+ +

Can we slow down myopia?

Myopia is an optical defect that affects about 30% of the European population and American, and 90% of the population of some countries in Southeast Asia. Prevent nearsightedness, slow or stop the evolution is a major public health issue. Indeed, the ocular complications of nearsightedness are many: retinal detachment, cataracts, glaucoma...

Slow the progression of myopia could benefit many children, and various strategies have been proposed and studied, with variable success: under correct myopia, permeable rigid lenses meet the gas for the correction of day, or night (Orthokeratology), bifocal soft lenses, equip the corrective glasses with progressive lenses, prescribe the eyedrops contains atropine or the pirenzepine... This page is devoted to the results obtained for these various strategies. Before you study them more in detail, it is important to emphasize that the main criterion considered to enjoy the speed of evolution of the short-sightedness is the degree of myopic correction (in power), and not the rate of increase of the length of the eyeball (axial length). Myopia is a condition that the associated morbidity is induced by the lengthening of the eyeball, and not the degree of correction. It is important to not to overinterpret the findings of some studies. There is no way to stop the development of myopia in children or adolescents, but some may slow its progression.

 

(1) whether under correct nearsightedness?

The sous-correction of myopia to the eye to less to seek accommodation for near vision. Or, as some theories attribute to a lack of accommodation the progression of myopia, it could be interesting to allow, thanks to a correction, to restore a more effective accommodation (with the formation of the image of the targets of the vision in terms of the retina, and not backward). Unfortunately, the sous-correction of myopia is ineffective in this context, and has no effect (1), and even accentuates the evolution of myopia (2). Do not err myopic children.

 

(2) what's the point of adapting rigid lenses?

Rumor misleadingly brought rigid lenses the day an effect of slowing myopia is unfounded, as evidenced by several recent studies (3,4).  The effects reported by some studies were biased by the transitional effect print rigid lenses to the cornea (the rigid lenses induce central flattening, which is used as a method of correction of low myopia in Orthokeratology). In reality, if a slowdown in the progression of myopia (appreciated in terms of lens correction in diopters) is observed, it must be necessarily associated with a lower elongation of the eyeball. Indeed, it should be noted that the excessive and continuous eyeball lengthening is the main mechanism involved in the development of myopia.

No study has shown that wear lenses hard to correct the myopia of children or adolescents slowed the elongation of the eyeball to a control group (for example, children or adolescents myopic corrected in glasses).

 

(3) whether prescribing progressive lenses or glasses to bifocals?

As the sous-correction of myopia, the prescription of corrective lenses, bifocal or progressive aims compensate for the inadequacy of the supposed accommodation of young myopic.  The lower portion of these special glasses of bezel is equipped with an additional power for near vision. Some studies have shown that this type of glass could slow the progression of myopia, but insignificantly clinically (5,6).

The interest of progressive lenses is not enough to be considered as an effective strategy for slowing the progression of myopia.

 

(4) is the Orthokeratology effective to slow myopia?

The Orthokeratology is a technique of medical correction of myopia, which is to wear rigid lenses at night, to induce a temporary correction of myopia, whose expected duration covers the next day. Unlike the rigid lenses prescribed to be worn overnight, and whose geometry is dictated by the rules of geometrical optics, used for the Orthokeratology lenses are intended to induce a change in shape of the cornea (central Flattening). The effectiveness of the Orthokeratology is limited to low myopia, as it is not possible to flatten the center of the cornea beyond a certain limit. This can be interesting in children or adolescents, because they present a beginner myopia so low, but that is progressive, and for whom refractive surgery is against specified.

Several studies have highlighted a slowing effect significant on the growth of the eyeball of the Orthokeratology to other techniques of correction like rigid lenses (7), glasses; or still monofocal soft lenses (8-10).

The mechanism of this effect retarder could be linked to positive spherical aberration, which is induced by the contour aspherical oblate of the cornea. Flattening the lens at the center of the cornea-induced is necessarily accompanied by a camber in a peripheral ring, under the law on the conservation of the domes curvature undergoing deformation without modification of their surface. Camber induced in the periphery causes a local relative excess of refractive power of the cornea, to its central portion. The rays of light refracted by the corneal periphery converge in front of the retina. However, this "myopic peripheral defocus" seems to be a signal whose effect is to slow eye growth.

 

(5) interest of bifocal lenses on the development of myopia

The main indication of bifocal contact lenses is the correction of myopia and presbyopia in the elderly for 40 years. In the context of the slowdown in myopia, the potential interest of these lenses naturally oriented lenses optical design with a central portion intended for correction of distance vision, and peripheral portion for the correction of nearly.

This optical profile resembles that which is induced by the central corneal flattening and the peripheral arch produced by nocturnal wear rigid lenses prescribed in Orthokeratology.  The positive spherical aberration is a myopisation of light refracted by the periphery of the cornea. Logically, from far away central vision bifocal lenses seem to slow the progression of myopia in half, as the techniques of Orthokeratology

 

(6) eye drops to slow myopia

Some pharmaceutical agents applied in eye drops have demonstrated an indisputable suppression effect on the development of myopia. The involved molecules have anti-muscarinic so-called effects, characterised by the combination of an expansion of the pupil and of paralysis or part of the accommodation. Atropine and pirenzepine the are two agents with the beneficial effects have been demonstrated in clinical practice (11-20). They cause a paralysis of accommodation and a dilation of the pupil (more marked with atropine). In atropine eye drops is also often prescribed for children to paralyze the accommodation and allow a measure objective refraction more reliable.

The exact mechanism of action of these agents muscarinic to explain the slow-down of myopia is unknown. These drops are not prescribed routine because they generate some side effects sometimes pronounced as photosensitivity (pupillary dilation, or Mydriasis, leads to an excessive illumination of the retina), and the loss of NET vision closely (due to the reduction of cristallinienne accommodation). To reduce these effects and find the optimal concentration of the eyedrops of atropine, several concentrations were tested: 0.5%, 0.1% and 0.01%. Eye drops was administered at night in each eye.

Not surprisingly, the lower concentration (0.01%) was the better tolerated clinically, because it allowed 94% of children read without optical reading addition, whereas they were about 70% to require such assistance for other concentrations. Despite this low concentration, the effect of retarder on the evolution of myopia with the eyedrops of atropine to 0.01% is substantially identical to the higher levels.

A more recent study suggests even that the concentration to 0.01% is more effective for slowing myopia (20); After stopping the eye drops, children who received eye drops dosed at 0.01% showed a recovery progression of myopia less frequent and less intense than those of the groups receiving higher concentrations.

This concentration to 0.01% seemed to reduce the progression of myopia of half to one data collected in control groups receiving a placebo. However, as for other studies, the effect of reduction in the progression of myopia about the power prescribed for correction, effects on the increase of the axial length of the eyeball are not truly demonstrated, but suggested. In the group whose concentration is 0.01%, the increase in axial length over time tends to be lower than in most dose groups. However, the absence of control group (group receiving a placebo eyedrops) in this study does not conclude in a more assertive manner to atropine eye drops to slow the progression of myopia in the long term.

It cannot be formally excluded that atropine reduces the progression of myopia due to a change in the geometry of the lens. This is important, because the anatomical complications of nearsightedness stem elongation of the eyeball, not the power of corrective lenses prescribed to correct a certain degree of myopia.

 

(7) spend time outdoors in childhood

The practice of sports or outdoor activities has been identified as a factor of prevention of the incidence of myopia (21)... but spend time outside once installed myopia does not slow down the evolution of it (22).

 

Conclusion:

Recent studies suggest that the Orthokeratology, wear bifocal lenses and the administration of eye drops to atropine (0.01%) could slow down myopia, i.e. slow down its evolution in terms of prescribed correction. The Orthokeratology exposed to infectious risks similar to other indications of night wear contact lenses (23) and constraints. Atropine to 0.01% causes significant adverse effects. The effects of these strategies on the lengthening of the eyeball, real public health issue, remain uncertain in the medium term and must be the subject of further studies.

 

 

References

 

(1) Chung K, Mohidin N, O'Leary DJ. Undercorrection of myopia enhances rather than breakthrough myopia progression. Vision Res. 2002; 42 (22): 2555-255

(2) Adler D, Millodot M. The possible effect of undercorrection we myopic progression in children. Clin Exp Optom. 2006; 89 (5): 315-321.

(3) Walline JJ, Jones LA, Mutti DO, Zadnik K. A randomized trial of the effects of rigid contact lenses we myopia progression. Arch invest. 2004; 122 (12): 1760-1766.

 

(4) Katz J, Schein OD, Levy B, et al. A randomized trial of rigid gas permeable contact lenses to reduce progression of children's myopia. Am J invest. 2003; 136 (1): 82-90

(5) correction of Myopia Evaluation Trial Study Group 2 for the Pediatric Eye Disease Investigator Group Progressive addition lenses versus single-vision lenses for slowing progression of myopia in children with high accommodative lag and near esophoria. Invest invest Vis Sci. 2011; 52 (5): 2749-2757.

(6) Katz J, Schein OD, Levy B, et al. A randomized trial of rigid gas permeable contact lenses to reduce progression of children's myopia. Am J invest. 2003; 136 (1): 82-90.

(7) Khoo Chong J, Rajan, CY U. A 3-year study on the effect of RGP contact lenses on myopic children. Singapore Med j. 1999; 40 (4): 230-237

(8) Charm J, Cho P. High myopia-biased reduction ortho-k: a 2-year randomized study. Optom Vis Sci. 2013; 90 (6): 530-539.

(9) Chen C, Cheung SW, Cho P. Myopia control using toric orthokeratology (TO-SEE study) Invest invest Vis Sci. 2013; 54 (10): 6510-6517.

(10) P, SW Cheung Cho. Retardation of in myopia Orthokeratology (ROMIO) study: a 2-year randomized clinical trial. Invest invest Vis Sci. 2012; 53 (11): 7077-7085.

(11) DS, Lam DS, Chan CK, Fan fan AH, EY, Rao SK Cheung. Topical atropine in retarding myopic progression and axial length growth in children with moderate to severe myopia: a pilot study. JPN J invest. 2007; 51 (1): 27-33.

(12) Lee JJ, Fang PC, Yang IH, and al. Prevention of myopia progression with 0.05% atropine solution. J Ocul Pharmacol Ther. 2006; 22 (1): 41-46.

(13) Tong L, Huang XL, Koh AL, Zhang X, Tan DT, Chua WH. Atropine for the treatment childhood myopia: effect on myopia progression after cessation of atropine. Ophthalmology. 2009; 116 (3): 572-579.

(14) yen MY, Liu JH, Kao SC, Shiao. Comparison of the effect of atropine, cyclopentolate and it myopia. Ann invest. 1989; 21 (5): 180-182. 187

(15) Siatkowski RM, Cotter S, Miller JM, et al. Safety and efficacy of 2% ophthalmic gel pirenzepine in children with myopia: a 1-year, multicenter, double-masked, placebo-controlled parallel study. Arch invest. 2004; 122 (11): 1667-1674.

(16) Siatkowski RM, Cotter SA, Crockett RS, et al. Two-year multicenter, randomized, double-masked, placebo-controlled, parallel safety and efficacy study of 2% ophthalmic gel pirenzepine in children with myopia. J AAPOS. 2008; 12 (4): 332-339.

(17) tan DT, Lam DS, Chua WH, Shu-Ping DF, Crockett RS, Asian Pirenzepine Study G One-year multicenter, double-masked, placebo-controlled, parallel safety and efficacy study of 2% ophthalmic gel pirenzepine in children with myopia. Ophthalmology. 2005; 112 (1): 84-91.

(18) YF, CH, cabbage AC Chen, Shih Ho TC, Lin LL, Hung PT. Effects of different concentrations of atropine on controlling myopia in myopic children. J Ocul Pharmacol Ther. 1999; 15 (1): 85-90.

(19) wu PC, Yang YH, Fang PC. The long term results of using low-concentration atropine eye drops for controlling myopia progression in schoolchildren. J Ocul Pharmacol Ther. 2011; 27 (5): 461-466.

(20) chia A, Lu QS, Tan D. Five-Year Clinical Trial we Atropine for the Treatment of Myopia 2: Myopia Control with Atropine 0.01% Eyedrops. Ophthalmology. 2016; 123 (2): 391-9.

(21) Jones LA, Sinnott Lt., Mutti DO, Mitchell GL, Moeschberger ML, Zadnik K. Parental history of myopia, sports and outdoor activities, future and myopia. Invest invest Vis Sci. 2007; 48 (8): 3524-3532.

(22) wu PC, CL, HL, Yang YH, Kuo HK Wu Tsai. Outdoor activity during class recess reduces myopia onset and progression in school children. Ophthalmology. 2013; 120 (5): 1080-1085.

(23) Liu YM, Xie P. The Safety of Orthokeratology - A Systematic Review. Eye Contact Lens. 2016; 42 (1): 35-42.

Comments are closed.

Peut-on ralentir la myopie ?

La myopie est un défaut optique qui affecte environ 30% de la population européenne et américaine, et 90% de la population de certains pays d’Asie du Sud-Est. Prévenir la myopie, en ralentir ou stopper l’évolution est un enjeu de santé public majeur. En effet, les complications oculaires de la myopie sont nombreuses : décollement de rétine, cataracte, glaucome…

Ralentir la progression de la myopie pourrait bénéficier à de nombreux enfants, et différentes stratégies ont été proposées et étudiées, avec des succès variables : sous corriger la myopie, adapter des lentilles rigides perméables au gaz pour la correction de jour, ou de nuit (orthokératologie), des lentilles souples bifocales, équiper les lunettes correctrices avec des verres progressifs, prescrire des collyres contenant de l’atropine ou de la pirenzépine… Cette page est consacrée aux résultats obtenus pour ces diverses stratégies. Avant de les étudier plus en détail, il est important de souligner que le principal  critère considéré pour apprécier la vitesse d’évolution de la myopie est le degré de correction myopique (en dioptrie), et non le taux d’accroissement de la longueur du globe oculaire (longueur axiale). La myopie est une affection dont la morbidité associée est induite par l’allongement du globe oculaire, et non le degré de correction. Il est important de ne pas sur-interpréter les conclusions de certaines études. Aucune méthode ne permet de stopper l’évolution de la myopie chez l’enfant ou l’adolescent, mais certaines pourraient en ralentir la progression.

 

1) Faut-il sous corriger la myopie ?

La sous-correction de la myopie permet à l’œil de moins solliciter l’accommodation pour la vision de près. Or, comme certaines théories attribuent à un défaut d’accommodation la progression de la myopie, il pourrait être intéressant de permettre, grâce à une sous correction, de rétablir une accommodation plus efficace (avec la formation de l’image des cibles de la vision de près dans le plan de la rétine, et non en arrière). Malheureusement, la sous-correction de la myopie s’avère inefficace dans ce contexte, et est sans effet (1), voire accentue l’évolution de la myopie (2). Il ne faut donc pas sous-corriger les enfants myopes.

 

2) Quel est l’intérêt d’adapter  des lentilles rigides ?

La rumeur prêtant aux lentilles rigides portées le jour un effet de ralentissement de la myopie est infondée, comme le démontrent plusieurs études récentes (3,4).  Les effets rapportés par certaines études étaient biaisés par l’effet transitoire qu’impriment les lentilles rigides à la cornée ( les lentilles rigides induisent un aplatissement central, qui est d’ailleurs utilisé comme une méthode de correction de la myopie faible en orthokératologie). En réalité, si un ralentissement de la progression de la myopie (apprécié en termes de correction optique, en dioptrie) est observé, il doit nécessairement être associé à une moindre élongation du globe oculaire. En effet, il faut souligner que l’allongement excessif et continu du globe oculaire est le mécanisme principal mis en jeu au cours de l’évolution de la myopie.

Aucune étude n’a montré que le port de lentilles rigides pour corriger la myopie des enfants ou adolescents ne ralentissait l’élongation du globe oculaire vis-à-vis d’un groupe témoin (par exemple, des enfants ou adolescents myopes corrigés en lunettes).

 

3)  Faut-il prescrire des verres progressifs ou des verres à double foyer ?

Comme la sous-correction de la myopie, la prescription de verres correcteurs bifocaux ou progressifs vise pallier à l’insuffisance de l’accommodation supposée des jeunes myopes.  La portion inférieure de ces verres particuliers de lunette est munie d’une puissance additionnelle pour la vision de près. Certaines études ont montré que ce type de verre pouvait ralentir la progression de la myopie, mais de manière insignifiante sur le plan clinique (5,6).

L’intérêt des verres progressifs n’est donc pas suffisant pour être considéré comme une stratégie efficace pour ralentir la progression de la myopie.

 

4) L’orthokératologie est-elle efficace pour ralentir la myopie ?

L’orthokératologie est une technique de correction médicale de la myopie, qui consiste à faire porter des lentilles rigides la nuit, pour induire une correction temporaire de la myopie, dont la durée espérée couvre la journée suivante. Contrairement aux lentilles rigides prescrites pour être portées le jour, et dont la géométrie est dictée par les règles de l’optique géométrique, les lentilles utilisées pour l’orthokératologie visent à induire un changement de forme de la cornée (aplatissement central). L’efficacité de l’orthokératologie est limitée aux myopies faibles, car il n’est pas possible d’aplatir le centre de la cornée au delà d’une certaine limite. Ceci peut être intéressant chez l’enfant ou l’adolescent, car ils présentent une myopie débutante donc faible, mais qui est progressive, et pour qui la chirurgie réfractive est contre indiquée.

Plusieurs études ont mis en évidence un effet de ralentissement significatif sur la croissance du globe oculaire de l’orthokératologie, vis-à-vis d’autres techniques de correction comme les lentilles rigides (7), les lunettes ; ou encore les lentilles souples monofocales (8-10).

Le mécanisme de cet effet ralentisseur pourrait être lié à de l’aberration sphérique positive, qui est induite par le contour asphérique oblate de la cornée. L’aplatissement induit par la lentille au centre de la cornée s’accompagne nécessairement d’une cambrure en couronne périphérique, en vertu de la loi relative à la conservation de la courbure dômes qui subissent une déformation sans modification de leur surface. La cambrure induite en périphérie provoque un excès relatif local de puissance réfractive de la cornée, vis-à-vis de sa portion centrale. Les rayons lumineux réfractés par la périphérie cornéenne convergent en avant de la rétine. Or, ce « défocus myopique périphérique » semble être un signal dont l’effet est de ralentir la croissance oculaire.

 

5) Intérêt des lentilles bifocales sur l’évolution de la myopie

L’indication principale des lentilles de contact bifocales est la correction de la myopie et de la presbytie chez les sujets âgés de plus de 40 ans. Dans le contexte du ralentissement de la myopie, l’intérêt potentiel de ces lentilles s’est naturellement orienté vers les lentilles dont le design optique comporte une portion centrale destinée à la correction de la vision de loin, et une portion périphérique destinée à la correction de près.

Ce profil optique ressemble à celui qui est induit par l’aplatissement cornéen central et la cambrure périphérique produit par les lentilles rigides à port nocturne prescrites en orthokératologie.  L’aberration sphérique positive correspond à une myopisation des rayons lumineux réfractés par la périphérie de la cornée. En toute logique, les lentilles bifocales à vision de loin centrale semblent ralentir l’évolution de la myopie de moitié, comme les techniques d’orthokératologie

 

6) Des collyres pour ralentir la myopie

Certains agents pharmaceutiques appliqués en collyre ont démontré un effet freinateur indiscutable sur l’évolution de la myopie. Les molécules impliquées ont des effets dits anti-muscariniques, qui se caractérisent par la conjonction d’une dilatation de la pupille et d’une paralysie partielle ou complète de l’accommodation. L’atropine et la pirenzépine sont les deux agents dont les effets bénéfiques ont été démontrés en pratique clinique (11-20). Ils provoquent une paralysie de l’accommodation et une dilatation de la pupille (plus marquée avec l’atropine). Le collyre à l’atropine est d’ailleurs souvent prescrit chez l’enfant pour paralyser l’accommodation et permettre une mesure objective de la réfraction plus fiable.

Le mécanisme d’action exact de ces agents muscariniques pour expliquer le ralentissement de la myopie demeure inconnu. Ces collyres ne sont pas prescrits en routine car ils génèrent certains effets indésirables parfois prononcés, comme la photosensibilité (la dilatation pupillaire, ou mydriase, aboutit à une illumination excessive de la rétine), et la perte de la vision nette de près (en raison de la réduction de l’accommodation cristallinienne). Afin de réduire ces effets et trouver la concentration optimale du collyre à base d’atropine, plusieurs concentrations ont été testées : 0.5%, 0.1% et 0.01%. Le collyre était administré le soir au coucher dans chaque œil.

Sans surprise, la concentration la plus faible (0.01%) était la mieux tolérée cliniquement, car elle permettait à 94% des enfants de lire sans addition optique pour la lecture, alors qu’ils étaient environ 70% à requérir une telle aide pour les autres concentrations. Malgré cette concentration réduite, l’effet ralentisseur sur l’évolution de la myopie avec le collyre d’atropine à 0.01%  est sensiblement identique vis-à-vis des concentrations plus fortes.

Une étude plus récente suggère même que la concentration à 0.01% est plus efficace pour le ralentissement de la myopie (20) ; après l’arrêt du collyre, les enfants qui recevaient le collyre dosé à 0.01% présentaient une reprise progression de la myopie moins fréquente et moins intense que ceux des groupes recevant des concentrations supérieures.

Cette concentration à 0.01% semblait réduire la progression de la myopie de moitié vis-à-vis d’un des données recueillies dans des groupes témoins recevant un placebo.Toutefois, comme pour d’autres études, l’effet de réduction de la progression de la myopie concerne la puissance prescrite pour la correction, les effets concernant l’augmentation de la longueur axiale du globe oculaire sont non véritablement démontrés, mais suggérés. Dans le groupe dont la concentration est à 0.01%, l’accroissement de la longueur axiale au fil du temps tend à être moindre que dans les groupes plus dosés. Cependant, l’absence de groupe témoin (groupe recevant un collyre placebo) dans cette étude ne permet pas de conclure de manière plus affirmative que le collyre à l’atropine permet de ralentir l’évolution de la myopie à long terme.

Il ne peut être formellement exclu que l’atropine réduise la progression de la myopie en raison d’une modification de la géométrie du cristallin. Cette précision est importante, car les complications anatomiques de la myopie découlent de l’élongation du globe oculaire, pas de la puissance des verres correcteurs prescrits pour corriger un certain degré de myopie.

 

7) Passer du temps à l’extérieur dans l’enfance

La pratique de sports ou d’activités de plein air a été identifiée comme un facteur préventif de l’incidence de la myopie (21) … mais passer du temps dehors une fois la myopie installée ne permet pas de ralentir l’évolution de  celle-ci (22).

 

Conclusion :

Des études récentes suggèrent que l’orthokératologie, le port de lentilles bifocales et l’administration de collyre à l’atropine (0.01%) pourraient freiner la myopie, c’est-à-dire ralentir son évolution en terme de correction prescrite. L’orthokératologie expose à des contraintes et des risques infectieux similaires aux autres indications de port nocturne de lentilles de contact (23). L’atropine à 0.01% provoque des effets indésirables non négligeables. Les effets de ces stratégies sur l’allongement du globe oculaire, véritable enjeu de santé publique, demeurent incertains à moyens termes et doivent faire l’objet d’études complémentaires.

 

 

Références

 

1) Chung K, Mohidin N, O’Leary DJ. Undercorrection of myopia enhances rather than inhibits myopia progression. Vision Res. 2002;42(22):2555–255

2) Adler D, Millodot M. The possible effect of undercorrection on myopic progression in children. Clin Exp Optom. 2006;89(5):315–321.

3) Walline JJ, Jones LA, Mutti DO, Zadnik K. A randomized trial of the effects of rigid contact lenses on myopia progression. Arch Ophthalmol. 2004;122(12):1760–1766.

 

4) Katz J, Schein OD, Levy B, et al. A randomized trial of rigid gas permeable contact lenses to reduce progression of children’s myopia. Am J Ophthalmol. 2003;136(1):82–90

5) Correction of Myopia Evaluation Trial 2 Study Group for the Pediatric Eye Disease Investigator Group Progressive-addition lenses versus single-vision lenses for slowing progression of myopia in children with high accommodative lag and near esophoria. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci. 2011;52(5):2749–2757.

6) Katz J, Schein OD, Levy B, et al. A randomized trial of rigid gas permeable contact lenses to reduce progression of children’s myopia. Am J Ophthalmol. 2003;136(1):82–90.

7) Khoo CY, Chong J, Rajan U. A 3-year study on the effect of RGP contact lenses on myopic children. Singapore Med J. 1999;40(4):230–237

8) Charm J, Cho P. High myopia-partial reduction ortho-k: a 2-year randomized study. Optom Vis Sci. 2013;90(6):530–539.

9) Chen C, Cheung SW, Cho P. Myopia control using toric orthokeratology (TO-SEE study) Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci. 2013;54(10):6510–6517.

10) Cho P, Cheung SW. Retardation of myopia in Orthokeratology (ROMIO) study: a 2-year randomized clinical trial. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci. 2012;53(11):7077–7085.

11) Fan DS, Lam DS, Chan CK, Fan AH, Cheung EY, Rao SK. Topical atropine in retarding myopic progression and axial length growth in children with moderate to severe myopia: a pilot study. Jpn J Ophthalmol. 2007;51(1):27–33.

12) Lee JJ, Fang PC, Yang IH, et al. Prevention of myopia progression with 0.05% atropine solution. J Ocul Pharmacol Ther. 2006;22(1):41–46.

13) Tong L, Huang XL, Koh AL, Zhang X, Tan DT, Chua WH. Atropine for the treatment of childhood myopia: effect on myopia progression after cessation of atropine. Ophthalmology. 2009;116(3):572–579.

14) Yen MY, Liu JH, Kao SC, Shiao CH. Comparison of the effect of atropine and cyclopentolate on myopia. Ann Ophthalmol. 1989;21(5):180–182. 187

15) Siatkowski RM, Cotter S, Miller JM, et al. Safety and efficacy of 2% pirenzepine ophthalmic gel in children with myopia: a 1-year, multicenter, double-masked, placebo-controlled parallel study. Arch Ophthalmol. 2004;122(11):1667–1674.

16) Siatkowski RM, Cotter SA, Crockett RS, et al. Two-year multicenter, randomized, double-masked, placebo-controlled, parallel safety and efficacy study of 2% pirenzepine ophthalmic gel in children with myopia. J AAPOS. 2008;12(4):332–339.

17) Tan DT, Lam DS, Chua WH, Shu-Ping DF, Crockett RS, Asian Pirenzepine Study G One-year multicenter, double-masked, placebo-controlled, parallel safety and efficacy study of 2% pirenzepine ophthalmic gel in children with myopia. Ophthalmology. 2005;112(1):84–91.

18) Shih YF, Chen CH, Chou AC, Ho TC, Lin LL, Hung PT. Effects of different concentrations of atropine on controlling myopia in myopic children. J Ocul Pharmacol Ther. 1999;15(1):85–90.

19) Wu PC, Yang YH, Fang PC. The long-term results of using low-concentration atropine eye drops for controlling myopia progression in schoolchildren. J Ocul Pharmacol Ther. 2011;27(5):461–466.

20) Chia A, Lu QS, Tan D. Five-Year Clinical Trial on Atropine for the Treatment of Myopia 2: Myopia Control with Atropine 0.01% Eyedrops. Ophthalmology. 2016;123(2):391-9.

21) Jones LA, Sinnott LT, Mutti DO, Mitchell GL, Moeschberger ML, Zadnik K. Parental history of myopia, sports and outdoor activities, and future myopia. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci. 2007;48(8):3524–3532.

22) Wu PC, Tsai CL, Wu HL, Yang YH, Kuo HK. Outdoor activity during class recess reduces myopia onset and progression in school children. Ophthalmology. 2013;120(5):1080–1085.

23) Liu YM, Xie P. The Safety of Orthokeratology-A Systematic Review. Eye Contact Lens. 2016;42(1):35-42.

Les commentaires sont fermés.