+ +

accommodation

Accommodation

Accommodation: natural mechanism to see accommodation helps the human eye to see net at different distances: its mechanism involves a contraction of the ciliary muscle, which induces a passive bulge of the lens due to its suspensory ligament (called zonule) is released. It is this bulge (increase in curvature) which allows [...]

Learn more

The lens

The lens of the eye: role and Anatomy the lens is a natural optical lens of the eye that is involved in focusing light on the retina and accommodation (focus in near vision). The young lens is flexible, transparent, and has a form of elliptical edge in Cup.  It is located [...]

Learn more

Hyperopia and presbyopia

Hyperopia and presbyopia are two common optical defects, which can be added and penalize the vision of far and near, making it necessary to port a lens correction (glasses, lenses) for all activities of daily living. This page is dedicated to the explanations to understand the commonalities and differences between hypermetropia and presbyopia, [...]

Learn more

Prevalence of presbyopia

Presbyopia: prevalence presbyopia is a condition caused by a change in the elasticity of the lens occurs with age. This reduction of the elasticity of the crystalline lens results in a gradual reduction of the power of accommodation: near vision becomes more and more blurred. The age of entry in presbyopia is relatively constant: between 43 and [...]

Learn more

Myopia and presbyopia

The presbyopia affects the vision of nearly 45-year-old nearsighted people: myopia and presbyopia may undergo a refractive surgery operation. Myopia and Presbyopia: links and differences contrary to a widespread belief, myopia does not protect presbyopia: Any myopic over 45 years of age is far-sighted. […]

Learn more

The multifocalite master

This page is dedicated to the design of a multifocal correction optimized for the presbyopia. It outlines a personalized multifocal correction method based on a non-empirical approach, which we conceived in the early 2000s and for which an international patent has been filed ocular wavefront-correction profiling United States Patent 20060023162 [...]

Learn more

Presbyopia

Presbyopia: Definition The presbyopia corresponds to a near-vision discomfort that appears shortly after the age of 40 years, and is caused by the gradual reduction of the eye's ability to perform the focus in close vision (the mechanisms of the human eye For close vision are explained on the [...]

Learn more

Hyperopia surgery

The operation to correct farsightedness hyperopia surgery is commonly done in refractive surgery to rid the farsighted patients of their glasses and lenses. Hyperopia is a frequent, sometimes unknown (up to 40) and mainly caused by a too "short" look, or a cornea whose power is insufficient for converging sufficiently light [...]

Learn more

+ +

accommodation

Accommodation

Accommodation : mécanisme naturel pour voir de près L’accommodation permet à l’œil humain de voir net à différentes distances : son mécanisme  met en jeu la contraction du muscle ciliaire, qui induit un bombement passif du cristallin grâce au relâchement de son ligament suspenseur  (appelé zonule). C’est ce bombement (augmentation de la courbure) qui permet à […]

En savoir plus

Le cristallin

Le cristallin de l’oeil: rôle et anatomie Le cristallin est une lentille optique naturelle de l’oeil qui participe à la focalisation des rayons lumineux sur la rétine et à l’accommodation (mise au point en vision de près). Le cristallin jeune est souple, transparent, et possède une forme de pourtour elliptique en coupe.  IL est situé […]

En savoir plus

Hypermétropie et presbytie

Hypermétropie et presbytie sont deux défauts optiques fréquents, qui peuvent s’ajouter et pénaliser la vision de loin et de près, rendant indispensable le port d’une correction optique (lunettes, lentilles) pour toutes les activités de la vie quotidienne. Cette page est consacrée aux explications permettant de comprendre les points communs et différences entre hypermétropie et presbytie, […]

En savoir plus

Prévalence de la presbytie

Presbytie : prévalence La presbytie est une affection causée par une modification de l’élasticité du cristallin survenant avec l’âge. Cette réduction de la l’élasticité du cristallin résulte en une réduction progressive du pouvoir d’accommodation: la vision de près devient de plus en plus floue. L’âge d’entrée dans la presbytie est relativement constant: entre 43 et […]

En savoir plus

Myopie et presbytie

La presbytie affecte la vision de près des myopes de plus de 45 ans: myopie et presbytie peuvent faire l’objet d’une opération de chirurgie réfractive. Myopie et presbytie : liens et différences Contrairement à une croyance répandue, la myopie ne protège pas de la presbytie: tout myope âgé de plus de 45 ans est presbyte. […]

En savoir plus

Maitriser la multifocalité

Cet page est consacrée au design d’une correction multifocale optimisée pour la presbytie. Elle expose les grandes lignes d’une méthode de correction multifocale personnalisée fondée sur une approche non empirique, que nous avons conçue au début des années 2000 et pour laquelle un brevet international a été déposé Ocular wavefront-correction profiling United States Patent 20060023162 […]

En savoir plus

Presbytie

Presbytie: définition, techniques de correction Presbytie : définition La presbytie correspond à une gêne en vision de près qui apparaît un peu après l’âge de 40 ans, et est provoquée par la réduction progressive de la capacité de l’œil à effectuer la mise au point en vision rapprochée (les mécanismes de l’œil humain pour la vision […]

En savoir plus

Chirurgie de l’hypermétropie

L’opération pour corriger l’hypermétropie La chirurgie de l’hypermétropie s’effectue couramment en chirurgie réfractive pour débarrasser les patients hypermétropes de leurs lunettes et lentilles. L’hypermétropie est un défaut fréquent, parfois méconnu (jusqu’à la quarantaine) et principalement provoqué par un œil trop « court », et/ou une cornée dont la puissance est insuffisante pour faire converger suffisamment la lumière […]

En savoir plus

Implant KAMRA™ (KAMRA inlay, Acufocus)

KAMRA inlay : définition Le KAMRA est un implant intra cornéen (corneal inlay) destiné à corriger la presbytie.  Il induit une augmentation de la profondeur de champ de l’œil grâce à la formation d’une néo pupille. La technique de correction de la presbytie par l’inlay KAMRA a initialement été effectuée en France en exclusivité à […]

En savoir plus