Custom corrections

Custom corrections are adapted to some characteristics of the operated eye surgery refractive laser. They are not confined to consideration of the optical formula to correct (example: myopia of-3 D) but are intended to establish a 'correction boss' custom. Taking into account the asphericity of the cornea, and aberrations of high degree of wave front, etc, is made for this purpose. The excimer laser then establishes a profile of ablation says "custom".

Customized ablation profiles

The basic ablation of myopia or hyperopia profile is based on a spherical model simplified the cornea and non-custom profiles are simply "sphero-cylindrical": he correct the spherical ametropia (myopia, hypermetropia) and cylindrical)astigmatism). They are based on the conditions optics paraxiales, and even if they are established on a large diameter optical area, they do not consider changes in corneal curvature of the centre to its edges)Asphericity), but only the curvature para - Central of the cornea (the k measure curvature).

Thus, for myopia given (ex:-2.50 D), a keratometry (Central corneal curvature, example: 43 D) and a planned optical area (example: 6.5 mm), corrective treatment established by the laser is identical regardless of the eye surgery on the same short-sightedness and having the same keratometry. Unlike these sphero-cylindrical conventional ablation profiles, so-called "personalized" ablation profiles are derived from more specific data of the operated eye. Custom treatments are particularly indicated in case of pronounced astigmatism, or when other optical anomalies are present)irregular astigmatismIE high rateaberrations of high degree).

Names of customized ablations

Several denominations exist to designate these treatments: personalized, customized, aberrometriques, etc.

Commercial names vary depending on the laser companies:

"Zyoptix" (Technolas PV, initially Bausch & Lomb), "iLASIK" (AMO), "Wavefront-guided" (Alcon, Nidek), "Wavefront optimized" (Alcon), CATz (Nidek), etc...  The competition between the different laser companies (and sometimes between some surgery centers) explains the craze for this type of correction, which is used as a kind of technological standard. In some surgical centers, these strategies are presented as desirable options, but occaseionnant a surcharge paid by the patient, which increases the rate of surgery compared to the often attractive initial price.

The "custom" term is in fact relatively overused, if we realize that many aspects of 'classic' treatment are actually intrinsically custom, by the laser software and/or the surgeon. Indeed, for one optical defect (ex: 3 diopters of myopia), the programming of the excimer laser correction by the surgeon may differ, depending on the diameter of the pupil of the patient, the curvature of the cornea, but also his age, motivation, etc... It is also possible, with the platerformes laser of the latest generation, to achieve an optimal integration of the excimer laser profile thanks to the realization of a flap of elliptical outline.

Moreover, despite their support by the personalized treatment guided by the collection of ocular wave-front (OPD), the reduction in the rate of aberration of high degree is not obtained in routine after refractive surgery. However, the elevation is sufficiently moderate so that there is no Visual complaints felt in most of the case.

Taking into account of the corneal Asphericity is a form of personalization that is intended to prevent the elevation of optical aberrations of high degree, as the positive spherical aberration: in this context, the optical aberrations of high degree measure does not affect issued treatment.

Anterior corneal topography measurement allows to design a custom processing to regularize the surface of the cornea; treatment is then said "guided topo" ("topography guided"). This approach is interesting in case of recovery for shift, because only custom treatment allows to correct certain aberrations of high degree such as a coma, and the trefoil.

The debate on the justification for the systematic realization of a personalized treatment actually moves the type of parameters to include in this customization.

Download the article 'current Place of the custom aberrometriques tratiements '.

Aspherical ablation profiles:

The geometry of the aspherical profiles aims to preserve a value of corneal Asphericity (Q) physiological in the optical area treated in the postoperative period. These profiles are based on models with corneal theoretical aspheric surfaces prolates, and are essentially designed to get a wide optical functional area to prevent the induction of a spherical aberration rate and the appearance of postoperative nightly halos. The Technolas Z100 laser to establish a treatment that takes into account the initial corneal Asphericity and post surgery you want. The value of the Asphericity (Q value) is also customizable with laser Wavelight EX 500.

Profiles of ablation guided by corneal topography.

These profiles (topo-guided) are intended to address the optical aberrations of high degree of original corneal In addition to the error refractive cylindrical sphero. They assume the use of data from the corneal topography. They are based on a calculation of the difference in elevation between the irregularities of the cornea of the patient, and an ideal surface whose curvature is calculated to be emmetropisante.

Photoablations guided by the Wavefront:

They are established from the collection and analysis of the total Wavefront Ideally performed in conditions mesopiques (twilight, for a body to wide pupillary diameter). They are intended in theory to correct optical aberrations of high and low degree, without distinguish the origin (horny or crystalline). The profile of ablation is deducted from the amount of corneal tissue to photoablater to correct the optical phase shifts present within the wave front. As pointed out, all the studies show a tendency to the reduction in the increase of the aberrations of high degree, but not their reduction, at least in routine.

Learn more on...  » The ideal excimer laser » NB: All of these technologies)femtosecond laser(, treatments customized, photoablation techniques) are available at the Rothschild Foundation.

2 responses to "custom fixes"

  1. Kevin says:

    Hello

    When a first LASIK operation did not take into account aberrations, is it possible to reduce (considerably) the latter during a new custom operation?

    In the case contrary, what is left of the solution? A rigid lens?

    Thank you.

  2. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    A custom reprocessing may be considered if there is a high degree of aberration, and these are accessible to a custom secondary correction. It is not so much the non-consideration of high-level preoperative aberrations that explains the Visual discomfort, that the induction of a high rate of these that interferes with the patient in postoperative (decentrement, insufficient diameter of optical area, etc. ).

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Corrections personnalisées

Les corrections personnalisées sont adaptées à certaines caractéristiques des yeux opérés de chirurgie réfractive laser. Elles ne se limitent pas à la prise en considération de la formule optique à corriger (exemple : myopie de -3 D) mais visent à établir un « patron de correction » sur mesure. La prise en compte de l’asphéricité de la cornée, et/ou des aberrations de haut degré du front d’onde, etc,  est effectuée dans ce but. Le laser excimer établit alors un profil d’ablation dit « personnalisé ».

Profils d’ablation personnalisés

Les profil d’ablation élémentaire de la myopie ou de l’hypermétropie repose sur un modèle sphérique simplifié de la cornée et les profils non personnalisés sont simplement « sphéro cylindriques »: il corrigent l’amétropie sphérique (myopie, hypermétropie) et cylindrique (astigmatisme). Ils reposent sur des conditions optiques paraxiales, et même s’ils sont établis sur une zone optique de diamètre large, ils ne considèrent pas les variations de la courbure cornéenne du centre vers ses bords (asphéricité), mais seulement la courbure para -centrale de la cornée (courbure  de la mesure kératométrique).

Ainsi, pour une myopie donnée (ex: -2.50 D), une kératométrie (courbure cornéenne centrale, exemple : 43 D) et une zone optique programmée (exemple : 6.5 mm), le traitement correcteur établi par le laser est identique quel que soit l’oeil opéré de la même myopie et ayant la même kératométrie. Contrairement à ces profils d’ablation conventionnels sphéro-cylindriques, les profils d’ablation dits « personnalisés » sont établis à partir de données plus spécifiques de l’œil opéré. Les traitements personnalisés sont particulièrement indiqués en cas d’astigmatisme prononcé, ou quand d’autres anomalies optiques sont présentes (astigmatisme irrégulier, c’est à dire taux élevé d’aberrations de haut degré).

Dénominations des ablations personnalisées

Plusieurs dénominations existent pour désigner ces traitements : personnalisés, customisés, aberrométriques, etc.

Les dénominations commerciales varient en fonction des compagnies de laser :

« Zyoptix » (Technolas PV, initialement Bausch & Lomb), « iLASIK » (AMO), « Wavefront guided » (Alcon, Nidek), « Wavefront optimized » (Alcon), CATz (Nidek), etc…  La compétition entre les différentes compagnies de laser (et parfois entre certains centres chirurgicaux) explique l’engouement pour ce type de correction, qui est utilisé comme une sorte d’étendard technologique. Dans certains centres chirurgicaux, ces stratégies sont présentées comme des options désirables, mais occasionnant un surcoût à la charge du patient, ce qui augmente le tarif de la chirurgie par rapport au tarif initial souvent attractif.

Le terme « personnalisé » est en fait relativement galvaudé, si l’on réalise que de nombreux aspects relatifs aux traitements « classiques » sont en fait intrinsèquement personnalisés, par le logiciel laser et/ou le chirurgien. En effet, pour un même défaut optique (ex : 3 dioptries de myopie), la programmation du laser excimer correcteur par le chirurgien pourra différer, selon le diamètre de la pupille du patient, la courbure de sa cornée, mais aussi son âge, sa motivation, etc… Il est également possible, avec les platerformes laser de dernière génération, de réaliser une intégration du profil laser excimer optimale grâce à la réalisation d’un capot de contour elliptique.

Par ailleurs, malgré leur prise en charge par les traitements personnalisés guidés par le recueil du front d’onde oculaire (aberrométrie), la réduction du taux d’aberration de haut degré n’est pas obtenue en routine après chirurgie réfractive. Cependant, l’élévation est suffisamment modérée pour qu’il n’y ait pas de plaintes visuelles ressenties dans la majorité des cas.

La prise en compte de l’asphéricité de la cornée est une forme de personnalisation qui a pour but de prévenir l’élévation d’aberrations optiques de haut degré, comme l’aberration sphérique positive: dans ce contexte, la mesure des aberrations optiques de haut degré n’influe pas sur le traitement délivré.

La mesure de la topographie cornéenne antérieure permet de concevoir un traitement personnalisé destiné à régulariser la surface de la cornée; le traitement est alors dit « topo guidé » (« topography guided »). Cette approche est intéressante en cas de reprise pour décentrement, car seul un traitement personnalisé permet de corriger certaines aberrations de haut degré comme le coma, et le trefoil.

Le débat sur la justification de la réalisation systématique d’un traitement personnalisé se déplace en fait vers le type de paramètres à inclure dans cette personnalisation.

Télécharger l’article « Place actuelle des tratiements aberrométriques personnalisés »

Profils d’ablation asphériques :

La géométrie des profils asphériques vise à préserver une valeur d’asphéricité cornéenne (Q) physiologique au sein de la zone optique traitée en postopératoire. Ces profils reposent sur des modèles comportant des surfaces cornéennes théoriques asphériques prolates, et visent essentiellement à obtenir une large zone optique fonctionnelle pour prévenir l’induction d’un taux élevé d’aberration sphériques et l’apparition de halos nocturnes postopératoires. Le laser Technolas Z100 permet d’établir un traitement qui prend en compte l’asphéricité cornéenne initiale, et post opératoire souhaitée. La valeur de l’asphéricité (Q value) est également paramétrable avec le laser Wavelight EX 500.

Profils d’ablation guidés par la topographie cornéenne.

Ces profils (topo- guidés) visent à corriger les aberrations optiques de haut degré d’origine cornéennes en plus de l’erreur réfractive sphéro cylindrique. Ils supposent l’utilisation de données issues de la topographie cornéenne. Ils sont établis à partir d’ un calcul de différence d’élévation entre les irrégularités de la cornée du patient, et une surface idéale dont la courbure est calculée pour être emmétropisante.

Photoablations guidées par le front d’onde :

Elles sont établies à partir du recueil et de l’analyse du front d’onde total effectué idéalement en conditions mésopiques (pénombre, pour obtenir une meusre à large diamètre pupillaire). Elles visent en théorie à corriger les aberrations optiques de bas et haut degré, sans en distinguer l’origine (cornée ou cristallin). Le profil d’ablation est déduit de la quantité de tissu cornéen à photoablater pour corriger les déphasages optiques présent au sein du front d’onde. Comme souligné, toutes les études montrent une tendance à la réduction de l’augmentation des aberrations de haut degré, mais pas leur réduction, du moins en routine.

En savoir plus sur…  » Le laser excimer ideal » NB : Toutes ces technologies (laser femtoseconde, traitements personnalisés, techniques de photoablation) sont disponibles à la Fondation Rothschild.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *