-0.50 D reduced acuity to 7/10

A myopia of-1 D reduced acuity to 4/10.

A myopia of-1.25 D reduced acuity to 2/10

Role of the pupillary diameter

These values (number of tenths for so many diopters of myopia) vary depending on the pupillary diameter : more myopia is important, and more from rays from a point in the distance converge in front of the retina. As a result, for the same myopia, the pupillary diameter is large, and more the width of the task that these divergent rays form on the retina is important.

 

myopia blurred retinal pupillary diameter

Representation of the extent of the retinal blur caused by a point light source away, depending on the diameter of the pupil in a myopic eye. When the pupil expands (ex: at night), the diameter of the light collected by the pupil increases. The geometry of the figure explicit increase the blur retinal, share the spatial extension of the bunch of rays beyond the home located in front of the retina (myopia). The extent of the blur (exaggerated) is represented by the double arrow. In clinic, the existence of aberrations of high degree also participates in the increase of the retinal blurring.

That is why that short-sighted see worse at night and the night (lower brightness causes an increase in the diameter of the pupil). Some low myopic (ex:-0.50D) happen to glasses in day, but cannot stop for driving at night.

It is estimated that the size of this task is equal to Dp x M/60 where Dp is the diameter of the pupil, and M the myopia of the eye.

For example, for a myopic eye of 1 D and a pupillary diameter of 4 mm, the task of illumination is equal to 1 x 4 60 or 0.066 mm (66 microns). More this task grows, and more the resolving power of the eye is reduced. To separate two points (it's the resolving power), then their retinal images must be separate from a distance at least equal to half their diameter (here 33 microns).

The angle MAR (Minimum Angle of Resolution or minimum Angle of Resolution or AMR) is the minimum for separate two observed points. L' MAR angle can then be estimated, using a 17 mm focal length: it is in this example 6.5 minutes of arc, which equals an acuity Visual 1/6.5=0.15 theoretical = 1.5/10. In clinical practice, a myopia of-1 D is often synonymous to a Visual acuity close from 4 to 5/10: the MAR calculation ignores some neuro-cognitive factors (even seen blurry, it is possible to guess the nature of the letters presented at the Visual acuity test).

These figures are of course approximate and from simplified geometric models. Even seen a "fuzzy", the letters may be identifiable: reading letters of varying size (from the largest to the smallest) is often used to quantify the Visual acuity, and this type of pattern can "facilitate" a Visual acuity somewhat better than what would be predicted by the theory. Many works are devoted to the study of the relationship between Visual acuity and optical aberrations.

19 responses to "Dioptries and tenths"

  1. Stephanie says:

    Thank you doctor for this article!

    My 6 year old son with very high farsightedness since birth and has a Visual acuity of 4/10. He sees airplanes in the sky, is not disrupts classroom for the moment (large section) but he does not see the faces in the distance and is clearly not reading the first lines of letters on the Snellen chart... and cela created stress.

    Blind student, explained 4/10 back to myopia-1 d has so much more sense to me! and finally a little reassuring... We hope that he can win in acuity in the coming years.

    Thank you for your lights.
    Kind regards

  2. Mendonca Taylor says:

    I would like to know what is the equivalent in diopter of a myopia of 600 degrees.

    Thanks if possible to reply to this email address: Thom0899@gmail.com

  3. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    Myopia is not expressed in degrees, unfortunately I can not answer your question which may be misformulated.

  4. Maite says:

    Hello
    I'm very myopic and astigmatism.
    My ophthalmologist indicated that my eyesight did not change and prescribed the following corrections: OD-7.5 (105-0.75) and OG-7
    However, the previous requirement was OD-7.25 (180-0.50) and OG-6.75 (70 °-0.25)
    The previous time I had to go back to my ophthalmologist and redo the glasses because I could not stand the correction of the right eye originally prescribed OD-7 (175-1.25).
    So I have a doubt and would like to know if the new correction is important. I am afraid I will not support it or worsen my myopia if it is "overcorrected". Indeed, I have the same correction for many years.
    Thanks in advance for your help
    Well cordially

  5. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    The increase in the correction is quite low, but if you are not embarrassed with the current lenses there is no reason to change your correction and make this new pair of corrective lenses.

  6. Dick Dimitri says:

    Hello

    I'm nearsighted (-3.25 left eye and-3.75 right eye). I would have liked to know what visual acuity that would be roughly?
    Even approximately because as indicated above, there is no simple formula for converting diopters to visual acuity.

    Thank you very much for your eventual answer.

  7. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    This correction is certainly at the origin of a acuity of less than 1/10th. It is normal not to find reliable equivalence tables, because one of the parameters likely to vary the acuity is the diameter pupillary (myopics badly or uncorrected squints to reduce slightly the diameter of the pupil input, i.e. the diameter of the light beam allowed by the eye) to reduce the retinal blur (the diameter of the defocusing spot is narrower when the permissible beam is narrower: cf. Thales theorem!).

  8. Mina says:

    Hello

    I am myopic, OD-2.5 and OG-15/-16 not corrigable, can you give me the conversion to 10th and is it spawnn for the passage of the permit or not?

    Thank you in advance for your help.

  9. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    It is not really appropriate to convert the diopters to tenth in your case. What is more important is to verify that you have the number of tenths required for driving (with or without correction, and it will be with course in your case). If your myopic eye-2.50 reads 8/10e (or more) with correction, you will be able to pass the driver's license without problem a priori.

  10. Chateau says:

    Oschenros Thomas says:
    9 JULY 2017 AT 23 H 22 MIN
    I would like to know what is the equivalent in diopter of a myopia of 600 degrees.
    Hello, I am faced with this same problem to buy scuba goggles on the Internet
    The choices are expressed in degrees
     » 200-700 degrees Nearsightedness Replacement lens for professional scuba diving mask goggles Water Sports equipment YS-»
    Thank you for your reply

  11. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    Myopia is not expressed in degree, there must be an error on the site concerned!

  12. Olivier says:

    Hello
    In the image of the people above, I came across a job offer that requires a myopia less than 600 °:

    "Myopia of not more than 600 degrees and astigmatism of not more than 200 degrees per eye"

    So this expression in degrees means something, right? Maybe she's converting to diopter? (600 degrees = 6 diopters?)

  13. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    This is probably a myopia less than 6.00 diopters (6 diopters) and not a number or "degrees" score that would not correspond to anything in this case . For astigmatism, this is a limit set at 2.00 (two) diopters.

  14. Sébastien says:

    Hello, I would like to know my visual acuity with this correction
    Right eye (165 °-1.25) + 0.50
    Left eye (0 °-1.75

  15. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    It is difficult to predict your visual acuity from your correction: Many factors intervene to modulate it, in particular the diameter of the pupil ; It is certain that your visual acuity is better in situations where the brightness is high (outside in good weather), because the reduction of the diameter of the pupil Induces a reduction in retinal blur. Under such conditions, the visual acuity of your right eye must be at least 8/10th.

  16. Lili says:

    Hello, I unfortunately developed a myopia of-0.75 for the 2 eyes. As a result, I wondered what it was like in Visual acuity. Thank you in advance for your reply.

  17. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    It is not really possible to give you a precise answer: the acuity can be around 8/10 with both eyes in case good lighting and good contrast of the observed target, but be much lesser under low light conditions, due to the increase in the pupillary diameter that mechanically induces an increase in retinal blur.

  18. Vero says:

    Hello
    I want to buy a diving mask at my sight. I carry-2.25 (-0.75 to 90 °) and-3.25 (-0.75 to 90 °)
    Should it have astigmatism corrected or can it be neglected or make a spherical equivalent?

  19. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    I think that the correction of astimgatism is not really required, and that a spherical equivalent is simply corrected in the mask.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Dioptries et dixièmes

Dioptries et dixièmes expriment deux quantités différentes.

Les dioptries

Les dioptries (unité de puissance optique ou vergence, symbole: D) permettent de quantifier l’importance d’un défaut optique comme la myopie, l’hypermétropie, l’astigmatisme où la myopie. Elles caractérisent la puissance (vergence) d’un système optique (ou la magnitude d’un défaut optique comme souvent dans un contexte ophtalmologique).

L’unité dioptrie est équivalente à l’inverse du mètre (m^-1): c’est donc l’inverse d’une distance.

Un myope de -2 D voit net sans effort à 1/2 = 0.5 mètres (50 cm). Un myope de -4 D voit plus flou de loin, car il voit net sans effort à 1/4 = 0.25 mètres (25 cm). On conçoit que plus la myopie est importante (plus la vision nette sans effort est rapprochée) plus l’acuité visuelle de loin va être réduite.

Les dixièmes

Les dixièmes permettent justement de quantifier l’acuité visuelle en vision de loin (ex : 10/10, 8/10, etc.) d’un œil corrigé ou non.

Cette acuité est mesurée en clinique pour un contraste quasi « maximal » (les lettres sont noires sur fond blanc). L’acuité visuelle est liée au pouvoir séparateur de l’oeil, qui repose sur l’angle de résolution minimum (Minimum Angle of Resolution: MAR) permettant de séparer deux points (voir : calcul du MAR, et MAR).

Dioptries de myopie et perte de dixièmes

Le lien entre la magnitude de la myopie et la réduction de l’acuité visuelle non corrigée de loin n’est pas linéaire. Une myopie de -1D ne fait pas forcément perdre le double de dixièmes qu’une myopie de -2D… Il n’existe pas de formule simple pour effectuer une conversion de dioptries en dixièmes. Bien évidemment, plus le nombre de dioptries figurant sur la formule des verres (ou des lentilles) est élevé, plus le nombre de dixièmes sera faible, mais on ne peut établir une réelle relation de proportionnalité.

On estime en général que :

Une myopie de -0.25 D réduit l’acuité à 9/10

Une myopie de -0.50 D réduit l’acuité à 7/10

Une myopie de -1 D réduit l’acuité à 4/10.

Une myopie de -1.25 D réduit l’acuité à 2/10

Rôle du diamètre pupillaire

Ces valeurs (nombre de dixièmes pour tant de dioptries de myopie) varient en fonction du diamètre pupillaire : plus la myopie est importante, et plus les rayons issus d’un point situé au lointain convergent en avant de la rétine. De ce fait, pour une même myopie, plus le diamètre pupillaire est grand, et plus la largeur de la tache que ces rayons divergents forment sur la rétine est importante.

myopie flou rétinien diametre pupillaireReprésentation de l’étendue du flou rétinien engendré par une source lumineuse ponctuelle éloignée, en fonction du diamètre de la pupille chez un oeil myope. Quand la pupille se dilate (ex : la nuit), le diamètre du faisceau lumineux collecté par la pupille augmente. La géométrie de la figure explicite l’augmentation du flou rétinien, de part l’extension spatiale du bouquet de rayons au delà du foyer situé en avant de la rétine (myopie). L’étendue du flou (exagérée) est représenté par la double flèche. En clinique, l’existence d’aberrations de haut degré participe également à l’augmentation du flou rétinien.

Représentation de l'étendue du flou rétinien engendré par une source lumineuse ponctuelle éloignée, en fonction du diamètre de la pupille chez un oeil myope. Quand la pupille se dilate (ex : la nuit), le diamètre du faisceau lumineux collecté par la pupille augmente. La géométrie de la figure explicite l'augmentation du flou rétinien, de part l'extension spatiale du bouquet de rayons au delà du foyer situé en avant de la rétine (myopie). L'étendue du flou (exagérée) est représenté par la double flèche. En clinique, l'existence d'aberrations de haut degré participe également à l'augmentation du flou rétinien.

C’est pour cette raison (dilatation pupillaire) que les myopes voient moins bien le soir et la nuit (la baisse de la luminosité provoque une augmentation du diamètre de la pupille pour que l’oeil capte plus de lumière).

Certains myopes faibles (ex : -0.50D) se passent volontiers de lunettes dans la journée, mais en ressente le besoin à la tombée du jour, et ne peuvent s’en passer pour conduire la nuit.

On peut estimer que la taille de la tache de flou retinien est égale à Dp x M/60 où Dp est le diamètre de la pupille, et M la myopie de l’œil.

Par exemple, pour un œil myope de 1 D et un diamètre pupillaire de 4 mm, la tache d’éclairement est égale à 1 x 4 /60 soit 0.066mm (66 microns). Plus cette tache grandit, et plus le pouvoir de résolution de l’œil est réduit. Pour séparer deux points (c’est le pouvoir séparateur), il faut que leurs images rétinienne soient séparées d’une distance au moins égale à la moitié de leur diamètre (ici 33 microns).

L’angle MAR (Minimum Angle of Resolution ou Angle minimum de Résolution ou AMR) est l’angle minimum pour séparer deux points observés. L‘angle MAR peut alors être estimé, en utilisant une longueur focale égale à 17mm: il vaut dans cet exemple 6.5 minutes d’arc, ce qui équivaut à une acuité visuelle théorique de 1/6.5=0.15 = 1.5/10.

En pratique clinique, une myopie de -1 D est le plus souvent synonyme d’une acuité visuelle proche de 4 à 5/10: le calcul du MAR ne tient pas compte de certains facteurs neuro cognitifs (même vues floues, il est possible de deviner la nature des lettres présentées lors du test d’acuité visuelle).

Ces chiffres sont bien sûr approximatifs et issus de modèles géométriques simplifiés. Même vues « floues », les lettres peuvent demeurer identifiables: la lecture de lettres de taille variable (des plus grandes aux plus petites) est souvent utilisée pour quantifier l’acuité visuelle, et ce type de motif peut « faciliter » l’obtention d’une acuité visuelle un peu meilleure que celle qui serait prédite par la théorie. De nombreux travaux sont consacrés à l’étude des rapports entre aberrations optiques et acuité visuelle.

19 réponses à “Dioptries et dixièmes”

  1. Stephanie dit :

    Merci Docteur pour cet article!

    Mon fils de 6 ans avec tres forte hypermetropie depuis la naissance et a une acuite visuelle de 4/10. Il voit les avions dans le ciel, n’est pas perturbe en classe pour le moment (Grande section) mais il ne voit pas les visages au loin et ne lit clairement pas les premieres lignes des lettres sur le tableau de Snellen .. et cela cree un stress.

    Myope etudiante, expliquer que 4/10 revient a une myopie de -1D a tellement plus de sens pour moi!! et finalement un peu rassurant… Nous esperons qu’il pourra gagner en acuite dans les prochaines annees.

    Merci pour vos lumieres.
    Cordialement

  2. Moschenros Thomas dit :

    J’aimerais savoir quel est l’équivalent en dioptrie de d’une myopie de 600 degrés.

    Merci si possible de répondre à cette adresse mail: thom0899@gmail.com

  3. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    La myopie ne s’exprime pas en degrés, je ne peux malheureusement pas répondre à votre question qui est peut être mal formulée.

  4. Maite dit :

    Bonjour,
    Je suis très myope et astigmate.
    Mon ophtalmologiste m’a indiqué que ma vue n’a pas changé et m’a prescrit les corrections suivantes: OD -7,5 (105 -0,75) et OG -7
    Or la prescription précédente était de OD -7,25 (180 -0,50) et OG -6,75 (70° -0,25)
    La fois précédente j’ai dû retourner voir mon ophtalmologiste et refaire les verres car je ne supportais pas la correction de l’oeil droit initialement prescrite OD -7 (175 -1,25).
    Du coup, j’ai un doute et souhaiterai savoir si la nouvelle correction est importante. Je crains de ne pas la supporter ou d’aggraver ma myopie si elle est « surcorrigée ». En effet, j’ai la même correction depuis de nombreuses années.
    Merci d’avance de votre aide
    Bien cordialement

  5. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    L’augmentation de la correction est assez faible, mais si vous n’êtes pas gênée avec les verres actuels il n’y a pas de raison de modifier votre correction et réaliser cette nouvelle paire de verres correcteurs.

  6. Dias Dimitri dit :

    Bonjour,

    Je suis myope (-3,25 oeil gauche et -3,75 oeil droit). J’aurais aimé savoir à quelle acuité visuelle celà correspondrait à peu près?
    Même approximativement car comme indiqué ci-dessus, il n’y a pas de formule simple pour convertir les dioptries en acuité visuelle.

    Merci beaucoup pour votre éventuelle réponse.

  7. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Cette correction est certainement à l’origine d’une acuité inférieure à 1/10e. Il est normal de ne pas trouver de tables d’équivalence tout à fait fiables, car un des paramètres susceptibles de faire varier l’acuité est le diamètre pupillaire (les myopes mal ou non corrigés plissent les yeux pour réduire un peu le diamètre de la pupille d’entrée, c’est à dire le diamètre du faisceau lumineux admis par l’oeil) pour réduire le flou rétinien (le diamètre de la tache de défocalisation est plus étroit quand le faisceau admis est plus étroit: cf théorème de Thalès!).

  8. Mina dit :

    Bonjour,

    Je suis myope, OD -2.5 et OG -15/-16 non corrigable, pouvez vous me donner la conversion en 10eme et est ce que c’est frain pour le passage du permis ou pas ?

    merci d’avance de votre aide.

  9. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Il n’est pas véritablement indiqué de convertir les dioptries en dixième dans votre cas. Ce qui compte plutôt, c’est de vérifier que vous ayez bien le nombre de dixièmes requis pour la conduite automobile (avec ou sans correction, et ce sera avec bien entendu dans votre cas). Si votre oeil myope de -2.50 lit 8/10e (ou plus) avec correction, vous pourrez passer le permis de conduire sans problème a priori.

  10. chateau dit :

    oschenros Thomas dit :
    9 JUILLET 2017 À 23 H 22 MIN
    J’aimerais savoir quel est l’équivalent en dioptrie de d’une myopie de 600 degrés.
    bonjour,je suis confronté à ce meme problème pour acheter des lunettes de plongée sur internet
    les choix sont exprimés en degrés
     »200-700 Degrés Remplacement Myopie Lentille pour Professionnel Plongée sous-marine Masque Lunettes Équipements de Sports Nautiques YS- »
    merci de votre réponse

  11. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    LA myopie ne s’exprime pas en degré, il doit y avoir une erreur sur le site concerné!

  12. Olivier dit :

    Bonjour,
    A l’image des personnes au dessus, je suis tombé sur une offre d’emploi qui requiert une myopie inférieure à 600° :

    « Myopia of not more than 600 degrees and astigmatism of not more than 200 degrees per eye »

    Cette expression en degrés signifie donc quelque chose non ? Peut-être qu’elle se convertit en dioptrie ? (600 degrés = 6 dioptries ?)

  13. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Il s’agit probablement d’une myopie inférieure à 6.00 dioptries (6 dioptries) et non un chiffre ou score de « degrés » qui ne correspondrait à rien dans ce cas. Pour l’astigmatisme, il s’agit d’une limite fixée à 2.00 (deux) dioptries.

  14. Sébastien dit :

    Bonjour, j’aimerais savoir mon acuité visuelle avec cette correction
    Oeil droit (165°-1.25) +0.50
    Oeil gauche ( 0°-1.75

  15. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Il est difficile de prédire votre acuité visuelle à partir de votre correction: de nombreux facteurs interviennent pour la moduler, en particulier le diamètre de la pupille; il est certain que votre acuité visuelle est meilleure en situations où la luminosité est élevée (à l’extérieur par beau temps), car la réduction du diamètre de la pupille induit une réduction du flou rétinien. Dans de telles conditions, l’acuité visuelle de votre oeil droit doit être au moins de 8/10e.

  16. Lili dit :

    Bonjour, j’ai malheureusement développé une myopie de -0,75 pour les 2 yeux. De ce fait, je me demandais ce que cela correspondait en acuité visuelle. Je vous remercie d’avance pour votre réponse.

  17. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Il n’est pas vraiment possible de vous donner une réponse précise: l’acuité peut avoisiner 8/10 avec les deux yeux en cas de bon éclairage et bon contraste de la cible observée, mais être bien moindre en conditions de basse lumière, en raison de l’augmentation du diamètre pupillaire qui induit mécaniquement une augmentation du flou rétinien.

  18. vero dit :

    Bonjour
    Je souhaite acheter un masque de plongée à ma vue. Je porte -2.25(-0.75 à 90°) et -3.25(-0.75 à 90°)
    Faut il faire corriger l’astigmatisme ou peut il être négligé ou faire un équivalent sphérique?
    <merci

  19. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Je pense que la correction de l’astimgatisme n’est pas vraiment requise, et qu’un équivalent sphérique soit simplement corrigé dans le masque.

Laisser un commentaire

Vous pouvez poser des questions ou commenter ce contenu : pour cela, utilisez le formulaire "commentaires" situé ci-dessous. Seront traitées et publiées les questions et commentaires qui revêtent un intérêt général, et éclairent ou complètent les informations délivrées sur les pages concernées.

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *