+ +

OQAS

Cabot F, Gatinel D. cataract or crystalline clear: objective evaluation methods and surgical indication, ophthalmological realities, December 2013

This article is about the problem related to the objective definition of cataract. The current diagnostic criteria are obsolete and/or subjective, and thresholds of Visual acuity unsuited to Visual annoyance felt by patients with cataract beginner, especially when there is a large light distribution by the opacities of the lens, but with [...]

Learn more

Cabot F, Saad A, McAlinden C, Haddad NM, gray A, Gatinel D. Objective Assessment of Crystalline Lens Opacity Level by Measuring Ocular Light Scattering With a Double-Pass System. Am J invest, in press

Download: Objective-Assessment-of-Crystalline-Lens-Opacity-Level-by-Measuring-Ocular-Light-Scattering-With-a-Double-Pass-System_2013_American-Journal-of-Ophthalmology summary and main conclusion of the study: the objective diagnosis of cataract is a major issue in public health. It is estimated that there are about 600,000 cataracts operated annually in France. Due to the securing of surgical techniques and the evolution of the mode of life of seniors, we [...]

Learn more

D Gatinel.Qu' is a clear lens? Ophthalmological realities, March 2012

Clear lens or cataract? Cataract diagnosis is based on the combination of Visual symptoms and signs of the biomicroscope (slit lamp) examinations. The variability of the Visual signs of cataracts (loss of Visual acuity, but also glare, difficulties against day), as well as the anatomical continuum that connects clear lens and advanced cataract are [...]

Learn more

What is the OQAS instrument?

OQAS (Optical Quality Analyzing System, designed by the Spanish company Visiometrics) is an instrument that provides the direct measure of the combined effect of optical aberrations of high degree and the loss of transparency of the eye circles on the optical quality of the eye. It is of major interest in cataract surgery, but [...]

Learn more

Saad A, Saab M, Gatinel D. Repeatibility of measurements with a double-pass system.

The purpose of this study was to establish the repeatability of the measurement of intraocular diffusion by double-pass aberrométrie. Intraocular luminous diffusion is caused by the reduction of the transparency of the ocular media. Cataract is a condition whose symptoms are partly caused by increased intraocular diffusion: veil, halos of [...]

Learn more

Ganeshan D. Imaging and quantification of intraocular light scattering in anterior segment pathology

The increase in intraocular luminous diffusion ("scattering") is a phenomenon observed in many ophthalmological pathologies, which have as a common point to induce a reduction of the transparency of one or more ocular environments. Cataracts, contact opacities, vitreous opacities, anomalies of the flap interface after LASIK, Microfolds of flap, are all clinical situations or [...]

Learn more

+ +

OQAS

Cabot F, Gatinel D. Cataracte ou cristallin clair : méthodes objectives d’évaluation et indication chirurgicale, Réalités Ophtalmologiques, Décembre 2013

Cet article concerne le problème lié à la définition objective de la cataracte. Les critères actuels de diagnostic sont obsolètes et/ou subjectifs, et les seuils d’acuité visuels inadaptés à la gêne visuelle ressentis par les patients atteints de cataracte débutante, surtout quand il existe une diffusion lumineuse importante par les opacités du cristallin, mais avec […]

En savoir plus

Cabot F, Saad A, McAlinden C, Haddad NM, Grise A, Gatinel D. Objective Assessment of Crystalline Lens Opacity Level by Measuring Ocular Light Scattering With a Double-Pass System. Am J Ophthalmol, in press

Télécharger : Objective-Assessment-of-Crystalline-Lens-Opacity-Level-by-Measuring-Ocular-Light-Scattering-With-a-Double-Pass-System_2013_American-Journal-of-Ophthalmology Résumé et principales conclusion de l’étude : Le diagnostic objectif de cataracte est un enjeu majeur en santé publique. On estime à environ 600 000 le nombre de cataractes opérées par an en France. En raison de la sécurisation des techniques chirurgicales et de l’évolution du mode de vie des seniors, on […]

En savoir plus

D Gatinel.Qu’est-ce qu’un cristallin clair? Réalités Ophtalmologiques, Mars 2012

Cristallin clair ou cataracte? Le diagnostic de la cataracte repose sur la conjonction de symptômes visuels et de signes d’examens au biomicroscope (lampe à fente). La variabilité des signes visuels de cataracte (baisse d’acuité visuelle, mais aussi éblouissements, difficultés en contre jour), ainsi que le continuum anatomique qui relie cristallin clair et cataracte avancée posent […]

En savoir plus

A quoi sert l’instrument OQAS ?

L’OQAS (Optical Quality Analyzing System, conçu par la société  espagnole Visiometrics) est un instrument qui fournit la mesure directe de l’effet conjugué des aberrations optiques de haut degré et de la perte de la transparence des milieux oculaires sur la qualité optique de l’oeil. Il est d’un intérêt majeur en chirurgie de la cataracte, mais […]

En savoir plus

Saad A, Saab M, Gatinel D. Repeatibility of measurements with a double-pass system.

Cet étude visait à établir la répétabilité de la mesure de la diffusion intraoculaire par aberrométrie en double passage. La diffusion lumineuse intraoculaire est causée par la réduction de la transparence des milieux oculaires. La cataracte est une affection dont les symptômes sont en partie provoqués par l’augmentation de la diffusion intraoculaire: voile, halos de […]

En savoir plus

Gatinel D. Imagerie et quantification de la diffusion lumineuse intraoculaire en pathologie du segment antérieur

L’augmentation de la diffusion lumineuse intraoculaire (« scattering ») est un phénomène observé dans de nombreuses pathologies ophtalmologiques, qui ont comme point commun d’induire une réduction de la transparence d’un ou plusieurs milieux oculaires. La cataracte, les opacités cornéennes, les opacités vitréennes, les anomalies de l’interface du capot après LASIK, les microplis de  capot, sont autant de situations cliniques ou la […]

En savoir plus