+ +

Huygens (principle of)

The Huygens principle concerns the propagation of light in the form of transmitted wavelets and re issued successively. It's the astronomer and Dutch mathematician Christian Huygens (1629-1695), that must be the first theorization of the wave front. It was inspired by the properties of mechanical waves, which he pulled the principle of the waves 'envelopes', which since door its name.

Mechanical analogy

By observing the fact that a ripple produced on the surface of the water after the fall of a rock is spread by close in close action, he understood that any point of this reaches surface by the wave should its direct neighbouring points action and movement not to the action of the primary source (place of the fall of the stone). In this theory, any point reached by the wave then acts as a secondary source which, in turn, radiates a Wavelet in direction of the neighbourhood. As a result, the status of the vibration of the surface of the water at a given time allows to predict its future position: it is not necessarily need to know the characteristics of the initial pulse.

The Huygens principle is based on restitution by adjacent points of the impulse of the original source in the form of wavelets.

Bright Wavelet

Huygens transposed these findings to light and applied that a light source emitted successive impulses, giving rise to a disturbance located on a surface called "wave front", which was spreading in a specific environment ("ether"). At the time of Huygens, the notion of electromagnetic field was not known, and light waves should necessarily have a 'support' for this spread. Huygens designed the process of spread of light Wavelet and mechanical vibrations in an elastic medium.

If a wave front has a certain position at a given moment t, his later position is determined as the envelope of wavelet issued at this time t by points distributed secondary sources its original position. In a homogeneous medium, the waves retain their plan or spherical character.

Huygens: principle showing the propagation of a wave front

The propagation of a wavefront at a later time can be inferred from the position of the wavelet to a previous time.

Light propagation and interference

The principle of Huygens has been completed and mathematically formulated by Fresnel at the beginning of the 19th century, including the concept of interference; "this concept explained that there was no wave re issued"backward"when" light vibration "contiguous sources. Indeed, in a dense homogeneous medium, there is little or no light scattered sideways or backward. Earth's atmosphere contains millions of molecules in a cube which stops it would be equal to a visible light wavelength (ex: 500 nm). This is related to the size of the molecules, the nanometer, while the visible light wave is of the order of a micron.

transmission of the incidental light waves by the atoms of a dense medium

Consider a plane wave propagates in a medium dense and homogeneous, composed of many contiguous atoms, represented here schematically by 'points. At the level of atoms, the light is absorbed and reemitted by electrons. This phenomenon is responsible for changes in the "phase" of the wavefront, which can then appear as slowed in the propagation media (the index of refraction is proportional to the slowdown of the transmitted wave). Perpendicular to the propagation direction, we can form many pairs of atoms separated by half a wavelength (atoms are about a thousand times smaller than the relevant visible wavelength). Given the principle of Huygens, each atom reemits the incident wave in all directions. Thus, in a perpendicular direction from the main direction the light spread, there is destructive interference for each of these pairs of atoms, which explains the absence of lateral diffusion of the light. Given the principle of conservation of energy, there should be constructive interference in all directions. In a sparse environment (ex: upper atmosphere), because of the scarcity of the atoms and molecules, the phenomena of interference disappear. Then, there are random "encounters" between light and atoms, of lateral reemissions, which can show that they are proportional to the (power 4) frequency of the light wave. Blue (high frequency) is more scattered than the red, and this explains the color of the sky: our eyes perceive a bluish hue because that shorter wavelength is more scattered laterally, so toward the ground.

 Huygens principle and law of Snell-Desmaps

In examining the consequences of the Huygens principle, it is important to realize that the emitted wave fronts consecutively are separated by equal time intervals. This property allows to prove the law of refraction of Snell (known as Snell-Desmaps in France). Refraction occurs when the wave front meets a different environment and that its rate of spread is reduced.

the principle of Huygens to the law of Snell Desmaps

In the middle of the left, the Wavefront moves at speed VI. On the right, its speed (VR) decreases. The Wavefront forms an θi angle with normal at the surface, and is deflated from an angle θr after refraction. According to the principle of Huygens, the time set by the light to go from C to B is the same as the one to go from A to D. This time is equal to the distance divided by the speed, and one can ask: CB/VI = AD/VR according to the geometry of the figure, and observing that θi is equal to the angle (CAB) and that θr is equal to the angle (ABD) can be expressed that the distance CB = AB sine (θi) and the distance AD = AB sine (θr). The first equation becomes AB sine (θi)/VI = AB sine (θr)/VR. It is possible to simplify by AB and multiply by a constant c (speed of light in the vacuum) and one obtains: sine (θi) c/VI = sine (θr) c/VR. The ratio between the velocity of light in the vacuum and the light in the medium considered is equal to the refractive index of this medium: NI = c/VI and Nr = c/VR finally: NI sine (θi) = Nr sine (θr)

Snell's law to calculate the trace of a refracted Ray, from the angle of the incident angle with the normal to the surface and the value of the indices of refraction of each community.

law of Snell - Desmaps

The law of Snell-Desmaps allows to calculate the path of light rays through refractive surfaces. This law is a pillar of geometrical optics. It is consistent with the Fermat principle, which States that between two points, the light takes the path of minimum (and no minimum distance).

Principle of Huygens and Wavefront

Thus, the very general principle of Huygens was be interpreted in the context of undulatory theory of light (electromagnetic waves). Suppose a light monochromatic (S) in a homogeneous medium isotropic. It emits light waves, which propagate along rays in all directions: in each point of the space close to the source earned by the light wave, the State of the electromagnetic field oscillates (at the frequency of the source), between a minimum value and a maximum value. At some point, all points located at a similar distance from the source are in the same State (they are "in phase").

When the source is placed in an isotropic medium, the envelope of the points located at the same distance from the source shape a spherical space (and circular in plan). The Wavefront is spherical, and because the waves move away from the source, it is divergent. As you move away from the source, the radius of curvature increases (the same portion of wave front is more flat). If one is far enough away from the source, an instrument of observation may collect a portion of the wave surface whose curvature can be considered to be zero (flat).

Spread of one front in the barren

The original source of light propagates a wave front that is locally perpendicular to the rays of light ('normal congruence' property). Rays from a point source are perpendicular to the sphere centered on the source. Distance from the source, a portion of wave front can be regarded as 'flat '.

The wave front is the envelope that connects these points "in phase". flat when the rays spread parallel, it is spherical and expansion as part of a wave front differ. She is also spherical but tends to be collapse to a central point in Wavefront case converge.

2 responses to "Huygens (principle of)"

  1. Nicolas Rouher says:

    In the fifth line of the commentary to the Snell-Descartes law scheme, Theta I should not be replaced by Theta r in the phrase "and theta I is equal to the angle (ADB)"?
    Friendships

  2. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    Right, thanks for the careful reading, the typo is corrected!

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Huygens (Principe de)

Le principe de Huygens concerne la propagation de la lumière sous forme d’ondelettes transmises et re émises successivement. C’est à l’astronome et mathématicien hollandais Christian Huygens (1629-1695) que l’on doit la première théorisation du front d’onde. Celle-ci fut inspirée par les propriétés des ondes mécaniques, dont il tira le principe des ondes « enveloppes », qui depuis porte son nom.

Analogie mécanique

En observant le fait qu’une vaguelette produite à la surface de l’eau après la chute d’un caillou se propage par action de proche en proche, il comprit que tout point de cette surface atteint par la vague devait son mouvement à l’action directe de points voisins et non pas à l’action de la source primaire (lieu de la chute du caillou). Dans cette théorie, tout point atteint par l’onde agit alors comme une  source secondaire qui, à son tour, réémet une ondelette en direction de son voisinage. De ce fait, connaître l’état de l’ébranlement de la surface de l’eau à un instant donné permet de prédire sa position future : il n’est pas forcément besoin de connaître les caractéristiques de l’impulsion initiale.

Le principe de Huygens repose sur la restitution par les points adjacents de l’impulsion de la source initiale sous forme d’ondelettes.

Ondelettes lumineuses

Huygens transposa ces constatations à la lumière  et postula qu’une source lumineuse émettait des impulsions successives, donnant naissance à une perturbation localisée sur une surface appelée « front d’onde », qui se propageait dans un milieu spécifique (« l’éther »). A l’époque de Huygens, la notion de champ électromagnétique n’était pas connue, et les ondes lumineuses devaient nécessairement avoir un « support » pour ce propager. Huygens concevait le processus de propagation des ondelettes lumineuses comme des vibrations mécaniques dans un milieu élastique.

Si un front d’onde possède une certaine position  à un instant donné t, sa position ultérieure est déterminée comme l’enveloppe des ondelettes émises à cet instant t par les points sources secondaire distribuées sa position initiale. Dans un milieu homogène, les ondes conservent leur caractère plan ou sphérique.

Huygens: principe montrant la propagation d'un front d'onde

La propagation d’un front d’onde à un instant ultérieur peut se déduire de la position des ondelettes à un instant précédent.

Interférences et propagation lumineuse

Le principe de Huygens a été complété et formulé mathématiquement par Fresnel au début du 19e siècle, en y incluant le concept d’interférences; ce concept explique qu’il n’y a pas d’onde ré émise « vers l’arrière » lors de l »ébranlement lumineux » de sources contiguës. En effet, dans un milieu homogène dense, il y a peu ou pas de lumière diffusée latéralement ou en arrière. L’atmosphère terrestre contient plusieurs millions de molécules dans un cube dont l’arrête serait égale à une longueur d’onde lumineuse visible (ex: 500 nm). Ceci est lié aux dimensions des molécules, de l’ordre du nanomètre, alors que l’onde lumineuse visible est de l’ordre du micron.

transmission des ondes lumineuses incidentes par les atomes d'un milieu dense

Une onde plane se propage dans un milieu dense et homogène, composé de nombreux atomes contigus, représentés ici schématiquement par des « points ».Dans la direction perpdendiculaire à la propagation, on peut former autant de paires d’atomes séparés d’une demi longueur d’onde (les atomes sont environ mille fois plus petits que la longueur d’onde concernée). En vertu du principe de Huygens, chaque atome re émet l’onde incidente dans toutes les directions. En dehors de la direction même de la propagation, il existe des interférences destructrices pour chacune de ces paires d’atomes qui explique l’absence de diffusion latérale de la lumière. En vertu du principe de conservation de l’énergie, il ne pourrait y avoir d’interférences constructives dans toutes les directions ! Au niveau des atomes, la lumière est absorbée et re émise par les électrons. Ce phénomène est à l’origine de modifications de la « phase » de l’onde diffusée, qui peut alors apparaître comme ralentie dans le milieu (l’indice de réfraction est proportionnel au ralentissement de l’onde transmise). Dans un milieu peu dense (ex : haute atmosphère), du fait de la raréfaction des atomes et molécules, les phénomènes d’interférence disparaissent. Il existe alors, au hasard des « rencontres » entre lumière et atomes, des réemissions latérales, dont on peut montrer qu’elles sont proportionnelles à la fréquence (puissance 4) de l’onde lumineuse. Le bleu (haute fréquence) est plus diffusé que le rouge, et ceci explique la couleur du ciel: nos yeux perçoivent une dominante bleue car cette longueur d’onde est plus diffusée latéralement, donc vers le sol.

 Principe de Huygens et loi de Snell-Descartes

En examinant les conséquences du principe de Huygens, il est important de réaliser que les fronts d’onde émis consécutivement sont séparés par des intervalles de temps égaux. Cette propriété permet de prouver la loi de la réfraction de Snell (appelée Snell-Descartes en France). La réfraction survient quand le front d’onde rencontre un autre milieu et que sa vitesse de propagation y diminue.

du principe de Huygens à la loi de Snell Descartes

Dans le milieu de gauche, le front d’onde se déplace à la vitesse vi. A droite, sa vitesse (vr) diminue. Le front d’onde forme un angle θi avec la normale à la surface, et est dévié d’un angle θr après réfraction. En vertu du principe de Huygens, le temps mis par la lumière pour aller de C à B est le même que celui pour aller de A à D. Ce temps est égal à la distance divisée par la vitesse, et l’on peut poser : CB/vi = AD/vr D’après la géométrie de la figure, et en observant que θi est égal à l’angle (CAB) et que θi est égale à l’angle (ABD) on peut exprimer que la distance CB= AB sinus (θi) et la distance AD = AB sinus (θr). La première équation devient AB sinus (θi) /vi = AB sinus (θr)/vr. On peut simplifier par AB et multiplier par une constante c (vitesse de la lumière dans le vide) et l’on obtient : sinus (θi) c/vi = sinus (θr) c/vr. Le rapport entre la vitesse de la lumière dans le vide et la lumière dans le milieu considéré est égal à l’indice de réfraction de ce milieu : ni = c/vi et nr = c/vr On obtient finalement : ni sinus (θi) = nr sinus (θr)

La loi de Snell permet de calculer le tracé d’un rayon réfracté, à partir de l’angle formé par l’angle incident avec la normale à la surface et la valeur des indices de réfraction de chacun des milieux.

loi de Snell- Descartes

La loi de Snell-Descartes permet de calculer le tracé de rayon lumineux au travers de surfaces réfractives. Cette loi est un pilier de l’optique géométrique. Elle est conforme au principe de Fermat, qui stipule qu’entre deux points, la lumière emprunte le trajet de durée minimale (et non de distance minimale).

Principe de Huygens et front d’onde

Ainsi, le principe très général de Huygens eut être ré interprété dans le cadre de la théorie ondulatoire (ondes électromagnétiques) de la lumière. Supposons une source lumineuse monochromatique (S) dans un milieu homogène isotrope. Elle émet des ondes lumineuses, qui se propagent le long des rayons dans toutes les directions : en chacun des points de l’espace proche de la source gagné par l’onde lumineuse, l’état du champ électromagnétique oscille (à la fréquence de la source), entre une valeur maximale et une valeur minimale. A un instant donné, tous les points situés à une distance identique de la source sont dans le même état (ils sont « en phase »).

Quand la source est placée dans un milieu isotrope, l’enveloppe des points situés à même distance de la source épouse une forme sphérique dans l’espace (et circulaire dans le plan). Le front d’onde est sphérique, et puisque les ondes s’éloignent de la source, il est divergent. Au fur et à mesure que l’on s’éloigne de la source, le rayon de courbure augmente (une même portion de front d’onde est de plus en plus plate). Si l’on est assez loin de la source, un instrument d’observation pourra collecter une portion de la surface d’onde dont la courbure pourra être considérée comme nulle (plane).

Propagation du front d'one dans l'esapce

La source initiale de lumière propage un front d’onde qui est localement perpendiculaire aux rayons lumineux (propriété de « congruence normale »). Les rayons provenant d’un point source sont perpendiculaires à la sphère centrée sur la source. A distance de la source, une portion de front d’onde peut être considérée comme « plane ».

Le front d’onde est l’enveloppe qui relie ces points « en phase ». plane quand les rayons se propagent de manière parallèle, elle est sphérique et en expansion dans le cadre d’un front d’onde divergent. Elle est également sphérique mais tend à se collapser vers un point central en cas de front d’onde convergent.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *