+ +

Corneal topography: principles and applications

The topography is a geography term which comes from the Greek "topos" (the place) and "graphein" (describe). Corneal topography is the graphical representation of some geometric properties of the corneal surface. The measure of relief, the curvature, and the thickness of the cornea are crucial steps in the diagnosis and screening of corneal diseases, as well as the development of methods of vision correction.

The corneal topographer is a measuring instrument that performs a mapping specialist of the cornea, the anterior transparent window of the eye.

The modeling of the cornea appealed to special geometric considerations. It is necessary denconnaitre frustrates these properties to better interpret the maps of corneal topography and design sensitive and specific screening tests for the screening of Keratoconus.

 

The geometry of the cornea can be studied according to various technologies, which generally provide complementary data. Instruments that measure and describe more accurately the topographic corneal surface properties can be classified into two main types:

-the Placido disk (which uses concentric reflective test patterns)

-the elevation/depression recorders (using a device to scan a line of light either, a rotating Scheimpflug camera, or of a Stereography by frame - "raster-topography").

Topographic curvature systems based on Placido disk are valuable tools in assessing the curvature and the corneal refraction, but they do not directly describe the actual spatial form of the cornea. The elevation topographers provide a direct estimate of the elevation of the cornea, thus establishing a 'real' map three-dimensional shape of the anterior and posterior corneal surface. The topography of curvature and combined elevation has a great potential in the corneal anomaly detection, adaptation of contact lenses and refractive surgery planning.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Topographie cornéenne : principes et applications

La topographie est un terme de géographie qui vient du grec « topos » (le lieu) et « graphein » (décrire). La topographie cornéenne correspond à la représentation graphique de certaines  propriétés géométriques de la surface cornéenne. La mesure du relief, de la courbure, et de l’épaisseur de la cornée sont des étapes cruciales dans le diagnostic et le dépistage des maladies cornéennes, ainsi que la mise au point de méthodes de correction de la vision.

Le topographe cornéen est un instrument de mesure qui réalise une cartographie spécialisée de la cornée, le hublot transparent antérieur de l’œil.

La modélisation de la cornée fait appel à des considérations géométriques particulières. Il est nécessaire denconnaître ces propriétés pour mieux interpréter les cartes de topographie cornéenne, et concevoir des tests de dépistage sensibles et spécifiques pour le dépistage du kératocône frustre.

 

La géométrie de la cornée peut être étudiée selon diverses technologies, qui fournissent généralement des données complémentaires. Les instruments qui mesurent et décrivent avec le plus de précision  les propriétés topographiques de la surface cornéenne peuvent être classés en deux grands types :

– le disque de Placido (qui utilise des mires réflectives concentriques)

– les enregistreurs de l’élévation/dépression (à l’aide soit d’un appareil à balayage d’une fente lumineuse, soit d’une caméra rotative Scheimpflug, soit d’une stéréographie par trame- « raster-topography »).

Les systèmes topographiques de courbure basés sur le disque de Placido sont des outils précieux dans l’évaluation de la courbure et de la réfraction cornéenne, mais ils ne décrivent pas directement la forme spatiale réelle de la cornée. Les topographes d’élévation fournissent une estimation directe de l’élévation de la cornée, établissant ainsi une « vraie » carte en trois dimensions de la forme de la surface cornéenne antérieure et postérieure. La topographie de courbure et d’élévation combinée a un grand potentiel dans la détection des anomalies cornéennes, l’adaptation des lentilles de contact et la planification de la chirurgie réfractive.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *