+ +

Visual axis

The Visual axis is a theoretical concept and in the case of the eye requires to consider some eye features as the absence of common axis linking the main refractive surfaces (horny and crystalline).

The Visual axis is intuitively the way that light rays coming from a point source observed s the most direct route to the fovea. The theoretical definition of the Visual axis is the axis that connects the point of fixation (F) to the first node, and the second nodal point to the fovea. It corresponds to a 'broken line '. Them nodal points optics are two points in the rated optical axis N No, combined to the other, i.e. image and one of the other, for which bank angles of rays from the centerline, passing n and out in are identical. Is called nodal point of emergence. The focal length of the eye is measured from is and is close to 17 mm for an Emmetropic eye.

Schematic representation of the Visual axis. The cornea, the pupil and the lens are not aligned on a common axis; It is possible to define a centerline, or "Best Fit Axis" (BFA), from the respective axes of symmetry of these surfaces. This axis is sometimes likened to the 'optical axis' of the eye and is represented in gray dots. F is the set target point (ex: the central point of the mires of Placido), which the image is formed on the fovea. The Visual axis (in blue) connects the point of fixation to the first node, and the second nodal point to the fovea. C is the center of curvature of the cornea.

The Visual axis is not defined with the pupil irisne, its theoretical location is therefore not altered by changes in pupillary diameter.

In practice, the Visual axis can also be defined as in the immediate vicinity of which the transverse chromatic aberration is minimal (this condition would be satisfied for all the rays of a polychromatic source if the Visual axis through the center of the pupils of entry and exit, which is usually not the case).

There are not simple technique to identify the point of emergence of the Visual axis on the cornea. Unlike a (wrong) idea, the Visual axis does not pass through the vertex (corneal reflection, or first image of Purkinje, which in topography Placido is equivalent to the reflection of the center of the observed disk, and helps to identify the)axis k).

This concept is related to the eye in Foveal fixation presents a slight external rotation (abduction) with respect to the centerline (best fit axis). The Visual axis 'breaks through' the cornea in a point in nasal of the geometric center of the cornea, and indeed, the corneal reflection of the point source of fixation is also nasal. However, this point (called vertices) has no fundamental reason to correspond to the emergence of the Visual axis (the corneal reflection is a virtual image located at the back of the dome of light reflection on the tear film, corneal). The notion of Visual axis is two-dimensional, because in the presence ofastigmatismthe lack of symmetry of revolution of the eye structures no longer allows to set this axis as a right.

In practice, the Visual axis can also be defined as one that transverse chromatic aberration is minimal (provided that it is not located too far away from the center of the pupil: axis achromatic foveal, defined by Thibos, is a different axis which corresponds to the line connecting the first nodal point in the center of the pupil - along this axis) (, the transverse chromatic aberration is exactly zero).

There is no simple technique to locate the point of emergence of the Visual axis on the cornea. The angle between the pupillary and Visual axes is called angle Kappa. Some authors define the same angle as the angle Lambda. Conversely, the topographer Orhscan provides the value and the spatial coordinates of the angle Kappa, but strictly speaking the measurement is Lambda angle (axis pupillary vs line of sight).

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Axe visuel

L’axe visuel  est une notion théorique et qui dans le cas de l’œil requiert de prendre en considération certaines caractéristiques oculaires comme l’absence d’axe commun reliant les principales surfaces réfractives (cornée et cristallin).

L’axe visuel correspond intuitivement au trajet selon lequel les rayons lumineux issus d’une source ponctuelle observée emprunteraient le chemin le plus direct vers la fovéa. La définition théorique de l’axe visuel est celle de l’axe qui relie le point de fixation (F) au premier point nodal, et le deuxième point nodal à la fovéa. Il correspond à une « ligne brisée ». Les points nodaux d’un système optique sont deux points de l’axe optique notés N et N’, conjugués l’un de l’autre, c’est-à-dire image l’une de l’autre, pour lesquels les angles d’inclinaison des rayons par rapport à l’axe médian, passant en N et sortant en N’ sont identiques. N’ est appelé point nodal d’émergence. La distance focale de l’œil se mesure à partir de N’ et est proche de 17 mm pour un œil emmétrope.

Représentation schématique de l’axe visuel. La cornée, la pupille et le cristallin ne sont pas alignés sur un axe commun; il est possible de définir un axe médian, ou « Best Fit Axis » (BFA), à partir des axes de symétrie respectifs de ces surfaces. Cet axe est parfois assimilé à l’« axe optique » de l’œil et est représenté en pointillés gris. F est le point cible fixé (ex : le point central des mires de Placido), dont l’image se forme sur la fovéa. L’axe visuel (en bleu) relie le point de fixation au premier point nodal, et le deuxième point nodal à la fovéa. C est le centre de courbure de la cornée.

L’axe visuel n’étant pas défini vis-à-vis de la pupille irienne, sa localisation théorique n’est donc pas modifiée par les variations du diamètre pupillaire.

En pratique, l’axe visuel peut également être défini comme celui au voisinage immédiat duquel l’aberration chromatique transversale est minimale (cette condition serait satisfaite pour tous les rayons d’une source polychromatique quelconque si l’axe visuel passait par le centre des pupilles d’entrée et de sortie, ce qui n’est généralement pas le cas).

Il n’existe pas de technique simple pour repérer le point d’émergence de l’axe visuel sur la cornée. Contrairement à une idée (fausse), l’axe visuel ne passe pas par le vertex (reflet cornéen, ou première image de Purkinje, qui en topographie Placido est équivalent au reflet du centre du disque observé, et permet de repérer l’axe kératométrique).

Cette notion est liée au fait que l’oeil en fixation fovéale présente une légère rotation externe (abduction) vis à vis de l’axe médian (best fit axis). L’axe visuel « perce » la cornée en un point situé en nasal du centre géométrique de la cornée, et de fait, le reflet cornéen de la source ponctuelle de fixation est également nasale. Pour autant, ce point (appelé vertex) n’a pas de raison fondamentale de correspondre à l’émergence de l’axe visuel (le reflet cornéen est une image virtuelle localisée en arrière du dôme cornéen, issue de la réflexion lumineuse sur le film lacrymal). La notion d’axe visuel est bidimensionnelle, car en présence d’astigmatisme, l’absence de symétrie de révolution des structures oculaires ne permet plus de définir cet axe comme une droite.

En pratique, l’axe visuel peut également être défini comme celui selon lequel l’aberration chromatique transversale est minimale (à condition qu’il ne soit pas situé trop loin du centre de la pupille: l’axe achromatique fovéal, définit par Thibos, est un axe différent qui correspond à la ligne reliant le premier point nodal au centre de la pupille – le long de cet axe, l’aberration chromatique transverse est rigoureusement nulle).

Il n’existe pas de technique simple pour repérer le point d’émergence de l’axe visuel sur la cornée. L’angle situé entre l’axe pupillaire et l’axe visuel est appelé angle Kappa. Certains auteurs définissent ce même angle comme l’angle Lambda. A l’inverse, le topographe Orhscan fournit la valeur et les coordonnées spatiales de l’angle Kappa, mais en toute rigueur la mesure effectuée est celle de l’angle Lambda (axe pupillaire vs ligne de visée).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *