+ +

OPD

OPD: definition

The OPD is a technique that allows to study fine and precise optical properties of the human eye. The OPD is a science derived from optical Metrology (study of the quality of optical systems), and more directly from astronomy. In ophthalmology, the OPD gathers the techniques designed to study the optical quality of the eye and/or the quality of the retinal image.  These review techniques to access the detailed study of the optical properties of the eye, refractive surfaces are the cornea and the lens. They are based on the collection of the ocular Wavefront with an aberrometer, and / or the analysis of the optical quality of the cornea with a corneal topographer (see the) more general page dedicated to "eye and mind." If necessary).

OPD and ophthalmology

What is the OPD?

The OPD in ophthalmology applications are many, and in particular interest to all the modern techniques of study and correction of the optical defects of the human eye: refractive surgery appeals to the OPD for the design of personalized treatments, and the study of refractive (optical) consequences of certain complications.

Interest diagnosis of the OPD

Aberrometrique examination is indicated whenever it is suspected the existence of a reduction of the optical quality of the eye: this reduction affects the light path in the eye, and thus the retinal image. Symptoms of appeal are not confined to a reduction in Visual acuity, but most often associate a feeling of degradation of vision that is not correctable by glasses, and is characterized by more specific symptoms such as a duplication of the images, halos around bright light sources, a printing less contrasty image. These symptoms affect central vision a whole and not a particular point in the Visual field. They tend to appear or worsen when the IRIS pupil dilates, which occurs generally when the ambient brightness decreases.

Understanding the founding principles of this relatively new approach for the clinician is a call to some knowledge of the field of physical optics, and suppose the taking into account of the wave nature of light. The ophthalmologist usually receives limited in optics, especially physical training. Despite the versatility of the relevant visual symptoms of an aberrometrique cause, most ophthalmologists experience some difficulty to understand this area. However, especially medical, profession, must know evolve and increase its field knowledge, in the interests of patients first. The eye is the first and the only optical instrument that Nature invented; It would be regrettable that he is the last to benefit from the same power and precision of analysis, as the telescopes, microsopes or photographic objectives.

Learn more about the place of the OPD in ophthalmology

OPD and adaptive optics

The coupling of an aberrometer with a deformable mirror (Adaptive Optics) allows to directly study the retinal structures by overcoming optical aberrations of the eye. In this application, we're close to astronomy where the OPD was born to help reduce the influence of atmospheric turbulence on the quality of the images collected by earthly telescopes. The aberrometer measures the aberrations of the eye and is enslaved to a deformable mirror. Placed on the optical path between the examiner and the retina to observe, this mirror is deformed to compensate local optical path differences, which are related to imperfections in the eye. The image of the retina wins in definition, and it is possible to directly observe the layer of photoreceptors (cones, sticks) of the retina.

Using a deformable mirror can also be used to induce some aberrations and to study the subjective influence on the vision. Download the article «» Optics adataptive for the study and the correction of the optical defects of the human eye « .
The possibility of selectively correcting or inducing certain high-degree optical aberrations and studying the impact on visual function is interesting in the context of the correction of presbyopia by multifocal.

OPD: General principles

The collection and analysis of the wave (OPD) front represent a technological advancement for the study of refraction equivalent to what has been compared to the simple keratometry corneal topography. As the "ray of light", the ocular Wavefront is a ' ' abstraction ' (it's a theoretical surface, an envelope of circular perimeter as bounded by the edges of the pupil, and which is perpendicular to the direction of propagation of the light 'rays'). This abstraction provides a useful model to quantify and qualify the optical aberrations of the eye: the wave front is useful for predicting the retinal image quality. The aberrometer after collection and analysis of ocular wave-front, allows to draw a map of the optical aberrations of low and high level. Aberrations tell of low degree (degree 1: tilt, degree 2: defocus, astigmatism) correspond to aberrations that are correctable by glasses from glasses. Aberrations from top (grade 3: coma, trefoil, degree 4: tetrafoil, spherical aberration, etc.) are not correctable by glasses, and when their rate exceeds a certain value, occaseionnent of the Visual symptoms in type of halos, duplication of the image, loss of contrast printing. "" These aberrations of high degree are sometimes grouped in ophthalmology 'classic' under the term of "irregular astigmatism.

The collection of the wave on a certain pupil diameter front (ideally broad if one wants to study the retinal image quality in conditions mesopiques) allows mathematical decomposition in aberrations of low and high level. allows to predict the "point spread function" ("point spread function"), end to complicated semantics which means however a very simple concept: that of the preservation of the stigma, IE the fidelity of the image of a point light source formed on the retina. If the image of a point source is relatively spot on the retina, then the quality of the retinal image loss is low: the minimum size of the retinal image (about 2 microns in the best conditions) determines the resolving power of the eye, which corresponds to an angle of minimum of resolution (MAR for Minimum Angle of Resolution) of about 30 seconds (close to 20/10 Visual acuity).

OPD and custom laser treatments

"" The coupling of the aberrometric and excimer laser allows the development of 'personalized treatment"(customized), aimed not only to correct the optical defect" basic "(correction glasses) but also the aberrations of high degree, in order to optimize the quality of vision in post operative. Apart from marketing aspects related to the demand of "customization" (or customization), custom treatments are especially indicated in certain circumstances such as the correction of strong astigmatismes or repeatedly them to shift.

 

Examples of use of the OPD

To illustrate the interest of the OPD in ophthalmology, maps showing abnormalities typically encountered in certain pathologies of emblematic way gathered in the following pages.

Healthy eyeKeratoconusSplit visionDecentering after LASIKImplant CenterEarly cataractCorneal scarMultifocal implantPellucid marginal degenerationIndex myopiaCornea transplant

 

They were acquired by the topographer-aberrometer OPD SCAN 3 (Nidek).

The OPD SCAN 3 is a last generation topographer aberrometer, which some cards (Optical Quality) were established in collaboration with Dr. Damien Gatinel

This instrument allows the acquisition of topographic data (corneal topography Placido), and aberrometrique (ocular Wavefront). The calculation of the internal Wavefront (posterior side of the cornea, lens, or implant) is obtained by subtraction. Unlike certain aberrometres specifically designed as device acquisition for the realization of profiles of ablation guided by the OPD, this instrument is not confined to this application, and has been designed as a diagnostic tool.

The OPD SCAN III allows the collection of the following information:

-refraction (sphere cylinder axis)

-measurement of the corneal Asphericity

-analysis automated anterior corneal topography (corneal navigator, indices of Klyce and Maeda)

-measurement of the Wavefront eye total (entire eye): top of low degree aberrations (RMS - Zernike polynomials)

-calculation of the original corneal aberrations: aberrations from top of low degree (RMS - Zernike polynomials)

-calculation of internal origin aberrations: aberrations from top of low degree (RMS - Zernike polynomials)

-calculation of the optical quality of the retinal image: Strehl ratio, MTF, Visual acuity Snellen, Siemens Star, etc.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Aberrométrie

Aberrométrie : définition

L’aberrométrie est une technique qui permet d’étudier de manière fine et précise les propriétés optiques de l’oeil humain. L’aberrométrie est une science dérivée de la métrologie optique (étude de la qualité  des systèmes optiques), et plus directement de l’astronomie. En ophtalmologie, l’aberrométrie rassemble les techniques destinées à étudier la qualité optique de l’oeil, et/ou la qualité de l’image rétinienne.  Ces techniques d’examen permettent d’accéder à l’étude fine des propriétés optiques de l’oeil, dont les surfaces réfractives sont la cornée et le cristallin.Elles reposent sur le recueil du front d’onde oculaire avec un aberromètre, et/ ou l’analyse de la qualité optique de la cornée avec un topographe cornéen (consulter la page plus générale consacrée à « oeil et optique » au besoin).

Aberrométrie et ophtalmologie

A quoi sert l’aberrométrie?

Les applications de l’aberrométrie en ophtalmologie sont nombreuses, et intéressent en particulier l’ensemble des techniques modernes d’étude et de correction des défauts optiques de l’oeil humain: la chirurgie réfractive fait appel à l’aberrométrie pour la conception de traitements personnalisés, et l’étude des conséquences réfractives (optiques) de certaines complications.

Intérêt diagnostique de l’aberrométrie

L’examen aberrométrique est indiqué à chaque fois que l’on soupçonne l’existence d’une réduction de la qualité optique de l’oeil : cette réduction affecte le trajet de la lumière dans l’oeil, et donc l’image rétinienne. Les symptômes d’appel ne se limitent pas à une réduction de l’acuité visuelle, mais associent le plus souvent une impression de dégradation de la vision qui n’est pas corrigible en lunettes, et se caractérise par des symptômes plus particuliers comme un dédoublement des images, des halos autour des sources de lumière vive, une impression d’image moins contrastée. Ces symptômes concernent l’ensemble de la vision centrale, et non un point particulier dans le champ visuel. Ils tendent à apparaître ou à s’accentuer quand la pupille irienne se dilate, ce qui survient généralement quand la luminosité ambiante diminue.

La compréhension des principes fondateurs de cette approche relativement nouvelle pour le clinicien fait à appel à certaines connaissances du domaine de l’optique physique, et suppose la prise en compte de la nature ondulatoire de la lumière. L’ophtalmologiste reçoit habituellement une formation limitée en optique, en particulier physique. Malgré la versatilité des symptômes visuels relevants d’une cause aberrométrique, la plupart des ophtalmologistes éprouvent  certaines difficulté à appréhender ce domaine. Néanmoins, une profession, surtout médicale,  doit savoir évoluer et accroître son champ connaissance, dans l’intérêt premier des patients. L’oeil est le premier et le seul instrument d’optique que la Nature ait inventé; il serait regrettable qu’il soit le dernier à bénéficier de la même puissance et précision d’analyse que les téléscopes, microsopes ou objectifs photographiques.

En savoir plus sur la place de l’aberrométrie en ophtalmologie

Aberrométrie et optique adaptative

Le couplage d’un aberromètre avec un miroir déformable (optique adaptative) permet d’étudier directement les structures rétiniennes en s’affranchissant des aberrations optiques de l’oeil. Dans cette application, on est proche de l’astronomie où l’aberrométrie est née pour aider à réduire l’influence des turbulences atmosphériques sur la qualité des images recueillies par les télescopes terrestre. L’aberromètre mesure les aberrations de l’oeil et est asservi à un miroir déformable. Placé sur le trajet optique entre l’examinateur et la rétine à observer, ce miroir est déformé pour compenser les différences locales de chemin optique, qui sont liées aux imperfections de l’oeil. L’image de la rétine gagne en définition, et il est possible d’observer directement la couche des photorécepteurs (cônes, batonnets) de la rétine.

L’utilisation d’un miroir déformable peut également être mise à profit pour induire certaines aberrations et en étudier l’influence subjective sur la vision. Telecharger l’article « L’optique adataptive pour l’étude et la correction des défauts optiques de l’oeil humain « .
La possiblité de corriger ou d’induire sélectivement certaines aberrations optiques de haut degré et en étudier l’impact sur la fonction visuelle est intéressante dans le cadre de la correction de la presbytie par multifocalité.

Aberrométrie: principes généraux

Le recueil et l’analyse du front d’ondes (aberrométrie) représentent un progrès technologique pour l’étude de la réfraction équivalent à ce qu’a été la topographie cornéenne par rapport à la simple kératométrie. Comme le « rayon lumineux », le front d’onde oculaire est une « ‘abstraction » (c’est une surface théorique, une enveloppe de pourtour circulaire car délimitée par les bords de la pupille, et qui est perpendiculaire à la direction de propagation des « rayons » lumineux). Cette abstraction fournit un modèle utile pour quantifier et qualifier les aberrations optiques de l’oeil : le front d’onde est utile pour prédire la qualité de l’image rétinienne. L’aberromètre permet, après recueil et analyse du front d’onde oculaire, d’établir une carte des aberrations optiques de bas et de haut degré. Les aberrations dites de bas degré (degré 1 :tilt,  degré 2 :défocus, astigmatisme) correspondent aux aberrations qui sont corrigibles par des verres de lunettes. Les aberrations de haut (degré 3 :coma, trefoil,  degré 4 : tétrafoil, aberration sphérique, etc.) ne sont pas corrigibles en lunettes, et quand leur taux excède une certaine valeur, occasionnent des symptômes visuels à type de halos, dédoublement de l’image, impression de perte de contraste. Ces aberrations de haut degré sont parfois regroupées en ophtalmologie « classique » sous le terme d' »astigmatisme irrégulier ».

Le recueil du front d’onde sur un certain diamètre de pupille (idéalement large si l’on veut étudier la qualité de l’image rétinienne en conditions mésopiques) permet sa décomposition mathématique en aberrations de bas et de haut degré. permet de prédire la « fonction d’étalement du point » (« point spread function »), terme à la sémantique compliquée qui désigne cependant un concept très simple : celui de la préservation du stigmatisme, c’est à dire la fidélité de l’image d’un point lumineux source formée sur la rétine. Si l’image d’un point source est relativement ponctuelle sur la rétine, alors la déperdition qualitative de l’image rétinienne est faible: la taille minimale de l’image rétinienne (environ 2 microns dans les meilleures conditions) conditionne le pouvoir séparateur maximal de l’oeil, qui correspond à un angle miminum de résolution (MAR pour Minimum Angle of Resolution) de 30 secondes environ (soit une acuité visuelle proche de 20/10).

Aberrométrie et traitements lasers personnalisés

Le couplage de l’aberromètre et du laser excimer permet la mise au point de « traitements personnalisés » (customisés), qui visent non seulement à corriger le défaut optique  » de base  » (correction lunettes) mais aussi les aberrations de haut degré, dans le but d’optimiser la qualité de la vision en post opératoire. En dehors d’aspects marketing liés à la forte demande de « personalisation » (ou customisation), les traitements personnalisés sont surtout indiqués dans certaines circonstances comme la correction des forts astigmatismes, ou les reprises pour décentrement.

 

Exemples d’utilisation de l’aberrométrie

Afin d’illustrer l’intérêt de l’aberrométrie en ophtalmologie, des cartes montrant de manière emblématique les anomalies typiquement rencontrées dans certaines pathologies sont rassemblées dans les pages suivantes.

Oeil sainKératoconeVision dédoubléeDécentrement après LASIKImplant décentréCataracte débutanteCicatrice cornéenneImplant multifocalDégénérescence pellucide marginaleMyopie d’indiceGreffe de cornée

 

Elles ont été acquises au moyen du topographe- aberromètre OPD SCAN 3 (Nidek).

L’OPD SCAN 3 est un aberromètre topographe de dernière génération, dont certaines cartes (Optical Quality) ont été établies en collaboration avec le Dr Damien Gatinel

Cet instrument permet l’acquisition conjointe de données topographiques (topographie cornéenne Placido), et aberrométrique (front d’onde oculaire). Le calcul du front d’onde interne (face postérieure de la cornée, cristallin ou implant) est obtenu par soustraction. Contrairement à certains aberromètres spécifiquement conçus comme périphérique d’acquisition pour la réalisation de profils d’ablation guidés par l’aberrométrie, cet instrument ne se cantonne pas à cette application, et a été pensé comme un véritable outil diagnostic.

L’OPD SCAN III permet le recueil des informations suivantes :

– réfraction (sphère cylindre axe)

– mesure de l’asphéricité cornéenne

– analyse automatisée de la topographie cornéenne antérieure (corneal navigator, indices de Klyce et Maeda)

– mesure du front d’onde oculaire total (oeil entier) : aberrations de haut de bas degré (RMS – polynômes de Zernike)

– calcul des aberrations d’origine cornéenne : aberrations de haut de bas degré (RMS – polynômes de Zernike)

– calcul des aberrations d’origine interne : aberrations de haut de bas degré (RMS – polynômes de Zernike)

– calcul de la qualité optique de l’image rétinienne : Strehl ratio, MTF, acuité visuelle Snellen, Siemens Star, etc

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *