+ +

Power the lens paraxial optics

Calculation of the power optical paraxial (vergence) of the lens

 

Optical power paraxial or vergence of the lens depends on the curvature of its front and rear faces of its index, as well as its thickness.  The lens is an elastic and flexible structure (this allows the)accommodation(, until the installation of presbyopia). It has an index that varies between the Center (core) and the periphery (cortex). At the front, its anterior surface is in contact with the aqueous, aft, in contact with the glass.

The following calculations will be made on numerical values used by the simplified model of theoretical eye of the great. The anterior side of the lens is the 3e interface light meet during his trip intraocular; the back 4.

In this model:

-the radius of curvature of the anterior surface is R3 East of 10.2 mm

-the radius of curvature of the face after R4 East of-6 mm

-l' thickness of the lens is eCR= 4mm

-l' refractive index of the lens is nCR=1.42

-l' refractive index of the lens is nHaq=1.3374

-l' refractive index of the glass is nlives=1.3360

lens optical power

Representation of the anatomical and physical constants to calculate the paraxial of crystalline power

 

Determination of the power of the side front of the lens

The power of the side front of the crystalline D3 is given by

D3 (n =CR -nHaq) / R3   = (1.42 - 1.337)/0.0102 = 8.14 D)

We can now calculate the focal object and image because we know the indices of refraction of environments that separates the dioptre represented by the face front of the lens of the eye (aqueous and cortex of the lens).

The focal length f is3= - 1,337 / 8.14 =-0.16425 m

The focal image is f'3= - 1.42 / 8.14 = - 0.17445 m

 

Determination of the power of the back side of the lens

The dioptre formed by the rear of the lens separates the posterior cortex of the vitreous.

D4 (n =lives -nCR) / R4   = (1.36 - 1.42)/-0.006 = 14 D

The focal length f is4= - 1.42 / 14 =-0.10143 m

The focal image is f'4= - 1336 / 14 =-0.09543 m

 

Determination of the power of a centered system equivalent to the lens

Using the formula of Gullstrand, which takes into account the distance between the vertices of the refractive surfaces (i.e. the thickness of the lens). It allows to calculate the power of the overall system (DCR), consisting of the front and rear of the lens

DCR = D3 + D4 -eCR (D x3x D4) / nCR = 8.14 + 14 - 0.004 x 8.14×14/1.42 = 21.82 D

The focus distance object is given by:

fCR= - 1,337 / DCR=-1.337/21.82 = - 0.06127 m

The focal image is given by:

f'CR= 1.42 / DCR=1.42/21.82 = - 0.06123 m

 

It remains now to determine the position of the principal planes of the lens, all elements required for this calculation are available.

 

Determination of the principal planes of the lens

(see for more background explanations the pages dedicated to the)paraxial optics and main plans, and the page dedicated to the plans and main points of a system paraxial optics)

Plan main purpose:

The distance from the top of the front of the lens is given by:

S3HCRe =CR x fCR / f4 = 4 x - 61.27 /-101.43 = 2.42 mm

Plan main image:

The distance from the top of the posterior side of the lens is given by:

S4H'CR=  -eCR x fCR / f3 = 4 x - 61.23 /-174.45 = - 1.4 mm

Representation of the position of the principal planes of the lens

Representation of the position of the principal planes of the lens

Conclusion

The optical power of the lens (vergence) not accommodating is close to 22D (in the eye). The biometric calculationwhich aims to calculate the power of an implant to replace the lens, provides generally an average close to 22D in population of the candidates eyes cataract surgery.

It is likely that the power of the natural lens not accommodated varies less from one eye to the other than the power of the cornea. This is related to the fact that unlike index between the lens and the circles in which he bathes is eniton 4 times less pronounced than for the cornea, which is the contact air (air/cornea = 0.376, unlike crystalline index index difference aqueous = 0.09). However, the deformation of the lens during accommodation (the previous RADIUS reduction), is able to provide a significant increase in its power. For example, using the same model of the lens including the anterior curvature would be now to 7 mm (thickness, increased due to the more spherical shape of the lens, 5 mm, it does not change the geometry of the rear face) and obtain a greater power of about 5 diopters.

The purpose of the biometric calculation is not to calculate the power of the lens 'in situ' to replace it with an implant of the same power, but predict what value should have the replacement implant for an eye to get the desired vision (refraction). With strong myopic, the replacement of the natural lens by an artificial lens less powerful (ex: 10 d) allows to correct partially or totally myopia. In hypermetropia, the artificial lens has a power greater than 22 D (between 23D and 34 D depending on the emmetropia).

The biometric calculation is based on specific measures that take into account the optical power of the cornea, axial length, and other anatomical parameters, depending on the chosen formula. The position of the implant in the eye after the surgery can however only be predicted, and this introduced a certain "margin of error" in the biometric calculation. Depending on the geometry of the implant, the capsular bag, etc., uncertainty about 1 mm are.

The actual position of the implant is the distance between the main image of the cornea (see power and plan of the cornea), and the plan main purpose of the artificial lens.

The knowledge of these elements is essential for the calculation of the Optical power of an entire eye model.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Pouvoir optique paraxial du cristallin

Calcul de la puissance optique paraxiale (vergence) du cristallin

 

Le pouvoir optique paraxial ou vergence du cristallin  dépend de la courbure de ses faces avant et arrière, de son indice,  ainsi que de son épaisseur.  Le cristallin est une structure élastique et souple (ceci permet l’accommodation, jusqu’à l’installation de la presbytie). Il possède un indice qui varie entre le centre (noyau) et la périphérie (cortex). A l’avant, sa face antérieure est au contact de l’humeur aqueuse, à l’arrière, au contact du vitré.

Les calculs suivants seront effectués sur des valeurs numériques utilisées par le modèle simplifié d’œil théorique de Le Grand. La face antérieure du cristallin est la 3e interface que la lumière rencontre au cours de son trajet intra-oculaire; la face postérieure la 4e.

Dans ce modèle :

-le rayon de courbure de la face antérieure est R3 est de 10.2 mm

– le rayon de courbure de la face postérieure R4 est de -6 mm

-l’épaisseur du cristallin est de ecr=4mm

-l’indice de réfraction du cristallin est ncr=1.42

-l’indice de réfraction du cristallin est nhaq=1.3374

-l’indice de réfraction du vitré est nvit=1.3360

cristallin pouvoir optique

Représentation des constantes anatomiques et physiques permettant de calculer la puissance paraxiale du cristallin

 

Détermination de la puissance de la face avant du cristallin

La puissance de la face avant du cristallin D3 est donnée par

D3 = (ncr – nhaq)/ R3   =  (1.42 – 1.337)/0.0102 = 8.14 D

On peut dorénavant calculer la distance focale objet et image car on connait les indices de réfraction des milieux que sépare le dioptre représenté par la face avant du cristallin (humeur aqueuse et cortex du cristallin).

La distance focale objet est f3= -1.337 / 8.14 =-0.16425 m

La distance focale image est f’3= -1.42 / 8.14 =- 0.17445 m

 

Détermination de la puissance de la face arrière du cristallin

Le dioptre constitué par la face arrière du cristallin sépare le cortex postérieur du vitré.

D4 = (nvit – ncr)/ R4   =  (1.36 – 1.42)/-0.006 = 14 D

La distance focale objet est f4= -1.42/14 =-0.10143 m

La distance focale image est f’4= -1.336 / 14 =-0.09543 m

 

Détermination de la puissance d’un système centré équivalent au cristallin

On utilise la formule de Gullstrand, qui prend en compte la distance entre les vertex des surfaces réfractives (soit l’épaisseur du cristallin). Elle permet de calculer la puissance du système global (Dcr), constitué de la face avant et arrière du cristallin

Dcr = D3 + D4 – ecr x (D3x D4)/ ncr = 8.14 + 14 – 0.004 x 8.14×14/1.42 = 21.82 D

La distance focale objet est donnée par :

fcr= -1.337/ Dcr=-1.337/21.82 = – 0.06127 m

La distance focale image est donnée par :

f’cr= 1.42/ Dcr=1.42/21.82 = – 0.06123 m

 

Il reste maintenant à déterminer la position des plans principaux du cristallin, tous les éléments nécessaires à ce calcul sont disponibles.

 

Détermination des plans principaux du cristallin

(voir au besoin pour plus d’explications de fond les pages consacrées à l’optique paraxiale et les plans principaux, et la  page consacrée aux plans et points principaux d’un système optique paraxial)

Plan principal objet :

La distance avec le sommet de la face antérieure du cristallin est donnée par :

S3Hcr=  ecr x fcr / f4 = 4 x -61.27 / -101.43 = 2.42 mm

Plan principal image:

La distance avec le sommet de la face postérieure du cristallin est donnée par :

S4H’cr=  -ecr x fcr / f3 = 4 x -61.23 / -174.45 = – 1.4 mm

Représentation de la position des plans principaux du cristallin

Représentation de la position des plans principaux du cristallin

Conclusion

La puissance optique du cristallin (vergence) non accommodant est proche de 22D (dans l’oeil). Le calcul biométrique, qui vise à calculer la puissance d’un implant destiné à remplacer le cristallin, fournit généralement une valeur moyenne proche de 22D dans la population des yeux candidats à une opération de la cataracte.

Il est probable que la puissance du cristallin naturel non accommodé varie moins d’un oeil à l’autre que la puissance de la cornée. Ceci est lié au fait que la différence d’indice entre le cristallin et les milieux dans lesquels il baigne est eniton 4 fois moins prononcée que pour la cornée, qui est au contact de l’air (différence d’indice air/cornée = 0.376, différence d’indice cristallin humeur aqueuse =0.09). La déformation du cristallin lors de l’accommodation (réduction du rayon de courbure antérieure), est toutefois à même de fournir une augmentation notable de sa puissance. Par exemple, en utilisant le même modèle de cristallin dont la courbure antérieure serait dorénavant de 7 mm (et l’épaisseur, accrue en raison de la forme plus sphérique du cristallin, de 5 mm, on ne modifie pas la géométrie de la face postérieure), on obtient une puissance accrue d’environ 5 dioptries.

Le but du calcul biométrique n’est pas de calculer la puissance du cristallin « in situ » pour le remplacer par un implant de même puissance, mais prédire quelle valeur devra avoir l’implant de remplacement pour permettre à l’oeil d’obtenir la vision (réfraction) souhaitée. Chez les myopes forts, le remplacement du cristallin naturel par un cristallin artificiel moins puissant (ex: 10D) permet de corriger partiellement ou totalement la myopie. Chez les hypermétropes, le cristallin artificiel possède une puissance supérieure à 22 D (entre 23D et 34 D selon l’importance de l’emmétropie).

Le calcul biométrique repose sur des mesures précises qui prennent en compte la puissance optique de la cornée, la longueur axiale, et d’autres paramètres anatomiques, selon la formule de calcul choisie. La position de l’implant dans l’oeil après l’opération ne peut toutefois qu’être prédite, et ceci introduit une certaine « marge d’erreur » dans le calcul biométrique. En fonction de la géométrie de l’implant, du sac capsulaire, etc., une incertitude d’environ 1 mm existe.

La position effective de l’implant correspond à la distance entre le plan principal image de la cornée (voir puissance et plan principaux de la cornée), et le plan principal objet du cristallin artificiel.

La connaissance de ces éléments est indispensable pour le calcul de la puissance optique d’un modèle d’oeil entier.

 

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *