+ +

LASEK

LASEK: definition

The LASEK is a technique derived from the PKR, which divides the main time; with the difference that the epithelium before pelé (after application of a diluted alcohol solution) is repositioned on the surface of the cornea after issuance of the laser beam. LASEK is a technique called surface (absence of stromal flap cutting)

LASEK: technique and principle

This variant of the PKR was proposed there are a dozen years to reduce pain and transient inflammation observed after contact as the PKR techniques. The main difference with the PKR is that unlike this one, off epithelium from the underlying corneal stroma is rested after issuance of the treatment by the excimer laser. The idea was to allow a faster healing, cell epithelial re applied immediately covering the area receiving the laser. It was also expected a reduction of the risk of "haze". The haze is a partial opacification of the fabric corneal stromal, related to the presence of inflammatory organelle in cells of the cornea (keratocytes), and the acquisition by these cells contractile properties, reducing the regularity of the extra-cellular matrix (and thus its transparency). The biological casecade at the origin of these cellular changes being initiated by the interactions between the epithelium in the division and the keratocytes, the rest of the epithelium was supposed cut the time of contact between dividing cells and corneal stroma. Well-conducted clinical studies have not confirmed this benefit.

This technique requires the surgeon to take off this corneal epithelium carefully, trying to form a continuous sheet. The application of alcohol diluted to 20 ° for 20 seconds easy detachment of the epithelium: ethanol dissolves the structures allowing the basal cells of the epithelial sheet to join the corneal stroma.

LASEK: results

The benefits induced by the repositioning of the epithelial sheet is not clearly demonstrated, both in terms of operating comfort, and prevention of complications as the haze.  This disappointment was made on account of the toxic effect of alcohol on epithelial cells. Today, LASEK is a technique abandoned in favor of the PKR (where the epithelium is not réapposé after photoablation). However, the technique of desepithelialisation to alcohol can be used to take off quickly and Atraumatic way corneal epithelial sheet.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

le LASEK

LASEK : définition

Le LASEK est une technique dérivée de la PKR dont il partage les temps principaux ; à la différence que l’épithélium préalablement pelé (après application d’une solution d’alcool dilué) est repositionné à la surface de la cornée après délivrance du faisceau laser. Le LASEK est une technique dite de surface (absence de découpe de capot stromal)

LASEK : technique et principe

Cette variante de la PKR  été proposée il y a une dizaine d’années pour réduire la douleur et l’inflammation transitoire observée après les techniques de contact comme la PKR. La principale différence avec la PKR est que contrairement à celle-ci, l’épithélium décollé du stroma cornéen sous-jacent est reposé après délivrance du traitement par le laser excimer. L’idée était de permettre une cicatrisation plus rapide, les cellules épithéliales ré appliquées recouvrant immédiatement la zone ayant reçu le laser. Il était également attendu une réduction du risque de « haze ». Le haze est une opacification partielle du tissu cornéen stromal, lié à la présence d’organite inflammatoires dans les cellules de la cornée (kératocytes), et l’acquisition par ces cellules de propriétés contractiles, réduisant la régularité de la matrice extra-cellulaire (et donc sa transparence). La cascade biologique à l’origine de ces transformations cellulaires étant initiée par les interactions entre l’épithélium en division et les kératocytes, la repose de l’épithélium était sensée réduire le temps de contact entre cellules en division et les stroma cornéen. Les études cliniques bien conduites n’ont pas confirmé ce bénéfice.

Cette technique impose au chirurgien de décoller cet épithélium cornéen avec précaution, en essayant d’en former un feuillet continu. L’application d’alcool dilué à 20° pendant 20 secondes facilite le détachement de l’épithélium: l’éthanol dissout les structures permettant aux cellules basales du feuillet épithélial d’adhérer au stroma cornéen.

Le LASEK : résultats

Le bénéfice induit par le repositionnement du feuillet épithélial n’est pas clairement démontré, à la fois sur le plan du confort opératoire, et de la prévention de certaines complications comme le haze.  Cette déception a été mise sur le compte de l’effet toxique de l’alcool sur les cellules épithéliales. Le LASEK est aujourd’hui une technique délaissée au profit de la PKR (où l’épithélium n’est pas réapposé après photoablation). Toutefois, la technique de désépithélialisation à l’alcool peut être utilisée pour décoller rapidement et de manière atraumatique le feuillet épithélial cornéen.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *