+ +

Myopia: simulations of surgical correction

Nearsightedness surgery should transform a myopic eye in an Emmetropic eye. Myopia is related to excessive with respect to the optical power (vergence) axial length of the couple horny + crystalline. Logically, the most common techniques are to reduce the vergence of the cornea by reshaping laser)LASIK(, PKR) or replace the lens implant which the vergence is less than that of the lens native (the ocular biometry calculation before surgery, allows to establish the power of the implant "emmétropisant").

The indications and clinical aspects of myopia surgery are detailed on other pages of the site. This page is in some aspects more fundamental, the illustrious 'virtual' way on a model eye thanks to the ray tracing.

 

The myopia corneal surgery

It aims to reduce the power or anterior corneal vergence; even if the myopia is axile (it's the case for most of the myopia greater than-4 D), surgical correction of myopia is surgery of the cornea with the laser.

The earlier corneal vergence is equal to the difference in index between air and cornea, divided by the apical curvature radius of the anterior corneal dome. In theory, this power reduction could be accomplished by a decrease in the index of refraction of the cornea, or a decrease in its central curvature. There are no methods can reduce the value of the refractive index of the cornea; corneal techniques have a single common goal; reduce the curvature of the central cornea. History of refractive surgery is full of techniques designed to reduce the curvature of the cornea: radial keratotomy, myopic keratomileusis, etc.

Currently, LASIK and PKR are the headlights of refractive surgery techniques: they are based on the incomparable precision of the excimer laser for precise contouring of the corneal curvature.

Here is an example, illlustre by a ray tracing technique, reduction of myopia on a 'virtual' eye

Reduction of the corneal vergence and correction of myopia (ray tracing)

This is an example for the correction of myopia of-4.25 D. The modeled eye has an 'average' corneal curvature (apical radius of the anterior face of the cornea: 7.8 mm)

Ray tracing of an eye with axile myopia of-4.25 D: from rays of point sources (on the centerline or (7) of it) are focused in front of the retina. It receives a beam of defocalises rays. The following figure shows the distribution of "impacts" of these rays.

 

representation of the single spot diagram of a myopic eye

The representation of the "spot diagram" (diagram of commercials) reveals the dispersion of the rays in the retinal plan: these rays come from a home located in front of the retinal plan. The stigma is very degraded: the distribution of the impacts of the rays is a surface whose RADIUS is 100 times greater than that of the Airy task (eye limited by diffraction)

2D myopei corrected myopic eye

After corneal surgery (LASIK or PKR) myopia, the vergence reduced corneal (of-4.25 diopters) allows from rays from a distant point source to be refracted more backward, in the plan of the retina. The eye now sees ' clear ' the distant sources.

single spot diagram of an initially nearsighted eye after correction of myopia

Reduction scheduled the vergence of the cornea (of 4.25 D, from 43 to 38.75 D D) allows you to move the home originally located in front of the retina to the retina: there is, however, a certain residual dispersion associated with persistent high degree aberrations (ex: positive spherical aberration). The rays are focused on a surface whose RADIUS is double that of the focal spot of an eye without optical aberrations of high and low degree (Airy task). Aspherical and personalized treatments have for main goal to reduce the rate of optical aberrations of high degree myopia corneal surgery-induced.

 

Surgery of the lens for reduction of high myopia

Axile originated from high myopia: it is related to an excessive elongation of the eyeball. Here is an example of affected eye of strong placentation myopia: the distance between the top of the cornea is equal to 30.6 mm.

Eye 2D myopia strong simulation by ray tracing

Modeling of an eye reached axile high myopia. The effective focal length (plan main image to the image focus) East of 22.01 mm, then the axial length of the eye (of the top of the cornea to the retina) is 30.6 mm. After refraction by the cornea and the lens, the rays emitted by a distant source focus well in front of the plan of the retina.

The axial length that should have the eye to be Emmetropic is estimated at 23.8 mm. There is a difference estimated at 6.8 mm. Using a formula linking axial length and myopic We can estimate that the refractive error (myopia) of this eye is 6.8 x 2.70 = 18 D about. Myopia-18(d) cannot be corrected by LASIK.

If the patient concerned is of more than 50 years old, or if the lens is partially clouded (cataract is earlier in patients with high myopia, especially in its nuclear form), then the technique of choice consists of the extraction of the crystalline by phaco emulsification and its replacement with an implant whose power is calculated to correct the myopia of the eye. This pusisance is logically less than a no or low myopic eye.

In our virtual example, power calculated for the implant able to correct myopia after removal of the lens is... zero. Thus, the removal of the lens enough to correct nearsightedness, by sufficiently reducing the vergence of the eye; the vergence of the cornea is enough to focus the incident rays on the retina (a subject not myopic, the retina being closest to the cornea, the cornea would focus the rays backwards, causing a hypermetropisation of the eye - see page to the) aphakia).

However, it is recommended to place an implant in the capsular bag, to maintain a barrier 'physical' between the segments anterior and posterior of the eye. So we choose in this case a power implant 0 diopter which surfaces are parallel.

Model eye implanted with lens power zero

After removal of the lens and an implant of power (or vergence) zero, the eye initially strong myopic is Emmetropic: the total vergence of the operated eye is equal to that of the cornea only. The home to which converge the rays refracted by the cornea is located in the plan of the retina.

This theoretical simulation provides results comparable to situations encountered in clinical practice:

Axile high myopia corrected by cataract surgery; Clinical case

A 51 year old patient consulted for the correction of high myopia of the left eye: the refraction of the patient finds a myopia of-17.5 diotprie (in the plane of glasses). The lens has a beginning of cataracts. The cataract surgery is so programmed.

Biometrics (calculation of the power of the implant eye parameters: keratometry and axial length mainly) suggests that the power of the implant for the emmetropia is + 0.5 D.

biometrics for implant emmétropisant, high myopia

The axial length of the eye is close to 30 mm, for a normal value keratometry: this biometric characteristic explains the strong myopia.

It was decided to replace the lens by an implant of power zero:

blister of the implant placed power zero

Blister of the placed implant, of power anywhere (0D). The MN60MA wording refers to the type of implant, which consists of a lens diameter of 6 mm and haptic intended to stabilize the implant in the capsular bag.

 

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Myopie : simulations de correction chirurgicale

La chirurgie de la myopie doit aboutir à transformer un oeil myope en un oeil emmétrope. La myopie est liée à une longueur axiale excessive vis à vis de la puissance optique (vergence) du couple cornée + cristallin. Logiquement, les techniques les plus courantes consistent à réduire la vergence de la cornée par remodelage laser (LASIK, PKR) ou substituer au cristallin un implant dont la vergence est moindre que celle du cristallin natif (le calcul de la biométrie oculaire, effectué avant la chirurgie, permet d’établir la puissance de l’implant « emmétropisant »).

Les indications et aspects cliniques de la chirurgie de la myopie sont détaillés sur d’autres pages du site. Cette page concerne certains aspects plus fondamentaux, illustrés de manière « virtuelle » sur un oeil modèle grâce au ray tracing.

 

Chirurgie cornéenne de la myopie

Elle vise à réduire la puissance ou vergence cornéenne antérieure; même si la myopie est axile (c’est le cas pour la plupart des myopies supérieures à -4 D), la correction chirurgicale de la myopie consiste en une opération de la cornée au laser.

La vergence cornéenne antérieure est égale à la différence d’indice entre air et cornée, divisée par le rayon de courbure apical du dôme cornéen antérieur. En théorie, cette réduction de puissance pourrait donc être accomplie par une diminution de l’indice de réfraction de la cornée, et/ou une diminution de sa courbure centrale. Il n’existe pas de méthodes à même de réduire la valeur de l’indice de réfraction de la cornée; les techniques cornéennes ont donc un seul et même but commun; réduire la courbure de la cornée centrale. L’histoire de la chirurgie réfractive est riche de techniques destinées à diminuer la courbure de la cornée: kératotomie radiaire, kératomileusis myopique, etc.

Actuellement, LASIK et PKR sont les techniques phares de la chirurgie réfractive: elles reposent sur la précision incomparable du laser excimer pour le remodelage précis de la courbure cornéenne.

Voici un exemple, illlustré par une technique de ray tracing, de réduction de la myopie sur un oeil « virtuel ».

Réduction de la vergence cornéenne et correction de la myopie (ray tracing)

Il s’agit d’un exemple concernant la correction d’une myopie de -4.25 D. L’oeil modélisé possède une courbure cornéenne « moyenne » (rayon apical de la face antérieure de la cornée : 7.8 mm)

Ray tracing d’un oeil présentant une myopie axile de -4.25 D: les rayons issus de sources ponctuelles (sur l’axe médian ou à 7° de celui-ci) sont focalisés en avant de la rétine. Celle-ci reçoit un faisceau de rayons défocalisés. La figure suivante révèle la répartition des « impacts » de ces rayons.

 

représentation du single spot diagram d'un oeil myope

La représentation du « spot diagram » (diagramme des spots) révèle la dispersion des rayons dans le plan rétinien: ces rayons proviennent d’un foyer situé en avant du plan rétinien. Le stigmatisme est très dégradé: la répartition des impacts des rayons occupe une surface dont le rayon est 100 fois plus grand que celui de la tache d’Airy (oeil limité par la diffraction)

Oeil myope 2D myopei  corrigée

Après chirurgie cornéenne de la myopie (LASIK ou PKR), la vergence réduite de la cornée (de -4.25 dioptries) permet aux rayons issus d’une source ponctuelle éloignée d’être réfractés plus en arrière,  dans le plan de la rétine. L’oeil voit dorénavant de manière « nette » le sources éloignées.

single spot diagram d'un oeil initialement myope après correction de la myopie

La réduction programmée de la vergence de la cornée (de 4.25 D, passant de 43 D à 38.75 D) permet de déplacer le foyer initialement situé en avant de la rétine sur la rétine: il existe toutefois une certaine dispersion résiduelle liée aux aberrations de haut degré persistantes (ex: aberration sphérique positive). Les rayons sont focalisés sur une surface dont le rayon est le double de celui de la tache focale d’un oeil dépourvu d’aberrations optiques de bas et haut degré (tache d’Airy). Les traitements asphériques et personnalisés ont pour principal objectif de réduire le taux d’aberrations optiques de haut degré induits par la chirurgie cornéenne de la myopie.

 

Chirurgie du cristallin pour réduction de la myopie forte

La myopie forte a une origine axile: elle est liée à une élongation excessive du globe oculaire. Voici un exemple d’oeil atteint de forte myopie axile: la distance séparant le sommet de la cornée est égale à 30.6 mm.

Oeil 2D myopie forte simulation par ray tracing

Modélisation d’un oeil atteint de myopie forte axile. La longueur focale effective (du plan principal image vers le foyer image) est de 22.01 mm, alors que la longueur axiale de l’oeil (du sommet de la cornée à la rétine) est de 30.6 mm. Après réfraction par la cornée et le cristallin, les rayons émis par une source lointaine focalisent bien en avant du plan de la rétine.

La longueur axiale que devrait avoir l’oeil pour être emmétrope est estimée à 23.8 mm environ. Il existe une différence estimée à 6.8 mm. En utilisant une formule reliant longueur axiale et myopie , on peut estimer que l’erreur réfractive (myopie) de cet oeil est de 6.8 x 2.70 = 18 D environ. Une myopie de -18D ne peut être corrigée en LASIK.

Si le patient concerné est d’âgé de plus de 50 ans, et/ou si le cristallin est partiellement opacifié (la cataracte est plus précoce chez les patients atteints de myopie forte, en particulier dans sa forme nucléaire), alors la technique de choix consiste en l’extraction du cristallin par phaco émulsification et son remplacement par un implant dont la puissance est calculée pour corriger la myopie de l’oeil. Cette pusisance est logiquement moindre que celle d’un oeil non ou faiblement myope.

Dans notre exemple virtuel, la puissance calculée pour l’implant à même de corriger la myopie après ablation du cristallin est….nulle. Ainsi, le retrait du cristallin suffit à corriger la myopie, en réduisant suffisamment la vergence de l’oeil; la vergence de la cornée suffit à focaliser les rayons incidents sur la rétine (chez un sujet non myope, la rétine étant plus proche de la cornée, la cornée focaliserait les rayons en arrière, provoquant une hypermétropisation de l’oeil – voir la page consacrée à l’ aphakie).

Il est toutefois recommandé de placer un implant dans le sac capsulaire, pour maintenir une barrière « physique » entre les segments antérieurs et postérieurs de l’oeil. On choisit donc dans ce cas un implant de puissance nulle (0 Dioptrie) dont les surfaces sont parallèles.

Oeil modèle implanté avec lentille de puissance nulle

Après ablation du cristallin et pose d’un implant de puissance (ou vergence) nulle, l’oeil initialement fort myope est emmétrope: la vergence totale de l’oeil opéré est égale à celle de la cornée seule. Le foyer vers lequel convergent les rayons réfractés par la cornée est situé dans le plan de la rétine.

Cette simulation théorique fournit des résultats comparables à des situations rencontrées en pratique clinique:

Myopie forte axile corrigée par chirurgie de la cataracte; cas clinique

Une patiente de 51 ans consulte pour la correction d’une forte myopie de l’oeil gauche: la réfraction de la patiente retrouve une myopie de -17.5 diotprie (dans le plan lunettes). Le cristallin présente un début de cataracte. La chirurgie de la cataracte est donc programmée.

La biométrie (calcul de la puissance de l’implant en fonction des paramètres oculaires: kératométrie et longueur axiale principalement) suggère que la puissance de l’implant pour l’emmétropie est de +0.5 D.

biométrie pour implant emmétropisant, forte myopie

La longueur axiale de cet oeil est proche de 30 mm, pour une kératométrie de valeur normale: cette caractéristique biométrique explique la forte myopie.

On décide de remplacer le cristallin par un implant de puissance nulle:

blister de l'implant posé de puissance nulle

Blister de l’implant posé, de puissance nulle (0D). Le libellé MN60MA se réfère au type d’implant, qui est constitué d’une optique de diamètre 6 mm et d’haptiques destinées à stabiliser l’implant dans le sac capsulaire.

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *